10,544 posts

R600 tidbits abound. Also some on Barcelona. smile.gif
http://www.eetimes.com/news/latest/showArt...cleID=197700269
http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2007/02/28/amd_690g_launch/
http://www.informationweek.com/news/showAr...n=Breaking+News
http://blogs.zdnet.com/Berlind/?p=363
http://content.zdnet.com/2346-10741_22-57089.html
http://blogs.zdnet.com/Berlind/?p=364

Hehe. Anyone want to guess the clocks? There's enough information to estimate that from the first link alone smile.gif
It's teraflops btw, not terabits.

This is what we know for sure so far.

R6xx/RV6xx common features:
UVD = Universal video decoder, supposedly 100% video decode offload even for h.264
Built in HD audio controller for HDMI output without needing extra cabling (!)
Dual link HDCP content output capable, (G80 can only output HDCP content at single link rates! Don't know if they changed this in the coming G86/G84)

R600:
80nm HS process
Smaller die size than G80
Single chip, unlike G80 which needs the NVIO chip
Built in audio controller(!)
320 scalar unified shaders/ALUs/stream processors
~16 texture units
~800MHz clock speed for top end
512bit memory bus
improved ring bus architecture

RV630:
65nm process
~150mm²
128bit memory bus
120 scalar unified shaders/ALUs/stream processors
~8 texture units

RV610:
65nm process
~80mm²
64bit memory bus (don't know if it can go up to 128bit)
40 scalar unfied shaders
~4 texture units

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Apr 30 2007, 07:55 AM
jcliew
post Mar 1 2007, 03:08 PM

Retired Enthusiast
889 posts

what d difference between teraflops n terabits?
billytong
post Mar 1 2007, 03:27 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Let me guess R600 it should go somewhere around 640MHz?

This post has been edited by billytong: Mar 1 2007, 03:29 PM
jinaun
post Mar 1 2007, 03:36 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Mar 1 2007, 03:08 PM)
what d difference between teraflops n terabits?
tera flops (FLOPS-Floating Point Operations Per Sec)

tera bits (a unit of binary data, either bandwidth or storage space )

err...
jcliew
post Mar 1 2007, 03:39 PM

Retired Enthusiast
889 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Mar 1 2007, 03:36 PM)
tera flops (FLOPS-Floating Point Operations Per Sec)

tera bits (a unit of binary data, either bandwidth or storage space )

err...
So teraflops involve enermous amount of data relative to terabits?
TSikanayam
post Mar 1 2007, 03:53 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Mar 1 2007, 02:39 AM)
No, they are different units of measurement meant to show different things. Anyway, please use google or the QnA section for such questions, i don't want this thread polluted with trivial posts on basic definitions.

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Mar 1 2007, 03:54 PM
empire23
post Mar 1 2007, 05:15 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Mar 1 2007, 03:39 PM)
Didn't i tell you to stop you goddamned spam fag?!

Please lah, google for mundane questions, and STOP POSTING FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!
taxidoor
post Mar 1 2007, 11:16 PM

1,008 posts

shit they keep delay the relase date la.. from feb to may now to june summore... they card not enough power to fight with Nvidia then keep finding solution? Or AMD new proc not rdy so they wait to COMBO attack since they are same BOSS ?
TSikanayam
post Mar 2 2007, 12:03 AM

10,544 posts

It's 800MHz for 512GFLOPS a piece smile.gif

320ALUs*2FLOPS*800MHz = 512GFLOPS

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Mar 2 2007, 03:37 PM
TSikanayam
post Mar 2 2007, 03:38 PM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Mar 1 2007, 10:16 AM)
shit they keep delay the relase date la.. from feb to may now to june summore... they card not enough power to fight with Nvidia then keep finding solution? Or AMD new proc not rdy so they wait to COMBO attack since they are same BOSS ?
The reason for the final delay is in the very first link. It's strategic, not technical.
Release of the R600 has been delayed "a few weeks" so that AMD can roll out a full suite of graphics chips covering multiple market segments for the latest Microsoft DirectX 10 applications programming interface.

c38y50y70
post Mar 3 2007, 01:07 PM

Validating
140 posts

The company showed a Barcelona-based system using two 200W R600 graphics cards to hit a terabit/second benchmark.
-- EE Times

Graphic card power consumption is going crazier !
TSikanayam
post Mar 3 2007, 01:13 PM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(c38y50y70 @ Mar 3 2007, 12:07 AM)
Graphic card power consumption is going crazier !
G80 is already 180W, so it's not that much worse, depending on how well it performs. I've heard however that things are not going to get any worse than they are now, in fact i think next generation might be better. AMD's upcoming midrange chips RV610, RV630 should be good with power consumption, from all current indications (128W that's been thrown about is wrong AFAIK wink.gif ).
c38y50y70
post Mar 3 2007, 01:42 PM

Validating
140 posts

Yes, these DX10 GPUs are insane. The cooling is much tougher on graphic card than CPU. Well, i guess the developers have no choice if they want great performance. Do you heard of any upcoming ATi GPU with less than 50W?
Goliath764
post Mar 3 2007, 01:50 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

