8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

IwanAGP
post Apr 20 2023, 09:15 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 20 2023, 10:44 AM)
Hi all, I’ve just gotten my first paycheck, but I got some questions. So currently I have a DBS/POSB Payroll Account, and there’s DBS Remit to send money back to Malaysia. It advertises 0% fees, how true is that statement? If compared to wise how’s the fees/charges? Should I be transferring my money from DBS to Wise and then transfer through Wise for the best exchange rate/fees etc? Would appreciate any advice tongue.gif
Best is CIMB SG to CIMB Malaysia account direct what you see is what you get no extra charge but provided you need both. This rate usually highest also.

Used to use DBS few years ago starting the rate not bad, zero fees but last time must transfer during working hour otherwise the rate will jump. After that I move to Wise I think I sent only one time then never use already. Then change to eRemit (formerly M1Remit) till now for almost 3-4 years already.

For DBS and Wise I have no idea how good is their service and conversion rate now but if not wrong eRemit beats both of them on the rate la. You can check and compare. CIMB usually beats all of them but I don't want to maintain 2 additional bank accounts hence never open it just to transfer money.

If you want to try eRemit let me know haha

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Apr 20 2023, 09:16 PM
IwanAGP
post Apr 22 2023, 11:50 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 21 2023, 09:58 PM)
Interesting interesting, for like intercountry available banks at least, I can apply for Maybank since my main bank in Malaysia is Maybank, but idk if it'll be just worth it more to use Wise as my main, also after checking eRemit, the conversion rate do seem a little bit higher on Wise, 0.22983 on Wise and 0.2967 on eRemit, so I will probably just be using PayLah to top up to my Wise and withdrawing it from that, for savings its probably gonna be Maybank SG.. Thanks for the offer tho!  notworthy.gif
Haha not sure never check wise for quite long already. Use whichever you like haha

Maybank savings got any advantage?

For myself I have OCBC as my main savings then POSB for day to day use. Salary goes into OCBC to get bonus interest transfer out balance to POSB with ATM just downstairs like 30m away from the elevator from my block.
IwanAGP
post Apr 23 2023, 05:31 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 23 2023, 05:16 PM)
From what I can see with Maybank's (SG) website I don't think so.. but there is a 3% P.A., if that's what you're referring to as interest. Tho if OCBC's rate is high then I might consider switching over.  hmm.gif
Just checked 3% need to fulfill a lot of criteria. Base interest still 0.25%.

https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/en/personal/sa...-programme.page

I have been using OCBC360 for many years. Still finding it the easiest for bonus interest. But if you're looking for the highest base interest I think CIMB better with 1.5-3.5% just keeping money there without fulfilling any criteria. You can look around and decide on.
IwanAGP
post Apr 24 2023, 11:25 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Technika @ Apr 24 2023, 10:46 PM)
Hi All, I have a question and hope that someone can answer.

Lets said I applied Employment pass or S pass in Singapore, and I started work in Singapore on August 2023. For the year 2024 when I'm doing tax assessment for year 2023. Am I considered as resident tax or non-resident tax?

The amount difference between resident tax or non-resident tax is huge
If you continue to work beyond the required can't remember 181 or 182 days, you will be considered as Tax Resident if I'm right. It's only if you stopped working altogether then don't know how IRAS will trace that and come after you for Tax. If you change job before end of that period, your company may withhold some part of it to sort out on the tax part if not wrong.

I started work many years ago on 1st September, taking only 4 months salary and some tiny bonus for that year I actually went under the lowest tax bracket of $20k. Didn't even see any assessment for that Financial Year haha

Actually you can find the answer here:-
https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/individual-in...y-tax-residency

Foreigner who has worked in Singapore for a continuous period straddling 2 calendar years and your total period of stay* is at least 183 days. This applies to foreign employees who entered Singapore but excludes directors of a company, public entertainers or professionals.

* including your physical presence immediately before and after your employment.

Foreigners issued with a work pass that is valid for at least 1 year will also be treated as a tax resident. However, your tax residency status will be reviewed at the point of tax clearance when you cease your employment based on the tax residency rules. If your stay in Singapore is less than 183 days, you will be regarded as a non-resident.

