AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

PedangGila
post Mar 23 2017, 04:09 PM

918 posts

I think it's quite a catch really that b350s board aren't suppose to compete, as in engineered, with x370 that the later suppose to deliver slightly better if not gaping differences in performance, stability wise.
PedangGila
post Mar 25 2017, 11:12 PM

918 posts

I think I will just do with b350, 1800x and a future vega card then run everything at factory settings. Overclocking is fun but in the long run for just 500mhz bump is a good room warmer really.
PedangGila
post Mar 27 2017, 07:00 AM

918 posts

We already have 28Ghz worth of processing power lol. In real world 30 secs differences is not that long but yea in gaming even half a second late is what set the winner and loser apart but I am gaming with just an a8 5600k with max turbo 4.4ghz, no problemo. The lag spikes caused by ISP and their networks is more table flipping keyboard smashing than a budget rig.
PedangGila
post Mar 27 2017, 07:53 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Mar 26 2017, 10:06 PM)
Good to see it even at 3.9ghz pwnd 5.0ghz 7700k as in letting the gpu works its magic. Though we all know single core intel still the king.
PedangGila
post Jul 9 2019, 11:24 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 9 2019, 11:01 AM)
what are the reasons behind them selling at such absurd prices? hero should have cost around 1.2-1.4k only...even a X570 AORUS MASTER is more worthy
because the pch or even other chips on the board are all somewhat premium so the board price soar. even the vrm heatsink was upgraded to prolly twice the surface area than before. Can refer to Buildzoid breakdown of X570 Asus Meg.

PedangGila
post Jul 9 2019, 11:33 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Jul 8 2019, 05:57 PM)
Ordered a R7 3700x from lazada. Upgrading from R3 1200 on a Gigabyte B350m DS2 board.. first time upgrading CPU hopefully I don't break something
I endured the temptation more than you because I am running A8 5600k atm. Gonna get 3600 only and maybe just rtx 2060 or even 1660 ti. I dont think I need to spend more just to get stuck in a group of helpless goons in any team game ie world of tanks.
PedangGila
post Jul 9 2019, 11:56 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 9 2019, 11:37 AM)
get the rtx2060…lazada 12Jul sales the galax rtx2060 lebih kurang price with 1660ti. (after collect 1000-100 coupon)
I wish it is from the big 4 asus, msi, gigabye or evga. Though I havent heard much of problem with Galaxy. Thanks for the info bro
PedangGila
post Jul 9 2019, 07:43 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Harold2009 @ Jul 9 2019, 01:43 PM)
Walao, Ryzen 5 3600 + MSI x570 gaming x + DDR4 3600 8GB x 2 costs already reach near RM3K, I rather buy RTX 2060 super upgrade first and stick to my current E3-1230v3, I just want play decent modern AAA games in medium quality on 2160p, if my CPU can't keep, just need another 6 months to buy those 3 primary item for an upgrade.
8GB ram is not enough. At least 16GB and speed of 3000mhz or heck even 2800mhz will do the job despite making you lost a few seconds of your life at most.

addit: feck I missed the x2 there sorry

This post has been edited by PedangGila: Jul 9 2019, 09:50 PM
PedangGila
post Jul 9 2019, 09:48 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Jul 9 2019, 08:33 PM)
My rig was deliberately built cheap thanks to the suggestion of lowyat forumers, I grabbed the cheapest b350 mobo, r3 1200, gtx1050 2.5 years ago to wait for 3rd gen Ryzen and upgrade. Grabbed a second hand gtx1070 ti last month for rm950 n Carousell as well as some RAM, and it's bottlenecking badly.

Also decided to upgrade since I have a 3 monitor setup (cheap refurbished monitors from lowyat mall) now , and the CPU usage is quite high now.. so yeah.
Prolly the biggest drag is live streaming which is not what an r3 would be proud of. Should be no prob with TDP as it's rated 65w. Yea why not.
PedangGila
post Jul 12 2019, 11:08 PM

918 posts

I want a B450 Tomahawk to host a 3600 and G.Skill F4-3600C18D-16GTZRX ram. Although it's tagged with AMD compatible but it wasn't in the QVL list for tomahawk. ANyone successfully use this ram with the said board? Thanks
PedangGila
post Jul 13 2019, 12:22 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jul 12 2019, 11:54 PM)
i just bought an assrock b450m steel legend instead of msi b450m mortar.
what have i done?
what's bad about it?

