7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

skynode
post Aug 9 2017, 10:50 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Aug 9 2017, 01:43 PM)
We're almost alike biggrin.gif

I too have top-up 2k since the latest promo to ponzi 2  thumbup.gif

Planning to add more during this promo, as well as starting TA GTF, missed the boat during the last drop.
Do refer to the ASX thread, lots of useful info there, I have just open an account in their online portal too.

For now can only top up online, cannot sell yet. Maybe in the future.
Why can't sell?
Then how to liquidify your units?

I just read the main page.. 5% service charge. That's a hefty price tag.

This post has been edited by skynode: Aug 9 2017, 10:54 PM
skynode
post Aug 11 2017, 06:59 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 11 2017, 05:50 PM)
Eg. Fund A available both in Malaysia and SG. Both can give you 10%
- Now if I put in money into Fund A via Malaysia, when I withdraw, I will get back RM. If I put money via SG, when I withdraw, it will pay me back in SGD.
- Overtime, the one who put money in Fund A via SG will gain more than the one who put money via Malaysia (both received same returns but different currency)

Eg. If Facebook is listed in Malayisa, revenue in USD but payout in RM, won't be much of a problem. The problem is revenue in RM but payout in SGD. That's when problem comes in. Are there such companies on SGX, of course. Did I touch them? No. Will I touch them in the future? No. However I have no problem with companies business is in IDR, but payout in SGD. Why?
- For years, the company have been shown to be profitable (they have managed to hedge the currency well)
- IDR is not as weak as RM.

For those want to find out more, these are the companies mentioned
- Silverlake Axis (revenue in RM but payout in SGD)

- First reit
(Base rent of leases for Indonesia properties are pegged to Singapore Dollar so rental income is relatively unaffected by Rupiah fluctuations
Leases for Singapore properties are denominated in Singapore Dollar
Lease for South Korea property is denominated in US Dollar)

For me, any currency can as RM have been shown to drop against all currency over time  sad.gif
Ramjade, a better way would be to stay in JB. Work in Singapore daytime and go back to JB at night. Bring your own food to work. Earn all the money and spend zero cents in Singapore. Only spend in Malaysia. Oh... and put all your investments in Sing dollars. I guarantee, you will HUAT faster. thumbup.gif

But, worth it or not depends on you.

skynode
post Aug 11 2017, 09:29 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 11 2017, 09:24 PM)
So many fake accounts lately saying they are beginners in unit trust investing. Then magically they become wiser after a few days. Wow either we are good teachers or previous members who come back to taunt us.
"Haunting" is more appropriate. The creation of Annabelle.
skynode
post Aug 13 2017, 12:24 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 12 2017, 11:59 PM)
Hello guys, wanna ask how long would a purchase of a fund be completed? Cz i've paid since 8th but still pending. The status is "priced".
Not long now.
In fact, the transaction has completed. Just that it takes a few days to reflect in your FSM page.
skynode
post Aug 13 2017, 01:41 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 13 2017, 01:20 PM)
How to buy amanah saham online?
Correct me if I'm wrong.
Amanah Saham I think need at least 2 years to break even in view of 5% SC. Better to lump sum invest rather than DCA if you got the cash.

This post has been edited by skynode: Aug 13 2017, 01:41 PM
skynode
post Aug 15 2017, 11:05 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Aug 15 2017, 07:10 AM)
Even if the actual NAV is priced at the end of the day, we still won't know the NAV at the point of purchase. Best bet is to guess from the performance of indices before 3pm. Yet again anything can happen i.e. market rebound before closing.
That's why Unit Trust is an inefficient vehicle for traders. More suitable for long term investors who are in it for the long run.
skynode
post Aug 15 2017, 11:06 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 15 2017, 09:33 AM)
Market drop, hold cash because of fear it drop somemore....

Market up, hold cash because fear to chase market...

In the end, portfolio performance equal or worse than FD.

Xuzen

p/s That is why DCA is to take away that emotion and irrational thinking from long term investment.
That's why no need to time the market. Sit back and let time and patience do the hard work for you.
skynode
post Aug 16 2017, 11:41 AM

175 posts

Is Interpac Dana Safi still a good buy at this juncture? Or has the risk-reward ratio become unattractive?
skynode
post Aug 19 2017, 01:38 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Aug 19 2017, 10:49 AM)
confirmed we have spy in this thread liao  laugh.gif

FSM reads: should we wait for 20% discount?
..... "As such, from this finding, we can conclude that if one doesn’t have a crystal ball, it is wise to stay invested in the market as it can be very costly to time the market."

hmm.gif
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 19 2017, 11:05 AM)
To be realistic, we are not wizards who can predict future events. Hence, at Fundsupermart, we do not encourage investors to time the market. Instead, we strongly emphasize on the time one stays invested in the market.

lol shots fired and got a feeling fsm is saying enough is enough. these noob needs a little reminding. Good job!
QUOTE(mois @ Aug 19 2017, 11:30 AM)
Your above punya post is FSM staff liau
QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 19 2017, 11:40 AM)
Friend T231H, send my regards to Hui Ching  wub.gif and Jennifer  wub.gif  ok?

