fruitie
post Jan 29 2019, 10:55 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 29 2019, 10:47 AM)
This is precisely what I've been harping about for years.. Sellers who keep branding their boxes as pre-installed this and that.. Calling boxes as "TV boxes" etc.. Computers, mobile phones, tablets etc aren't sold as TV devices, but can run the same apps and output via hdmi even. They wouldn't dare ask to block sales of those.. Those sellers should have just stuck to selling boxes as is and then separate services.. But no.. Greed.. They've made their profits and now it seems users are going to pay the price and sooner than I anticipated. FYI, Astro Go app is built to only work on legit mobile devices only. Hence it's work or not attitude on some devices. Obviously, they want users to sub directly to them and use their propriety STB connected to TVs.. Not shared AOTG accounts. More revenue.
Well, I prefer my box as it is flexible to have other apps as well.
Since I subscribe Astro for my folks at home, I get to enjoy Astro Go on my box, I cannot deny I kinda like the VOD though... Sometimes I may miss the live shows and it is good to have it stored in the app.

Anyway, I doubt Astro has the power to ban the boxes.

QUOTE(Zeroize @ Jan 29 2019, 10:51 AM)
Can anyone recommend me a TV box which comes with astro channel? Particularly Wah Lai Toi.
Illegal IPTV discussion is not allowed. Legit way is get an Astro Go account and install in your box.
fruitie
post Jan 29 2019, 11:05 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(Zeroize @ Jan 29 2019, 11:03 AM)
i got legitimate Astro subscription. so with Astro Go i can just login using my astro account in TV box with all the channels i subscribed?
Not all channels but at least 90%. There are no local channels in Astro Go though.

Another challenging part will be the compatible box to use this app, if it is rooted, you are unlikely to be able to use this app.

So, you will need to find an unrooted box, I'm using Minix U1 and it works. I think MiBox works too.
fruitie
post Jan 29 2019, 11:08 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 29 2019, 11:05 AM)
Thing is Astro doesn't need to have the power to ban.. They only need to lobby the right channels that have the power. C'mon, even we know that such services are not entirely legal.. So where's the defense?.. An excerpt from that article..

"According to reports, this is among proposed changes to the country’s Copyright Act, to be tabled in Parliament this year. The amendments are the result of a three-year review and follows consultation with Singapore’s Intellectual Property Office, content providers, Pay-TV operators, and the public; and will introduce civil and criminal liabilities."
I know where they are coming from but to have a blanket ban for all boxes - unfair. Come on, Android boxes are not about IPTVs only.
Anyway, as Malaysians are well-known for piracy, I think we still have a long way to go for this ruling. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Jan 29 2019, 06:50 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

MCMC considers regulatory intervention on set-top boxes

CYBERJAYA: The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) is exploring regulatory intervention on Android TV boxes.

MCMC chairman Ishsal Ishak said the sale and ownership of set-top boxes with services that allow consumers to access pirated content is illegal in Malaysia.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...43pcZ6Fqe64c.99
fruitie
post Jan 29 2019, 07:28 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 29 2019, 07:15 PM)
looked like they have to block all the TV with internet capable too...

and the most damaging to Astro is not the illegal iptv,
it is Netflix, DirecTV, iflix, dimsum, hypp
and... the ultimate big boss YouTube
I still think it is the illegal IPTV. Those you listed are VODs and for e.g. my family doesn't subscribe to Movie package so these apps have no effect on us. I'm the only one who is watching Netflix at home.
Astro pays a lot for sports live streaming and these illegal IPTVs are killing them.
fruitie
post Jan 29 2019, 10:57 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 29 2019, 09:51 PM)
What can I say.... kek?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Not really.. Netflix is legit and they do VOD.. Astro does live TV and they have exclusive rights to broadcast certain channels. Netflix's CEO has come out publicly to say they will concentrate only on VOD content (wise move) and won't be venturing into the live TV territory.. iFlix? Pretty much DOA.. Gave me free also, I only used it to catch Black Sails back then.. cuz it was exclusive to them.. After that? ditched em.. UnifiTV is no match for Astro's line up.. YouTube/YouTube Red?? Don't even bother.. Enuf said there.. As far as I can tell, Astro's only main threat is the numerous and easy to get ehem services out there. Which is why people roll in here multiple times per week.. Not asking for "live TV" or DimSum or Youtube.. but particularly for an Astro replacement..  smile.gif
I didn't expect MCMC to come out with a statement so quickly. laugh.gif