PedangGila
post Jul 13 2019, 01:02 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 13 2019, 12:44 AM)
how about buy the cheap hyperx fury 3200mhz cl18 8GB x2, the price differential can buy the 3600X or not?
Wanna stay 65w tdp. Have yet to look at Hyper Fury since there's too may of them so I dont know which one is PnP. This freaking ram QVL and compatibility is really freaking me out.
PedangGila
post Jul 13 2019, 01:06 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jul 13 2019, 12:52 AM)
nothing.
it's just the shills are shilling msi's vrm. which is just sinopower with a bigger heatsink.
i'll be overclocking a r5 3600 to the best efficiency point which is just fine.

i went with steel legend because of the nichicon audio caps is bigger and it's rm60 cheaper. msi still uses a good nippon chemicon caps.

paid rm298 for the board after coupons.  brows.gif
also bought a scythe mugen 5 for rm154 after coupons. totally unnecessary but a rm24 coupon suddenly popped up.
r5 3600 rm798
2x8gb samseng oem ddr4 rm254.

total rm1504.

i will be selling
a phenom ii x6 1090t 3.6GHz all coars 1.325V
gigabyte 870 ud3.
2x4gb + 2x2gb ddr3 1333. (dual channel still works even if you mix the size)
cooler master hyper 612s.
DAFAK!. Yea you got things cheap but maybe all the OC will eat all the discounts later 3-4 years in Watts paid. But meh they're not that power hungry OCing but who knows if the calculation is right. Too bad you dont have 8gb in single stick, kinda need a ddr3 atm.
PedangGila
post Jul 13 2019, 01:10 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 13 2019, 01:09 AM)
i built 1 3600 using tomahawk and hyperx fury 3200mhz cl18 just plug n play no issue since day 1.

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.ZXZXF

i bought it at rm169 per stick
ah nice. thanks
PedangGila
post Jul 13 2019, 05:42 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 13 2019, 01:43 AM)
The spec i built:

AMD Ryzen 5 3600  RM855
MSI B450 Tomahawk  RM479
HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4 3200Mhz CL18(HX432C18FR2/8) x2  RM346
ZOTAC GTX 1660 AMP (ZT-T16600D-10M)  RM965
Lite-On CX2 512GB M.2 NVME (Refurbished)  RM184.80
WD Blue 1TB (Reused)  N/A
Gigabyte GP-P650B  RM197.50
Tecware Neo  RM168.50

Total: RM3195.80 (Budget RM3200)
mine

r5 3600
b450 tomahawk
fury 3200 cl18
super flower leadex ii 650
sx8200 256gb nvme
evo 860 500gb
zotac 2060 amp extreme
tecware neo black

estimated 4.5k because of damn gpu and the psu
PedangGila
post Jul 13 2019, 09:34 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 13 2019, 05:48 PM)
top up a bit get 512gb nvme…trust me…u will regret getting small capacity even u want to use it as OS drive only.
already ordered all of them.
PedangGila
post Jul 13 2019, 11:36 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 13 2019, 09:44 PM)
I got same RAM and it stable at 3200 18-19-19-46 1.25v
Maybe it depends on mobo compatibility.

2666 at CL 16 = 12 nanoseconds
3200 at CL 18 = 11.25 nanoseconds
3200 at CL 16 (typical 3200Mhz kit) = 10 nanoseconds

Also how do you guys get your RAM settings? Just hentam only or try bit by bit?

How far you get your RAM depends on 3 factors
1. the RAM itself (not all are equal, even if it's the same kit with exact same product number)
2. CPU IMC
3. Motherboard
hentam saja since it wont fry the thing. I might tinker with mine to see if it can do 16 from 18. If not meh doesn't matter.
PedangGila
post Jul 14 2019, 12:50 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jul 14 2019, 12:26 AM)
Why are you buying 2 ssd like that?
Silicon power p34a80 is better than adata. I've checked reviews.
Galax 2060 is rm1279 if still on sale.
Tecware is crappy thin metal, get fractale design focus g.
Top rm18 a stick and get hyperx predator.
Get a corsair rm550x. Mad low ripples.
the nvme is for os, office suit and few core program. the other sata one is for trashing, mainly games or whatever that can be thrown out of life without any regrets.

My research stopped at the adata way back then. It was like so this is it, not gonna bother with the lightspeed pace of tech evolution.

That galaxy can run 1800mhz? If then unlucky me.

Just what I need I think, a tin can. I have this scout storm 2 and it's fuxking heavy. My previous builds were all tin cans.

There's was a predator alright on the desk, same speed but cl16. I was just ok fuk it gimme that cl18.

Something about Corsair psu that Im not fond of that is it was a rebranded psu. Yea it is tier 1 at least, a bit tad overpriced. Not gonna oc
PedangGila
post Jul 15 2019, 11:37 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jul 15 2019, 08:44 PM)
Good deal?

Good deal one thing but what you gonna do with it? In the long run, if a loss occurs along the way then it'll cancel out whatever you saved in the beginning. Across all the retailers, I see price of Ryzen 3k is fixed so you might be chipping on the board price
PedangGila
post Jul 15 2019, 11:49 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ Jul 14 2019, 11:18 PM)
Is Ryzen 3600 and 3700x going to make a substantial difference in terms of gaming? So far the benchmarks that i saw are showing a small average FPS differences.

There is about RM550 price gap between the 2. Is it better off investing a good AIO into the 3600 and push to its maximum potential than buying a 3700x with stock cooler?
I might as well go for 3700x and have a peace of mind. Sure it'll be cost saving, not much really, if you can make out something that's close to 3700x but due to 3K structure you'll hit the wall very soon with 1.4375V so that 3600 is screaming in pain while 3700x chugs along happily.

0.0224sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:05 AM