AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

mbr
post Aug 31 2018, 11:59 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(SAB2811X @ Aug 31 2018, 11:34 AM)
Hi sifus, im thinking to upgrade my ryzen 3 1200 to ryzen 5..but unsure which one to pick, will be paired with r9 380 and 8gb ram...
How about looking for R5-1600 or 1700? You dont need to update BIOS or the APU capability. Else, if the 2600 or 2700 is of similar pricing then...
BTW, you didn't say what do you want to use your PC for.

This post has been edited by mbr: Aug 31 2018, 12:00 PM
mbr
post Aug 31 2018, 12:09 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Aug 27 2018, 11:12 PM)
today finally place order for my 2700X rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif .....replacing my old i5-750 bought 9 years ago...
I wonder what was it that prompted you to choose 2700x? You were happy with the i5-750 for such a long time... So even a Ryzen 3-1200 would have been an absolute upgrade.
mbr
post Aug 31 2018, 01:47 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(SAB2811X @ Aug 31 2018, 12:58 PM)
For some gaming and light editing..
Then I suppose the Ryzen 5 1600 or 2400G would be great.
mbr
post Aug 31 2018, 05:43 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Aug 31 2018, 05:21 PM)
I need more cores to run some vm for my own testing at home. Previously was thinking Intel 8 cores. That why choose ryzen 7.

Been thinking to change pc since years ago.
And not tempted by threadripper? Even used one, as people start to change to threadripper 2...
mbr
post Sep 4 2018, 09:25 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(hotwebs @ Sep 4 2018, 08:40 PM)
Hi i need some advice, i plan to upgrade my PC, can refer my signature. What is the best choice, if i just upgrade my CPU, Motherboard and RAM, budget about RM2.5K.

Tempting on Ryzen 2700x due to more cores. mostly use for gaming, FPS game, NBA game, Monster Hunter World, CSGO and 1080p or 4K video editing, Adobe After Effect, Premiere Pro, Wondershare Filmora.

My concern, i just think about the RAM memory, the price is still high, should i get lower clock speed ram and overclock it to 3000-3200mhz? is the Fury Hyperx ram good?

And networking setup VMware, virtual server..etc.

Should i go for Intel or Ryzen?
Oooo... My old rig is 2700k with 16GB DDR3-1333, and I dont think RAM speed has affected my work. But then again, if you are thinking of going to Ryzen, faster RAM will definitely help with AMD Infinity Fabric, but some sources have shown that DDR4-2666 is pretty reasonable, and no need to go crazy at 3200+

At RM 2.5k... You can imagine CPU RM 900-1000, Motherboard RM 600-700, 16GB RAM RM 700-800
Unless you compromise on the MOBO, getting a RM400-500 one and putting the extra money into CPU

2700x is about RM 1350-1450, though

mbr
post Sep 5 2018, 12:42 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(hotwebs @ Sep 4 2018, 11:36 PM)
Thanks for your comment, anyway for video editing experience on my rig, i think not enough, personal experience i feel slow 1080p video exporting, slow timeline playback,  overall experience not that great. when during video rendering, my pc totally freeze, and i cannot do anything. =..= got to use laptop, but sometimes all my source files are placed in my desktop. so got to copy it out. but sometimes the system might stopped running, if i continue do multi tasking work.

RM500 to RM600+

X470 MSI gaming Plus or gigabyte aorus ultra gaming

Regarding to the ram, i watched youtube, a lot of youtuber also mention that ryzen 2700x cpu performance 10-20% improve due to higher speed ram.
I reckon you will need 32 GB RAM, but you need to increase budget... Likely RAM will be RM1600 already, CPU 1450+ and mobo 600+
mbr
post Sep 5 2018, 07:51 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Sep 5 2018, 01:11 AM)
For video editing, the software must support gpu accelerated enc/decoding, else you prolly need threadripper but also slower than gpu acceleration  sweat.gif
Check the ram usage, most likely the cpu doing all the works which cause the slow down, ram usage overload mostly will cause the app to crash only.
Video editing rarely use a lot of ram especially 1080p only.

