49 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

puchongite
post Feb 23 2017, 08:59 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 23 2017, 08:58 PM)
If you buy from Malaysia, if you choose MYR class, it cost RM10k. If you buy SGD class, it's SGD10k.
If you buy the same fund from Singapore, it's only SGD1k. brows.gif  laugh.gif
Assuming initial investment non issue. Only concern is to maximize return.
puchongite
post Feb 23 2017, 09:11 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 23 2017, 09:05 PM)
I think MYR. Since AIYH said fund is in USD like ponzi 2 and we all know how ponzi 2 perform, however according to FSM MY, the SGD class did fare better.  :confused:
Same here. I choose MYR class because starting cost is RM10k vs SGD10k vs USD10k.  blink.gif  shocking.gif
Sigh, shows that a lot of funds perform are due to weakening MYR.
puchongite
post Feb 24 2017, 11:53 AM

33,615 posts

Is it correct to say if there is a fed rates hike coming up, it will favour bond funds ?
puchongite
post Feb 24 2017, 02:12 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(inquiries @ Feb 24 2017, 01:53 PM)
Thanks for quoting this article. Enlighten me about the mechanics.

puchongite
post Feb 24 2017, 02:20 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 24 2017, 02:19 PM)
Still depends on what types of bond does the fund invest in tongue.gif
Care to elaborate why certain bonds will behave differently ?
puchongite
post Feb 24 2017, 02:33 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 24 2017, 02:26 PM)
For example, high yield bond funds is less impacted by interest rate compared to normal bond funds because high yield bonds tends to be factor more by the underlying bond credit risk (since they invest in lower credit rating companies)

Shorter duration bonds also less impacted compared to longer duration bonds since they mature fast and less impact on their valuation smile.gif
Thanks for bring out the high yield bond funds part, as I am still thinking if there is a 'better timing' to enter it.

puchongite
post Feb 25 2017, 09:42 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Feb 25 2017, 09:41 AM)
Been investing in FSM for 6 months. Now my ROI is 6%. Not sure if its decent hmm.gif
Of course is decent. What else you expect ? Already beat EPF.
puchongite
post Feb 25 2017, 09:53 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Feb 25 2017, 09:48 AM)
What is the average ROI we can expect from mutual fund investment? is 10% annually consider average?
Now that you have got 6 months for 6%, you can make 10% as your annual target but no, there is no average. It largely depends on your risk appetite and the type of funds you invest into.
puchongite
post Feb 25 2017, 10:05 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 25 2017, 10:03 AM)
then are they in the recommended list?
lower risk, better returns than ATR )ATR is in the list)
United is a new fund and theoretically it is for whole sale and HNWI, so I doubt it will be put as recommended.
puchongite
post Feb 25 2017, 10:21 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 25 2017, 10:09 AM)
so Mr Ramjade is a HNWI
:thumbsup:  notworthy.gif  to him
That HNWI thingie is only a government thingie, nobody bothers about it.

It is not something which makes a lot of sense
puchongite
post Feb 25 2017, 10:30 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 25 2017, 10:26 AM)
I think they have "declaration" requirements and the high minimal sum too.
Well I supposed most people who really invested in these funds will meet but some might not meet, still nobody will come down a body search on you. wink.gif
puchongite
post Feb 25 2017, 10:39 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Feb 25 2017, 10:33 AM)
haha true , true ... but i also take ya'll advise that we need to understand what we are investing in and the risk.
I supposed we can't really see defaults in good time. But fund managers can play trick too.
puchongite
post Feb 25 2017, 11:17 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 25 2017, 11:10 AM)
was at a talk by EI Mr Chen last nite ....

he said,
Asia pac is a good area to focus more allocation in the next 3 yrs (maybe that is why he is promoting that those funds)
M'sia is stabilising after 2 yrs of negative environment.
(can hv some growth)....in which Small cap segment is a better bet b'cos the valuation is still lower
he is also seeing improved oil, export figures and CPO prices....which is good for m'sia.

short term immediate concerns is the large chuck of MSC maturing this month and next month (>RM10Bil)
the this month one matured without much incidents,...if next month one also then it is a good sign.
Anybody asked about China specifically ?
puchongite
post Feb 26 2017, 10:10 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(joylay83 @ Feb 26 2017, 04:15 AM)
so I went explore the wholesale funds since we are 'qualifed' to invest in it.

Just for discussion sake, Wat do you think of AFFIN HWANG ABSOLUTE RETURN FUND II vs AFFIN HWANG WORLD SERIES - GLOBAL EQUITY FUND - MYR as a wholesale global fund? say if you have MYR 100k, which one will you choose?

personally, I i would pick the former because (correct me if i'm wrong)
1) its actively managed
2) they have a performance fee, which means they have incentive to perform,
3) the fund has been around for quite some time and survived a some recessions.
4) presence of redemption fee: it means your fellow investors will think twice before selling. this in turn lowers the volatility for the fund.

the problem is however, the lack of ability to average down (since only 100k is available, which is the min requirement) so if one only have 100k for this fund, he has to brave the storm in a downturn. then again, given the whole world to invest, the downturn shouldn't be that bad anyway for a seasoned fund.

*on a side note, for my real portfolio, im gonna top up ponzi quantum smile.gif
Reading one post below yours, where Vanguard 2015 mentioned about using DCA to enter the market, wouldn't this lump sum investment of 100k into a fund violate this ? What if after the lump sum investment the market starts going into correction ?

puchongite
post Feb 26 2017, 10:32 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 26 2017, 10:23 AM)
Ponzi 2.0 and Great China potentially have 1% SC promo soon?
Are they going to win the Lipper award ?

If yes, can lar.

I looked previous Lipper award promotion, ponzi 2 entered there before but not CIMB china.
puchongite
post Feb 26 2017, 11:20 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 26 2017, 10:53 AM)
Dragon fund was under promo back in 2016 so u don't think so.
wah you so smart! not being sarcastic. that's a cool trick
I just checked again, Cimb china was not in the 2016 lipper award promo.

Only the eastspring dinasti was.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Feb 26 2017, 11:21 AM
puchongite
post Feb 26 2017, 11:24 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 26 2017, 11:18 AM)
If and when they introduce zero percent service charge, I will join back  biggrin.gif
It won't happen. Not for FSM MY.
puchongite
post Feb 26 2017, 08:02 PM

33,615 posts

Found this video while searching something, so just share here :-

Video also shows Esther Teo has got 'substance', a lot! LOL.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Feb 26 2017, 08:05 PM
puchongite
post Feb 27 2017, 10:50 AM

33,615 posts

: deleted : off topic.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Feb 27 2017, 10:57 AM
puchongite
post Feb 27 2017, 12:17 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Feb 27 2017, 11:45 AM)
Speaking from personal experience and after still being trapped in a private equity fund with a lock in period of 5 years, I would advise forumers here to stay away from them.

This is especially for close ended funds with minimum investment of RM100K with no possibility of DCA to average down the price. In this respect, I should have listened to Sifu Xuzenbangwall.gif

Please learn from my mistake.
Please share. What is the fund actually ? What caused it to tumbledown ?

49 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:49 PM