AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

celicaizpower
post Feb 17 2017, 09:28 AM

Race : ☐ Malay ☐ Chinese ☐ India ☑ /k/tard
1,177 posts

I am really looking forward for the R7 1700x.. based on the recent price shown I guess should be around 1.2-1.5k RM... mahal jugak..

wondering which board to buy best... either the B350 or the X370.. cause according to articles that I read, both also can overclock just that the latter board has more ports and some additional ports support (m2. and etc).. or did I get this wrong? mind sharing your thoughts?
celicaizpower
post Jul 5 2017, 06:19 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Jul 5 2017, 06:14 PM)
Anyone using the Biostar X370 GT5 ATX board? RM499 seems like a good deal. Reviews I've read so far looks ok.

Thinking to pair it with G.Skill Flare X 3200Mhz DDR4 kit before RAM prices go up.

Tired of waiting for AM4 ITX boards to arrive. I'll buy a cheap ATX and buy a new case if I have to.
RM 499?? for a X series mobo? dayyyyyyyyyyyyyyymmmmm cheap siaaallll... where you get? share info pls smile.gif thumbup.gif
celicaizpower
post Jul 6 2017, 07:21 AM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Jul 5 2017, 06:29 PM)
QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Jul 5 2017, 08:36 PM)
wah lau...so cheapp mannn... i save alot leh... thanks for the link bro!
celicaizpower
post Oct 27 2020, 10:17 AM

1,177 posts

Hi Guys,

Planning to build a new Rig with the below specs, what do you think? will there be a bottleneck?

CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
Mobo: MSI B550 Tomahawk
GPU: Sapphire RX 5600XT
RAM: 16GB DDR4 Vengence LPX 3600mhz
Drive: ADATA XPG SX8200 512GB Gen3x4 M2.PCIE or Silicon Power 1TB NVMe Gen4x4 M.2 PCIE
PSU: 650w 80+ Bronze
Case: Cap Ayam with 6 case fans

Thanks for any suggestions and recommendations.
celicaizpower
post Oct 27 2020, 11:47 AM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(latios507 @ Oct 27 2020, 10:51 AM)
Should be fine for light gaming. Some area of improvement: Mobo, RAM and PSU, especially the PSU.

If you have extra budget, personally, I'd get an Asus or Gigabyte Mobo. Msi isn't bad value wise, but I consider MSI inferior than these 2 brands in terms of mobo quality. Again, you can ignore my advice if you want to go for MSI. You should consider Asrock too coz that's another contender for decent value & feature set (e.g. B550 Steel Legend / B550 Extreme Legend)

My only qualms is the PSU: don't get cheap out on it. It's the heart of ur system and I've experienced first-hand of the consequences in cheaping out on a PSU.

I'd get least 750W  / 850W Gold even if I was on budget. 750W gives you more headroom and future-proof. A good PSU can last you through multiple upgrades/build coz it's the component that can outlast your rig's lifespan (provided it is a good quality PSU).

There is a PSU tier list that you can use for your reference:
PSU Tier List 4.0

If you wish to save money, RAM is the where I'd look at. Getting the 3200mhz is more than enough coz speed wise vs 3600mhz, there is no real world tangible benefit.

However, if you have extra $$$ then stick to 3600mhz coz that is the 'sweet spot' for Ryzen 3000s CPU.

Good luck!
Hi Bro,

Thanks for the reply, really appreciate it to view from another's perspective. thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif

To be honest, I am truly an Asus Fan Boy.. my current PC runs on a Asus M4A77TD which has served me very well since 2009. I know for a fact (yearssss ago) that MSI was not known for the quality however seeing a lot of youtubers promoting it changed my mind a bit. I will reconsider to relook at Asus back again or perhaps Asrock as you recommend.

Noted on the PSU suggestion, I will change it to a higher spec 700w 80+ Gold.

Yup, the reason why I was looking for the 3600mhz was to fully utilize the benefits of the GEN4 PCIE speeds. I was initially thinking about 3200mhz then I think that it might cause a bottleneck... sadly I have no way to proof this cause there are no study out there that says it clearly or at least a study that I can find... (most youtuber too rich and always do system build with top spec items) smile.gif
celicaizpower
post Oct 27 2020, 03:25 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 27 2020, 12:09 PM)
Are you looking to futureproof your machine or something?  That board is way overkill for a 3600 (unless you have intention to go for a 5950X in the future) icon_idea.gif

Looks good, but I think for your budget you can get a better PSU hmm.gif
Not really future proof but to enable the GEN4 PCIE capabilities. I was initially look at a B450 board but since B450's are limited to GEN3 PCIE... So I decided that I can spend a bit more for a B550.

Yeah, agreed on the PSU part as advised by bro latios507.. therefore now thinking to get 80+ Gold PSU instead of the initial Bronze.