Extra to read in case you change job while holding work pass:
https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/individual-in...tizen-employees

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Apr 24 2023, 11:29 PM
IwanAGP
post May 2 2023, 11:37 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ May 1 2023, 09:33 PM)
No. Despite 0 income, you still need to file. The alternative is to close your account. Else, LHDN will assume you still have income in MY and 'forgotten' to file. They will eventually send you a huge bill and force you to settle. How do they force you? - Blacklist with immigration. You can't leave the country until you pay up.
If I started work in Singapore and never had LHDN account before should I do anything even? Never worked in Malaysia except for 3 months of internship RM500 per month like 10+ years ago

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: May 2 2023, 11:37 PM
IwanAGP
post May 17 2023, 10:46 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 17 2023, 07:18 PM)
Just wondering what criteria they will use to determine if the applicant needs to go through medical check up.
Aiya don't worry it's just the usual HIV and TB check if not wrong. I think is compulsory for all. I can't be sure. My PR more than 5 years already. When I apply, it's still full hardcopy submission just 1 or 2 years before they move to online submission.
IwanAGP
post Jul 8 2023, 07:28 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(chupapi_munyayo @ Jul 8 2023, 10:12 AM)
Oh didn't know that. Most of my application on JobStreet
Only 1 or 2 applied through Linkedin but redirected me to their company website

Maybe I should try indeed/jobdb whatever platform available

Also I asked my friend in SG help me ask around too

But if u said SG employer moved from JobStreet but why they still post their job ad on JobStreet? Lol
Some of them post just for posting coz SG gov got this rule requiring them to post for a position for how long before they can employ a foreigner kind of thing. But it says posting it on CareersFuture not so sure.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices...ation-framework

Other than that, maybe just the market not good enough for hiring? Maybe they need 1 candidate but 1000 applied? I do hear from friends citing harder to get job in recent months.
IwanAGP
post Jul 10 2023, 11:27 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Perspective2021 @ Jul 10 2023, 11:12 AM)
Hi all,
I got a job in SG and flying there soon.

I got my IPA letter with FIN number, but I still not done my body check up yet, so i havent got my physical EP card.

would it be possible for me to register a DBS account online at this moment?
cause the registration is asking for my address.
I have my address, but how can i prove that I live there? since I havent got my EP card.
(usually we will have our registered address on a physical EP card?)

If i want to register a DBS account, another thing they want is a singaporean registered number, which I dont have currently as well.

any sifu can advise a bit?
No need to rush, just get here first then only open account. Without your EP it's harder. I suggest you to just use cash for the first month then prepare for the account afterwards. Company can either pass you cheque or just debit to you once your account is ready.

During my time I've done the same, also my bro who just came over like late last year. But I passed him my secondary account card for him to draw money to use for the first 2 months until he finally got his account done haha.
IwanAGP
post Jul 15 2023, 10:20 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Perspective2021 @ Jul 13 2023, 12:10 PM)
since i do not have EP card yet,
that means i cant buy a registered mobile number (because to get registered mobile number, EP card is required),
i have to get a tourist prepaid plan first, am i right?
You can get from some convenience store also (7-11/Cheers, note that not all have it in stock).

When I get it for my bro end last year, it was from Cheers I think but that was in the town already since I picked him up from Woodlands train checkpoint. May or may not find it in 7-11/Cheers at airport. That plan was like $10 or $15 with some credit and data included. Registration done online with Malaysia passport.

By the way, if you can, try find a number that you will keep haha then no need to switch number can just port to postpaid then switch carrier.

I'm still using the same number I bought from Changi Airport till date hahahaha.

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Jul 15 2023, 10:22 PM
IwanAGP
post Jul 27 2023, 09:29 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Malaysian always special one no? I never meet also 9 years ago also can get haha
IwanAGP
post Aug 5 2023, 11:57 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(chupapi_munyayo @ Aug 5 2023, 02:04 AM)
Wanna ask if an employement agency want to apply pass for us
Only see which pass approve by MOM either S/E pass, company only decide the salary package

Not they decide the salary package first only can apply the pass? E pass salary higher than S pass I know
Question 2:
If it's processing the pass whether S Pass or E Pass
Can I still attend another interview
If after interview their offer better then how
Usually is apply first la. You never agree the salary package with them? Like very fishy later get E Pass give you 5k get S Pass give you 3k how?
IwanAGP
post Aug 5 2023, 12:51 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(chupapi_munyayo @ Aug 5 2023, 12:04 PM)
That's why I'm thinking right now
Before Aug 1st still can check online but now need to login only can check on MOM to do the self test whether I can get what pass base on the qualifications

But for EP I think 5k or 5.5k right
Don't think they offer such high salary for msian
For Malaysian if got Degree and like 3-3.5k also can get EP one for fresh grad.