I don't care bout the power consumption as long as it perform well. Performance is the first priority to me.
TSikanayam
post Mar 3 2007, 02:17 PM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(c38y50y70 @ Mar 3 2007, 12:42 AM)
Yes, these DX10 GPUs are insane. The cooling is much tougher on graphic card than CPU. Well, i guess the developers have no choice if they want great performance. Do you heard of any upcoming ATi GPU with less than 50W?
GPUs are behind CPUs in terms of power saving features and low power design, for sure. However a lot of that power is also used to power the gobs of high speed memory on the board, CPUs don't have the memory in their power budget. I dunno, i heard many things... tongue.gif

QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Mar 3 2007, 12:50 AM)
I don't care bout the power consumption as long as it perform well. Performance is the first priority to me.
Power requirements cannot keep growing at the current rate. You better care because if things were to continue this way you'll have to buy a more powerful air conditioner every time you upgrade. It's bad for the environment, it's wasteful, and it's just plain dumb to keep increasing power requirements like that.

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Mar 3 2007, 02:17 PM
Najmods
post Mar 3 2007, 07:42 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Mar 3 2007, 02:17 PM)
Power requirements cannot keep growing at the current rate. You better care because if things were to continue this way you'll have to buy a more powerful air conditioner every time you upgrade. It's bad for the environment, it's wasteful, and it's just plain dumb to keep increasing power requirements like that.
Believe it, it will kept growing, and you can't simply compare to CPU. All those pixel processor, stream processor and 1GB of memory sucking tons of power. Its inevitable and unavoidable, you want ultimate power, you have to make ultimate sacrifice (new PSU, more sophisticated cooling etc). No matter how much noise we make about this issue, they will simply ignore it and still release this beast. Buy midrange cards if you cant keep up with the heat, or get out of nuclear reactor

I still remember the good old days, how simple past high-end card was, especially the GF4 Ti-4600, great speed and simple single slot cooling, and midrange GF4 Ti-4200 can simply be overclocked to Ti-4600. I don't believe future high end card gonna be the same
c38y50y70
post Mar 3 2007, 08:14 PM

Validating
140 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Mar 3 2007, 03:17 PM)
However a lot of that power is also used to power the gobs of high speed memory on the board, CPUs don't have the memory in their power budget. I dunno, i heard many things... tongue.gif
Yeah, those memory takes a lot of power actually. 1x16MB GDDR3 1000MHz Chip probably consume ~2W. 8 of them (128MB GDDR3) will have ~16W already, hahaha.
Now the 8800GTS with 320MB GDDR is running at even higher speed. The RAM chips alone took up more than 50W hmm.gif

QUOTE(Najmods)
Believe it, it will kept growing, and you can't simply compare to CPU. All those pixel processor, stream processor and 1GB of memory sucking tons of power. Its inevitable and unavoidable, you want ultimate power, you have to make ultimate sacrifice (new PSU, more sophisticated cooling etc). No matter how much noise we make about this issue, they will simply ignore it and still release this beast. Buy midrange cards if you cant keep up with the heat, or get out of nuclear reactor

Hopefully the next generation graphic card can stay at 150W range, just like CPU nowadays. A good hardware designer should watch for power consumption and silicon size, not just simply adding buffers and increasing bandwidth.
Hornet
post Mar 3 2007, 08:22 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Mar 3 2007, 07:42 PM)

I still remember the good old days, how simple past high-end card was, especially the GF4 Ti-4600, great speed and simple single slot cooling, and midrange GF4 Ti-4200 can simply be overclocked to Ti-4600. I don't believe future high end card gonna be the same
Practically, that cannot happens. I mean yes, requirement will go up, but eventually engineers will have to find a solution to it, it cannot keep growing no holds barred. engineers will not ignore it because if your competitors can come up with one that doesn't need a nuclear reactor power supply and a vacuume for cooling, you're heading for a doom. Remember how 5800Ultra was blasted for its loud cooling solution.

This is what designing new hardware architecture is all about. Everything including power consumption have to be taken into account. It all sums up to efficiency. Growing in performance with a equal growth in power requirement will means there's absolutely no improvement in its efficiency.
TSikanayam
post Mar 16 2007, 07:50 AM

10,544 posts

For those who didn't already know...
R600 (and RV6xx) is a sound card too. Built in HD audio controller. Very many interesting possibilities may be enabled by this... wink.gif
http://www.beyond3d.com/content/news/127

I don't understand German, but the slides are in english. UVD ftw.
http://www.k-hardware.de/news.php?s=c&news_id=6399
Renovatio
post Mar 16 2007, 09:56 AM

~ Enthusiast low on cash ~
1,942 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Mar 16 2007, 07:50 AM)
For those who didn't already know...
R600 (and RV6xx) is a sound card too. Built in HD audio controller. Very many interesting possibilities may be enabled by this... wink.gif
http://www.beyond3d.com/content/news/127

Now that's definitely new tongue.gif I can't imagine how much noise it will actually introduced to the port (with all the vibration and big fat fan running) hehehe or they might really do a great job and pull it through with this new innovation. Definitely worth a wait.

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:35 PM