BWC

TSBoon3
post Jan 14 2021, 07:44 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 14 2021, 07:29 PM)
I think he is currently holding Scientex if I'm not mistaken.
Fundamentals looks solid from a quick runthrough. Wanted to pick his mind for the longer term strategy of the business.

Smurfs, your thoughts are welcome too. Different pair of eyes gives a different perspective.
It's good but as mentioned b4, it's just that I am not keen with company that has such business mixture. Same reason why I called pass on Tiong Nam, which had Logistics and properties. Missed a couple of bags there. wink.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 14 2021, 08:10 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 14 2021, 08:06 PM)
Thank you for the info.
I guess the not expensive part depends on the perspective, the share price today is the highest it has ever been. Might have to wait for a pull before entry.

Now I got 5 years of annual reports to go through. Self inflicted rule before buying anything. biggrin.gif
What does the charts say on this one?
Current price means entering at a premium, which means I probably won't be looking at a buy window for some time.
Last I saw, the adjustment not done yet for the bonus issue.
TSBoon3
post Jan 14 2021, 08:26 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 14 2021, 08:20 PM)
How big a pullback is expected?
Eh? What pullback?
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 08:54 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 14 2021, 09:18 PM)
The adjustment for bonus issue you mentioned.
Usually for a bonus issue, a market induced priced adjustment will follow to account for the bonus shares? Dilution means a downwards adjustment?
Oh... sorry... my bad. What I was trying to say is normally when a stock goes ex bonus... the stock chart will looks distorted... something like this...

which is why I couldn't make any comments...

the 'adjustments' were made this morning... the proper chart should be this below

as it is, one can see that it made the first step yesterday to breakout of the range...volume isn't that convincing. wink.gif

by the way... usage of the 5 year financials...

yes, a study of that would indicate to the quality of the company but it has its limitation, esp Msian companies.
Our companies generally, aren't able to generate consistent growth and more so, when it comes to growth.
So by the time, you fine one that fits your requirements, the chances are the greatness is already reflected in the stock price or perhaps peaking in its growth....

normally, I will just glanced at it and I won't place too much emphasis on it.
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:05 AM

15,942 posts

chart of the morning...

hmm.gif

if you have, perhaps you might consider selling for a nice piece of profit. tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:08 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jan 14 2021, 08:39 PM)

P/s : Aiyo for Scientex, buying in at the right price will do...no need pening kepala  icon_rolleyes.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I just glanced its qr.... err.... manufacturing of course is doing good but I do notice that the property segment is getting as big (if not bigger) as it's manufacturing division.

Not worried that it will morph into a MahSing version 2?

tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:18 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 15 2021, 09:09 AM)
Actually finished all that reading by 2am last night. Whew.
I use the 5 year annual reports not for the financial figures, but to gauge the management strategy and overall execution. Sometime, some industry knowledge gets included which is always good for me.
The financial statement portion I can usually skip as I already have that pulled by a screener for easier reference.

Their property division looks a big contributor instead of the secondary style business I had previously thought. It contributes around 25 % of revenue, but makes up close to half of the NP. The profit margins in there are big. And I suppose it also explains the higher debt compared to packaging peers because of the property nature.

It has to come back in price I think, mapping out the entry stops right now.
Ah.... the buying on discount.... smile.gif

Never good at this... but if you want... maybe 3.95.... anything below.... better watch and do nothing. tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:21 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 15 2021, 09:15 AM)
Doubt so, but property segment is actually a pretty high margin business. The reason they went into it like so many others is also because its a capital intensive business that is highly rewarding if done right.

But if scientex were just to focus on property, they would not have purchase that stake in daibochi. I would assume they are currently trying to scale up their margin to be in more advance manufacturing.

My hope is profit from property is held steady, while scientex show YoY margin improvement on their manufacturing. This would be next catalyst for them.
Never say never. tongue.gif

Rational is simple... if the Sector A is making so much more money than Section B .... the logical thing is to focus more on Sector A.

think about it. wink.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:33 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 15 2021, 09:26 AM)
The process already started on the margin improvement for plastic manufacturing. Let's see after another 3 quarter reports will they reach the target or not

If really property still keep leading then perhaps i need to reconsider the investment.

