Reducing Weight While Strength Training

bafukie
post Mar 2 2017, 03:21 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Mar 2 2017, 03:00 PM)
I should do once a week cheat day to keep the calories burning instead of body adapting I guess.

Thanks!! rclxms.gif
Errr no.... Tats just excuse to cheat. Not yet, u haf to earn the right to do cheat meals. To be blunt, yr body fat % is still way too high to do cheat meals.
lingleeyen
post Mar 2 2017, 05:29 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Mar 2 2017, 03:00 PM)
I should do once a week cheat day to keep the calories burning instead of body adapting I guess.

Thanks!! rclxms.gif
Thats not how it works. Note what I put in. "long deficit". Cheat day or eating a week at maintenance doesnt do you any good NOW. A cheat day a week to keep the calorie burning is an excuse to binge.
TSavailyboy
post Mar 2 2017, 05:38 PM

So Prettay!
786 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Mar 2 2017, 03:21 PM)
Errr no.... Tats just excuse to cheat. Not yet, u haf to earn the right to do cheat meals. To be blunt, yr body fat % is still way too high to do cheat meals.
QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Mar 2 2017, 05:29 PM)
Thats not how it works. Note what I put in. "long deficit". Cheat day or eating a week at maintenance doesnt do you any good NOW. A cheat day a week to keep the calorie burning is an excuse to binge.
Got to agree that my body fat is still super high =/. Will try to increase cardio and see how's my weight in few weeks time. Target 3 months to show some resulttt hahaha can't wait .. ~ rclxms.gif
Tomorrow will be my 4th week already
kshen
post Mar 2 2017, 07:55 PM

If only these stars are edilbe
702 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Mar 2 2017, 12:58 PM)
On the fundamental level, gaining or losing is about knowing ur macro needs and fill them with foods that fits into your lifestyle that is sustainable in a long period
I highlight the word lifestyle because everyone has different lifestyle and diff liking of foods. Once can eat chicken breast all day but one might not
I highlight the word sustainable because it is a marathon, you'll be doing the same practice for the rest of your life.

https://www.iifym.com/iifym-calculator/
http://nutritiondata.self.com/

Success is often about how long and how tough one can sustain a challenge. Gambateh!
QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Mar 2 2017, 02:32 PM)
Sometimes u need to eat more to continue loosing. Not trolling. True story. That is why sometimes cheat day helps. Sometimes eating at your maintenance after a long deficit helps. But you need to know what you are doing and when you should be doing that.
These point are good points I'd take into mind when starting your journey.

TS , have you tried considering IF ?
lingleeyen
post Mar 2 2017, 08:20 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ Mar 2 2017, 07:55 PM)
These point are good points I'd take into mind when starting your journey.

TS , have you tried considering IF ?
But if he does not set up his macros with his TDEE, aint IF going to do him more bad? Starve for say since ystd 10pm to the next day 2pm...if it is me I confirm binge if I dont know my tdee.
darklight79
post Mar 3 2017, 12:48 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Mar 1 2017, 05:25 PM)
Dear All,

Would like to have you guy's advise on this matter. I'm currently on a diet, which I am at 101kg with 176cm height. Started doing gym 3 weeks ago, hitting cardio, strength and finally cardio with swimming (45 minutes, breastroke mixed with butterfly).

My food intake goes this way : -

Morning : -
Egg with tomatoes
Chicken Breast.

Lunch : -
Chicken Breast?
Some normal food la

Dinner : -
Egg again with chicken breast

Supper : - (After Gym)
Chicken breast from KFC - LOL

Somehow, I've been losing about 2 kg per week now, since i started off with 106kg+. So, what do you guys suggest I can add on? I'm trying to lose my tummy fat, my neck fat, my face which is so bulky. Lols. P.S my pic is 2 weeks after i started gyming. I can eat chicken breast all day, but could it really help?

I'm looking forward to purchase Protein Shake now, and currently on Amino Pre-workout which helped quite alot.