Xuzen
I think this was aimed at Ramjade's strategy of timing the market.
However, he should be applauded as a deep value investor. Saving costs as much as he can.
Just that he forgets that time lost is an opportunity cost too.

skynode
post Aug 20 2017, 12:18 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 19 2017, 07:28 PM)
Boleh. Why not. Summary:
- Timing is important. If you buy in 2007 (height of bull market) vs buy in 2009 (max of bear market) your returns today is very different (if you don't chicken out and sell and just hold)

- Opportunity present itself once every few years. If you topup small amount, your gain is insignificant. If you topup big amount, your gain is very significant. Hence save up for this opportunity. Old people have shown their proof of waiting pays handsomely so why as young people we cannot wait?

- Our beloved RM is dropping 1-2% a year. Compound this over long time, the drop become significant. That's why a 10% return in RM terms is not the same with a 10% return if we use other currency (over few years).
Investing using RM at average 10%p.a  (10/4/2008-13/8/2017)
Initial cost = RM10000
Final returns = RM28531.16

Investing using SGD at average 10% p a
(10/8/2008-13/8/2017)
Initial cost = SGD4341.88 (RM10k/2.30315)
Final returns = SGD12387.89 = RM39041.05 (SGD12387.89/3.15155)

Numbers don't lie.

- Because the RM drops, drops, parents sending kids overseas need to find more RM to pay. They may suddenly find themselves needing to fork out 20-30% extra (USD from 3.8-4.x). Now had the parent invest say using SGD to finance the kids edu, they need not need to fork out so much as the SGD really did appreciate againat the USD.
Eg. RM-USD (2008-2017) data is taken from XE.com
- 10/4/2008-> 13/8/2017
- 3.18990 becomes 4.29778
- 34% decrease vs the USD.
Eg. SGD-USD (2008-2017) data taken from XE.com
- 10/4/2008-> 13/8/2017
- 1.379 becomes 1.36438
- Holy!!! SGD appreciated 1.06% vs the USD.

Parents who funded kid's edu using RM need to earn/find more RM so that kid can remain in school. whistling.gif whistling.gif Where are they suddenly going to find extra 30%?

Now who need to work harder for their kids edu? Someone who earns RM from their investment or someone who earns SGD from their investment?

- You don't need to be HNWI to invest overseas. A small amount is enough to start.

- All platforms are provided by myself after through research. If I don't invest in SG, how do I know all those platform?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
END OF SUMMARY

Maybe time to be a silent reader??? ph34r.gif ph34r.gif
Height of bull market, trough of bear market? If you can time that well, people would build shrine for you and pay respect as 财神爷. Serious. I know I would. cool2.gif
Retrospectively everything of course almost always seemed simple and possible.
skynode
post Aug 20 2017, 11:06 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Aug 20 2017, 06:28 PM)
Yes, that is another rare trait in a public forum.

A person who can put his ego aside in a quest to better himself will go far in life. Too often we hold the view, 'I have the best knowledge in unit trust investment, stock investment, in my chosen field, etc'. Everyone else who holds a different view is stupid or inferior or talking nonsense.

What a pity. In doing so, we end up short changing ourselves. Sorry, Uncle Vanguard is talking kok today.
hear hear thumbsup.gif
skynode
post Aug 20 2017, 11:31 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Aug 20 2017, 11:13 PM)
That's why I've always told him to use all these determination on his career instead. The attitude is right, but are you focusing on the right thing?

Like you say (was it you?), no one get rich from UT investments, but many ppl get rich from their business venture, and to a lesser extent, a rewarding career

At 20 something, if one does not put in their 110% in their career I feel that they would have lose out so much. If don't work hard now, 30 something baru want to shine ke? By then your options would be so much less and your peers would have been way ahead
True.
Invest in yourself first, always.
skynode
post Aug 28 2017, 11:55 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 28 2017, 01:44 PM)
Yes apple is in the top 2.

If apple doesn't meet expectations do you think the rest of the companies in the list will follow suit.
The companies are quite separate entities actually. Lagging in phone sales might mean less demand for processors but Apple is not the only company.
Only way for all companies to tumbling 'sekaligus' is another major bubble burst, similar to DotCom burst previously.
skynode
post Aug 30 2017, 10:46 PM

175 posts

Happy Merdeka everyone. Do not forget to make use of the Merdeka promotion.
Next Monday is just announced as a public holiday. What a drag to Malaysian economy.