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 27 2020, 12:10 PM)
You do not need 750/850W PSUs for futureproofing (unless you intend to go HEDT/RTX3080/90) icon_idea.gif

A decent 550/650W unit will be sufficient for most mainstream PC builds icon_idea.gif
I did a PSU calculator at beQuiet page, seems that the total power consumption of my new selected specs will be around 337watts. Therefore I initially thought 650w 80+ Bronze will do the trick. As advised by Bro latios507, I will be going 80+ Gold instead now to be safe.

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Oct 27 2020, 12:49 PM)
3200mhz RAM won't be a bottleneck for PCIE 4.0. Still the 16GB 3600Mhz C18 LPX is like only RM40 more expensive than the 3200MHz C16 counterpart, I don't see why don't just go for the higher speed. The difference is not as extreme as 3200MHz C16 vs C14.
Right? I was really thinking about it... price not that far... might as well put in a bit more for a PC that I hope can last me the next 5 years?

celicaizpower
post Oct 27 2020, 03:36 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 27 2020, 01:22 PM)
gpu u might want to consider nvidia
sx8200 go for pro version
u might want to add a cpu cooler like deepcool gammaxx 400 v2
psu just refer to the suggestion in psu thread tepi
haha…i also have an asus M4A78 now and still running fine as a backup computer in case my pc down (just happen recently)

i built 1 ryzen 3600 based on msi b450 tomahawk since day 1 malaysia got ryzen 3600 got stock (u can refer my post in this thread a year ago), ntg wrong with msi…just different ppl got different brand preference…as long the spec suitable for me, tak kesah asus ke gigabyte ke msi ke…janji it works without hiccups.
i can foresee b550 mobo will hold value in AM4 socket used market. this situation like last time haswell devil canyon era…those Z97 board still hold value until to date because large user base. if budget allows for b550 mobo…proceed je. if want save budget b450 also ok je… overkill is better than underkill…haha
ya…650w is sweet spot for mainstream build.
I was really thinking about NVidia VS AMD... but crap la... I've been a ATI Radeon boy since day 1 playing PC... hahahahah... there is a saying last time la... if buy AMD Processor, stick with AMD Radeon to get the best bang out of your buck. Dont think this applies now... but hard to change on this part tongue.gif

Yeah, the sx8200 pro will give around 3500mb/2400mb read/write. I am thinking either this could be a slight bottleneck since the Gen4 can push out 5000mb/4400mb read/write (still haven't got a good answer on this choice as yet)

Right!!??!! Those days PC items seems to last forever! hahahahahah I feel guilty to change my current pc also, but its about time I retire my current spec since 11 years old dy...

Just to share spec of my current PC with you:
AMD Phenom X3 720BE
Asus M4A77TD PRO
8GB DDR3-1333
AMD R7 260x 1GB (Original was Dual Radeon 4670HD 512MB, card decided to "blow" after 7 years)

the B550 choice is because I plan to fully utilize the Gen4 PCIE capabilities. Its about RM 100-150 more than a B450 so still within budget. smile.gif
celicaizpower
post Oct 27 2020, 03:38 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Oct 27 2020, 03:32 PM)
Any shop already open pre-order for Zen3 ?
Idealtech got I think... I was browsing their page yesterday but the price of Zen3 vs Zen2... a bit far laa almost 50% more.
celicaizpower
post Dec 5 2020, 10:09 PM

1,177 posts

Hi Guys,

Me again, after seeing the hype for 5600x and also 6000 series GPU... I am holding my purchase till next Q1 2021.

Below are the new planned spec, appreciate your kind advise.

CPU: Ryzen 5 5600x
Mobo: MSI B550 Tomahawk
GPU: Sapphire RX 6800 non-xt
RAM: ADATA D60G 32GB DDR4 3600mhz CL18 (8GB per stick)
Drive: ADATA XPG SX8200 512GB Gen3x4 M2.PCIE (Already bought)
PSU: Corsair 650w 80+ Bronze (CV650)
Case: Aigo DarkFlash Leo with 6 case fans (Already bought)

CPU Cooler:

at first I was looking at "ID-COOLING SE-224 XT V2" until I saw this mammoth cooler from China... what you think?

Thanks in advance for the feedback!!

My previous plan:

celicaizpower
post Dec 7 2020, 10:20 AM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 6 2020, 08:04 PM)
I'm using 224XT to cool my 130W TDP Xeon. I would say it is damn good for the price (i paid RM7X for it).  thumbup.gif

regarding those ultra cheap chinese coolers, most reviews say the base is not milled smooth enough. don't forget about the fan itself.  puke.gif
Noted bro, thanks for the feedback on ID Cooling. I will change to ID cooling instead of the China one then smile.gif

May I know what processor and what is the averaging temp you get on idle?

0.0275sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:43 AM