QUOTE(djhenry91 @ May 5 2017, 09:49 AM)
BWC
BWC
May 5 2017, 09:53 AM
15,942 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
May 5 2017, 10:13 AM
May 6 2017, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 5 2017, 11:25 AM) .... you need a new nick laaa..... honestly...Suicide Guy.... sounds so.... err..... glooomy... Ok... so you have had 3 horses.... ![]() ![]() ![]() favco success sign.... So if you have to pick one based on charts.... which would you pick? ... and if you have to pick one ... based on fun fun stuff..... which would you pick? how? let me know your picks.... |
May 8 2017, 10:32 AM
May 8 2017, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(hehe86 @ May 8 2017, 03:20 PM) Yea i know, but there are times when let say a stock is making a new high, a breakout move with substantial volume, without news, so if one wait for the news or know what happen, maybe way too late. This is if one only based on TA purely. If wanna include FA, of course this is not the only way where one could do more home work into its project, cost price, etc etc to increase their odds of predictability For stock breaking out to new highs, your own estimate valuation of the stock is needed. Yes the funnies is needed and is very important.And i thought one normally wouldn't know how high a stock can go? More often that not though, a stock usually not in my radar until the news came out only to realize. But a recent example like SUPERLN, the consolidation before the breakout around 2.6x, one could be ready to wait for the breakout before waiting for the qtr report to act lo Btw, what is JT? Compare Favco and Success....what's the difference? Why one is worth risking to chase... JT = ? Just Tembak la. |
May 8 2017, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(hehe86 @ May 8 2017, 04:54 PM) For new highs stock, the way i currently been doing is minimum expectation of x2 reward of my risk/stop loss. Usually will take some profit once it reach x2 reward and hold the remaining to ride the trend. Not sure how or what to use to get the valuation of a stock (based on estimated PE, broker house tp, etc) ..... so if you have to ..... which stock would you have chosen?Favco, able to closed new high with good volume, but the next black bar is also with significant volume, so that's not a really good sign already. may have to monitora while longer. As for Success, is already in an uptrend, unlike Favco which was in a consolidation, keep making new high, especially after the break of 2.9 and 3.1 with good volume. But to enter Success, no idea. So my answer would be to consider Sign after the close above of 1.01, it 'consolidate' with low volume which is quite ok imho. JT, first comes into my mind is John Travolta lmao |
May 9 2017, 06:24 AM
May 9 2017, 06:28 AM
QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 8 2017, 11:43 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « LOL... can change nick? this nick doesn't represent me now but brings me sentimental value.. created this nick when I was still a teenager.. ok anyway, i really don't have a good grasp of which one to choose... so i just simply tembak again la.. based on charts, Success and Sign look the same to me.. both are on uptrend.. what is the difference that you see? Facvo looks like fake breakout of base because of the black bar on the next day of breakout with high volume although it still close at the breakout point.. if i have to rank based on the charts, i would say Success and Sign > Favco based on fundamentals, Success have high chance of reporting better earnings while the share price haven't fully reflect the potential earnings yet.. Sign could be reporting better earnings forward.. based on TA Securities research on 30 March 17.. projected profit for FY17 and FY18 is 22.2m and 30.6m (can trust or not Favco on the other hand have no catalysts.. OnG still in doldrums.. have to wait for earnings reversion if one plan to enter.. So my rating based on fundamental will be Success>Sign>Favco please help to correct me.. Errr... how to look for entry point for stocks that is on uptrend? Keep this up. Note: TA notes on Sign. Current half year net profit is around 6.6m. Projected profit of 22.2m is really, really optimistic (or rocket) la. Entry point for uptrend stocks? Know the answer to 'Where's the beef'. You need to know the potential upside. The risk assessment is most important. Pointless to play a stock with upsides that are rather limited/uncertain. |
May 9 2017, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 8 2017, 11:43 PM) P/S... Have you thought about doing the other way around? Funny comes first...Don't let the chart dictate your trade selection(s)..... |
May 10 2017, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 9 2017, 10:47 PM) Ic.. makes sense.. other than projecting the potential upside, what's the cut loss plan? lets say one have entered into a trade and the price went down after that... do we cut loss based on percentage loss from entry point or wait till the earnings result are out to make a decision? That's basically understanding the risk reward ratio. Google it.Yes.. I've read from somewhere that we should enter a trade based on fundamentals and chart but exit a trade based on chart only as stocks with good fundamentals can tank too if the market direction is heading south.. Oh yeah. Mistakes. We will all be making mistakes. No one is gonna be perfect. In trading/investment, the ability to understand and accept that one has indeed made a mistake is what makes a market winner. Cutting loss definitely makes more sense than letting the market decide our fate in a trade gone bad. Cut loss plans? Google on these two topics. 'position sizing' and 'expectancy'... your question... percentage loss or earnings result. Let's view on common sense. percentage loss. Some would say while it ensures the loss is contained, such strategy would come and bite us back if the stock rebounds... but ....what if we are not lucky... what if the losses grows? waiting for the results.... woo.... results favorable, the stock could fly. My losses would soon turn into profit.... Oooo.. I am a champion. But.... if results bad..... really bad.....our losses could be even bigger. Now if you agree that risk management is important... what would you favor? They have this saying in the market ...... buying it right... helps eliminates most of the problem. Would you agree? |
