Blotter Spot Test Oil Analysis:VOA Helix HX7 5W30, 16,286 km blotter Shell Helix Ultra 5W40

jamespaul
post Mar 12 2018, 03:29 PM

211 posts

Quick question, sifus here use blotter tests to test their engine oil. Does that mean that your service interval is based on the blotter tests only or still following manufacturer's recommendation (mileage or duration)?

My brother is currently only doing around 400km a month for my brother's Camry, booklet says, every 6 months or 10k km. Can i stretch it to say, 1 year once servicing? Since, he is doing only 4800km a year.

Any advise is helpful
jamespaul
post Mar 13 2018, 08:46 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Mar 12 2018, 08:23 PM)
Where factory warranty issue is concerned, it's best to retain warranty rights by adhering to 'uncommon sense' factory recommendation of Oil Change Interval and 6 months/1 year duration.

For those out of warranty, one may stretch OCI's in km or goes beyond 1 year duration stipulation.
Other than uneconomically costly and impractical UOA's , I'd adopted free and easy Blotter spot tests to assess used oil conditions.........
realising along the way  that factory recommendations are excessively conservative and short.
If the car is out of warranty , short answer is stretch it to say, 1 year or longer.
Long answer.
His car is out of warranty. Also, what are the critical stuff to change if it was once a year? Still follow the book?
jamespaul
post Mar 14 2018, 12:51 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Mar 13 2018, 08:55 PM)
Sorry , I can't follow what you mean by 'critical stuff' ?
Forget about what Toyota says about 6 months duration change, be it for fullsyn, semisyn or mineral .....
as we don't cold temperatures or winter seasons.
Toyota's recommendation on 10000 km oil change interval is for fully synthetic.

Now , your brother's car travels 4800 km per year.
I would suggest you use any SN/SM/SL mineral oil for 5000 km or 1 year, and that's being conservative.
If it's my car, I would pick a mineral A3B4 oil for 8000 km or 2 years.
You don't really need fully synthetics or semi synthetic in this low use car.
Sorry if I wasnt clear. Basically, in accordance to service interval, they recommend:
- Normal service (every 6 monthly or 10,000km)
Engine oil, engine oil filter

- Medium service (every alternate year, or 30,000 km)
Normal service plus, air filter, cabin filter and brake fluids

- Major service (every 5 years, or 60,000km)
Medium service plus, ATF fluid, Coolant and etc.

Since the Normal service has been extended, how about the others? naturally be extended as well?

Thanks for your input and any others
jamespaul
post Apr 9 2018, 03:44 PM

211 posts

6,000km
Mercedes GLC250
5 months since last change

jamespaul
post Apr 12 2018, 12:00 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Apr 10 2018, 04:52 PM)
Engine oil details?
Good idea from you,  dry.gif
Petronas Syntium 3000, 5w30

thrown the blotted paper away...........
jamespaul
post Jan 14 2019, 03:00 PM

211 posts

Zeng, your view is that oil only follow mileage but not time right?

Say, if I only do 5k km a year, I should change my fully synthetic oil every 2 years?
jamespaul
post Jan 24 2019, 02:45 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Jan 14 2019, 03:15 PM)
In your case , follow mileage will do , not time as we always heard as Malaysia never had winter or for that matter spring/autumn where cold temperature promotes corrosion.

You may consider using a cheaper semi synthetic for 2 years of 10,000 km usage, IMO.

Note: Our minimum ambient temperature is 24*C, vs gwailous winter temperature up to -40*C or lower , go figure.

Note2: I had seen a few UOA's of  4-7 year old used engine oils on Bitog that demonstrates tip top condition.
Thanks for your feedback. Would driving conditions matter? Say, short trips of <10km daily.

jamespaul
post Mar 4 2019, 03:13 PM

211 posts

@zeng, What is your take on the limitation of the oil filter?

Say, the manufacturer allows for 10,000km, oil and filter change.

However, based on your expertise, the oil can go further, e.g. 15,000km.

Any change to the oil filter? would that then limit the extension of oil change interval?
jamespaul
post Mar 5 2019, 01:20 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Mar 5 2019, 12:44 PM)
Hi Jamespaul,
During 1970/80's , local OEM SC's had been recommending oil filter life of 10,000 km (i.e 2 oil changes @ 5000 km) till todate with use of API SE/SF oils and obsolete manufacturing technology such as 'metal finishing' on contacting components like crankshafts, camshafts, piston rings and piston liners.

As I understand it some (not sure if it's all) Europe VW and MB recommends 30,000 km oil change with Long Life oils like VW 50400 50700, MB 229.5, MB 229.51 etc but not sure about filter change intervals unless some readers can confirm it.

There maybe a 'progressive' OEM SC in KL recommending 15,000 km filter change coinciding with oil change,I don't know and I would like to know if there is any local OEM SC recommending 2X10,000 km or 2X15,000 km filter change.

I'd personally extended filter change to  17,138 km as per my blotter spot tests here with 280k ODO and I strongly believe my blotter is 'clean' enough for extending further filter change interval.

Instead of theorising and speculating on this one may spend chunks of money on UOA and Particle Counts or a  cheapo blotter spot test for better 'feel' .

Edit:With my limited knowledge on how oil filter works in our cars, I don't buy the concept of extending oil change interval by replacing oil filter  mid way of OCI.
I wouldn't be surprised if 30,000 km filter change interval is recommended in Europe, IDK.
From what I understand, European cars with extended OCI are using Fleece filter, which lasts up to 40,000km. So, they are fine for 15k to 25k km OCI

I understand that Japanese makers are using cellulose or paper, so hence, I was clarifying with you on if this could be the limitation.

Thanks!
jamespaul
post Mar 6 2019, 03:17 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(e-lite @ Mar 5 2019, 07:08 PM)
You have to take into account that Europe's fuel and engines are designed for Euro 6 already with less sulphur in the fuel. Their oils also call for low ash formulation.

For our Malaysian roads, most of the time our driving falls under "severe" category due to heat and stop & go traffic.
Since we have high sulphur fuel, we should use full SAPS engine oil.

Depending on the driving scenario.
- if you track your car, yes, the engine oil can exceed operating temperature
- if you are stuck in a jam, but you have a working radiator, operating temperature should remain stable and fine

stop & go traffic isnt that bad, if you maintain your car properly.

From my understanding, "severe" service is for harsh weather, like extreme cold. Our weather are considered good already

Do correct me if I am wrong.
jamespaul
post Apr 29 2019, 02:31 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Apr 29 2019, 12:44 PM)
Hi Guys,

One thing i do not understand that Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40 vs Shell Helix HX8 5W-40. Both are full sync. But why price wise different by so much? Around RM100 per bottle. Any diff? Are they both giving the same performance?
my guess its different quality for application

Imagine, Nippon paint having indoor paint and outdoor paint.

both made my Nippon, one is suitable for outdoor (helix Ultra), one is suitable for indoor (HX8)

Both are good quality paints

Ultra meets more stringent specs.

0.0476sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:10 PM