AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

k!nex
post Feb 18 2017, 09:19 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Feb 17 2017, 08:31 PM)
Despite the hype though... AMD Ryzen forgot to compete in the G series Pentium category. Probably might lose a lot of sales if I see it that way. Everyone who wants Ryzen would rather go G series Intel (4560 , 4600 , 4620) and that is why Intel wasn't so challenged by it or rather.
Ryzen dont hv integrated GPU.Ryzen is meant to be enthusiast platform. Majority of us has dicrete GPU. Low end should include iGPU, therefore its the job of the APU to compete with the pentium and celeron.
k!nex
post Feb 18 2017, 09:29 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Feb 18 2017, 08:40 PM)
I dont think Intel will lose to AMD anytime soon. They're too embedded in the industry for now, and have been known to illegally force OEMs to use their processors instead of AMD. they have the cash to do it, too.
It depends on which segment. Enterprise market, no way amd can defeat intel at least 10 years. The Xeon server and workstation market is more than 90% dominated by intel. Most corporate sector only change server once every 7 years. Maybe longer but no less than tht.

Enthusiast market maybe amd can claw back some market share if performance is great and sell at an irresistable price. This group of ppl are not many though. No volume.

Corporate desktops make up for majority of the cpu sales. Sadly though, AMD Ryzen is out of place here. No integrated GPU no talk. This is Intel territory althogh OEM like Dell and HP do sell AMD desktops though no takers from the corporate world. Every industry player only buy Intel. AMD needs invest heavily on marketting here in order to gain market share
k!nex
post Feb 24 2017, 07:51 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

Why no gaming benchmarks against the 7700k or 7600k ? OCed vs OCed performance on air. That is the real deal.
For us gamers, all we care is how many fps can get with the same GPU. Cinebench means nothing to us.
k!nex
post Feb 25 2017, 02:41 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 25 2017, 02:34 PM)
Haiyoh you think whole world is about gamers meh?

I spent whole day with AMD and games is just one tiny portion of presentation.

Games benchmarks I have also, but details cannot share to you guys just yet.

What I can tell you is that even when AMD presented the details on games, they didn't say AMD beat Intel or what. They just say both perform equally well.

Refer to my video below, jump to around 14:30 mark.

They talk about games but not much, you must understand that AMD's ZEN series products here is built for the future.

For current games, I don't think you'll see any difference and from my experience assuming the IPC is now on par with Intel products, then the Ryzen will be a little behind the Core series for gaming. Not much, just slightly behind.

However as overall performaner (games and productivity) the Ryzen has the edge, what it is now is that the Ryzen opens more avenue for developers to make content that is able to utilize even more cores for better experience.

In a nutshell : Ryzen - Future.
Then wats the point of using a future cpu. Those bulldozer days are built like tht exactly. Invest heavily in multithread performance hoping the market will join the bandwagon, sacrifice single thread. It ended up being a shitty gaming cpu where a puny i3 can defeat an 8 core cpu from amd. Buying computers for 'future proof' is such bad idea to me. You should buy watever is best at that time. Ryzen is marketted as an enthusiast cpu according to the ceo

This post has been edited by k!nex: Feb 25 2017, 02:42 PM
k!nex
post Feb 25 2017, 06:42 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

For me I found it disheartening to see something like this :

Both 7700k and R7 1700 is about the same price. Roughly RM1.5~RM1.6k here I believe.

By the way, since Goldfries has sampled the R7 1800x, perhaps, can we know what is the Aida64 memory benchmark like ??

I will post my lowly work rig. I know you're bind by NDA until 28th Feb, however, you just have to say, can your 1800x do better than this and what kind of RAM are you using:

My CPU only worth RM1k. Our friend is selling here
k!nex
post Mar 5 2017, 05:03 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(cj7 @ Mar 5 2017, 04:34 PM)
well, 8c, 10c not exactly for oc. heck even 6c. Same thing happen for intel. Highest oc headroom would be at 4c, i suspect ryzen r3 will be beast. Going by power consumption, 1700 touch only 13x watt at full load. What if number of core cut down half? it definately give more oc headroom. Technically, someone can disable 4c and try oc, although not really same. Lol

Also i hate when ppl compare to 8c and 10c core, ryzen lose in certain application and at the same time they compare 7700, ryzen lose in gaming. Then they conclude ryzen is rubbish.
I think Ryzen 4c will be the same. About 4.1~4.2ghz tops .
If you look at Broadwell, it doesn't clock well too like the i7 5775C . The broadwell-E at 6 or 8 cores does not clock well neither. Most likely due to architecture or manufacturing process limit .

Since the R7 1700 can do 65W TDP on a desktop with 3ghz, I'm more interested whether can a 6 core Ryzen end up in a laptop with 45W TDP clocking about 2.4Ghz . Afterall, there is no 6 core CPU in a laptop yet. Only 4 cores for the time being. Not everyone can live with ultrabook with that measly 15W TDP CPU. Power users require 4 cores mobile CPU.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Mar 5 2017, 05:10 PM
k!nex
post Mar 17 2017, 12:46 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

Get some ECC RAM capable motherboard in the market and the Intel Xeon E3 will get screwed so badly I believe since Ryzen has ECC RAM support by default.
k!nex
post Mar 17 2017, 10:39 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Mar 17 2017, 03:41 PM)
Are all Ryzen R7 R5 R3 support ECC RAM?
https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu_mainbo...ts_ecc_memory/1

