Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

b0rhui
post May 28 2017, 11:52 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 28 2017, 07:33 AM)
I have posted some opinion on Ripple in this thread previously. Can search for it.

Alternatively, there are some links regarding Ripple in the front page.

For me, Ripple is a buy but that's my opinion only. wink.gif
QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ May 28 2017, 08:10 AM)
Yeah, same opinion on Ripple

As it seem more n more centralized bank are looking into using Ripple , such as consortium bank in Japan which has start to research n going to implement

Ripple won't be giving high return like Bitcoin , but certainly for future it will be range from $20-$100
Aite will do my research first thumbsup.gif

By the way has anyone noted that the most alt coins recovered at around 6pm yesterday, then the chart went into a slight dip at around 3:30am this morning. I wonder why. Is it a pump and dump?
b0rhui
post May 28 2017, 02:42 PM

689 posts

What's up with Golem? laugh.gif
b0rhui
post May 28 2017, 03:45 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ May 28 2017, 03:23 PM)
Probably because the brass golem.
Nobody know when exactly it gonna release, but rumour it might go out on 31th, but few others said it might be mid june. So ppl collecting now probably.
The rumor was released 4 days back but the spike occurred only on today tongue.gif how interesting

QUOTE(wengherng @ May 28 2017, 03:36 PM)
Ah crap, I just realised the latest correction seems to have stopped already.
ETH back to USD 180.
Too quick!
Was hoping to get some on the cheap when my salary is out.
Slim chance now. sad.gif
I liquidated some at .076 bye.gif

QUOTE(wiisg @ May 28 2017, 03:37 PM)
168usd on polo wor
Best is to gauge with BTC amount. Around .0795 to .08

This post has been edited by b0rhui: May 28 2017, 03:49 PM
b0rhui
post May 29 2017, 12:13 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 28 2017, 11:21 PM)
Bitcoin dipping again 😳
Sweet dream, night world
b0rhui
post May 29 2017, 02:26 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(wind424 @ May 29 2017, 01:25 PM)
I bought it at 14k, now stuck at 10k. Hodl?
went crazy
Summonin XRP specialist kmarc biggrin.gif

It was constantly in bear market until very recently where all altcoins went crazy. Hmmph
b0rhui
post May 29 2017, 08:06 PM

689 posts

https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/6..._medium=twitter

Thoughts guys? Anyone here whom hit by previous bullrun?
b0rhui
post May 29 2017, 09:10 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 29 2017, 08:47 PM)
If I understand the charts correctly, it just means that bullruns usually needs correction before going higher. Unless there are very bad news, it looks like BTC is still trending upwards.
Thx for your vote of confidence but I'm not that type of guy. wink.gif
So the point is to exit and reenter at the right time.

Will be doing some research on the past trend but what happened in past may not repeat. Hope it doesn't go crashing before i finish my finals and have free time tongue.gif
b0rhui
post May 30 2017, 12:37 PM

689 posts

Too bad I offloaded ETH so much earlier at 780k. Same goes to DGB. I can only sit put here and observe only tongue.gif Despite all the greens the ones in my portfolio are stagnant
b0rhui
post May 30 2017, 10:40 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ May 30 2017, 09:52 PM)
Arent you bit too late. Its already going from 50-70sats to 700 sats within 3 week
What happened on may 15 actually. The trade volume got from $1m to $60m within a day. sweat.gif can't seem to find news related
b0rhui
post May 31 2017, 09:49 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 31 2017, 09:24 AM)
So cool ETH... Luckily able to buy some at 0.089.. wakkaakkaka

For a limited time ...
I am holding mostly ripple.. Really RIPple doh.gif
b0rhui
post May 31 2017, 01:15 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ May 31 2017, 01:03 PM)
any advise guys?
Regarding your concern on misplaced hardware wallet, please refer to point 6 and 7 below.

b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 12:55 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(Gss2k @ Jun 1 2017, 12:18 AM)
Ok fine you dont believe in bitcoin. The nice thing about bitcoin is that if u want, you can short Bitcoin down to 1 cent. So put your money where your mouth is and if you are right you will be rich, otherwise you are just trolling only. All of us in this thread is long cryptocurrency so we are bias.
No bias - gotta be neutral and listening to what other party has to say biggrin.gif

You use the word "believe" and he'll start knocking on specific words and deeming this to be a money game as money game is basically made up of "gamblers" "believe" "quick rich" "guaranteed"
b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 01:02 AM

689 posts

So while waiting for an answer, a legit and satisfactory answer which bears a resemblance to how the real world works, what sort of investment do you do howszat?
b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 01:15 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 1 2017, 12:16 AM)
And you should have just came in here with the questions instead of passing judgement, no?
I'll take on your question since I have some time. Can't promise I'll be answering all the time though.

The short answer is: Supply and demand (you can say speculation, I don't mind as it is true). And possibly utility depending on person.
Before you go off and cheer, the long answer is:

Bitcoin has most attributes a currency has - acceptability (general acceptance as a form of payment), portable and transportable (easy and "relatively" fast to transfer), indestructible (what could destroy bitcoin will need to destroy every computer running full nodes in the world), divisible (into smaller units), impossible to counterfeit, scarce, and you need to "work" to get more of it.

