FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
sgh
May 23 2022, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ May 23 2022, 01:49 PM) Hi Sifus: I have two unrelated to each other questions: 1. What are the disadvantages of owning fractional shares (obtained via ETF RSP)? Thanks. I can think of below 1. Fractional shares obtained via ETF RSP cannot be transferred out to other broker 2. Fractional shares selling via normal FSM trading (not going through the ETF RSP to sell route) don't think is supported So FSM ETF RSP is really for long term slow accumulation. Of cuz say if you have 100.12 shares that is from ETF RSP, you can sell the 100 (assume the lot size is 100) in normal FSM trade incurring that expensive 8.80 fees. The remaining 0.12 can be sold via the ETF RSP route instead which is scheduled I think once a month on 15th?
sgh
May 24 2022, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ May 23 2022, 11:05 PM) For ETF RSP, the fee really USD1 only? Any other hidden fees involved? When I look at this site: https://www.fsmone.com.my/etfs/get-started/stock-feesThere are: processing fee, stamp duty, Exchange Trading Fees, SEC fees,etc. So I'm confused what are the fees involved for ETF RSP. Thanks. Just to share for FSM Spore via ETF RSP above fees are still needed and they add one item called Processing Fee as fee to maintain this ETF RSP program I guess. I notice when you input say 100 it does not mean they will buy all 100 worth of shares. Somehow they buy less than that and use the buffer to pay the fees etc.
sgh
May 24 2022, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ May 24 2022, 09:48 PM) Thanks. Still confused but I'll start with RM200 first, bi-monthly. Planning to change it to RM400 monthly if I'm not selected as one of the lucky 300. USD1 for RM200 is > 2% cost so bi-monthly may not be a good idea. Thanks all. That is why previously I say if US stock go via IBKR at USD 0.35 so RM200 is < 2%
sgh
Jun 3 2022, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(JOMMAKAN @ Jun 3 2022, 06:59 PM) hi sifus, any difference between ifast and fsm managed portfolio ? ifast is the registered company also listed in SGX that operate fsm. I think fsm managed portfolio is you pay some fees and the staff in fsm help you to buy/rebalance if necessary a diversified portfolio of unit trust based on your risk profile. If you don't want, then you can ownself do your research and buy the unit trust yourself via fsm website.
sgh
Jun 3 2022, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 3 2022, 07:15 PM) While waiting for responses from those who knows, I Googled and found this https://seedly.sg/posts/what-is-the-differe...mone-and-ifast/Thus from the explanation given, I can add is managed portfolio is a product of fsm. Previously some forummers mentioned, ifast caters for financial planners/advisors that do portfolio management for their clients. Sort of like fsm doing managed portfolio service for us. Oooh I didn't know that thanks for sharing. I still remember when FSM startup in 2000 in Spore they always promote to let retail investor DIY buy,sell unit trust using website. So later they got more business avenues including catering to financial planners/advisors to go get customer and come back buy the unit trust from FSM I see.
sgh
Jun 22 2022, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 22 2022, 05:17 PM) Unit trust has FM to moves the stock holdings & % of holdings to hold for each stoxks.... Etf has? In the early days ETF is touted as passive index ETF so simple. Now is 2022, there are more ETF appearing and some are now turning to actively managed and expense ratio slowly creeping up. I predict such actively managed ETF will be same as Unit Trust with fund managers in future. Fund managers have the freedom to buy stocks NOT in the index and use other strategies in order to increase returns for the funds. This is what investors are paying them for. But the ETF supporters say such fund managers most of them failed in their job so it is better to buy passive index ETF instead. For me I am neutral as I think both instruments have their own merits.
sgh
Jun 24 2022, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(bcombat @ Jun 24 2022, 02:36 PM) if buy etf direct from open mkt such as IBKR, FSM etc, can lock the ETF price quoted on the stock exchange during the market day. Can see the ETF price up and down during the trading time. whereas unit trust once place order won’t immediately know the lock in price if buy online using platform like FSMONE…they took 1-2 day later to let the client know their UT price and UT appeared in client’s portfolio a day later…updated price only once per day. Yes this has been mentioned before. ETF is traded like stock so at the point you buy,sell you know the transacted price. Unit trust is different it is like you mention with that "lag" aka forward pricing basis. Reason why I did not go into ETF is becuz of the expensive fees for each buy,sell and sometimes 1 share can cost 1k-2k !!! That is before I know of fractional shares follow by 0 comm fees and next thing I am in already. I nearly go for IBKR at 35 cents but phew 0 cents come along. But for unit trust sometimes fund managers can access markets retail investors cannot. E.g for balanced fund they have bonds and typically bond is 250K how can retail investor afford? So you buy this fund to get indirectly to this bond.
