4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

richard912
post Mar 17 2017, 11:10 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Ultraman123 @ Mar 17 2017, 10:40 AM)
Thanks with the useful link.
Another noob question to ask, is the i7 7700 can support a ddr3 motherboard?
As Terence mentioned, you will need to get older mobo that supports DDR3 for this purpose. Unless your plan revolves around reusing existing DDR3 that you may have, it is actually better to get on the current DDR4 platforms. You could always sell your DDR3 in GS
richard912
post Mar 17 2017, 02:38 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(shunkori @ Mar 17 2017, 12:13 PM)
Yeah, I am aware of that. This is what I planning for my rig

Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
z170 or z270 mobo.

Not sure if I should push higher for z270 or 170. my budget is around 5k +-
Cost of Z270 vs Z170 mobo is not too overly different. Better to be current since you are going into KabyLake. Don't be penny wise and pound foolish
richard912
post Mar 17 2017, 08:28 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(gengreengeng @ Mar 17 2017, 07:27 PM)
Proc - i3-4130
Mobo - Asrock H81M-DGS
GPU -
PSU - FSP Hexa 500w
HDD - 500 g WD
RAM - kingston Value RAM 8GB

Hey guys, i wang to buy new gpu. Budget around 400 below. What can i get with that budget (replace my gtx 750 ti). Someone offer me asus gtx 750 ti strix oc rm 400. With warranty. Should i take it?
Unless your current gtx 750i is dead, the gtx 750 ti strix OC is the same thing
richard912
post Mar 17 2017, 09:12 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(gengreengeng @ Mar 17 2017, 08:51 PM)
Yup dead... So the price is okay?
If it is in good condition, RM400 for a gtx750ti Strix OC is decently priced
richard912
post Mar 17 2017, 09:27 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 17 2017, 09:18 PM)
You should get something better. Getting the same thing is not worth it. Games gets more demanding over time.
Tough with his RM400 budget
richard912
post Mar 18 2017, 12:19 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(bpc @ Mar 18 2017, 11:58 AM)
thx mate
MSI X370 XPOWER GAMING TITANIUM # AMD RYZEN Socket AM4 looks fine actually has ddr4 3200 support price is 1799 at dotatech
and for graphics card i am thinking GIGABYTE GTX1070 WINDFORCE # 8G/D5 / GV-N1070WF2-8GD what do u say? and finally can i fit all those to NZXT MANTA Mini ITX  ? biggrin.gif thx man
The Gigabyte gtx1070 windforce length is 280mm while NZXT Manta can cater for GPU up to 363mm length so, no problem. As the NZXT Manta is for M-ITX mobo, please ensure the mobo you select is M-ITX as I don't think the MSI X370 XPOWER GAMING TITANIUM is M-ITX.

EDIT: If you looking for a small chassis but using ATX mobo, do consider Fractal Design Define C, NZXT S340 or Corsair Carbide 400

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 18 2017, 12:22 PM
richard912
post Mar 19 2017, 10:16 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(suju2403 @ Mar 19 2017, 10:11 AM)
oic i5.. alright..

is it better to get new i5 generation priced around 700-900 or used i5 4th generation which i saw around 400-600.
Sometimes there also used i7 around my budget though. is better performance to get used i7 of 2nd - 4th generation compare to that i3-7100?

intel that got 3 digit is what generation? like i5 750 or somewhat,, cant remember

btw.. thanks  biggrin.gif
It depends on the mobo that you already have. Given that your friend already has an i3-7100 (Kabylake), he could consider getting an i5-6xxx (Skylake). Unfortunately, that motherboard cannot be used with older generation of CPUs
richard912
post Mar 19 2017, 10:40 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(suju2403 @ Mar 19 2017, 10:20 AM)
his mobo is asrock h110m-hdv.

icic.. need to see if its compatible also  hmm.gif

thanks  smile.gif
The Asrock h110m-hdv will support both 6th and 7th Gen Intel CPU with its socket 1151.
richard912
post Mar 21 2017, 09:54 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(celicaizpower @ Mar 21 2017, 09:18 AM)
Hi Guys,

Games that I play:

1. CSGO
2. Mass Effect: Andromeda (Coming soon)
3. The Witcher

My standard resolution is Full HD 1920 x 1080p

I am planning to upgrade my 8 year old CPU (AMD x3 720BE) to the new Ryzen. What do you think of the below specs:

AMD Ryzen R5 1600X
RX 470 or RX 570 (Launching in April 2017)
Gigabyte or Asus B350 Mainboard
Samsung 850 Evo 120GB SSD
KG240A 144MHz monitor
Cosair VS 650W
8GB Cosair D4 Vengence 2666 C16 LPX 2X

Other PC items that are not relevant:
Armageddon Case

Thanks for the assist, appreciate it.
Looks like a capable build for 1080p gaming. You may want to consider getting a bigger SSD or adding a HDD though.

