27 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xcxa23
post Jan 25 2019, 09:09 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 25 2019, 08:50 AM)
yes....clicked on it and got what I wanted.....
example...
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/art...Market-Sell-off

what did you get when you clicked on it?
Keep showing me this page

Hmm.. nvm.. maybe temporary glitch?

xcxa23
post Jan 25 2019, 09:26 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 25 2019, 09:14 AM)
I viewed it from a PC...
maybe they have not/forget/cannot do link it to a h/p yet?
I'm otg, tot got something to read.. oh well.. I'll save it for night time..
Thanks!
Seriously, the new website sucks......
xcxa23
post Jan 25 2019, 09:51 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 25 2019, 09:28 AM)
don't view it on app or mobile. it's crap.

I currently away. later when I back will highlight to you.

their research articles usually just our talk cock session.

moreover, expectation and forecast during q1 is not usually accurate.

because.

no one can ever know the direction of market.

FSM may promo China as they like, like the time they prompt GEM last year. look at how bad GEM perform.

the only thing they dislike and only got a 2 stars is US.
look at how US perform.

but when they pick it up in managed portfolio, US and EUStoxx start to slump.

now I suppose they start dumping.
Thanks! I'm also not in front pc
talking about MP, aggressive
When market is good, the MP goes up faster than my own portfolio (as in % indicator, usually >0.50%,<1%)
When market down, the MP drop slower than my own...

Not sure I should be proud or worry..

I somewhat agreed with them.. I mean there's no uptrending nor downtrending forever..
There's 3 significant event this q1 imo.. so if it goes well, market will rally.. if not, well... Fluctuations year again

As for the A-share, personally entered when it was around 0.77.. jz 5% of my portfolio.. it's high risk.. from it's listing at 1.00 to highest 1.20. trade war came into effect, dropped to 0.62/0.66 (not sure which)

xcxa23
post Jan 25 2019, 02:14 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Jan 25 2019, 01:49 PM)
ha, what a joke.

FSM keep telling us they are looking at long term horizon, so don't care about
short term suffering, as long as we keep invest, they earn lol
Technically right.. I'm actually interested in fund due to my dad's holding.. 3 holding (not from fsm)
1. Hold for 10 years, 100++% return.. say 10k, sell get 20k++
2. Hold for 15 years, 80++% return .. say 10k, sell get 18k++
3. Hold for 10 years, 50++% return.. say 10k, sell get 15k++

All sold B4 trade war tho..lucky or perceptive.. hmm
He did mention to me, these for long term.. don't expect like in stock market.. min 10 years holding.. lol
xcxa23
post Jan 25 2019, 09:17 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jan 25 2019, 08:56 PM)
The total return looks good... try calculate the effective rate of return...
im not good with tat so im using online calculator
https://www.calcxml.com/calculators/rate-of...turn-calculator

1. 7.18% total return.
2. 4.0% total return.
3. 4.14% total return.

not sure if its calculate correctly.. my dad jz wrote down how much he invested and total amount he get back..

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jan 20 2019, 08:40 AM)
i do have aggresive MP..
last two week, in the holding page, it shown -18%
and today log in, it shown -10%
[attachmentid=10166010]
so after loong weeks of trump big mouth/finger(for tweeting) shutup, its looking good for us.. slowly recover... hopefully its continue.. but this month another meeting with china...

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Jan 25 2019, 09:27 PM
xcxa23
post Jan 25 2019, 10:04 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jan 25 2019, 09:52 PM)
Using online calculators is okay as long as we get the point that the more correct way of gauging an investment is its effective rate of return, not the total return.