This post has been edited by skynode: Aug 31 2017, 01:06 AM
skynode
post Sep 3 2017, 03:28 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 3 2017, 11:04 AM)
Listed company can also be in PN17 status.......or under receivership.....
I won't base "will i get back my money if that company disappear" based on since it is has a listed company status.

I would based on this.....
Q: When I buy funds from Fundsupermart, in whose name will the units be registered in?

A: For cash investments, all units will be registered under iFAST Nominees Sdn. Bhd. For EPF Account 1 investment, they will be registered in your names. These units are segregated from the company’s assets.

so from that, I would "assume" just "assume".....don't quote me on this...you need to contact FSM office to get the correct and valid answer.
I "think"....to ensure the security of their customers' assets, FSM would have appointed a custodian to hold their customers' assets. The following are what I "think" the transaction flows for subscription and redemption would be like:
Any FSM employees here care to verify this? tongue.gif
skynode
post Sep 5 2017, 08:06 PM

175 posts

Since we are talking about PRS, for the income tax exemption, is it maximum of RM3000 per calendar year?

Also, how to check of the government has credited the RM1000 bonus into the account? Because the figures are still about the same despite purchasing PRS in February 2017 via FSM...
skynode
post Sep 5 2017, 11:06 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 5 2017, 08:25 PM)
yes, max 3k per year for the 1st 10 years from 2012
since PPA will credit the RM1000 into your PRS fund(s)after the cut-off date of end June and December every year from 2017 to 2018.....I think I did read in the PRS thread that it would be reflected in Oct and Apr....so your case most probably in Oct then it will shows.
Calendar year for income tax matters ends in December each year, right?
skynode
post Sep 5 2017, 11:08 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Sep 5 2017, 10:50 PM)
Depends on situations, there are many reasons:
1. For easier management. Save time of browsing.
2. Save cost. Since this April Fool, I seldom put fresh money into FSM. Because i can buy at eUT with 0% sc. My monthly topup is always >5K. By "transferring", i can buy FSM Eq fund  with 0% sc indirectly.
3. Limited fund choice at eUT. So i purchase Affin Hwang Select Bond at eUT with 0% sc, then use this facility to "transfer" n buy let say CIMB Greater China (not available in eUT) in FSM with 0% sc. 
4. "Manual" Transfer seldom result a losses (unless u r transferring a bond fund), because
  - Eq fund up n down, i can choose when to sell (when market is green) and when to buy (within 1 month) (when market is red).
  - Moreover, i can buy any FSM funds with 0% sc not only 1 single fund.
  - i even can split the purchase into a few smaller one that purchase at a few different dates to reduce the risk.
Wow, great idea. What a sophisticated investor.
So, to complete a transaction from e-unit trust purchase till purchase of FSM fund at 0% SC, how many days does it usually take for you? 2 weeks?
skynode
post Sep 6 2017, 07:17 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 6 2017, 04:09 PM)
Wah boss... no need to break 1 reply into 4 kua...

Ehh, you know who I'm talking about? He not salesman anymore lor... turn fulltime on his startup

On PRS, the AUM is so tiny after years they launched it... if that's not an indication of failed initiative, what is?
Basically people just use it for tax reliefs and youth incentives. The intended purpose of this product is to encourage retirement savings to supplement EPF. How is that achieved with RM3k per annum * 10 years? Cukup makan for how long after retirement? And the fund choice is so limited with more than half not doing great at all (like below EPF returns), how to encourage people to put more money ler?

PPA also does not have a function to monitor approved funds' returns like how EPF MIS does it; hence quality of the funds may not be there, which earns the product a bad reputation

TLDR - Too many limitations, too little incentive for ppl to invest
"Past performance is not an indicator of future returns."
Like what Steve Job once said, we can only connect the dots by moving forward.
skynode
post Sep 7 2017, 06:38 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Sep 7 2017, 06:29 PM)
*Disclaimer: i am neither encourage nor discourage to dump your extra cash into UT or housing loan, the below statement is based on personal experience and your result might/will different than me.
Well, there are multiple ways of viewing it  laugh.gif

My personal opinion is, the risk of getting less return than housing loan interest is low. In fact low enough that i would chose UT over HL any time.

Plus, early settle your house wont generate extra income for you as oppose to UT. I would rather pay installment for additional 10 years, why you may ask? The installment amount after 20 years will be nothing to me compare to the return of the 100k that i invested into UT now.  whistling.gif

But that is just me, others might see it differently  rolleyes.gif
Only invest with extra money that you can spare and, well, lose. Moving in and out of UT too rapidly will backfire as you lose money from sales charges.
I say, compartmentalise your money.
there's always risk associated with stock exchanges and unit trust funds.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0430sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:36 AM