FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

skynode
post Feb 19 2018, 06:03 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 19 2018, 05:43 PM)
I am stock investor (buy and hold for years, mainly the big companies like TNB, maybank, maxis) not stock player.
I look at fundamental in selecting stock, not using any tactics of trading.
So, i have no idea...  But, i guess too dangerous to chase for the top performers in any kind of investment.

When an investment is going higher and higher, it is the time to consider to sell, not buy...
Do you use this at analysing the fundamentals and fair prices for stocks?

skynode
post Feb 19 2018, 11:03 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 19 2018, 09:45 PM)
actually, stocks selection is easier than ut selection. because all data are accesible.

using apps like stockhunter, then all stocks with high roe, low per, high margin (aka good fundamental) are shown in no time. just choose the best among them.

between, I only buy companies that seems can survive in next 30 years.
i bought 20k tnb using the leftover of my scholarship when I graduated. now, dividend received already more than rhe 20k. stock is for long term investment.
So you hunt for Blue Chips.
Would cigar butt strategy work for Malaysian Stocks?
skynode
post Mar 7 2018, 07:52 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 7 2018, 06:35 PM)
Of all the possible answers that we can come up with, " I need money now " is the best answer when asked, when do I sell my UTF...

No, I am not trolling, I am serious. At other times, just put your money to work for you.

Xuzen
Indeed. rclxms.gif
skynode
post Mar 14 2018, 02:46 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Mar 14 2018, 02:40 PM)
Anyone else notice TAGT has been rising a lot recently? It has hit my ceiling price and I'm considering if the rise is sustainable or not. Which good bond I can intra-switch to later? Any recommendations?

Buying UT is also so troublesome...if drop we will worry, if rise also will worry...zzz
c'est la vie

God gives rain, people complain it's wet;
God gives sun, people complain it's hot.

Either way, God would get blamed. knock.gif
skynode
post Mar 14 2018, 08:08 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 14 2018, 03:57 PM)
after of a few millenias of getting SH1T from humankind no matter what he does, I think GOD just don't give F3CK anymore with regard to his creation.

he knows he created a mess, now we settle our problem ourselves. He does not give a SH1T about humankind anymore...

humankind can nuke yourself back to stone age for all he care. That would be a nice reset button, wouldn't it?
If Crystal ball says reset button is about to be pushed, let me know. Going to pile on my gold storage. smile.gif

Long ago, I have read from an investment book that market is like a garden, not a pie. You can't expect it to be sunshine and rainbow all the time. A gardener will have to deal with spring, summer, autumn & winter all year long. Not all plants would flourish every season, that's a fact (Apart from Ponzi schemes - they flourish in every economic cycle). Therefore, a good investor (aka gardener) will know that portfolio allocation is essential for survival throughout each economic cycle.

Very wise words indeed, so now I no longer jump whenever the market turns red. Because I know it's part of a process and I'm doing okay as long as I have other plants in my garden, too, to survive the long winter. If the recent market bloodbath has caused one to be extremely anxious, perhaps it's time to take a look back at one's portfolio and ask some questions such as :
- Have you invested money that you can't afford to lose?
- Is your portfolio diversified enough?

As investors, we do not have the carpenter’s power to shape things entirely according to our own will. We’re more similar to the gardener, who only controls so much. The more we try to force investing to be like carpentry, the harder we make things for ourselves. Resign yourself to the gardener’s circumstances, and don’t let perfect become the enemy of good enough.
Investors are Like Gardeners, Not Carpenters

bruce.gif

This post has been edited by skynode: Mar 14 2018, 08:08 PM
skynode
post Mar 25 2018, 09:46 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Cactus89 @ Mar 23 2018, 03:53 PM)
it is back to square early February level. Newly entered investor like me will facing the pinch. those who entered years ago, the drop won't have big effect on their portfolio.. Anyway buy within ur ability. if u think market is bad and losing money.. Just hold and wait for it to recover lor. if u have gather enough profit and think market is bad. then take profit first and renter later lor.. if want to go gungho unlimited bullet then pump like crazy.  haha
This has been said many times.

For UT investment, timing might be important, but it's also time in the market that separates you from the majority of players. If you have been diligently putting in money for many years and has proper portfolio allocation (not be greedy), this dip would only be like a small pinch to your profit.

