AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

Current Events guy
post Feb 5 2021, 05:21 PM

966 posts

How different is the outcome when running the ctr clock/volt recommendation using their profile setup vs setting those clocks/volt in bios?

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Feb 5 2021, 05:23 PM
Current Events guy
post Feb 6 2021, 04:14 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 5 2021, 11:08 PM)
I have not tested manual clocks in BIOS. Curve Optimizer tuning is more in line with what I want to achieve, since all manual results in lower clockspeeds than the maximum possible single core turbo speed achievable. CTR of course aims to remedy this by switching off the all core overclock when low CPU utilization is detected (similar to Hybrid OC on the Asus Dark Hero, but with different detection methods), but another aim of Curve Optimizer is that it can potentially reduce power consumption even after hitting max turbo clocks. CTR will only support Curve Optimizer in version 2.1.
I'm wondering what differences there are because I got a bsod when running cinebench r20 while trying out the undervolt setting in the bios. I suspect that the recommended volt might be too low. P1 and P2 were fine though.
Current Events guy
post Feb 22 2021, 11:41 AM

966 posts

So if I'm not facing the issues with the USB disconnects, is it because I have a different hardware configuration than those that have the problem, a different BIOS version or something else?
Current Events guy
post Feb 22 2021, 11:48 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 22 2021, 11:43 AM)
Could be anything. Which USB ports are you using (USB3.1 Gen2/Gen1/USB 2.0), motherboard model, BIOS version?

There's also a separate LAN issue on some B550 motherboards, but IIRC it's due to Intel 2.5Gbit/s LAN as similar reports are also out for Z490.
I've got several X570 builds with different specs around but haven't seen this yet in the 1 year plus I've had them. Is this a fairly recent issue related to the new hardware that just came out late last year?
Current Events guy
post Feb 22 2021, 12:16 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 22 2021, 12:07 PM)
As you can see in the post, small sample of people... usually affected those power users who max loaded the USB ports, like me is a racing sim rig and an audio interface. Many cases also due VR. There are cases of people running multuple external HDD also kena. And also streamers who uses multiple cameras.

A quick google and it’s actually quite a huge sample size and had been happening for quite a long while.
I saw the reddit post that VR is the quickest way to replicate it. I dont use those so perhaps that's why I haven't experienced this.
Current Events guy
post Feb 26 2021, 09:47 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 25 2021, 10:41 PM)
Finally have the time to compare the two systems.

About that CPU PPT wattage:

5950x
[attachmentid=10798468]

3950x
[attachmentid=10798467]
Why in the world CPU SOC on 5950x X570 uses around 10 watts more than 3950x B550 at idle?  :confused:

Not to mention 3950x seems to idle at 3400mhz and 5950x idle at 3600mhz?

Edit: The temp doesn't lie, 3950x is indeed more cooler than 5950x. More or less same coolers and in the same room. PBO + OC had been disabled, set to default.
What cooler did you use and how did you test?
Current Events guy
post Mar 3 2021, 03:21 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 2 2021, 05:16 PM)

X570i meanwhile is very known to melt... .
I haven't seen this in the community before. Care to share some examples of x570i chipsets melting?
Current Events guy
post Mar 3 2021, 04:18 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 03:42 PM)
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/cd6ze...t_temperatures/
https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/saf...rature.3531213/
https://hardforum.com/threads/safe-x570-chi...oncern.2000597/

basically it will always be above 50C even on ATX in cold ountries. on ITX, easily 70-90C at load depending on airflow... sandwich one more gen4 nvme under the shared heatsink then 100C brows.gif. That's why x570i only got gigabyte, asrock and asus which are all not being recommended. MSI didnt even bother to make an ITX version.. and ASUS created the DTX form factor just to beef up the cooling even more.

You rarely see it in the itx community because majority knows of this problem and got the X470i/B450i instead for ITX builds... and now use B550...especially some B550i model have even beefier vrm than the x570.
Im unsure of the mobo models ITX users have but I'm sure that there hasn't been a case of the chipsets melting, just as I'm sure that there are more than a handful of X570i users. If there was such as issue, it would have been highlighted in the community like the SF PSUs being faulty around 2q2020 or H1 potentially catching on fire.

