SETIA ECOHILL (VERSION 18) [OWNER'S HUAT THREAD], Township with First Mall in Semenyih

BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 19 2018, 12:39 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(nivota @ Apr 19 2018, 11:19 AM)
Guess I just not telling the whole picture enough...

To answer your question - yes those machine and people do need a branch to sit in to serve customers, but they will not be opening a new place to serve the purpose, most of the banks are now looking into converting existing branches to digital branches.

Those days of opening new branches are just over, in fact in the long run (I'm referring to next 30 years) - the bank branches sitting in a landed property will slowly go out of picture, what you have in your smartphone will be the bank itself.
still need physical branch lah for opening acc opening this and that, and space for atm machine and etc.......
also as townships are expanding, you also need a present at new place as well. takkan expect your customers to travel 20 to 30kms just to visit your branch. there are still many cash biz around, mamak stalls hawker stalls and etc. How are they going to bank in their daily intake?

30yrs is a long time to predict unless gov do away completely with hard cash notes.
fusilad
post Apr 19 2018, 02:54 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 19 2018, 12:39 PM)
still need physical branch lah for opening acc opening this and that, and space for atm machine and etc.......
also as townships are expanding, you also need a present at new place as well. takkan expect your customers to travel 20 to 30kms just to visit your branch. there are still many cash biz around, mamak stalls hawker stalls and etc. How are they going to bank in their daily intake?

30yrs is a long time to predict unless gov do away completely with hard cash notes.
Really ....??? with the pace of things are changing now ...you think still , we need ATM machines to be around after 10 years.....

you do not need to travel and be physically in some branch to open some account....specially your saving...do you need saving account in the future......hmmmm maybe

I think change is faster then the 30 years that you are talking about

Just my well informed thoughts biggrin.gif

Unless you believe solar flare and CME will hit earth soon....and we need to start from sketch again ....then I say possible
jeansandcorduroy
post Apr 19 2018, 04:35 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(fusilad @ Apr 19 2018, 02:54 PM)
Really ....??? with the pace of things are changing now ...you think still , we need ATM machines to be around after 10 years.....

you do not need to travel and be physically in some branch to open some account....specially your saving...do you need saving account in the future......hmmmm maybe

I think change is faster then the 30 years that you are talking about

Just my well informed thoughts  biggrin.gif

Unless you believe solar flare and CME will hit earth soon....and we need to start from sketch again ....then I say possible
I agree. Singapore is moving towards cashless systems and e-payment for the entire city / island.

I don't need to have a bank near where I live. Might be better too -- less chance of crime. I am in my 30s and I predict those younger than I will rely less on physical bank branches.
woopex_
post Apr 19 2018, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 19 2018, 12:39 PM)

I thought in order for a neighborhood community to grow, they'll need a bank. From what I learn, besides bank, school is also important to grow a community. Correct me if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by woopex_: Apr 19 2018, 05:16 PM
dragonnite999999
post Apr 19 2018, 09:07 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(jeansandcorduroy @ Apr 19 2018, 04:35 PM)
I agree. Singapore is moving towards cashless systems and e-payment for the entire city / island. 

I don't need to have a bank near where I live.  Might be better too -- less chance of crime.  I am in my 30s and I predict those younger than I will rely less on physical bank branches.
Malaysia and malaysian tough lar. Many business in Klang Valley still in cash transaction only, even in the mall itself. unless serious enforcement in cashless transaction only by government or certain authorities. And many ppl still prefer using cash for daily spent and purchase. Unlike westerners or white ppl, they love using card or cashless transaction. Malaysians i can see still prefer using cash. bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif
icemanfx
post Apr 19 2018, 09:25 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(dragonnite999999 @ Apr 19 2018, 09:07 PM)
Malaysia and malaysian tough lar. Many business in Klang Valley still in cash transaction only, even in the mall itself. unless serious enforcement in cashless transaction only by government or certain authorities. And many ppl still prefer using cash for daily spent and purchase. Unlike westerners or white ppl, they love using card or cashless transaction. Malaysians i can see still prefer using cash.  bruce.gif  bruce.gif  bruce.gif
In major cities in China, those use cash in convenient stores, etc are mostly foreigners or from countryside.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 19 2018, 09:25 PM
jeansandcorduroy
post Apr 19 2018, 10:08 PM

165 posts

Have there been any workmanship issues with Setia Ecohill homes?
BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 20 2018, 12:45 AM

20,146 posts

I don't need to have a bank near where I live.  Might be better too -- less chance of crime.  I am in my 30s and I predict those younger than I will rely less on physical bank branches.
How many restaurants you visited recently that said "sorry above rmxx only they accept credit or debit card"?

