76 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

babylon52281
post May 27 2025, 08:03 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(madmathiu @ May 26 2025, 05:33 PM)
Current budget is about 3k. In 6 months, budget can be 10k. Should I just wait and get a completely new rig instead?

Also. What is the expected trend for GPU prices in the foreseeable future? With Trump's tariffs and stuff going on.
Its tough to say, RM 3k isnt a lot, just enough +/- for a 5070 (MSRP model) but your also need 700/750W PSU as I doubt your current system have something this big yea. That adds another RM 300-400.

Will tariff hits us? Im quite sure USA MSRP will go up leading to global MSRP going up too. Our local prices always USA MSRP + distro markup, so make your own conclusion. Even if not kena our distros here also known to charge higher if they can.

If you can top up RM 6-700 ontop that 3k imho upgrade to 5070 & 750W PSU, and the RM 10k will help a lot for a system rebuild later on once tariff hits.

Ryzen 7 7700X / 7800x3d / 9800x3d (depends on how much you want to spend)
Thermalright PA120 SE /IDC Frozn A620
MSI B650/M Gaming Plus WiFi (either ATX or MATX version whichever available) or B850 Gaming Plus WiFi
Kingston Fury DDR5-6000 64GB
Kingston KC3000 2TB SSD
Case depends on your preference
babylon52281
post May 27 2025, 09:47 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 27 2025, 06:38 PM)
Mobo power delivery. which is better?
6+1+1 or
5+2+2
For which mobo? Not just the VRM count but also what type of VRM and the amp per VRM set (usually will say 50A, 60A, 80A, etc)
babylon52281
post May 27 2025, 09:50 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ May 27 2025, 09:18 PM)
Ah I see.. Cause I saw only have and free sync. Just wanted to be sure. Thx.. U sell these monitors?
Freesync premium is nearly always Gsync compatible. However if you want full Gsync features have to get those monitors with built in Gsnyc module.
babylon52281
post May 29 2025, 04:08 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(malaozhai @ May 29 2025, 03:02 PM)
Hi bosses,

Want to ask about NVME
1. Kingston NV3 1TB
2. Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB

Which one better? Or any suggestion?
One is Gen4 the other is Gen3 however one has DRAM the other is DRAMless. Like comparing apples & oranges. Will need to depend on your use case to decide which is "better".
babylon52281
post May 29 2025, 04:10 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 29 2025, 03:18 PM)
WD Blue SN580.  wink.gif
DRAMless and isnt that much faster than Gen3 speed.
babylon52281
post May 29 2025, 05:37 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 29 2025, 04:17 PM)
You forgot that 2 models has assorted BOMs that could effectively become variety of models?  wink.gif
Mainly comparo with NV3 even its pisspoor hardware, the changing BOM was said to guarantee wont significantly affect the perf (ie 6000 Read, 5000 Write, TBW) which still runs higher than SN580. Its known the NAND is QLC, and DRAMless controller. You cant really get any worse than Phison E27T + whatever QLC flash which widely reviewed to be okay.

Heck if they even tried to cheapen that, they might end up using all Chinese Maxio MAP1602 + YMTC QLC which is a better combo than the above!

This post has been edited by babylon52281: May 29 2025, 05:53 PM
babylon52281
post May 29 2025, 10:02 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 29 2025, 07:44 PM)
With this price, I rather get TLC than QLC. Have fun with 90MB/s write once the disk fills up.
Modern QLC based drives arent too bad these day, its pSLC even outlasting DRAM drives like P44Pro & SN850 believe it or not

Would anyone be transferring 500GB of uncompressed data? Hardly. I would still prefer DRAM drives for read/write intensive use like OS but as for storage, QLC has came a long way.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: May 29 2025, 10:03 PM
babylon52281
post May 29 2025, 10:06 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 29 2025, 09:56 PM)
as my desktop also using this ssd, right now got 2 same box which 1 have" diimport dan dieedar" sticker
got any difference?
Usually ones with those sticker are official distro/reseller, they will get official approval to handle warranty claims. Those without are parallel imports where they/you need to deal direct with the reseller where the item originated from.
babylon52281
post May 30 2025, 06:34 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(respectmypm @ May 29 2025, 10:52 PM)
Hi, I need a very cheap PC build, maybe like below 5k?  probably using 2/3 monitor for stock/futures monitoring, internet browsing, zoom/gmeet, screen recording, youtube. thanks in advance.
What monitor resolution will be these 2/3 monitors?
babylon52281
post May 30 2025, 10:09 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(malaozhai @ May 30 2025, 08:50 AM)
How about Fanxiang s770?
Ok or avoid?
Reviews dont show any issues. Technically its competently designed https://xanxogaming.com/en/reviews/fanxiang-s770-4tb-review/

It uses Innogrit controller with DRAM, top rated performer. NAND flash can be various source, can be Micron, the worst is YMTC which usually used in cheap DRAMless SSD but perf near similar.
So consider the pricing if its cheap enuff why not. Just that its a China make brand and warranty will be dubious.