Stay invested. Don't let perfect getting in the way of being good enough.
skynode
post Mar 25 2018, 10:04 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Mar 24 2018, 12:16 PM)
actually im not surprise if this year dji touches 22/21 point
seeing how aggressive trump plus the feds gonna up the rate 2 time

expecting bumpier ride ahead

on side note
im wondering how china one belt road gonna affect china and its supporting countries tho..

i know ut is for long term but aint gonna slack on doing research and homework  laugh.gif
Eventually the rate hike has to be backed by real productivity similar to any other economies in the world.
When people start realising there's a gross mismatch, that's when confidence in that economy is shattered and leading to a collapse. You just need a reputable giant in the country to fall, then other companies will just follow suit not unlike a domino effect.
Hiking the rate is a dangerous move if it veers too far away from the actual productivity. So, I think there's only that many times that he can pull the same magic trick from his hat. "Insufficient Mana".
skynode
post Mar 25 2018, 10:07 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(yageosamsung @ Mar 24 2018, 01:58 PM)
Have been started UT investment for 7 months but still see "red" today... maybe the time I started was the beginning of 'bad market time".
I am still new and not much experience on this...
Base on your guys experience, in current situation what shall we do actually?
- continue to perform DCA?
- on hold top up or?

Appreciate any advise, thanks...
The logical explanation was perhaps the time you started was the bull market time (aka good market time).

There's a saying that goes, "Millionaires are made by good decisions in bad market times."
skynode
post Apr 24 2018, 09:27 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 24 2018, 02:48 PM)
doh.gif at times i just don't know if i should  rclxm9.gif  or  ranting.gif

in Feb the mkts nose dived due to fear of Fed yield up.

The Dow flip-flopped in a dramatic roller-coaster ride from plus 300 points to a closing loss of 166 points, as the 10-year yield rose to 2.95 percent, a fresh four-year high
https://www.cnbc.com/2018/02/21/rising-bond...tock-rally.html

now in Apr...U.S. BOND YIELDS: The yield on the 10-year Treasury note drew close to 3 percent on Monday, a milestone it has not reached since January 2014. It touched 2.98 percent ...

Asian shares advance as US bond yields push dollar higher

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/asian-sha...-063306733.html

shocking.gif same situation (yield up) but 2 opposite reports of outcomes.....

in Feb,..some mentioned the yield goes up, cost of borrowing will be higher, businesses will be bad.....
in Apr,....those reason given in Feb is not there anymore?
Market sentiments can be a bitch.

skynode
post May 23 2018, 03:37 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ May 23 2018, 03:25 PM)
I suggest you all stop into MY EQ.

the drop just started. and can't see the end yet. I myself already regret for not withdraw myself fully from MYEQ.

we better be step aside, watch and see. my thinking is that, now the market will drop for sure. the hole yet to be seen. and you don't know deep you will fall. and how long for you take time to recover from this fall. let say you DCA 6 months in KGF, this 6 month it drop approximately 8%. I doubt it will take longer time to rise than the time of fall. so initially, you already lost 8% and SC charges. and the time to recover? everyday counts.

I may sound foolish but. this 6 months teach me a lot.

this corrections is not minor correction where you DCA 4 to 6 time then can rebound.

thank God my gut feel to withdraw fromKGF fully save my ass.

and those who holding, hope the best, KGF is not the next IDS.
now for bond.

rating confirm drop.

debt Gdp 65% is deadly. and 1 trillion debt is hilarious. fed rate hike. even our local bond also will kena.

I don't know what to do anymore. I just feel that DCA during time like this just so wrong. and just hope I am wrong.

the market is so so so volatile now.

yesterday SGX even stop halfway.
That's the reason for diversification. With proper allocations, sleep tight at night.

skynode
post Dec 29 2018, 10:46 PM

175 posts

If based on lessons from the past, it's not timing but ultimately the time in the market that matters.

skynode
post Apr 8 2019, 10:59 PM

175 posts

Are your FSM spreadsheet by Polarbear functioning currently?
I am getting errors for all my funds.
skynode
post Oct 24 2019, 09:45 PM

175 posts

What's the latest recommendation for bond funds?
I am looking for one with short/mid term holdings; and another with long term holdings.
skynode
post Oct 25 2019, 12:00 PM

175 posts

Libra Asnita Bond Fund - yay or nay?
skynode
post Feb 3 2020, 07:34 PM

175 posts

My current woe with the FSM Spreadsheet is as attached.

I'm using Excel for Mac 2019.

Used to work before this.

Any kind Excel whiz able to help me out?

skynode
post Feb 7 2020, 10:58 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 3 2020, 07:39 PM)
just asking,
when was the last time it worked ok?
2 weeks ago..

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top