It seems like it depends on motherboard maker only. Not like intel, only xeon can get ecc support
k!nex
post Mar 18 2017, 02:25 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 18 2017, 01:25 PM)
Why not B350? Can overclock unless you mati2 don't want to overclock your processor. tongue.gif
Agree. Ryzen is unlocked processor. You go pick a motherboard which severely restrain its true value.
k!nex
post Mar 18 2017, 02:27 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Mar 18 2017, 11:44 AM)
This is really cool!
Before Ryzen ECC memory can only be found on Xeon which is more expensive platform.
ECC is more important for me rather than arguing how Ryzen lose to 7700k in gaming.
This is actually designed more towards a workstation cpu though. If its a gaming cpu , core count is less important than lower cache latency and higher clock speed
k!nex
post Apr 13 2017, 03:24 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 13 2017, 01:26 PM)
Noooooo, I use so many I also don't want to guarantee anything.

Ryzen is not OCing hero, in fact it's just quite LOL case at it.
Refer http://www.ocdrift.com/amd-ryzen-binned-pr...ilicon-lottery/
My finding is as such, my 1800X can't touch 4.1Ghz. 4.0Ghz stable also need a lot of effort to tune.

For 1600X and 1500X, I manage to run them at 4.0Ghz with 1.45vcore but for others, I also don't guarantee same outcome.
So does putting 3200mhz ram over cheaper 2400mhz makes more difference than trying to clock the cpu at 4.0ghz over 3.8ghz ?? So far nobody has done this experiment. You improve the infinity fabric speed over just pushing the core clock .
k!nex
post Apr 13 2017, 07:39 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 13 2017, 03:57 PM)
Ehhh, what do you mean no one done this experiment? tongue.gif

I wish to see whether worth the fuss of pushing your 3.7Ghz Ryzen 7 to 4ghz at all cost or putting a higher speed RAM makes more difference.I know a quite a few people who hit a wall with just 3.9 Ghz with a R7 1700 because already pumping >1.4v to it. So question now is, is it worth going even higher voltage than 1.4V or just buy a higher speed memory to improve fps. I believe minimum fps is also important so I would suggest getting the minimum fps in the graphs as well.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 13 2017, 07:43 PM
k!nex
post Jun 2 2017, 11:10 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Jun 1 2017, 03:01 PM)
Hi may ask current Ryzen user with multiple monitor.

Currently im using multiple monitor with intel + 980. When i gaming, i will switch to single screen mode because in extend mode seems to make my game stutter abit ( if its streaming something)

After reading much review, i think Ryzen will solve my problem where i can watch stream at one screen (twitch, netflix etc) while gaming in another screen using extended mode? Anyone tried it?
You can observe this yourself. Whatever you are doing, ctrl+alt+del, open the task manager and see the CPU utilization. If it always at 90%+~100% consistently, of course it will stutter, it means CPU maxed out.
k!nex
post Jul 6 2017, 11:19 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

Anyone knows where to find Asus ROG STRIX X370-F GAMING in lowyat plaza ??? I know viewnet has the B350 version, but i'm not interested.
https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-X370-F-GAMING/
k!nex
post Jul 7 2017, 12:06 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 6 2017, 11:41 PM)
C-Zone has it
Thank you very much. I will check it out. This is 1 of the only 2 AM4 board with AM3 mounting hole I have found
k!nex
post Jul 7 2017, 10:28 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 7 2017, 12:45 AM)
Did not know AM4 has AM3 mounting boards. Bought Gigabyte AX370 Gaming 5. Oh well, gotta wait for AM4 mounting kit using my TPC-812.
You look at the CPU Cooler mounting hole on Asus crosshair VI also same. Got 2 holes at 1 spot. It is meant for both AM3 and AM4.
k!nex
post Jul 24 2017, 11:49 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Jul 23 2017, 04:23 PM)
yesterday saw ryzen $270 so add into cart. night time decide to buy then stock not available. the price keep increase till now 1700x also cheaper than 1700 sweat.gif

since right now deliver to singapore is free.

Look at this article. You are lucky that you didn't buy
k!nex
post Jul 25 2017, 01:22 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Jul 24 2017, 08:55 PM)
do the chips alone bring much difference?
Chipset only relevant with the features that are offered. How solid is the motherboard is always dependent on the power regulation from the MOSFETS.
Being said that, all silicon chips went through a process call binning. Example like, 100% working chipset are binned as X370, those that are slightly defective but can be partially disabled which reduce certain features are binned as B350 . So you judge yourself whether it makes a difference.
k!nex
post Jul 25 2017, 08:39 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 25 2017, 08:18 AM)
I tot the major difference between x370 & b350 is x370 support both crossfire and sli while b350 only support for crossfire
I was referring to a comparison for ITX motherboard which obviously wont have SLI or Crossfire since only have 1 PCI-E slot.
k!nex
post Jul 26 2017, 09:05 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 26 2017, 07:23 PM)
Ehhh no, can handle high OC also. Not for Ryzen 7 1800X of course because temperature reading what not are really off.

I am using stock cooler on Ryzen 5 1500X at 4Ghz.

I've also overclocked Ryzen 3 to high clocks on stock cooler too, just amazing!
RGB model only for Ryzen 7 though, Ryzen 5 and Ryzen 3 are non RGB models.
Your Ryzen 3 clocks are interesting to me. Most people on air only get about 4.1ghz at best. I wonder how much you get. Perhaps you got the newer B2 stepping version.

0.0255sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:07 PM