Gpu acceleration is the way to go, nowadays not only video playback are gpu accelerated, web layout, font rendering, compositing, css animation and so on on your web browser, are already accelerated by GPU.
He does have a GTX970, though.

https://www.cgdirector.com/ram-video-editing/

Apparently 16GB is recommended for 1080p video, and 32GB if having heavy background processes.
mbr
post Sep 9 2018, 09:43 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Sep 8 2018, 10:24 AM)
Just built a Ryzen before SST hits, trying to get the RAM QVL listed is darn hard, had to search up and down in lowyat before I got one. I had it all up and stable now, just left one thing, I need the cooler upgraded, any recommendations? Budget around 200-300 MYR.
For 2600X. Now using stock Wraith Spire, getting 75-78c on load, around 60-65 during gaming and 40-41c during idle, looking something better to bring down the temp a little bit.
The veteran Cooler Master Hyper 212 is rather good, and the Noctua NH-D15 SE AM4 is pretty well reviewed too
mbr
post Dec 5 2018, 02:30 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 5 2018, 02:24 PM)
Ryzen 3000 leaked spec rumours
https://wccftech.com/amd-ryzen-3000-specs-p...-5-1ghz-on-am4/

Ryzen 5 3600X will have 8C16T, boost to 4.8ghz
Might be faster than 2700X

Ryzen 7 3700X will have 12C24T, boost to 5.0ghz
Might be faster than 2700X by 50%

And then there's Ryzen 9, 16 Cores 32 Threads, Up to 5.1ghz...

So fast already feel 2700X is very outdated...
At least Navi showing signs of life

With competition, if they are able to be priced well, consumers will have a field day... except those that just bought a rig in the past 2 months
mbr
post Nov 25 2019, 11:19 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

For my next "media and light work" rig, planning to use Asrock B450 Steel Legend and 2400G, paired with 8GB DDR4-3200 for the heck of it. Initially planning to use 3400G but oddly, the mobo doesn't allow 3200Hz memory speed with Picasso but can do it with Raven Ridge. Planning to upgrade to Ryzen 5 3600 + GPU (and upgrade to 16GB RAM) for gaming next time.

Problem is, I cant find the actual listed memories in QVL in local stores in Kuching. Will "close enough" models work? Eg Corsair CMK16GX4M2C3000C15 is listed for 3000Hz, but I found CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16 for 3200Hz in market
mbr
post Nov 26 2019, 11:56 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 26 2019, 09:14 AM)
I run Steel Legend with memory up to 3600MHz leh, you sure it's the board problem?

Which processor you have problem with running to 3200MHz?
I haven't bought it. I mean I was planning to use this setup but the motherboard specs mentioned it doesn't go to 3200Hz if using Ryzen 5 3400G (Picasso), but it can with Ryzen 5 2400G (Raven ridge)

Also, I am just wondering if different modules from the qualified vendors are similarly compatible for rated speeds.
mbr
post Nov 27 2019, 10:47 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Nov 27 2019, 10:30 AM)
Don't get 2400g.
Get 2600 and some cheap used gpu.
Not for now. In terms of cost, 2400g made more sense as I didnt have to buy extra gpu (I do have HD7750 but not on par with vega 11 I read).
In the future I would go 3600 or higher anyway.
mbr
post Nov 27 2019, 12:08 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Nov 27 2019, 11:18 AM)
2400g is not worth it. Unless you want to use onboard exclusively.
Get 2600 and use your 7750 or get rx570 used for rm300.