EDIT : Witcher 3 and Mass Effect: Andromeda will require 40+55Gb free storage space

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 21 2017, 09:57 AM
richard912
post Mar 21 2017, 10:17 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Mar 21 2017, 09:56 AM)
Hi guys. I'm thinking of building a mini pc using Cooler Master 110 or any similar portable mini PC case. Please give full suggestion for the hardwares that I need thanks.

[Budget] <RM2k

[Purpose] Gaming on 1080P on smallest PC, high graphic setting.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 1TB Green HDD, MKB+Mouse.

[Monitor resolution]
- ViewSonic VA2419-SH IPS - RM 495 1080P, if there's a better 1 pls give suggestion. Minimum 21.5".

[Games & softwares that use frequently] : The Witcher series, common upcoming AAA games

[Personal preferences] : RX460 2GB, I will upgrade to GTX1070. So expecting to be using same CPU for GTX1070. Will not overclock. Amd Ryzen if viable?
The Cooler Master ELite 110 case supports M-ITX mobo and GPU length up to 210mm. Not sure if your RM2k budget is inclusive of the monitor (RM495)

CPU - Intel G4560 RM249
Mobo - Asus H110i-PLUS RM380
RAM - 8GB Kingston PC DDR4-2133 RM270
HDD - Re-use
Case - Cooler Master Elite 110 RM189
PSU - Cooler Master Elite 550W RM235
GPU - Gigabyte RX460 Windforce OC 2Gb RM559 (Idealtech)

TOTAL - RM1882 Based on C-Zone pricing unless otherwise stated

If you elect to go with i3-6100 (RM493) instead, total works out to RM2126 or i3-7100 (RM518) for RM2151

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 21 2017, 10:24 AM
richard912
post Mar 21 2017, 10:32 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(celicaizpower @ Mar 21 2017, 10:25 AM)
Hi Bro,

thanks for the reply, good point! guess I will need the higher capacity SSD.

A question though, since the B350 board does support on-PCIE m2 SSD, would it be better to buy a m2 SSD or a normal Sata SSD?
In terms of read/write performance between M2 SSD and SATA SSD, both are about the same but you will pay slightly more for the M2 (+RM20-30). So, it really is up to you.
richard912
post Mar 21 2017, 11:07 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Kieln @ Mar 21 2017, 10:52 AM)
Thanks for the clear explanation.  smile.gif
Last question, what kind of game will required the horsepower of i7?
And I heard that i7 is mainly for video editing purposes?
Terence already highlighted, any CPU demanding titles like Watch Dogs 2, Hitman 2016, TC: GR Wildlands etc.
richard912
post Mar 22 2017, 09:01 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(What Is This I Don't Even @ Mar 21 2017, 10:28 PM)
hi sifu2 here
im planning to buy a new rig this weekend
purpose is for gaming
but budget is quite small, just rm2.5k..however this is excluding monitor
seek your advise on the best spec for this budget please
tq
Would be good to know what kind of games you play to establish whether they are GPU/CPU demanding or not. Here's something to consider:

CPU - Intel G4560 RM249
Mobo - Asus H110i-PLUS RM380
RAM - 8GB Kingston PC DDR4-2133 RM270
HDD - 1TB 7200rpm RM212
Case - Cooler Master Elite 110 RM189
PSU - Cooler Master Elite 550W RM235
GPU - GIGABYTE GTX1050 2G D5 OC RM599

TOTAL - RM2134 based on C-Zone pricing

For better GPU, GIGABYTE GTX1050TI 4G D5 RM715
Add SSD, KINGSTON UV400 120GB RM239

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 22 2017, 09:03 AM
richard912
post Mar 22 2017, 02:15 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Mar 22 2017, 11:53 AM)
[Budget] 7k

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] AAA titles

[Personal preferences] Don't intend to overclock. 2 GB hard disk at least. GPU minimum 1060.

