QUOTE(deadravel @ Mar 7 2017, 10:39 AM)
just to share some of my experience, after 1 year working in sg.  whistling.gif

food:
hawker food is quite affordable, u can get by ur lunch/dinner with $5
restaurant in mall normally range from ~$8 to any price

transport:
u can get to anywhere in sg by public transport - mrt/bus
so no problem with transport actually. just that u need to plan ur time well
if u stay near to ur office , then thats good and u can save alot in transportation.

accommodation:
a common room here (1pax) include utilities&internet normally rental range from $400-$700 for hdb
if condo around $800-1000+
some include aircon which is always good as weather here 80% of the time is hot

misc:
hippie cafe in sg: coffee price around $5-10, big breakfast can range from $10-30+ depending on the area where the cafe is
library in sg: apa book u mau pun ada, can borrow with a small fees
daily necessities: i see some of my fren always go JB to buy shampoo,food,watson,etc. but for me i would not spend the time going out to JB purposely buying shampoo and stuff.
tax: not much rebate like in malaysia
bank: open dbs/posb easiest, as they accept malaysia IC. also most common bank in sg, can find the atm at every corner.
mobile no.: singtel,starhub,m1. imo, starhub is the balance between singtel and m1, m1 is cheap but line not stable, singtel is stable not price higher.
entertainment: in sg, far more expensive than compare in malaysia.

imo: u can save alot $$$ in sg, unless u always go hippie cafe/restaurant, drink alcohol, or go geylang.
Go Geylang eat frog porridge won't cost a lot right? hmm.gif
ldhong
post Mar 16 2017, 09:38 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 15 2017, 10:56 PM)
1 and a half year.
Is it better to wait for awhile longer before applying PR?

I heard many saying better to wait for like one to two years plus or better after first tax submission.
ldhong
post Mar 16 2017, 08:34 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Mar 16 2017, 11:14 AM)
i think it depends.
applied after 6 to 7 months working in Singapore and got it. but i can't really remember how long the process took. i think maybe 3 to 4 months?
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 16 2017, 07:50 PM)
i will say , put the slot asap.
Noted. I will make appointment soon. If reject every year try again. LOL biggrin.gif

Btw, my colleague's application just got rejected for second time.
Both husband and wife Master degree holder and have been working in SG for 4 years.
P/s: They are India nationals.

QUOTE(WoShiAiZai @ Mar 16 2017, 08:09 PM)
came to SG to work in July 16, applied DBS eMulti-Currency Autosave Account using tenancy agreement (SG address) & IPA
being told no need min. saving for this type of account, but for multiplier account yes.. after that receive a call (about 1 month later) to ask me go back to the bank to change SG address to the address in my Malaysia IC.

tl;dr
1. No min. balance 3k requirement for DBS MULTI-CURRENCY account
2. MULTIPLIER account requires min. balance every month
3. No SG address (otherwise why ask bother to ask me to change address)

above was the situation when I first came to SG, anyone with latest info do update meĀ  icon_rolleyes.gif
For Multiplier Acc need min balance of 3K per month and if not mistaken EP holders were to open with DBS can only opt for Multiplier Account.

This post has been edited by ldhong: Mar 16 2017, 08:35 PM
ldhong
post Mar 17 2017, 09:46 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(WoShiAiZai @ Mar 17 2017, 08:04 AM)
I was given the options tho.. At least I did ask about it.. I guess they might have changed the policy.. EP holder here BTW
Lucky you.
When i arrived here last June, they told me i can only opt for Multiplier Acc although i ask for the basic savings acc...
Btw, when did you went to open acc with DBS?

ldhong
post Apr 4 2017, 04:32 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 4 2017, 03:34 PM)
here is a tip from my very own experience.

apply jobs at job portals and search for offices located at Tuas / Jurong Island or anywhere remote/ulu.

companies situated at such places are quite far from town area but usually provides company transport.

cons
- far away from town
- need to wake up early
- if missed the company bus, need to take taxi to office (need to pay $$$ from own pocket)

pros
- sg citizen and pr usually will avoid to work at these places
- save money on transport (if stay near company bus pick up point)
- easier to be shortlisted for interview
good luck smile.gif
Are you working at Tuas / Jurong Island?

Chemical or pharma industry?
ldhong
post Apr 4 2017, 09:01 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 4 2017, 08:53 PM)
This is true from my observation as well. What S'porean consider as ulu, is actually sap sap sui in terms of travel journey for us M'sian. Just get a motorbike. COE for motor is still acceptable. But those ulu/remote places you mentioned, all are manufacturing - biomedical, chemical, pharma, construction, OnG refinery, F&B, etc...
Abang Wong, do we need to bid for motorbike COE?