[attachmentid=8541748]
Your plan is nonsense. You're not systematic.
You don't count calories. If I tell you that you can lose weight eating nasi lemak daily, would you believe me? Even if you could, don't. You're not experienced enough for that kind of flexibility.
You think supplements are magic.
And you don't seem to be listening to advice given.
And you shouldn't even consider a cheat day.
TSavailyboy
post Mar 3 2017, 03:03 PM

So Prettay!
786 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 3 2017, 12:48 PM)
Your plan is nonsense. You're not systematic.
You don't count calories. If I tell you that you can lose weight eating nasi lemak daily, would you believe me? Even if you could, don't. You're not experienced enough for that kind of flexibility.
You think supplements are magic.
And you don't seem to be listening to advice given.
And you shouldn't even consider a cheat day.
Hi bro, was just looking up the information regarding the cheat day, so just wondering how it would help though. I've been keeping my calories less than 2k daily though.

I got to agree, yes it's not systematic thus I'm seeking and looking advises given and try to see and work out a plan. After 3 weeks, It's only my first time purchasing supplement which thinking it could help out with the "not having enough protein".

Thus, I've stopped taking KFC already, but just cooked breast meat and other foods like brocolli, lady fingers etc.
laucy.my
post Mar 4 2017, 06:27 AM

161 posts

I think really you shouldn't worry about anything else other than counting your calories, drinking your water and lifting your weights at the moment. Find out your TDEE and eat according to it. I am on the same journey as you and when I got started I was really obsessed with everything, the amount of reading, writing and calculating I did was insane yet little to no results. Took DL's advice of taking a chill pill and ate more. Bam 6 kilos off just like that! Slow and steady is the way to go so keep it simple. Good luck! smile.gif

This post has been edited by laucy.my: Mar 4 2017, 06:28 AM
diaBoliQu3
post Mar 5 2017, 08:56 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

Monitor your calories intake. I started with 2 cheat meal per week, then 1 cheat meal per week. After that I stop clean diet because losing weight isn't my main concern now. I just try not to overeating the whole day and keep lifting. Google calories monitoring/ calculator.

Do a good strength program. Simple Strength, Stronglift, and my favourite Jim Wendler 531. I want to try Simple Strength however I don't workout in gym and my bar is a cheap fixed type bar so 531 is the best program for me.

The most problem with beginner is they think only need to work their chest and arm everyday while crunches and sit up will give you six pack, ignoring what others advice them. And then they turn to some drug or supplements.
darklight79
post Mar 7 2017, 11:15 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Mar 3 2017, 03:03 PM)
Hi bro, was just looking up the information regarding the cheat day, so just wondering how it would help though. I've been keeping my calories less than 2k daily though.

I got to agree, yes it's not systematic thus I'm seeking and looking advises given and try to see and work out a plan. After 3 weeks, It's only my first time purchasing supplement which thinking it could help out with the "not having enough protein".

Thus, I've stopped taking KFC already, but just cooked breast meat and other foods like brocolli, lady fingers etc.
You're not even counting calories!
I don't care if you stop taking KFC and just eat chicken tits and the fingers of young ladies.

I have clients losing weight on KFC. I know some fools who get fat eating "clean foods".

Moral of story? No count calories, whatever your food choices, do it wrong and over eat and you get fat. Period.
degraw1993
post Mar 7 2017, 01:57 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 7 2017, 11:15 AM)
You're not even counting calories!
I don't care if you stop taking KFC and just eat chicken tits and the fingers of young ladies.

I have clients losing weight on KFC. I know some fools who get fat eating "clean foods".

