Definitive R6xx thread, Some more solid info

jinaun
post May 8 2007, 07:21 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ May 8 2007, 07:08 PM)
and by then R700 arrives, and you wait, and you wait, and you wait....

come on man, make up your mind
i'll onli wait for the that generation cycle to matured b4 buying..

eg.. 7800 to 7900, or 1800 to 1900, etc etc...
arjuna_mfna
post May 8 2007, 09:08 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

Could this result true

source : http://r800.blogspot.com/2007/04/radeon-hd-2900xt_28.html

This post has been edited by arjuna_mfna: May 8 2007, 09:09 PM
banjarconverto
post May 9 2007, 12:42 AM

35 posts

Seems there are more leaked benchmarks which indicates HD2900XT being very competitive or maybe better than 8800 GTS. Even DailyTech benchmarks also hinted on this.

The blog entries are full with R600 stories. One thing I don't fall into is 2900XT OCed beat 8800 GTX Ultra in 3DMark06.
jinaun
post May 9 2007, 07:18 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

fudzilla mentioned that :
R650 is the Radeon HD 2950XTX

ATI hasn't launched the R600 yet and it is already planning its next launch of a die shrinked version. It won't be launching the 1024 MB graphics card until Q3. It plans to launch the R650 chip and brand it as Radeon HD 2950XTX, 1024 MB GDDR4.

The chip is called R650 and it is a 65 nanometre core, how convenient. With this new chip ATI might have a fighting chance against the Geforce 8800 Ultra, but the real question is what will Nvidia have at that time.

The cards are scheduled for late Q3, so you should expect them to arrive in August or September, unless they get postponed.

http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...id=871&Itemid=1
arjuna_mfna
post May 9 2007, 09:38 AM

1,496 posts

14 may, just few days to go... so far just hv info bout HD2900XT only, did they will intro lower version of HD2900 series, XL, PRO or GT version in short
Joseph Hahn
post May 9 2007, 01:42 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Bah i think i'll just go for a cheapass X1950 Pro while waiting for 2900XTX. :/

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: May 9 2007, 03:31 PM
LExus65
post May 9 2007, 04:16 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

just got this info from PC Zone, asus x2900XT 512mb DDR3 @ RM1700++............... Sapphire no price yet but similar specs

it seems both are loosing a bit behind 8800GTS
riku2replica
post May 9 2007, 04:49 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

Hey, i want it! But too bad, my mobo is single slot PCI-e x16 only...
bata
post May 9 2007, 07:01 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 9 2007, 04:16 PM)
just got this info from PC Zone, asus x2900XT 512mb DDR3 @ RM1700++............... Sapphire no price yet but similar specs

it seems both are loosing a bit behind 8800GTS
wuiyoo so expensive...
they should priced it around 1500++,
so the price can be competitive with 8800GTS 640MB

Chow.
arjuna_mfna
post May 9 2007, 09:18 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ May 9 2007, 04:49 PM)
Hey, i want it! But too bad, my mobo is single slot PCI-e x16 only...
u just need 1 pci-ex to run vga card, u want crossfire ar? as long your mobo hv pci-e 16x it compatible with current and upcoming vga card

just read some review bout hd2900xt, it lose to 8800gts
http://it-review.net/index.php?option=com_...d=1314&Itemid=1

This post has been edited by arjuna_mfna: May 9 2007, 09:53 PM
Nemesis181188
post May 9 2007, 11:02 PM

635 posts

I was hoping it will be better then the gts.Sad news it seems.
LExus65
post May 9 2007, 11:17 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

no detail specs yet so hard to tell........ well it depends on the market too i think.....cost asus and some other brand of 8800GTS 640mb is still around 1700 mark.....so the local distributor also aiming at the same range.....

i was hoping around the range of 1200 instead but haha...... no chance
blah1134
post May 10 2007, 05:50 AM

563 posts

2900XL should cost around RM1200

wondering when will we get it here
sHawTY
post May 10 2007, 08:20 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Funny, ATI took a long time to launch their own DX10 cards, but ATI X2900XT still lose to 8800GTS 640MB. laugh.gif

ATI should have use that very long time to produce a more powerful card that can beat at least 8800GTS 640MB, but from what i see, ATI is weak. shakehead.gif

Now, where's all the ruckus about ATI in the same company with AMD? doh.gif

No need for me to change to ATI then. tongue.gif
arjuna_mfna
post May 10 2007, 08:20 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(blah1134 @ May 10 2007, 05:50 AM)
2900XL should cost around RM1200

wondering when will we get it here
it will enter the market in june, estimed price rounf usd279

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 10 2007, 08:20 AM)
Funny, ATI took a long time to launch their own DX10 cards, but ATI X2900XT still lose to 8800GTS 640MB. laugh.gif

ATI should have use that very long time to produce a more powerful card that can beat at least 8800GTS 640MB, but from what i see, ATI is weak. shakehead.gif

ya, me to... waiting so long for ati, if their last product perform like that maybe change "mazhab" to nvidia after this. so dispointed

This post has been edited by arjuna_mfna: May 10 2007, 08:33 AM
exhauster
post May 10 2007, 02:41 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 10 2007, 08:20 AM)

from wat u hv say is nt true, try think it twice if the earth wifoyut ATI
the Nvidia can do watever he want,example : giving a 8800GTX wif 8500 spec but price 2K, we hv no choice n we must buy it
but if there is ATI can compete so that Nvidia only can release a powerful card
arjuna_mfna
post May 10 2007, 02:58 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ May 10 2007, 02:41 PM)
the Nvidia can do watever he want,example : giving a 8800GTX wif 8500 spec but price 2K, we hv no choice n we must buy it
it wasting amd money for buying ati, R&D cost making R600 if it just to make sure the vga price are competetive...
and one more, if amd produce vga card just for that reason better they just make mid range vga only no need to to make R&D for high end one, and and no need to delay to 6months to launch their vga

This post has been edited by arjuna_mfna: May 11 2007, 12:03 PM
Radeon
post May 11 2007, 10:46 AM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ May 10 2007, 02:41 PM)
chill, ati just lost this round, ati did beat nvidia on the x800 round though,

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ May 10 2007, 02:58 PM)
it wasting amd money, buy ati, R&D cost if just to make sure the price no to high...
and one morw, if amd produce vga card just for that perpose better they just make mid range vga only no need to to make R&D for high end one, and and no need to delay to 6months to launch their vga
i dun understand what you are saying

judging by the it review net, the benchmark seems perculiar.
a performance increase can be seen only in company of heroes, i got no idea why, furthermore by a HUGE margin.

This post has been edited by Radeon: May 11 2007, 11:02 AM
bata
post May 11 2007, 12:42 PM

3,726 posts

read the whole article
its because some driver issues

Chow.
empire23
post May 11 2007, 05:48 PM

Team Island Hopper