[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

TristanX
post Dec 14 2023, 07:59 PM

Where is my stars?
24,342 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 14 2023, 07:53 PM)
so i just need to change the case and the rest is okay?
Yeah, Montech Air 903 Max extreme value for money. Also, go for at least DDR5-5600. AMD CPUs loves RAM speed.
Baconateer
post Dec 14 2023, 08:20 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 14 2023, 07:59 PM)
Yeah, Montech Air 903 Max extreme value for money. Also, go for at least DDR5-5600. AMD CPUs loves RAM speed.
can i just stick to 5200 and OC it to 5600?
TristanX
post Dec 14 2023, 08:49 PM

Where is my stars?
24,342 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 14 2023, 08:20 PM)
Thats up to you. If you want to be adventurous.
Baconateer
post Dec 14 2023, 09:02 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 14 2023, 08:49 PM)
Thats up to you. If you want to be adventurous.
thanks thumbsup.gif
babylon52281
post Dec 15 2023, 01:41 AM

2,686 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 14 2023, 08:20 PM)
5200 is pretty much JEDEC so for such kits the EXPO will be 5600/5800. Can try to shoot for 5600 EXPO kits if the cost difference isnt that much.
Baconateer
post Dec 15 2023, 09:04 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 15 2023, 01:41 AM)
5200 is pretty much JEDEC so for such kits the EXPO will be 5600/5800. Can try to shoot for 5600 EXPO kits if the cost difference isnt that much.
what's the difference between buying 5200 and OC it 5600 and buying 5600 straight away?
babylon52281
post Dec 15 2023, 10:51 AM

2,686 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 15 2023, 09:04 AM)
what's the difference between buying 5200 and OC it 5600 and buying 5600 straight away?
EXPO/XMP is pretty much assured their higher speeds as long as its in mobo QVL & CPU IMC is able to support. OCing is no guarantee to achieve the speeds, you will have to do a lot of manual tweaking with primary & 2ndary timings to achieve higher speeds. EXPO/XMP does that automatically.
A caveat is that if you know what ur doing, you can typically get better results than EXPO/XMP. But getting to the knife edge meant a lot time intensive stability testing to ensure ur PC dont crap on you.
Baconateer
post Dec 15 2023, 11:00 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 15 2023, 10:51 AM)
EXPO/XMP is pretty much assured their higher speeds as long as its in mobo QVL & CPU IMC is able to support. OCing is no guarantee to achieve the speeds, you will have to do a lot of manual tweaking with primary & 2ndary timings to achieve higher speeds. EXPO/XMP does that automatically.
A caveat is that if you know what ur doing, you can typically get better results than EXPO/XMP. But getting to the knife edge meant a lot time intensive stability testing to ensure ur PC dont crap on you.
so recommended to just spend a little bit more and get 5600 as this the most stable option?
Granit3Grey
post Dec 15 2023, 11:01 AM

20 posts

Hi All,

Is the attached desktop a good deal at the price of RM6495? The 4070 GPU is not really needed as the purpose of the desktop mostly for works and less gaming or maybe no gaming (no interesting game to play at this moment) so will choose (Amd Radeon because cheaper and more Ram?? Open for opinions.)

Thank you.

[Budget] - 5K - 6K

[Purpose] - rendering design and lighting

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - HDD of various sizes and 1080 monitor

[Monitor resolution] - using 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - Architecture software and Lighting software

[Personal preferences] - looking for opinions with Intel I7, 32GB Ram, 1GB SSD and the Microsoft Windows Pro activated

[Location] - KL

babylon52281
post Dec 15 2023, 11:13 AM

2,686 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 15 2023, 11:00 AM)
so recommended to just spend a little bit more and get 5600 as this the most stable option?
You want as little headaches as possible when dealing with AM5 system esp with its finicky memory compatibility & stability. EXPO 5600 can be expected to achieve, 5800 is getting to the edge, 6000 is supposedly sweetspot for AM5 (according to AMD) but then again not assured to get. Many complain on Reddit they could only max stable @5800MT.
Thats AMD for you.
myway1985
post Dec 15 2023, 11:42 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 15 2023, 01:41 AM)
5200 JEDEC its the OC prototyle of 4800.. dun take
myway1985
post Dec 15 2023, 11:43 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Granit3Grey @ Dec 15 2023, 11:01 AM)
Hi All,

Is the attached desktop a good deal at the price of RM6495? The 4070 GPU is not really needed as the purpose of the desktop mostly for works and less gaming or maybe no gaming (no interesting game to play at this moment) so will choose (Amd Radeon because cheaper and more Ram?? Open for opinions.)

Thank you.

[Budget] - 5K - 6K

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - Architecture software and Lighting software

[Personal preferences] - looking for opinions with Intel I7, 32GB Ram, 1GB SSD and the Microsoft Windows Pro activated

[Location] - KL
u wan for work.. take F processor will giv u nightmare.. intel integrated pair with dedicated gpu its the way..

OPTI7010TowerPlus /i7-13700 /32GB /2x1TBSSD+2TBSATA /NVIDIARTX30508GB(3DP /HDMI),FullHeight /WIN11Pro/3Year On-site Pro support

RM6500

branded.. pay for onsite service..