I am expecting big things from their shift from just being a stretch film producer to a total solution plastic packaging supplier. So far their Q1 is within my expectation
Oh of course I understand your reasoning. It's more of a 'me thingy' since I am very selective in the stocks I play.
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:41 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jan 15 2021, 09:34 AM)
If it really turn into MahSing version 2, please avoid this stock  laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

First thing I noted was the land bank is now above 1 billion.... tongue.gif

can't blame me when my bazooka only got 1 shot.... sweat.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:42 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Lfearlessly @ Jan 15 2021, 09:38 AM)
actually the quality of scientex property not really good lerh
anyone notice this problem? Yes, they are cheap, but I believe the improvement of our current living standard. People will try to look good quality property in future  hmm.gif
But their projects all low end, right?
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:45 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 15 2021, 09:38 AM)
I see them like QL going from cut throat poultry business to food manufacturing, same industry but higher complexities.

If it does happen, i will just sit tight tight. But usually things doesn't go as well as plan la  tongue.gif
Eh? Me no like QL.... I see them not so high . laugh.gif

it's copying business concept from Unker Buffy style... acquire this business, acquire that, and acquire, acquire, acquire..... I sked. laugh.gif laugh.gif

TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:52 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Lfearlessly @ Jan 15 2021, 09:38 AM)
actually the quality of scientex property not really good lerh
anyone notice this problem? Yes, they are cheap, but I believe the improvement of our current living standard. People will try to look good quality property in future  hmm.gif
Oh I found this post...post #317

the pictures..... sweat.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 09:53 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 15 2021, 09:51 AM)
If no backfire and got business synergy ok, if backfire will be writedowns and writedowns. Burnings shareholders money
Oh... there is a really bad recent example.... London Biscuits. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 10:04 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jan 15 2021, 10:02 AM)
When you are selling low end product, and able to get high margin....

even MR DIY also cannot achieve that  laugh.gif
same with stocks...

cannot always go low end pricing for quality stocks laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: Jan 15 2021, 10:04 AM
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 10:21 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jan 15 2021, 09:05 AM)
chart of the morning...

hmm.gif

if you have, perhaps you might consider selling for a nice piece of profit. tongue.gif
ChAOoz

I cannot be ungrateful but TQ for this. smile.gif

you know ... only regret is not knowing about this earlier.

Yes, the stock was declining after its poor QR number last Feb but if I had known this stock and read the QR, this would have been one that I would have bought on weakness.

The bigger picture, for me, was that the stock was actually trending strongly after IPO. Then Feb QR happened, which by itself was perhaps an opportunity to buy on weakness. The March correction created a much bigger weakness.... this should have been ideal for me. wink.gif

what to do .... not meant to be then.......

but yea.... TQ.

rclxms.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 10:24 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jan 15 2021, 10:02 AM)
When you are selling low end product, and able to get high margin....

even MR DIY also cannot achieve that  laugh.gif
LOL! That piece of turd is above 3.00 puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif

lol.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 10:35 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 15 2021, 10:29 AM)
I should thank you instead haha.

This is the one you convince me to join dark side and rebought it back on uptrend one  tongue.gif

I mentioned weak holder and dispose my position one you remember ? Then you pull some chart, i think think and got back in.

Did you bought it ?
The first drawing ..... entered then.

Ya... had to keep quiet.... cos I dun like to share my positions tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 10:37 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 15 2021, 10:31 AM)
I remember seeing the IPO and thinking this wasn't worth the 1.70 on Day 1.
And here it is above 3.00.

I know nothing.
hahaha.... create your own blacklist...... stocks you no eye see.... tongue.gif

let's see... i got AA, AAX, LCTitan ( better stop ..... laugh.gif )
TSBoon3
post Jan 15 2021, 10:39 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 15 2021, 10:29 AM)
I should thank you instead haha.

This is the one you convince me to join dark side ...
Oi oi ..... look at ME

whistling.gif

console.gif

109 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.1405sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:31 PM