17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

killdavid
post Dec 7 2017, 04:42 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

you guys are really all doom and gloom biggrin.gif
Stop scaring people and if you really think it is crashing, please give your reasoning or analysis tongue.gif
killdavid
post Dec 8 2017, 09:59 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Dec 8 2017, 09:44 AM)
Anyone else buying on the dip? Any suggestions? (I did just put some money into the Affin Hwang Quantum Fund yesterday.) Looking to buy more.
Sure, but more like timing my DCA in December yesterday. Not sailang.
RM500 to ponzi 2.
killdavid
post Dec 8 2017, 10:16 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Dec 8 2017, 10:08 AM)
I don't actually have any Greater China funds in my portfolio at the moment, though I do hold Affin Hwang Absolute Return Fund II, Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund and CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR. The first one I guess is the closest to a Greater China Fund.

Added together, these add up to about 25% of my current portfolio, so I think I'm okay. I'm actually holding more than that in bond and cash funds because I've been expecting a downturn for a while now.
For me it this is an easy choise. Ponzi 2 for sure. Price correcting + promo service charge 08%. Double happiness.
killdavid
post Dec 13 2017, 11:45 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Dec 13 2017, 11:06 AM)
Heh, latest Idea of the Week update from FSM reads like, "don't sell our funds to buy Bitcoin instead".
Well from my personal observation, I don't see people investing in bitcoin trading directly. But I do see people investing in hardware to mine cryptocurrency.

This post has been edited by killdavid: Dec 13 2017, 11:46 AM
killdavid
post Dec 26 2017, 09:36 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Indexes should drop these few days as we come to the end of the quarter & year due to profit taking. Be on the lookout.
killdavid
post Jan 26 2018, 12:33 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Jan 26 2018, 10:07 AM)
Finally the "Return since tracking date" are dividend adjusted, thanks Hui Ching...  wub.gif
What do you mean? Care to elaborate?
killdavid
post Jan 29 2018, 05:49 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Jan 29 2018, 05:21 PM)
Anyone notices Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund is reopen for business?  hmm.gif
Interesting but it hasn't been performing well this past month while the index is surging recently
killdavid
post Jan 31 2018, 09:54 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jan 31 2018, 09:20 AM)
Maybe ppl are just cashing out their gains before earnings reports are out. APPL not so powerful to drag the US market gua.... haha
When the last correction in Dec many here sounding alarm of doom and gloom but clearly that was just a normal profit taking and balancing.
This current correction is riskier as it is a result of rising rates. This is the one you should worry about.

And by the way maybe it looks like guys from TA GTF did their homework for taking a defensive stance and hold cash.
killdavid
post Feb 21 2018, 04:49 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Feb 21 2018, 04:39 PM)
What do you guys think about Manulife India Equity Fund? It looks pretty alright too.
Manulife India is going through a bumpy ride. YTD is -8%. India seem to be struggling with their local policies.
killdavid
post Feb 21 2018, 09:30 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Feb 21 2018, 08:24 PM)
Looks like this year looks bleak for India...time to sell off soon then buy back next year.
I see it differently. After looking through Manulife India Equity Factsheet, it becomes clear, now is the discount period if you have been waiting for it. Largest sector invested is Financials and India has rocked with bank fraud by the magnitude of 1.6 billion. But this is just a blip, due to outdated security and will be fixed in time. This is due to weak sentiment and not a weakness in economy. Will be topping up tomorrow.
killdavid
post Feb 21 2018, 09:38 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 21 2018, 09:26 PM)
Eastspring Global leaders fund want to wind up...Just as I was about to switch in my Aberdeen fund into it...haih
What is the definition of wind up? Fund closed to new purchase or fund cease to exists? It's part of the managed portfolio. Wonder how would FSM react to it
killdavid
post Apr 25 2018, 01:47 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Stopped all dca now. I truly believe despite all these daily up and downs the market is trending downwards in the medium run. Keep liquidity and enter when target price is reached. Not need to swicth or cash out. Maintain all existing funds
killdavid
post May 3 2018, 01:45 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

For those who doubted India, Manulife India Equity +6.7% in one month
killdavid
post May 16 2018, 05:48 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ May 16 2018, 02:35 PM)
Up, down, up, down... and steadily on a downward trend... as amplified in the Jakarta index.

Read somewhere that the level to wait is 5400... it is currently at 5760... another 6% to drop.

In the meantime, am slowing moving into ASEAN funds.... since my port is too heavy in Greater China and Far East.
Which ASEAN focus fund is recommended?
killdavid
post Oct 18 2018, 05:23 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 18 2018, 02:49 PM)
To time the market or not in Unit Trust Investing.

This is the question that is commonly asked by noobs and veterans alike.

My stand is don't time, do DCA.

What I said above does not mean to say that timing market is bad, it is just in UTF investing, timing it is bad.

Below are my explanations:

Thank you for your attention.

Xuzen
Wah long time didn't follow this thread. Looks like challenging times for us investors. I would not say that UTF timing is bad lah. Timing market is a risk, just like the risk of selecting which UT fund to buy. For those who are lazy to read and analyze then DCA is best but for seasoned folks like you guys, sometimes some analysis and timing can trump DCA. Back in March all the signs were enough to convince me that everything points to a downtrend. I stopped topping up and stock up. Looks like I dodged a bullet but it still hurts. Finally made a top up during the big slide few days back. But still don't make a habbit of timing markets biggrin.gif

killdavid
post Mar 18 2019, 04:10 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Managed portfolio performance nothing to shout about.
killdavid
post Mar 21 2019, 05:36 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Recession coming liao. All still so optimistic ?
Debt Armageddon coming
killdavid
post Mar 21 2019, 05:57 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 21 2019, 05:44 PM)
Thinking of liquidating my managed port but when see the sale charges rclxub.gif
killdavid
post Mar 22 2019, 11:35 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 21 2019, 06:57 PM)
subscription charges had already been charged during the initial buy....
liquidate now or liquidate latter does not matter as it had already been charged.
it is the Portfolio Management Fee of 0.50% per annum, charged on a quarterly basis that matter....the longer you wait to liquidate the more RM they will charge you
That's what I understand too, but after calling the support hotline, it seems like a system limitation. You will not be able to fully redeem your holdings when rebalancing is taking place. Part of your funds are in transition.
killdavid
post Mar 25 2019, 11:34 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Looks like a blood bath today. Still don't want to believe recession coming ?

17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0829sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:24 AM