I looked through the links and saw that they're on ATX but the thermals matched my experience on the ITX. I've got a couple giga X570is around and if we're going by anecdotes, the one in the smallest case I have (k39) gets to about 70°C during extended gaming. This isn't much of a problem as stated in the links given, unless I'm missing something.

Yes the chipset gets hot but it doesn't seem to be an issue.

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Mar 3 2021, 04:19 PM
Current Events guy
post Mar 3 2021, 04:48 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Mar 3 2021, 04:35 PM)
I think you're taking the word "melting" too literally  laugh.gif
Bonchi is probably using "melting" as a figure of speech signifying too damn hot only  icon_idea.gif
Definitely biggrin.gif

I'd like to share my viewpoint that chipsets in X-570i boards dont reach temps which render the boards unusable.
There are reasons why one should consider something other that the 570 when it comes to ITX boards, but chipset temps shouldnt be at the top of that list.
Maybe a mention in the footnote, if not omitted altogether.

Current Events guy
post Mar 3 2021, 05:19 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 3 2021, 05:08 PM)

Are you using the NVME slots linked to the chipset?
Yep, got the OS on it.

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 05:12 PM)
Melting is just an expression of it running really hot.. and by means anything above 60C is considered hot, 70-80 is really hot. Melting does not mean breaking down but literally means higher than comfort.

It's the same as to any electric components as we all want to keep it lower than 60C vrms included.
As hot as it is, and as much as we'd like for it to be lower, it's not noticeably affecting performance at least in my case.

Is there a temp limit from AMD somewhere stating the thermal limits of the X570 chipset?
Current Events guy
post May 17 2021, 01:01 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ May 16 2021, 11:23 AM)
Then, Max Boost CPU Override to 200Mhz.

Is this from an official guide somewhere? I see many mention to adjust the override before doing curve optimizing.
I tried doing it the other way around out of curiosity and got better scores in R23 however the override has to be something low like +25Mhz which allows cores to be set as high as -30 in CO. I can raise the override by reducing the CO at the cost of lower costs though.

Also, I found setting a WHEA logger in Event Viewer to be a tremendous help when trying to dial the CO figures.
It'll show the APIC ID which corresponds to the core that failed so you know which one to back off. Unfortunately it doesnt log every BSOD that I encountered, as some times I'd get crashes even at the windows login screen.

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: May 17 2021, 01:02 PM
Current Events guy
post May 17 2021, 08:09 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ May 17 2021, 05:18 PM)
If you find the CO first, then later put override, it may work but it wont be 100% stable.

The voltage requirements gets higher as frequency increases in a non-linear way. Even if the CO adjusts this v-f curve non-linearly (as it is supposed to be, which is why CO is better than the classic vcore offset), using a CO setting which is stable at 0MHz offset may still not provide enough voltage for a 200Mhz offset.

Yes that WHEA ID 18 event log is useful, but you will still have a risk of data corruption since there may be some read-write operations which is happening when the system crashes with that WHEA error.

I use the corecycler script to check my individual core CO stability. Would take days, if not a couple of weeks to get fully stable, but CO stability testing is less time consuming than fully stability testing RAM OC which is a whole different game IMHO (at least for my case with a 5600x 6 cores only)
Yes, with high CO you will not be able to get to an override of 200Mhz. As I mentioned in my initial post, I was only able to reach 25mhz and anything above that is unstable. It's a choice that the user needs to make, to use a higher override (200mhz) or a higher CO (25 - 30). I tried it both ways and have better results with higher CO so I'll stick to that.

Yep, mentioned as well that sometimes you would not be able to find the WHEA error when tuning CO as BSOD happens during low load such as logging into windows. Better than nothing for me.

I have tried core cycles but it takes takes while on the 5950X. So I just went with the manual method of CO per core, and running OCCT which was updated so you could get it to cycle through the cores automatically.

0.2273sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:39 AM