Yes, I don't think VOD is a threat to Astro, it's the illegal IPTVs which are bothering them.

QUOTE(Aspick @ Jan 29 2019, 10:49 PM)
Refer to bold text. If we buy a 'clean' android box with just the operating system, it shouldn't be illegal right? And MCMC cannot ban the sale of these 'clean' boxes right?

Now say after we bought this 'clean' box and later in our own private home, we install some apps that allow us access to pirated content, how and what can the authorities do to us? Penalty or even jail?

Then what about android phone users in malaysia where some of them install illegal streaming apps in their phone. Are the authorities going to take action on these users as well?

I think it's going to be tough for authorities trying to catch users owning these illegal boxes similar to users using illegal satellite dish in their homes.
Like SG, the government works with ISP and telcos to block connection to those servers. You will not be able to watch the illegal IPTVs. Other stuff, I think they are not really going after yet.

fruitie
post Jan 29 2019, 11:37 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 29 2019, 11:23 PM)
if u got lobang for stb, let me know...
u should use YouTube more... hehe
China hv many official YouTube contents... drama, variety, singing etc
unlimited MTV...
all this is free and we r only looking on very small part of it.
advanced user use p2p lol
What you mentioned it's just VOD. I do watch a lot of YouTube too. laugh.gif

I'm not a fan of P2P. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 09:19 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

These people failed to understand that the box is just a device, Android boxes banned, no issue there's PC to stream too. laugh.gif

I'm sure the consumers can outsmart the authority. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 09:42 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

Android boxes fuel content piracy

PETALING JAYA: Singapore’s proposal to ban media streaming boxes should be followed by Malaysia, say local industry players.

Dimsum chief marketing officer Lam Swee Kim (pic) said the move was to curb content piracy.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...PKVsId2SmzIr.99

fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 10:23 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(monoikhwan @ Jan 30 2019, 10:17 AM)
does HTPC and Raspberry Pi is categorized as TV Box?
If yes then people can easily used those to load their illegal streaming services
Nope. In their eyes, only Android boxes are the culprits. How convenient. Pfft.
However, I don't deny it's those illegal IPTV providers which give bad name to Android boxes community. Android ecosystem is so easy to tweak and whatnot, no surprise why they use Android boxes instead of other devices.
fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 01:46 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Jan 30 2019, 12:29 PM)
android box is technically just an android phone using tv as their display...
and since astro go is android phone apps...using legit astro go account it shouldn't be problem anyway...
Well, I didn't mention Astro Go is illegal or will have issue. laugh.gif
Anyway, unfortunately the people out there will have this assumption - Android boxes = Illegal IPTVs. bangwall.gif

Another news for this recent hot topic.

Android boxes cheap and easy to navigate, say users

PETALING JAYA: Android boxes, which allow for online streaming from legal and illegal sites on the Internet, are popular among Malaysian households as the offerings are cheap and easy to use.

Also known as set-top box, these devices can stream the latest movies, documentaries and live TV channels, including news, to the TV for free or with a small subscription, legally or illegally.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...sQZ411Q4kDb6.99

fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 02:23 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Jan 30 2019, 02:18 PM)
but please bear in mind, shield is running android TV os, while minix using full android os.
Which one will be better, Android TV OS or stock Android OS? I'm thinking of Shield or other devices which are using Android TV OS in the future.
fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 03:11 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(monoikhwan @ Jan 30 2019, 02:34 PM)
if you have budget for Shield, then go for Shield.
Netflix 4k in STB is better than in TV
Budget is not really an issue for me, of course I am not looking for an expensive device here. I do have a benchmark for myself. tongue.gif
I will prefer apps compatibility at any time if given a choice.