I think the minimum is you should get your pay package confirmed. Whether SP or EP same pay then only you can sign the Offer Letter. Usually in Offer Letter it should state the pay and then there will be a clause stating that the offer letter is valid only if company manage to apply SP/EP for you. Company will try to apply EP first if cannot get only they apply SP. That's linked to the levy and man year quota thing.

Anyway let others advise you ya I'm over 5 years on PR already not sure how is it now haha

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Aug 5 2023, 12:52 PM
IwanAGP
post Dec 4 2023, 09:26 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Dec 4 2023, 09:07 AM)
Hi, anyone recently applied for PR since they moved to online submission? Do they still require hardcopy? My wife's degree cert quite big, and difficult to bring around without damaging it unless I buy those tube cases
Uni never give the tube case?? Mine came with it so I still have it in the case. Anyway can't verify for you got my PR for quite some year already.
IwanAGP
post Apr 12 2024, 08:27 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(lynnssssss @ Apr 12 2024, 11:02 AM)
Hey guys - need help, i need to make some phone call to contact malaysia bank, what's the cheapest way to call back to Malaysia? thanks!
Can check if your Malaysia telco supports VoWiFi. I'm on DiGi and it supports VoWiFi. Can make call through WiFi in Singapore. Make sure it's on VoWiFi though.

It's called WiFi Calling in Samsung, not sure what phone you using also you can check accordingly. Samsung can set prefer to call over mobile or WiFi.

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Apr 12 2024, 08:31 PM
IwanAGP
post Apr 13 2024, 01:36 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(lynnssssss @ Apr 13 2024, 12:06 AM)
thank you! unfortunately, i'm using iphone with maxis hotlink sad.gif i try google for iphone wifi call, cant find anything helpful sad.gif
https://support.apple.com/en-sg/108066

iPhone does support WiFi-Calling but Maxis does not support VoWiFi abroad.

https://www.maxis.com.my/en/faq/network/mobile/vowifi/

Can I use VoWiFi while roaming?
VoWiFi while roaming is not available.

IwanAGP
post Jul 10 2024, 10:55 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Jul 9 2024, 10:01 PM)
Hi Guys,

I kena charge by Digi for receiving international SMS (banking SMS) about RM55 last month, which I didnot aware about it.
Could you suggest that how do you receive the Malaysia OTP without activate international roaming, and able to receive SMS?

Thanks in advance.

Data roaming is for DATA.

You just enable the sim card without turning on data roaming SMS will just come through directly.
IwanAGP
post Jul 14 2024, 11:26 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Jul 14 2024, 05:08 PM)
Thanks for reply, Bro.
I tried, but not sure why, I received the OTP or SMS after few hours. 😅

If this is for banking purpose, I don’t think this is work after few hours. Did you all have same experience?

No. Usually just a few seconds
IwanAGP
post Jul 16 2024, 08:41 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Jul 15 2024, 03:03 PM)
Thanks for your reply here.
I confirmed with Digi CS, roaming is required in order to receive the SMS.  cry.gif

Below is the message:
Any good telco plan for only receive SMS/OTP purpose?

Roaming is not Data Roaming. Roaming, Pay As You Use, is free for receiving SMS. Only when you send sms/call then yes you need to pay.

If you turn on DATA ROAMING, all apps in your phone will use that data and that's why you got deducted that much. sweat.gif sweat.gif If you still don't understand need other sifu explain liao.

Also btw, I have been on DiGi Prepaid for the last 10 years here in SG. Never did I sign up any plan/roaming, just enable the SIM CARD in phone, let it connect to the local network WITHOUT DATA, SMS will just come right through.

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Jul 16 2024, 08:43 PM
IwanAGP
post Jul 21 2024, 11:03 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Jul 21 2024, 05:46 PM)
Thanks for your explanation, Bro.

I realised that the charge is came from the incoming calls as per screen (although i didnot pick up). Is this something wrong? How to prevent it?

Check your voicemail? Make sure it's disabled. Other than that, make sure you turn off if not in use? I keep my line off 99% of time only on when I'm expecting sms/call.

https://soyacincau.com/2022/09/26/avoid-exp...cemail-service/

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Jul 21 2024, 11:05 PM
IwanAGP
post Nov 14 2024, 12:21 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(JasonthegreatTWO @ Nov 13 2024, 04:12 PM)
For Employment Pass minimum Salary, does it consider Allowance and Bonus or just basic monthly?
https://www.mom.gov.sg/faq/employment-pass/...-monthly-salary

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.2735sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:37 PM