How does it works for motorcycle COE?

Planning to get a used bike...
ldhong
post Apr 4 2017, 09:05 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 4 2017, 05:39 PM)
construction smile.gif
QUOTE(SONYSONY @ Apr 4 2017, 07:35 PM)
Very true. I got a job at tuas. Use company bus.
You guys so lucky seems so easy to get job..

I guess EP or S-Pass employers will have to consider twice...

Btw, my workplace at Gul Road biggrin.gif
ldhong
post Apr 6 2017, 11:25 AM

620 posts

Seems like quite a number of ppl here working at West side.

Anyone into chemical or pharma plants?
ldhong
post Apr 7 2017, 10:48 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Apr 7 2017, 12:39 AM)
most of the used bike still 2-3 years COE to go before renewal. laugh.gif
i see.

thanks man icon_rolleyes.gif
ldhong
post Apr 21 2017, 09:55 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt8 @ Apr 21 2017, 09:15 AM)
Anyone here who had worked in Malaysia before moving to work at Singapore?

when u left the job at Malaysia, did the previous company at Malaysia help to submit the CP21 form to LHDN? is it compulsory? or should we just wait for next year's EA form to submit?

Need some advices on this. Thanks.
I was and i believe most of us here were working in Malaysia before coming to SG.

I did not request my ex-employer to submit CP21 form because im paying tax in Msia due to rent income.

Not sure the rest of the forumer here... hmm.gif

I also want to know.
ldhong
post May 1 2017, 10:35 PM

620 posts

Mostly heard about successful story of getting PR.

Anyone here has any unsuccessful story to tell or attempted for 2nd time?

ldhong
post Jun 23 2017, 09:51 AM

620 posts

How come you guys sound like so sad moving over to SG for work???

Trolling one is it?
ldhong
post Jul 9 2017, 11:39 PM

620 posts

Few days ago, i received letter (NOA) from IRAS asking to pay income tax for year 2016.

However, i remember somewhere in Feb 2017 i got a letter from IRAS saying no need to pay or file anything.

Is it normal that somewhere mid of the year IRAS send us letter asking us to pay tax?

Do you guys by chance experience the same? Received letter from IRAS middle of the year asking to pay tax
ldhong
post Aug 14 2017, 01:46 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 14 2017, 09:44 AM)
Ok Nvm, I checked

Fuk inside the namelist, cant run away to vote

Holiday burn
Abang Huawei, you already converted to SG citizen right?

Who else here converted also?
ldhong
post Aug 15 2017, 11:19 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 15 2017, 10:51 AM)
Out of curiousity, if you do not mind answering
why only 1 convert?
I used to have this thinking, at least got a backup plan can retire in MY.
But then, how do the spouse stay long term in MY since no longer MY citizen.
From what I heard, it is quite unlikely to get MY PR too.
Children, if they grew up in SG, unlikely they will want to move and stay in MY as it is a foreign country to them  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Perhaps, tailtwist still got property or assets in MY not willing to give up.

That's why holding on it.

MY is going backwards now towards 3rd world country. Why retire in MY?

Nobody know what will happen to MY 30 years later.
ldhong
post Aug 15 2017, 11:21 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 15 2017, 11:19 AM)
Guys, any plan for 1st Sep long weekend holiday ?

Don't knw want to go back kl onot

Sure fuking jam at custom
Taking a flight back that day.

Buy mooncakes back and visit parents..
ldhong
post Aug 15 2017, 11:26 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 15 2017, 11:24 AM)
So fast moon cake meh

4 oct oni moon cake day eh
Abang, i not every month go back.

Once every few months...

Allowances also give them in advance for few months.
ldhong
post Aug 26 2017, 02:13 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 25 2017, 09:50 PM)
What are the cheap things in Singapore?
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 25 2017, 10:01 PM)
Everything is cheaper if u don't convert
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 25 2017, 10:09 PM)
makan....household....appliances/electrical/laptop/gadgets..more spending power
QUOTE(aussiebum @ Aug 26 2017, 10:57 AM)
food, branded stuff, transport, technically everything if you compare dollar to dollar. You can simply afford an iphone 7 with 3k salary but u cant even get an iphone 7 in malaysia with 3k salary
hahaha....Don't fall for Abang Wong troll.

Abang Wong is probably at SG much more longer than us and he is very familiar with SG protocols. laugh.gif
ldhong
post Aug 29 2017, 10:54 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Aug 29 2017, 10:52 AM)
my housemate is going back korea d, so master room will be left empty...any takers?XD
Tuan,

Location and rental like...
Kasi share ma....

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:41 AM