May 10 2017, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 9 2017, 10:47 PM) Yes.. I've read from somewhere that we should enter a trade based on fundamentals and chart but exit a trade based on chart only as stocks with good fundamentals can tank too if the market direction is heading south.. As a trader, knowing the funnies is just an EXTRA but yet VALUABLE option. You understand the potential catalyst that investors seeks in a sock. And yes, as badly as I despise bottom fishing/deep value investing ie.. buying a stock just because of its value DESPITE its clear decaying economics of its business structure. It just means as a trader, you understand why and when there might be buying catalysts that could drive up a stock. As we know, the very basic and common sense why people want to invest/buy a business is because the business is going to make more money. The future potential is bright. All the shareholders of this business will earn more. So naturally people would just want IN. And in the stock market, such action causes buying frenzy, which naturally drives up the stock higher. Hence, knowing the funnies will give you an advantage. If one trades based purely on the charts... one is trading based on what the markets wants you to trade. I find that this method for a trader, one is always a step behind. There is no EDGE at all.... |
May 11 2017, 06:09 AM
QUOTE(Smurfs @ May 10 2017, 09:42 PM) As usual don't have. Some of the stocks mentioned here by others are doing well ma (see no need mine).... for example, like Gark's SuperL and then I have also posted several charts on LBAlum... and then there is Success... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « And how about Buffett's tipsy? http://money.cnn.com/2017/05/08/investing/...ment-interview/ This post has been edited by Boon3: May 11 2017, 06:14 AM |
May 11 2017, 08:19 AM
May 11 2017, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(TakoC @ May 11 2017, 09:46 PM) Boon, how would you assess Ekovest recent chart? Some stocks you just cannot take away the name...Take away ekovest name and assess. Those one day sharp drop drastically one Esp in our markets. This would have been considered a political linked stock and it's normally news driven... and yes, the risk is events like this can and will happen. And yes, there is no way I would have able to spot and predicted that massive gap down. Anyway, as it is, the chart has already indicated a massive event had occurred and caused the gap down... ![]() That the stock did not have a follow through selling day and has held steadily firm, recovering gradually... The volume declined and the stock has held firm. As such, I would ERR by saying that there's a possibility that the stock would attempt to close that mighty gap.... This post has been edited by Boon3: May 11 2017, 11:07 PM |
May 12 2017, 05:57 AM
QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 12 2017, 12:04 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Ok learnt about position sizing and expectancy from Uncle Google liao.. Hope I can put this to good use.. I think we should stick to our cut loss rules.. If we enter at the right price, most of the time the price won't drop until our cut loss price.. correct? But I think as we progress to be a better trader, we can give some leeway based on past experiences.. as a newbie, its better to always stick to the cut loss rule.. In the past I have made mistakes by selling too early (taking small profits), buying in too early (longer holding period), sticking to my position when the fundamentals changed (give back a portion of the profits).. Now I think I understand the market better from reading and your posts.. Hopefully I won't make the same mistakes again.. Remember buying it correctly makes selling so much easier. |
May 12 2017, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(TakoC @ May 12 2017, 07:07 AM) Volume declined, stock held firm? So to rise on low volume is good? Hahaha.... too late at night and my explanation certainly wasn't that good. Naturally, I got you confused. If sell with low volume is good? If rise on high volume is good too? Any rule of thumb? QUOTE Volume declined, stock held firm? So to rise on low volume is good? Generally, stock rising on lower volume is considered no good (esp on a uptrend). Traders will generally view it as buyers are skeptical on how much higher the stock can go, so with the buyers holding back the buying, the volume turns lower. In this instance, the main most recent activity was the massive gap down. So in such cases, I would look at it from another perspective, ie I would focus on the the volume of the selling. Since that gap down day, the volume had declined. Yes? This would mean that the selling pressure has subsided. With the stock inching higher, it would appear that the buyers are more aggressive, hence it's in my point of view that these actions are positive. Would this make sense? This post has been edited by Boon3: May 12 2017, 08:08 AM |
May 12 2017, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 12 2017, 06:17 PM) Don't rush. Remember this also: Keep losses small, let winners run. Think more about it.... And I am sure you will understand the implications. It should also help shape out your trading strategies.... |
May 15 2017, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(spring onion @ May 14 2017, 11:08 PM) how are you guys? was being very busy lately Onion,ILoveLalat.net may i ask why Supermax is in your banned list? Their earning on quarter is decent. dividend yield is among the best. TA wise - will soon follow harta, kossan and topglove Boon3 remember the 4 horses on dunno which sunny day you posted? Kossan is the dark horse currently. Harta result was explosive. topglove story can leave it after supermax Some set up ideas to ponder many of us here is still all new tulips bulbs weh Bitcoin? So the grass is greener over there huh? Every other day not sunny ,eh? These glove stocks, they have been moving in tandem lately la.... Go see lor.... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
May 15 2017, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(spring onion @ May 14 2017, 11:08 PM) how are you guys? was being very busy lately Regarding Supermax.ILoveLalat.net may i ask why Supermax is in your banned list? Their earning on quarter is decent. dividend yield is among the best. TA wise - will soon follow harta, kossan and topglove Yes, the dividend yield is enticing BUT I wonder how do you qualify that their earning is decent? When it comes to funnies, it is best to call it as it is. Here's Supermax recent quarterlies all stacked up. ![]() Look at all the declining quarters. Rather pathetic if you ask me straight up. |
May 15 2017, 10:15 AM
| Change to: | 0.1904sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:12 AM |