Moral of story? No count calories, whatever your food choices, do it wrong and over eat and you get fat. Period.
Lol chicken tits
darklight79
post Mar 8 2017, 11:08 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ Mar 7 2017, 01:57 PM)
Lol chicken tits
I'm not sure if the fella is blind or just deliberately being stubborn. Up to now no mention of calorie counting. LOL!!!
champlaos11
post Mar 8 2017, 11:18 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Mar 3 2017, 03:03 PM)

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 8 2017, 11:08 AM)
I'm not sure if the fella is blind or just deliberately being stubborn. Up to now no mention of calorie counting. LOL!!!
In all fairness, he did mention about keeping calories less than 2k daily. So one could presume that he does count his calories if he could keep his calories below 2k.
TSavailyboy
post Mar 8 2017, 07:57 PM

So Prettay!
786 posts

QUOTE(champlaos11 @ Mar 8 2017, 11:18 AM)
In all fairness, he did mention about keeping calories less than 2k daily. So one could presume that he does count his calories if he could keep his calories below 2k.
Thanks for pointing that out bro. Yes, ive been calculating using the bmi and the required calories to reduce weight. Cheers.
bafukie
post Mar 8 2017, 09:21 PM

1,406 posts

Yr tdee isn't adding up. U shud not be eating below 2k with yr current weight n lifestyle
Everdying
post Mar 9 2017, 09:45 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Mar 8 2017, 09:21 PM)
Yr tdee isn't adding up. U shud not be eating below 2k with yr current weight n lifestyle
ya but hes obviously going for a drastic cut la...
his first post mentions losing 2kg / week which is quite mad.

TSavailyboy
post Mar 9 2017, 11:07 AM

So Prettay!
786 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Mar 8 2017, 09:21 PM)
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 9 2017, 09:45 AM)
ya but hes obviously going for a drastic cut la...
his first post mentions losing 2kg / week which is quite mad.
Hey guys, yes it's quite true that I'm keeping below 2k calories to have a big heavy weightloss, which I'm not sure if it's alright or not. Currently I'm at 101.3kg, and seems to be stuck already not going down. Been gulping a lot of water and working out every alternate days.

Thanks Guys, i've been reading through all the advises and adjust the workout plan flex.gif
bafukie
post Mar 9 2017, 11:24 AM

1,406 posts

Drastic cut - understood and i did the same. From 90+kg i ate a miserable 1.5k calorie per day for a week or two. Found good information and i adjust to my tdee -200/300 calorie and my weight has gone down since. Just one question, <2k per day. What if yr weight loss stop or plateau? U gonna cut further to say 1.8k? Then 1.5 1.2 or even less than 1k calorie per day? The fact is yr weight loss is going to plateau several times before u reach yr target weight. What are u gonna do about it then when yr first step is technically wrong with such drastic drop in calories. Think abt it.
TSavailyboy
post Mar 9 2017, 12:38 PM

So Prettay!
786 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Mar 9 2017, 11:24 AM)
Drastic cut - understood and i did the same. From 90+kg i ate a miserable 1.5k calorie per day for a week or two. Found good information and i adjust to my tdee -200/300 calorie and my weight has gone down since. Just one question, <2k per day. What if yr weight loss stop or plateau? U gonna cut further to say 1.8k? Then 1.5 1.2 or even less than 1k calorie per day? The fact is yr weight loss is going to plateau several times before u reach yr target weight. What are u gonna do about it then when yr first step is technically wrong with such drastic drop in calories. Think abt it.
Hmm, in this case bro what do you suggest? You meant that we should reduce the calorie intake slowly like 500 more or less?.... I couldn't tahan the 100kg mark bangwall.gif haha.

Thanks !
kshen
post Mar 9 2017, 07:23 PM

If only these stars are edilbe
702 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Mar 2 2017, 08:20 PM)
But if he does not set up his macros with his TDEE, aint IF going to do him more bad? Starve for say since ystd 10pm to the next day 2pm...if it is me I confirm binge if I dont know my tdee.
Yep. I fear that consistency would be lost by the 2nd week and progress will remain the same despite on IF. It will be useless if he doesn't count his calories no matter what "diet" he does.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0248sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:39 AM