[Location] KL

Wondering if this is a good period to buy, or should wait a month or so for better bang for buck based on new releases?
CPU - Intel i5-7600 RM1002
MOBO - ASUS ROG STRIX H270F GAMING RM689
RAM - GSkill 2800C15 RIPJAWS V 2x8GB RM583
SSD - Samsung 850 EVO 120GB RM286
HDD - Seagate Barracuda 2TB RM313
GPU - ASUS GTX1070 8G D5 OC STRIX GAMING RM2649
PSU - Superflower Leader Silver 550W RM359
Case - Tecware Edge RM169

Total - RM6050 based on C-Zone prices

EDIT : Not sure what type of 1080p monitor you prefer but I listed 24" gaming monitors:
ACER XF240H -144Hz RM1199
BenQ XL2411Z -144Hz RM1199

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 22 2017, 02:36 PM
richard912
post Mar 22 2017, 02:48 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ Mar 22 2017, 02:07 PM)
[Budget] 600

[Purpose] Extended monitor

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
CPU: Intel Core i5-6400
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
SSD: Adata 240GB SP500 Premier Pro
HDD: WD 3.5" 1TB Caviar Blue
RAM: Corsair Value Select DDR4 2132 8GB
MBD: Gigabyte H110M-DS2-CF
PSU: FSP Hexa+ 550W 80 Plus
Monitor: 22 Inch LED (details...)
Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Chroma v2
Mouse: DeathAdder Elite Chroma

[Games & softwares that use frequently] AAA titles

[Personal preferences] The extended monitor can be several inch smaller or wider. My purpose is one monitor for gaming, another for movies and web browsing.

[Location] KL

Side note, need pro advice on my build. Anything seems wrong? Except the fact that my GPU is single fan from ZOTAC which I bought off at RM950
Your build looks okay. Note however that your existing 22" Samsung monitor don't have DVI nor HDMI input. You want to maintain this as your primary? For RM600, your choice will just be main stream 60Hz monitors eg ACER 24" KA241 (RM599). Since your existing Samsung is a 22", you could consider ACER 21.5" KA221Q (RM499). Note that both have DVI and HDMI inputs
richard912
post Mar 22 2017, 08:08 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(yh28 @ Mar 22 2017, 06:24 PM)
Hi, not sure is it the right place to ask,
bought a laptop with i3-6100U with 4gb ram,
would like to swap out its 500gb 5400rpm with a ssd,
any suggestion which brand/model to buy in terms of price/performance,
prolly a 120gb or 240gb variant
I tend to have a bias towards Samsung 850 EVO SSD
richard912
post Mar 23 2017, 08:20 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(What Is This I Don't Even @ Mar 22 2017, 11:54 PM)
thanks for the advice
maybe i'll reuse my 1tb hdd from my old pc to save some budget for the i5
then i5 7400 should be ok rite?
do i need to change the psu and mobo that u suggested earlier to cater for the cpu?
The earlier suggested mobos are all socket 1151 so, no need to change.
richard912
post Mar 23 2017, 10:31 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Mar 23 2017, 10:21 AM)
I came across an AMD A10 7850k and FM2A88X+ Killer selling for RM500. Since my GPU is not working, I was thinking of buying this as a replacement. Is the price and performance any good? I may consider buying the R9 380X tomorrow to combo with this APU. Will the APU iGPU increase the FPS of external GPU? Will there be huge bottlenecks? Sorry, I do not understand much about APU. blush.gif

By the way, if I were to sell all my old hardwares except for HDD and RAM, how much do you think I should price them? The issues with the hardwares are stated above. Thank you in advance.
You can estimate potential bottleneck using this online tool. On pricing of your stuff, research in Garage Sale section to get some ideas
richard912
post Mar 24 2017, 10:16 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Mar 24 2017, 08:17 PM)
should i get ryzen 1700 or i7 7700k? 8C/16T vs 4C/8T

a bit gaming, mostly use for work (multitasking & virtualization)
Since it is mostly for work, having more cores will be better
richard912
post Mar 26 2017, 04:52 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Mar 26 2017, 04:45 PM)
With my current budget, should I wait AMD Ryzen to arrive then only I proceed to build my PCt? I'm thinking of getting my PC built within a week, maximum I can wait is 2 weeks. Please suggest on what parts should i get for my PC again since I had revised it. Now I will only focus on bulding 2.5k PC Rigs for the meantime, I will upgrade CPU and GPU at the same time in the future.
If you can afford to wait, wait. You have nothing to lose waiting for the Ryzen 5. However, not sure of the Malaysian pricing yet though. Rumors have it that price of the Ryzen 5 will start from US$169 for Ryzen 5 1400 to US$249 for a Ryzen 1600X

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0387sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:58 AM