Biz still prefer cash as with cash they can do more things under the sun and in the dark.

Malaysia is NOT china or singapore.
BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 20 2018, 12:51 AM

20,146 posts

Its true that as emloyees most of us dont need to go bank anymore.....or less frequent.

But we are not bizmen and we dun run biz. Ask them and see how often they go banks...

Last yr i need to go to the bank 4 times to fix the stupid debit card.

And tis year i need to go to bank to withdraw my fds in person bcos it cant be done online.....

Welcome to malaysia.
jeansandcorduroy
post Apr 20 2018, 06:15 AM

165 posts

'We are not bizmen'? How do you know? Plenty of my peers in business have reduced reliance on cash payments. In fact the people I know who are making good profits in Malaysia are selling online almost entirely while the ones with shops are bleeding.

You don't want to believe a banking professional in this thread who has said that banks are reducing physical branch numbers and you don't want to believe a 30-something who prefers online banking. OK lor...

BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 20 2018, 08:40 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(jeansandcorduroy @ Apr 20 2018, 06:15 AM)
'We are not bizmen'? How do you know? Plenty of my peers in business  have reduced reliance on cash payments. In fact the people I know who are making good profits in Malaysia are selling online almost entirely while the ones with shops are bleeding.

You don't want to believe a banking professional in this thread who has said that banks are reducing physical branch numbers and you don't want to believe a 30-something who prefers online banking. OK lor...
Tell me how yoy pay yr neigbourhood mamak stalls coin operator dobi and hawker stalls? Or pasar malam shopping? Wet market buy veggies and etc?

The world doesnt revolve around 30-somethings that dun do grocery marketing, only shop on line and rely on food panda for their meals
jeansandcorduroy
post Apr 20 2018, 08:50 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 20 2018, 08:40 AM)
Tell me how yoy pay yr neigbourhood mamak stalls coin operator dobi and hawker stalls? Or pasar malam shopping? Wet market buy veggies and etc?

The world doesnt revolve around 30-somethings that dun do grocery marketing, only shop on line and rely on food panda for their meals
Who do you think will be interested in buying landed property in suburban areas in the years to come? In fact the 30-somethings who have made money selling online are already buying landed property for their own future stay in Kajang.

The point isn't that cash is going away completely, it's that physical banking is becoming less necessary. All the signs are pointing that direction.
BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 20 2018, 08:58 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(jeansandcorduroy @ Apr 20 2018, 08:50 AM)
Who do you think will be interested in buying landed property in suburban areas in the years to come? In fact the 30-somethings who have made money selling online are already buying landed property for their own future stay in Kajang.

The point isn't that cash is going away completely, it's that physical banking is becoming less necessary. All the signs are pointing that direction.
Nobody is denying the fact that physical full banks are less significant now....but not everyone is doing banking online. Atm and downsized branches are still required especially on si beh far townships

Banks are not just doing deposit and withdrawal. Anyhwere there is no mobile bank agents yet in malaysia.
fusilad
post Apr 20 2018, 09:01 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 20 2018, 08:40 AM)

Well....the argument is not to say the situation now..........I guess its more to what we will see within 10 years....well..maybe your are not aware ...I give two real life simple examples (that i recently encounter)

1) Some of the the mamak restaurant (@kajang) and bah kuh teh (@Senawang) already accepting mobile pay....(which is not hard to implement and its without high overhead cost)

2) Government dealings ( Palace of Justice @ putrajaya) , I need to pay just RM4 for document verification service but no cash over the counter accepted.....either debit card or got need to go out to do ATM transfer and bring back the receipt. Initial I insisted cash....but the option need to go ATM for transfer, put me out me off.... and i did used the debit card wave to pay it off.

Actually I believe this topic is not so relevant under this forum site here (Eco Hill).....so I guess ...I ll end my statement on this here.
propertyowner
post Apr 20 2018, 09:03 AM

2,566 posts

It is true and factual reality that banks are cutting down their branches and go for digitalization and digitization - engage Fintechs and industry disruptors for potential collab.