EDIT: Bear in mind, unlike the Fanxiang unit, SN580 is DRAMless hence will have the limitations of that tech. Avoid using it for OS boot drive.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: May 30 2025, 10:12 AM
babylon52281
post May 30 2025, 10:10 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 30 2025, 10:00 AM)
Note that SN580 is a dated product so you might not find it. The new model is SN5000 / SN5100 and they cost higher to the level of KC3000. If you don't want to go with that price, stick back to NV3.  unsure.gif
Suddenly NV3 is reco pulak! sweat.gif
babylon52281
post May 30 2025, 12:36 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ May 30 2025, 10:25 AM)
Spatium m470 pro
Spatium m470 is just another Phison DRAM + TLC NAND SSD really doesnt stand out from the others. Buy if its the cheapest than the others.

EDIT: Pro and nonPro are very different drives. AI might give the wrong info when it confuses between these 2 models.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: May 30 2025, 03:08 PM
babylon52281
post May 30 2025, 03:01 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(respectmypm @ May 30 2025, 11:07 AM)
i  plan to use 27 inch. been using 24 inch for eternity. if got budget in future maybe 32 inch as the main one, but seems like overkill/overspend.
I think can utilise the CPU own igpu function for this. Get a mobo with lotsa video ports such as below

i7 12700 / 13700 (the regular version, not 'F' sku!)
TR PA120SE/ IDC Frozn A620 Cooler
MSI Pro-B760M-A Wifi DDR4 (has 2 HDMI + 2 DP ports out to 4K each)
2x 16GB 3200MHZ DDR4 (get Kingston ValueRAM for stability, no need XMP)
Seagate Firecude 530 1TB (highest TBW rated Gen4 SSD plus free data recovery svc)
FSP Vita GM 1000W (you want efficiency at 50% load which is 500W for max save electric)
Case anything goes, Lianli Lancool 206/ 207/ 215/ 216/ 217 (depends your preference)

Optional
2TB NV3 if you use a lot of storage
RTX 3050 in case the iGPU isnt enuff for the display

Altogether I think wont reach RM 5k.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: May 30 2025, 03:12 PM
babylon52281
post May 30 2025, 03:06 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ May 30 2025, 10:49 AM)
Spatium M470 has much higher TBW (1600 for 1TB) compared to Spatium M470 Pro (320 for 1TB). Speed seem to be almost the same, would the Spatium M470 non pro be a better buy in this case?

I'm also looking for cheap dramless NVME to be used as a second SSD for game storage (less used games). Plan to use the MSI Spatium M470 as primary storage for windows and frequently used games.
Both are very different SSD
Spatium M470 - comes with DRAM
Spatium M470 Pro - is HMB DRAMless & like with QLC NAND

Which is why you see TBW is much different.
babylon52281
post May 30 2025, 03:09 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ May 30 2025, 12:59 PM)
i buy RAM from that seller on lazada before, is too cheap compare to other seller, on product got sticker
Diimport dan Diedarkan oleh
Amble Action Sdn Bhd

i no idea how to verify
AA is official distro for Kingston products.
babylon52281
post May 30 2025, 07:09 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 30 2025, 06:36 PM)
Convergent distribution is also the distributor for Kingston. I RMA KC3000 2TB with them a few months ago.
Kingston has a few official distros lah
babylon52281
post May 31 2025, 01:23 AM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(GanasGiler @ May 31 2025, 12:51 AM)
Hi, need suggestion for a work work PC

[Budget] Max 2k

[Purpose] work (word, excel, web browsing etc)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] monitor

[Monitor resolution] N/A

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Microsoft Office

[Personal preferences] no lag, small & wifi

[Location] KL

Willing to top up a bit more if the gain is justified
https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/pcs-desktop...50-slim-desktop

If you can topup the difference as it comes with Win11 Pro ady.
babylon52281
post May 31 2025, 10:39 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(BLord @ May 31 2025, 09:26 PM)
Which GPU do you recommend?
Nothing that uses more than 200-230W TDP.
babylon52281
post Jun 1 2025, 09:23 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 1 2025, 07:27 PM)
I wonder whether you can still buy one at this price, especially it's now priced at RM1500-RM1600 sweat.gif
Stocks doesn't seem to look very good either sweat.gif
Good luck. B580 is not available anywhere in this world at MSRP, that is if you can even get stock. Deswai no point to reco a nonexistent GPU when others ie 5060 is affordable and available and Geforce stocks are getting better with time.
babylon52281
post Jun 1 2025, 09:28 PM

2,680 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 1 2025, 04:07 PM)
another question:
Ryzen 7800X3D same price as 9700X. any reason to buy a 9700X? looks like a DOA product?
IF you got app that can utilise all 16 threads, better go with 9700X as the thread load is easily balanced by Windows. X3D CPU only has 3D cache on 1 CCD so workflow will be unbalance if half goes to the 'faster' CCD and the other process goes to 'slower' CCD. If you do video editing stick to nonX3D.

76 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.5245sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:00 AM