Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

Steven7
post Apr 21 2017, 01:57 PM

255 posts

Hi guys, reporting in the thread although I have been working in SG for some time smile.gif

Steven7
post Apr 25 2017, 12:42 AM

255 posts

Guys any good no-annual-fee CC to recommend?
Steven7
post May 8 2017, 09:55 PM

255 posts

Quick question, did anyone here convert to PR and successfully convinced the boss to pay full-employer rate CPF on the first year? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Steven7: May 8 2017, 09:57 PM
Steven7
post May 8 2017, 10:41 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 8 2017, 10:17 PM)
I'm still checking with the Finance dept but they haven't get back to me since last week
Good luck bro! You just gave yourself extra 17% salary huh, you have a good boss I don't even know how should I bring this up sad.gif
Steven7
post May 8 2017, 11:28 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 8 2017, 11:26 PM)
The company that I was working for previously automatically puts its perms on graduated employee, full employer CPF scheme from the day you get your PR. So no convincing needed.

Then again the company encashes an employer CPF equivalent amount to payroll for non-PRs/SCs anyway, so it's not like they lose out.
That's a great company, mind to PM me the name or if its private then its fine. Too bad my contract don't have such clause.
Steven7
post May 8 2017, 11:30 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 8 2017, 10:52 PM)
Nah, don't think they will continue to give me that extra 17%. More likely deduction liao
Huh, what do you mean continue? So you were getting 17% right after the conversion and now they are trying to discontinue it?
Steven7
post May 11 2017, 04:08 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ May 11 2017, 11:47 AM)
Me... after a month become PR, but you have to contribute 20% from your salary in order to allow employer contribute 17%.
You need to fill in attached form and approval from CPF.
Yeah I know which form to fill but I am not sure if my employer willing to do this as this translates to 17% raise in my salary. Thanks tho.

This post has been edited by Steven7: May 11 2017, 04:08 PM
Steven7
post May 19 2017, 09:34 PM

255 posts

Anyone has recommendations for an affordable dentist, been having this toothache for few days and wanted to do a checkup. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Steven7: May 19 2017, 09:35 PM
Steven7
post May 20 2017, 02:59 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 19 2017, 10:00 PM)
CBD area?
In fact any area is fine, just don't burn a hole in my wallet is all as I may need filling or whatever sad.gif

This post has been edited by Steven7: May 20 2017, 03:00 AM
Steven7
post Aug 22 2017, 10:55 PM

255 posts

Hey guys, my PR application has been pending for 7 months now, should I give ICA a call? Will it expedite things? This application is also the reason I am holding off from jumping ship as I saw cases where people jump ship during PR application and it gets rejected.
Steven7
post Aug 23 2017, 09:33 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Aug 23 2017, 12:40 AM)
some people waited for 16 months. 7 months is normal for now
no news is good news
Yeah I know, its just that I wanted to jump ship but I don't want my 7 months go to waste. The main reason I am applying is for the easier job change and CPF (even tho its reduced rates at the first 2 years)
Steven7
post Aug 23 2017, 09:47 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(kovin @ Aug 23 2017, 09:34 AM)
you can jump ship as long as you secured your second job, just need to update ICA about your new placement
Yeah I know, its just that heard some stories ICA will be like "deducting marks" when you change job during the application
Steven7
post Aug 23 2017, 09:55 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Aug 23 2017, 09:54 AM)
not really but it has to be some increasements for your second job eg. salary, position. I got mine approved after i submit my new company annex form
Oh good to hear that! How long did you wait tho?
Steven7
post Aug 23 2017, 10:12 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Aug 23 2017, 10:10 AM)
2 weeks...but I been pending for 8 months already  biggrin.gif
Don't be disappointed even you get rejected..sooner or later PR will be yours if you r Malaysian. It's just matter of time biggrin.gif
Damn I am nearing 8 months now and its still pending bangwall.gif bangwall.gif Yeah I just want to get it as soon as possible to reap the CPF extra monies
Steven7
post Aug 23 2017, 10:21 AM

255 posts

Thanks guys now I have the confidence vote of jumping ship while applying PR since I won't be moving to a company with lesser pay biggrin.gif
Steven7
post Aug 23 2017, 10:21 AM

255 posts

Thanks guys now I have the confidence vote of jumping ship while applying PR since I won't be moving to a company with lesser pay biggrin.gif
Steven7
post Aug 23 2017, 10:27 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Aug 23 2017, 10:24 AM)
Remember only resign after you get ur new work pass approved  tongue.gif
Of course! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Steven7
post Sep 6 2017, 11:57 PM

255 posts

Helping a friend to ask here, is anyone's company hiring graphic designer?
Steven7
post Sep 27 2017, 11:50 AM

255 posts

Hi guys I have a friend who is gonna start working in Sg this October and since its near year end, am I correct to assume she will be charged 15% because of 183 days rule ?)
Steven7
post Oct 7 2017, 11:43 PM

255 posts

Hey guys, any recommendation for dentist that do root canal in JB (as SG dentist is too expensive tongue.gif)

0.2732sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:22 AM