They also changed the methodology of connected infra & networks to improve ways of doing things. Future expansion will be very much on cloud base. Hence, banking and financial institutions megatrends will eventually adopt Digital Wallet and Contactless Payment.

BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 20 2018, 09:06 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(fusilad @ Apr 20 2018, 09:01 AM)
Well....the argument is not to say the situation now..........I guess its more to what we will see within 10 years....well..maybe your are not aware ...I give two real life simple examples (that i recently encounter)

1) Some of the the mamak restaurant (@kajang) and bah kuh teh (@Senawang) already accepting mobile pay....(which is not hard to implement  and its without high overhead cost)

2) Government dealings ( Palace of Justice @ putrajaya) , I need to pay just RM4  for document verification service but  no cash over the counter accepted.....either debit card or got need to go out to do ATM transfer and bring back the receipt. Initial I insisted cash....but the option need to go ATM for transfer, put me out me off.... and i did used the debit card wave to pay it off.

Actually I believe this topic is not so relevant under this forum site here (Eco Hill).....so I guess ...I ll end my statement on this here.
Its relevent bcos seh residents crying for mbb.

So yr samples of (1) they dont have min consumption like min rm30 or rm50 b4 can pay by cards?

I find it very hard to believe for individually owned stores.

Dun get me wrong. Am all for cashless society but retailers jist arent corporating bcos they still need to pay merchant fee.

BEANCOUNTER
post Apr 20 2018, 09:09 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(propertyowner @ Apr 20 2018, 09:03 AM)
It is true and factual reality that banks are cutting down their branches and go for digitalization and digitization - engage Fintechs and industry disruptors for potential collab.

They also changed the methodology of connected infra & networks to improve ways of doing things. Future expansion will be very much on cloud base. Hence, banking and financial institutions megatrends will eventually adopt Digital Wallet and Contactless Payment.
Yez eventually.....when? Nobody can tell.....next 5 yrs? Next 10yrs?

In the meantime will banks willing to loose customers?
fusilad
post Apr 20 2018, 09:14 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 20 2018, 09:06 AM)

So yr samples of (1) they dont have min consumption like min rm30 or rm50 b4 can pay by cards?

Dun get me wrong. Am all for cashless society but retailers jist arent corporating bcos they still need to pay merchant fee.
Yes...they do not have min pay...i forget that service providers name (they even offer cash back promo. RM10 max capped..i think.......which i didn't bother to add on into my phone app), but saw they same service provider, few shops in kajang itself....

I got your point on some of the retailer.....its matter of time....chance or die tongue.gif tongue.gif (reduced business or out of business) ..by then as the cost of implementation is low....they sure will change.....

Have a good day

vampireangel1984
post Apr 20 2018, 10:08 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 20 2018, 12:51 AM)
Its true that as emloyees most of us dont need to go bank anymore.....or less frequent.

But we are not bizmen and we dun run biz. Ask them and see how often they go banks...

Last yr i need to go to the bank 4 times to fix the stupid debit card.

And tis year i need to go to bank to withdraw my fds in person bcos it cant be done online.....

Welcome to malaysia.
we dont need that many banks.
Banks are shutting down some of their branches and consolidating.
the key word here is consolidate.

What he is referring to is NOT to have no brances at all.
Can see the difference?

As for new townships, if u r referring to setia ecohill, look at the surrounding area lo..if i remember correctly the main road leading into the development got banks. So why would they open in setia ecohill? unless your population justifies it which at this moment no.
but i stand corrected.

dragonnite999999
post Apr 20 2018, 10:09 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 20 2018, 09:06 AM)

Actually I myself prefer using credit card to pay for anything, by using card i reduce the frequency to go to bank to withdraw cash and can settle the outstanding via internet. But i'm still disappointed with current scenario of the payment system, many place still cannot accept card payment and only cash payment even in the mall itself. And there is some place may have min amount of purchase to use card or else there will be 2% - 3% charges which i'm reluctant to pay for the extra charges. I hope this scenario can change to effective cashless payment/system as soon as possible. However i see a lot of people still prefer to use cash and cancel all their card because card can make them overspend. haha icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

102 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 >Top

0.0409sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:55 PM