QUOTE(megahertz @ Jan 30 2019, 03:02 PM)
its depend on ur usage. if ur usage going to involve lots of native apps. better using minix since its full android os. some apps, even after sideload, not working very well.
but if u only use android TV apps,, then shield. the UI on the android tv os much better integration with the remote/controller.
mine mostly use netflix, youtube, games ( on shields platform) and some apps that available on the android TV os ( specific apps for android TV os)
forgot to mentioned, last time when i using minix u9, i flash custom firmware that enabled it running android TV os, so after i like the UI interface etc, then only i bought the shield. ( to make sure my investment is worth it , lol)
Thanks for the advice. Looks like my heart still leans towards full Android OS. tongue.gif
OK, hoping for a better device next year, not looking for an upgrade this year.

I really like how neat Android TV OS is. I guess beggars can't be choosers. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 03:33 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(exshige @ Jan 30 2019, 03:23 PM)
i thought Kodi came preinstalled in U9..? if not mistakaen v17.1. but when i was watching those unboxing/setup youtube on minex, upon boot it allows choosing Minex default tiles launcher or the android phone-like launcher. no kodi launcher despite kodi already preinstalled.
It is Minix by the way, not Minex. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 05:28 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Jan 30 2019, 05:18 PM)
Corporation waste too much $ hiring donkey like these  rclxs0.gif  thumbsup.gif
Which corporation?
fruitie
post Jan 30 2019, 10:14 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 30 2019, 09:57 PM)
if u need convenient of using remote to navigation and apps compatibility with remote, only Android TV is able to provide.

there r also Chromecast buildin into Android TV too..

in my case, what I most love is the voice remote...
Keke ask ur parent to try it... after 1week u will see the result
Hehe. Mouse can do wonders. tongue.gif
My parents? They are better off with Astro. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Jan 31 2019, 02:03 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 31 2019, 01:29 AM)
Such a good daughter..  laugh.gif
At least I get to use the Astro Go account despite I pay for their monthly subscription. sweat.gif
They are not technological savvy, Astro seems to be the easiest for them. Well, I guess some money cannot be saved. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Jan 31 2019, 11:05 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(exshige @ Jan 31 2019, 10:13 AM)
just cod with a seller for a minix u9h+a3... tonight will be busy... thanks everyone..
Enjoy exploring. biggrin.gif That's a superb box.
Minix is so clean that you can do anything to it. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Feb 1 2019, 10:58 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(exshige @ Feb 1 2019, 10:44 AM)
spent couple of hours yesterday with my new minix u9...

the navigation for most 3rd party apps is very difficult.. most of the time i dunno where is the highlighted for command and some apps can't even navigate at all like Astro On The Go using the default remote. With the A3 airmouse remote it makes it a bit easier but i have to constantly using the airmouse which is quite tiring on the hand... lol... the default youtube app interface is hard to use with the remote..

the responsiveness of the system on action command still got a bit lag compare to smartphone.. i thought a typical 8 core should already be overkill for menu UI tasks nowadays...

somehow i can't get speedtest.net app to work. i installed it, launched it, saw the first 2 screen of it saying that it want to know my location to determine server to ping, then i click next but then it shows a loading animation indefinitely...
I cannot get use of the airmouse too so I bought something like this: https://s.lazada.com.my/s.lBy6 Cheap and easy to use.

Speedtest app is working on my U1 though.
fruitie
post Feb 1 2019, 11:29 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 1 2019, 11:27 AM)
looks good, battery powered? or charge type

both the control on my q10 and z9s damn hassle to use when need to type and navigate, the tele f10 air mouse not exactly easy as well
Charge type. Battery is like old type of Nokia phone and charge using micro USB port. laugh.gif

23 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.2693sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:40 AM