sgh
Jun 27 2022, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 27 2022, 12:50 PM) try this, hope it can shed some light. (just think of it in Sporean context (instead of M'sian MYR as per your post)) for this is from FSM SG. Reducing Currency Risk With These SGD-Hedged Funds Investing in SGD-hedged classes of funds is one way to mitigate currency risk, especially in the context of an appreciating SGD. https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...gd-hedged-fundsLong time ago I post this before here in FSM Spore thread I think. But the FSM article does not mention the details or examples of how fund manager goes about lowering our currency exchange risk to the foreign currency fund they invest underlying. Do they buy some special XXX instrument ? Such additional stuff they do will reflect in a higher expense ratio?
sgh
Jun 27 2022, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 27 2022, 03:07 PM) Maybe can check the fund factsheet, annual reports to see if they got hold any? Using FSM Spore and choose two e.g the factsheet does not reveal anything and in fact for Fidelity it point back to same factsheet. But their expense ratio remain same for non-hedged and hedged class. So I guess the rule of thumb is when you see a fund has a hedged version just buy the hedged version. Fidelity America A-SGD https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/funds/factsheet/FI3009Fidelity America A-SGD (hedged) https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/funds/factsheet/FI3044Blackrock Fintech A2 SGD-H https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/funds/factsheet/BGF141Blackrock Fintech A2 USD https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/funds/factsheet/BGF140
sgh
Jun 27 2022, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 27 2022, 04:12 PM) Thank you and it is very informative. There are more extra work involved and for the same expense ratio for both non-hedged and hedged class I guess investors just pick the hedged class. Make the monies you pay them do extra work. And I notice becuz of these extra work not all funds have hedged version. I guess it is logical from fund manager perspective.
sgh
Jul 9 2022, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(bcombat @ Jul 9 2022, 09:31 AM) any interesting Chinese stocks, the so called “A share” to recommend? Other than already well know counter like Alibaba, Tencents and Meituan? I will personally invest in UT and Chinese stocks relate ETF…leave it to the fund manager select the stocks for me. For US listed China A share ETF try search CNYA and many others. For China A share UT the other reader has shared using FSM.
sgh
Jul 24 2022, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(saintprayer @ Jul 24 2022, 07:22 PM) I think i have came across this fund. Its target is to return say 8% pa. So its benchmark is 8% and have no other similar benchmark available. Long time ago I brought this topic out before in the Spore FSM thread. UT where the fund factsheet mention it does not have an index to benchmark against. Hence you cannot compare this UT with another index tracking ETF.
sgh
Jul 31 2022, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(melondance @ Jul 31 2022, 09:24 PM) It doesn't matter... The distributions are your OWN money. The NAVs drop by similar amount once they distribute to you.. Above depends. The email is now saying explicitly in order to continue giving dividend it need to pay out from capital. This mean before the email times dividends given can be from stock dividends fund manager have invested underlying and not from capital itself
sgh
Jul 31 2022, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Jul 31 2022, 07:10 PM) Thanks for the info. What would be the possible outcome(bad) if income is distributed from the capital? If it is indeed bad, why it says "would enable the Fund to better meet its objective of providing investors with regular income distributions"? Because so far, this Fund has not missed any quarterly distribution (with its current distribution format). Previously it distribute dividend by realised gains or income means they sold stocks off or get stock dividends to give out the dividend to holders. Now with the change it means in order to continue giving it maybe taking from the capital of the fund instead. By right capital should be used to invest to get more profits and stock dividends so the fund can grow and not use to pay holders dividends. With lesser capital how to invest more? But yet from holder point of view I want to have my dividends consistently not to be missed so fund manager feel pressured to fulfill that wish else holders withdraw from the fund no more job for fund managers
sgh
Aug 1 2022, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Aug 1 2022, 01:43 PM) So MUM suspicion is there; that the FUND is no longer be able to distribute good income to the holders. But paying from the capital will slowly erode it. So, this Notice clearly not following the guideline? I understand this fund also accept EPF besides cash correct? For FSM Spore if it is CPF (Msia EPF equivalent) investment it is always dividend reinvested. Only for cash it is payout. Yes need to think whether you still want to invest in this fund as it seems fund manager feel pressured to issue dividends by dipping into the capital of the fund. AFAIK fund dividend policy is set by fund managers or company ? And at any time they can remove it but the repercussion is mass withdrawal from the fund.