Whether the returns are satisfying or not, it is up to each individual and what he is comparing with. For many years the FD rate was less than 3%, only in recent months it was above 3% and close to 4%.
he's happy.. thats for sure... lol.. imo, even if FD was 4% 10-15 years back, still the return on fd insignificant compare to the fund's return..
i kept saying, why la u keep so much on fd... if u put all, mah good la.. biggrin.gif

im hopping my holding will perform as good as his..
xcxa23
post Jan 26 2019, 07:18 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 25 2019, 10:24 PM)
Sometimes FD is better as you get to sleep better.
December with just an appetizer. Do you the guts when Dec is repeated on a much bigger scale where you see your holdings becoming -ve every day?

Do nothing, buy more, run and and hide. That's the true test.
izit? im still slp as per usual.. biggrin.gif u got problem slp seeing your holdings -ve? blink.gif
well, i did mention this type of situation gonna last for at least 3 years..
err.. since the stupid trade war, my holdings already -ve..
i started at fsm late 2017...
few years back was buying thru bank... sold off those with handsome profits and went into fsm

xcxa23
post Jan 26 2019, 08:53 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 26 2019, 08:41 AM)
I have no problem with negative holdings. I love when market is negative as it gives me plenty of opportunity.

But my views are not shared by majority of the people.
Your opportunity might coming sooner than you think again.. then again, it's been opportunity since early 2018.. lol
US gomen re open and Trump gonna have lots of things to tweet..

Gotta agree good opportunity does not come often.. I come from stock market so used to seeing opportunities comes fast and goes faster...

Don't sweat about it.. here are public forum, we share our views.. don't like it.. fine..you don't shove yours and I kept mine myself..
xcxa23
post Jan 27 2019, 05:09 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 27 2019, 04:42 PM)
China already back down. Why do you think they decide to agree to buy US product and lower trade deficit to 0%?

China got not enough firepower as US tax is hurting them more than it's hurting US.
in what sense?
most of the news reported soy beans, pork meats and jobs in steel industry suffers by usa..

for china, recently reported their gdp dropped.. nth much reported...
xcxa23
post Jan 27 2019, 08:21 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 27 2019, 05:22 PM)
Why do you think they agree to bring the trade deficit down to zero percent?

Latest news also said China GDP is slowing down.

If they can withstand the US trade war, why would they wave the white flag so early?
seriously i have no idea, and wars regardless trade or real combat wars hurts participating parties so it will be wise to stop ASAP. and
you mentioned hurting them more than it's hurting US.
so im curious in what sense/section/department/industry did china suffers (other than just reported china gdp slowest growth in 20+years)

i would appreciate if you willing to share it.
having much knowledge helps ALOT in making logical decision..

thanks!
xcxa23
post Jan 27 2019, 10:00 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 27 2019, 09:12 PM)
I don't think Trump cares about technological "transfers" and "piracy". All he cares is how much money he  can makes from a deal and how good is he a business man to the American public.
China export majority of their stuff to US. By taxing China items,  it's making China products more expensive. Hence US companies will look elsewhere. When they do it,  factory output decreases. When factory output decreases, business drops. Business drops, people start losing jobs. When people start losing job,  they cannot pay back loans.

China govt is cutting taxes for local companies in order try to make their people spend. If economy is good,  you don't need to that.

If is not affecting China,  they won't bother offering to make trade deficit zero. They will just ignore US.
ya i know, china top trading partner are usa but hey, usa top trading partner is china...
and china did retaliate by slapping tax back on usa most imported goods

the effect on usa piratically same with china, as per your claimed
https://www.businessinsider.my/trump-tariff...18-8/?r=US&IR=T
https://www.businessinsider.my/trump-trade-...8-12/?r=US&IR=T

not sure if can be consider loss for usa, reported they spent usd 11b on 2018 direct payments and buying agricultural goods due to china stopped buying from them..

hmm.gif
xcxa23
post Jan 28 2019, 12:20 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(AvenueX @ Jan 28 2019, 11:11 AM)
So.. shall we pull out? Ady make some losses.
Depends on your view on the current and future possibilities of outcome
Basically, investment is jz a form of gamble, as in you does not know the future but only predict based on information you obtained

Personally I'm still DCA..
xcxa23
post Jan 28 2019, 12:54 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(AvenueX @ Jan 28 2019, 12:35 PM)
Tempted to pull out Half and rebuild port with DCA with the balance withdrawn.
Hmm.. my portfolio was double digit negative two week back, now single digits..
Most likely due to I'm keep dca and Trump being silent..