PREC3460SMALLFORMFACTOR /i7-12700 /32GB /512GBSSD /NVIDIARTXA200012GB(4mDPtoDPadapter),LowProfile /WIN11Pro/3yr on-site pro support

RM6389 this professional gpu.. not as fast as gaming card.. but can run 24/7 n wont crash

PREC3660TOWER /i9-13900K /32GB /1TBSSD /NvidiaT10008GB4mDPtoDP /NOOS/3yr pro support

RM6859

This post has been edited by myway1985: Dec 15 2023, 12:23 PM
Granit3Grey
post Dec 15 2023, 02:35 PM

20 posts

Thanks myway1985. Shall inform my friend on your recommendation but it seems too profesional for his works requirement.

Is not for a company but himself freelance/part time. Thank you again for your time.
myway1985
post Dec 15 2023, 02:47 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Granit3Grey @ Dec 15 2023, 02:35 PM)
Thanks myway1985. Shall inform my friend on your recommendation but it seems too profesional for his works requirement.

Is not for a company but himself freelance/part time. Thank you again for your time.
he can contact me thru my fb page.. his usage dun need 4070... waste money only..
babylon52281
post Dec 15 2023, 08:58 PM

2,686 posts

QUOTE(Granit3Grey @ Dec 15 2023, 11:01 AM)
Hi All,

Thank you.

[Budget] - 5K - 6K

[Location] - KL
IMHO nope. Thats a gaming PC (albeit not a very good one either), what ur looking for is a CAD work PC.

Go Intel as its more stable if work uptime is important to you.

Go for Ksku i7 as CAD software likes core speeds rather than core count. Get a beefy aircooler ie FC/FS140 rather than worrying about AIO pump eventual failure. You want ur work PC to be ultra reliable, have you seen a work PC with AIO?

High end GPU not necessary but need lots of VRAM to output large design file so go for something like 3060 12GB. And yes go NVIDIA for better driver stability.

The rest is just poor mobo, poor DRAMless SSD, Myway can quote you a better work PC if ur in Klang Valley
calvincty
post Dec 16 2023, 02:00 PM

226 posts

Looking for a custom-built PC for light gaming that works as a second machine. Budget 2.5K+. Using Idealtech to check the pricing of the build. Not necessary to be the exact items for some as I have no idea which is better

Requirements:
- Ryzen 5600G -> Light gaming - CS:GO, L4D2
- 32GB memory
- 1TB NVME
- WiFi 6

The rest are really looking for an expert's suggestion!
TristanX
post Dec 16 2023, 02:13 PM

Where is my stars?
24,342 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Dec 16 2023, 02:00 PM)

Looking for a custom-built PC for light gaming that works as a second machine. Budget 2.5K+. Using Idealtech to check the pricing of the build. Not necessary to be the exact items for some as I have no idea which is better

Requirements:
- Ryzen 5600G -> Light gaming - CS:GO, L4D2
- 32GB memory
- 1TB NVME
- WiFi 6

The rest are really looking for an expert's suggestion!
RAM round 330ish today I think. Use the RAM balance and change SSD to Kingston KC3000 2TB for around RM550. Don't pay for that extremely overpriced Samseng SSD.

Adata XPG Core Reacter 650W can be found for RM428. Better than that overpriced Antec.
calvincty
post Dec 16 2023, 02:53 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 16 2023, 02:13 PM)
RAM round 330ish today I think. Use the RAM balance and change SSD to Kingston KC3000 2TB for around RM550. Don't pay for that extremely overpriced Samseng SSD.

Adata XPG Core Reacter 650W can be found for RM428. Better than that overpriced Antec.
Thank you! Refresh the spec with updated pricing from C-zone. Looks okay?

This post has been edited by calvincty: Dec 16 2023, 03:27 PM
TristanX
post Dec 16 2023, 03:53 PM

Where is my stars?
24,342 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Dec 16 2023, 02:53 PM)

No complaints. Go for it.
babylon52281
post Dec 16 2023, 05:03 PM

2,686 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Dec 16 2023, 02:53 PM)

Since ur not going to have a GPU (using IGPU instead), can make do with cheaper PSU, MSI MAG A650BN or FSP HVPro 650W both C tier @Rm250ish but decent one tho.

Get a mobo with builtin Wifi ie https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B550M-PRO-VDH-WIFI so you dont need to spend money on a wifi card.

Ultimately while AM4 has a stronger APU lineup, I would suggest pay a bit more for Intel for better stability & less headaches.

i5 12500
MSI B660M-A Wifi (this has builtin Wifi)
MSI MAG A650BN or FSP HVPro 650W
Case Tecware Nexus M2 or Montech Air 100 (much cheaper than branded ones)
The rest same above, the cost saved in PSU & case can go into offset the pricier CPU. You will have much more better balanced system if when you want to drop in a GPU later on(max 230W ie 6700XT or 3070).

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 16 2023, 05:08 PM

1384 Pages « < 1176 1177 1178 1179 1180 > » Top

0.0402sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:29 AM