On top of that Bitcoin provides an elements which can not be found in today's fiat model - While it is possible to "print" or mine Bitcoin (side note: guess what created money?), it is impossible to make more Bitcoins than what preexists in its algorithm of supply which is maintain by full consensus of everyone in the Bitcoin network. Bitcoin can only be "lost" (when, for example, you die and nobody has access to the wallet), and the difficulty to mine Bitcoin increases over time, making it a deflationary model.

I would like to talk about the unsupervised element Bitcoin provides also, but, meh. We all know what's that for.

Now, this does not mean anything if nobody sees value in it. The first "value" for Bitcoin was generally agreed to be the electricity cost used to mine a unit of Bitcoin. Soon after, a large number of Bitcoins were used to pay for pizzas, showing that some people do see value in using Bitcoin as means of trade. That was very much akin to saying "my two fish should get one loave of your bread" - That's the start of value perception in a cryptocurrency.

So when you start putting perceived value and a deflationary, scarce model to an object - You get demand. And as demand increases (like I have mentioned in an earlier post, utility of the cryptocurrency, e.g. for fast cross border payment), and supply is difficult to come by, it increases the value of this object. Couple it with the attributes of a currency, and you get more people interested in this for their own reasons, may it be to treat this as an equity or as a currency, thus bringing its value up even more (this is why I said I do not mind this supply and demand model being called speculation - As it simply depends on the worth one places on it).
You could argue that this is unregulated and hence holds no substantial value, but I could argue also that governments and banks had failed (e.g. Greece, Ireland) to uphold their responsibilities as regulatory bodies for currencies as well, and multiple currencies through the ages had gone with time when new rulers and governments come into the system. Hence Bitcoin, having no supervision and running on pure supply and demand, could arguably be said to be the purest form of how an object should be valued. You could say what happens if one party hogs all the Bitcoin and try to flood the market/manipulate the market. Yes, it happens, but free markets have a nice way of regulating supply and demand, and subsequently the value of the object.
PS: It took me 45 minutes to type this up, so I am done for tonight. lol
PPS: KyleBear you tagged me just now ah?
A very good explanation of how btc basically obtained its value from the start eventually ended up with different people having different objective. To top up with how it got its perceived value

"THE BELIEFS THAT GIVE MONEY VALUE
So why does a five-dollar bill have value and some other pieces of paper do not?

It’s simple: Money is a good with a limited supply and there is a demand for it because people want it. The reason I want money is because I know other people want money, so I can use my money to get goods and services from them in return. They can then use that money to purchase goods and services they want.

Goods and services are what ultimately matter in the economy, and money is a way that allows people to give up goods and services which are less desirable to them, and get ones that are more so. People sell their labor (work) to acquire money in the present to purchase goods and services in the future. If I believe that money will have a value in the future, I will work towards acquiring some." e.g. Mining it

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Jun 1 2017, 01:16 AM
b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 09:17 AM

689 posts

XRP to the moon! HODL hmm.gif

Read more:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Ripple/

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Jun 1 2017, 09:24 AM
b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 11:17 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ Jun 1 2017, 11:03 AM)
guys, another newbie question.

i just installed multibit to stored the bitcoin. however this is some sort of offline wallet right?

to purchase btc , ltc or eth. i need coinbase for trading? after purchase then only i transfer it to my multibit?

does it work that way? or i can share my wallet address straight multibit to other users? i dont need coinbase?
To trade e.g. Have your bitcoin exchanged into alt coins you would have to pick an exchange

List of top exchanges based on trading volume
https://coinmarketcap.com/exchanges/volume/24-hour/

Basically from Multibit you put in the btc address given by the exchange as seen in your account, have it sent and confirmed (this may take some time) so the balance would then appear in your exchange account

Then buy whatever mETH you want wanted at the prevailing market rate and have it transferred out to your wallet again. I think multibit supports only bitcoin

Alternatively you can check out ShapeShift

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Jun 1 2017, 11:21 AM
b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 01:40 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ Jun 1 2017, 01:35 PM)
done transfering, but yet to see any BTC in polo. how long usually it takes?
Copy the polo deposit address and paste it here:

https://blockchain.info

You can then see the transaction detail whether its unconfirmed or if confirmed, how many confirmations
b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 02:04 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ Jun 1 2017, 01:53 PM)
okay got it, now its confirmed. it do take few minutes yeah.

so in the Polo, using the BTC, i purchased an ETH. however im not sure whether the transaction is succesful or not?

any help?
Please tell me that you did not put wrong buying rate

0.09070 = 200+ USD similar to ~0.9 ETH. You've got 0.15
b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 04:00 PM

689 posts

Trade volume of XRP took over ETH!
b0rhui
post Jun 1 2017, 07:11 PM

689 posts

Was about to go short on XRP but was thinking that it may go up when US wakes up so I discarded that thought. Next 30 mins it goes down by 8%

OH WELL laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1736sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:42 PM