And if the truce/lift trade war, probably will rise for like a week or two.. imo

If u pull out and went in again, at same time frame, why would you do that?

Or ixit something wrong with your holding allocation?

xcxa23
post Jan 28 2019, 03:11 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(AvenueX @ Jan 28 2019, 02:10 PM)
Allocation.. A lot in equities.. around 90%.. Mine is single digits now too. Last month double digit..
There's some speculation 2019/2020 crisis will happen, as in like 2008..
Jux something I tot u might wanted to know..
Mine 95% equity.. lol
xcxa23
post Jan 28 2019, 03:27 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(AvenueX @ Jan 28 2019, 03:20 PM)
Ya lo.... so I'm sitting over here thinking if a crash similar to 08 happening will we sh*t our pants or not.  tongue.gif

Now single negative can be good chance to pull out some and go in again if anything happens. If pull out what to buy for 5-6%?
I don't think I will, im already preparing bullet for that
Meanwhile, I'm DCA with my salary..

Actually, imo do whatever tat u will SLP soundly at nite.. if these market fluctuations worries u so much, might just be become to stop and straight put in fd

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Jan 28 2019, 03:27 PM
xcxa23
post Jan 29 2019, 07:27 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 28 2019, 09:05 PM)
If pressure is getting to the US, US willl be the first to make the move. They haven't make any move. It was China who make the first move.
well, usa gomen shutdown for like 2 weeks or 3 weeks?
https://www.nbcnews.com/business/economy/1-...sm_npd_nn_fb_ma
like you said, China govt is cutting taxes for local companies in order try to make their people spend. If economy is good, you don't need to that.
but afaik, trump tax cut was wayyyy b4 this trade war..
xcxa23
post Jan 29 2019, 10:50 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Jan 29 2019, 09:32 AM)
I gave up trying to predict whether it is going up or down. There is just too much volatility with Trump in the office.

Either

1) Just DCA bit by bit into it.

or

2) Defer for a few months till Mar (after the US-China negotiations) to decide whether to DCA or not.

At the moment, I just don't have the money. I need the money for the Dec holidays and the coming CNY. So I have no choice but to do (2).
I'm with 1) since early 2018..
My reasoning is tat, nothing ups nor down forever.. (as shown by historical data)
So DCA is better than lump sum since we or at least I'm not able to predict when will it's peaks or bottom..

Anyway, happy CNY and happy holidays 😄
xcxa23
post Jan 29 2019, 12:11 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(AvenueX @ Jan 29 2019, 11:43 AM)
After thinking about it. we will keep our current portfolio allocation and DCA like you.  sweat.gif
My appetite are more towards risky tho..
As long as you understand the risk, let's continue the path of DCA .. lol..

xcxa23
post Jan 29 2019, 12:42 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(AvenueX @ Jan 29 2019, 12:23 PM)
I'm in deep with equity fund. Only some reit and bond fund.. I think that's risky, then again we're still young. Take some risks.. Might pay off.
Yup.. I don't mind the risk, and if burn still ok.. won't burn big hole.. won't affect my lifestyle

Let's see how's next month.. this month very calm..
Probably it's calm before the storm, although not surprising..

xcxa23
post Jan 31 2019, 10:03 AM

2,649 posts

Precious metal have negative correlation with economy..
If my books haven't return to lecturer yet

When tension are high, in this case the trade wars between two powerful country, ecnomy down, precious metal up.
And vice versa

Assuming if recession is coming and it true negative correlation, so during recession, precious metal goes up.

27 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0546sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:39 PM