And wait for 4600 next year.
Or don't buy and wait for 4600.
That's ok. I make do with onboard for now till more saved up. I have another rig for gaming. This is a separate one that I bring to office for my own convenience (don't want to carry laptop to and fro on daily basis). Initially planning to use an older rig (athlon ii x3 440, TA790gx a3+ with Hd 7750) but something wrong with the mobo (sometimes reporting memory error while using known good ram sticks)

There was another PC with athlon 200GE in the office, but I found it sluggish. So yeah... I went and bought the planned items and need to find a windows license for installation (contemplating linux too)

This post has been edited by mbr: Nov 27 2019, 12:21 PM
mbr
post Jan 5 2020, 08:00 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(suffian1 @ Jan 5 2020, 07:49 PM)
Hi guys, been out of the PC gaming scene for a while (work kids etc..life hehe). Looking to build a decent gaming rig so below is my shortlist for the base build:

Ryzen 5 3600
Asus B450-F Rog Strix Gaming
Asus RTX 2060 Super Rog Strix (going for 1440p)
Kingston HyperX Predator 16GB CL16 (HX432C16PB3AK2/16)
240 AIO (maybe) or CM 212

Been reading a lot about Ryzen 3000 series issues with mobo & RAM so hopefully nothing bad happens. I've checked the RAM and it is on the QVL for the Asus board and 3rd Gen Ryzen ready (https://www.amd.com/en/products/ryzen-compatible-memory/ready-for-3rd-gen-amd-ryzen) and its cheap.

Thinking about going to x470 or even x570 boards but for the R5 3600 B450 should be ok. Won't be doing crazy overclock, maybe just a bit but might need to OC the RAM though or hope it works with XMP.

So any comments, suggestions etc. would be very welcome  rclxms.gif  TQ
If you plan to try overclocking, maybe choose another motherboard?
Eg Asrock B450 Pro4, MSI B450 Tomahawk/Mortar/Gaming Pro Carbon

https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/113761...ently-amd-only/

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-Zw...pnq5fyiWD4NCkkU
mbr
post Jan 5 2020, 08:34 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(suffian1 @ Jan 5 2020, 08:31 PM)
Thanks for the feedback.

Was looking at the MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC too. I'm looking to build sort of a themed build so thats where the ROG stuff comes in. If I'm going for MSI then maybe I'll get a MSI RTX 2060S  hmm.gif
That's cool. Choose based on your needs first then do a theme if you wish and could. Function over aesthetics.
I got to admit that I was tempted for a Strix build as well.
mbr
post May 16 2020, 08:00 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

For my secondary rig, thinking to upgrade 2400G to 3300X just for gaming... Though if the 3600 gets cheap like RM 600, it would be tempting too... but I'm in no hurry, planning around Oct/Nov, not much time for gaming now. (Current pairing B450 Steel Legend, GTX 1070Ti and 16GB DDR4-3200)

mbr
post Sep 10 2020, 03:31 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(imceobichi @ Sep 7 2020, 10:03 PM)
What’s so good about x570 motherboard?
Besides price, just about everything? :-)
mbr
post Sep 22 2020, 12:28 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

We're near the end of 2020, and with it goes AMD's earlier promise to support AM4 (till at least 2020). I guess we are possibly looking at the last gen of Ryzen for AM4 then? Is it still wise to spend a lot on new X570 when you know there might not be anything new coming after that?

For those what wants to get B550 and X570 for the features, there is still a decent upgrade path all the way up to the highest supported AM4 processor, though supply of new stocks would slowly dry up in the next 2-3 years. After that it's up to you to source a used one in good condition, but CPUs generally last longer than motherboards.

I am quite content with my B450 and slowly upgrade to probably 3700x, and review options in another 3-4 years... PCIE4 wont be an issue unless I get a GPU performing better than RTX2080.

This post has been edited by mbr: Sep 22 2020, 12:29 PM
mbr
post Sep 22 2020, 02:53 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

Right now buyers should really wait.
1. Possibly worth going straight for new processors if pricing is good. Availability will be scanty at launch though
2. Used markets will build up with people upgrading from Zen+ or Zen 2.
3. Price drop for current stock of Zen+ and Zen 2
4. Waiting for bugs to be sorted out, or any new security flaws
5. Reviews and bios updates for compatibility
mbr
post Oct 9 2020, 09:01 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

I'm just hoping to get a used 3600 and wait for zen 4 :-)

0.0305sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:28 PM