4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V29, Speed Upgrade Starting Soon!

soonwai
post Feb 10 2017, 12:46 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(jojoe @ Feb 9 2017, 03:33 PM)
hi unifi user.....

anyone have been free upgraded from 30 to 50mbps?
i have the applied the unifi surprice where free upgrade 30-->50mbps and i received sms stated processing and last sms stated completed...

i try the speedtest..... it still at speed 30mbps.
the different from previous is the last time speed test max is about 32-34mbps...
now the latest speedtest is reach to 40-41mbps but drop back to 30mbps.

download speed also not change where i download MAX as 3.3MBps
I noticed the same higher burst speed at the beginning of a speedtest but I'm still at the "Your UniFi will be upgraded from February 2017 onwards" stage. No "Thank You Surprise" SMS or email received yet.

soonwai
post Feb 10 2017, 01:17 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(eehong @ Feb 9 2017, 10:29 PM)
guys, whenever I "T", all my other devices/internet connection gets bogged down, slow as snail, even when the "T" speed are just around 300-500kbps. This happens with YouTube as well, although not as slow as when "T". When I stopped the "T", internet speed goes back to normal.

my ONU is the white color FiberHome, router is TPLINK WR841HP, with repeater TPLINK WA850RE.

any help here?
Sounds like your router can't handle the load probably due to lack of memory from too many connections from the torrent. How many connections have you set for your torrent? You can try to reduce that or get a faster router with more memory.
soonwai
post Feb 11 2017, 12:03 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(buybuylaptop @ Feb 10 2017, 10:43 PM)
I want to shift the huawei box(btu?) but the fiber optic cable?(the cable coming from outside the house) is not long enough, how do I extend it? Can I get it from shops or do I need to call tm? About how much will it cost? Anyone know?
Just get this and another fibre cable and join them together.
Quite cheap, can't remember exactly, maybe around RM5 or less. I got mine from Silicon Electronics in Imbi Plaza. They also sell fibre optic cables. Just tell them it's for UniFi and they'll give you the correct ones.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 11 2017, 12:06 AM
soonwai
post Feb 13 2017, 11:01 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Sirmacai @ Feb 13 2017, 06:03 AM)
just now how long unifi down? i bangun around 5am got connection
Seksyen 7, Shah Alam OK throughout the night/morning.
soonwai
post Feb 14 2017, 04:59 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 14 2017, 04:58 PM)
Quick question for those with TM D-Link router.

Does TM d-link router have support for https://www.dlinkddns.com/ ?
Yes, have from DIR615 to the current DIR850L.
soonwai
post Feb 14 2017, 05:27 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 14 2017, 05:01 PM)
Let say if I wanna apply unifi now for upgrading from 4mbps streamyx.....what is the latest and best DLINK router I can request from TM?

My other house unifi use TP-Link, but current house has CCTV which requires usage of dynamic dns.
TM is giving TPLink C5/C1200 > RGX4400 > DLink DIR-850L. Not sure which you will get or if you can request for a specific model. The DLink, imho, is the worst of the 3 but it's the only one that has dlinkddns. Do you have an old DLink router? If you do, you can use the serial number and MAC address to register for a free dlinkddns account then use it with any router that supports dyndns.org ddns.

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Feb 14 2017, 05:15 PM)
If your equipment is out of warranty, you get 2 options when you complain about slow wifi and keeps dc from your router:

Option 1: You can purchase a new set of equipment without the service contract period being extended. The equipment warranty period will be refreshed and the total charges will be reflected in your bill.

Or

Option 2: Replace the faulty equipment for free, and your contract period will be extended starting from the date of the equipment replacement.

I chose the second option
For option 2, is the contract extension 2 years?
soonwai
post Feb 14 2017, 08:19 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 14 2017, 07:48 PM)
Aiyoyo....seem like i have no choice but to telnet into the router and modify some stuff (changing MAC)

So...since I am upgrading from streamyx......apa cerita? Streamyx auto-terminate or do I have to experience some nightmare over unpaid streamyx bill later?

EDIT:
Been reading the thread since forever.
So, for my upcoming unifi at current house......can I terminate hypptv after 12 months contract is over? Really dont wanna pay RM30 for stuff I never watch.....
What router u using with Streamyx now? Is it DLink and you already have a dlinkddns account? If so, you can reuse the dlinkddns account with any router that support dyndns.org. No need to change MAC address on the router. The MAC is only used when you registered for the dlinkddns account.

Streamyx termination was quite uneventful for me. Tell them repeatedly that you want to terminate it. Go TMPoint, return the telephone, if not they'll charge for it. Just keep checking until next month bill comes and hope that it was terminated.

You must pay for at least one HyppTV package so no, cannot unsub your sole HyppTV package after 1 yr.
soonwai
post Feb 15 2017, 02:13 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 15 2017, 12:16 AM)
Yes, I got five D-Link streamyx adsl routers with 'free' ddlinkdns accounts.......
I doubt TP-Link can support dyndns.org.....
Not sure about the Archers but the old TL-WR841ND does. As does the RGX4400.

Can anyone with a TP-Link Archer tell us if it supports dyndns.org for ddns?
*Answered by scrolling up. :-) Thanks calvinlaw510

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 15 2017, 02:16 AM
soonwai
post Feb 19 2017, 03:04 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Feb 19 2017, 02:03 AM)
The speed was tested on LAN, only 1 PC using at the moment. I pick the nearest to me Putrajaya. I will try the option to change the DNS.
notworthy.gif
Try speedtest.tm.com.my and see what you get.

I've no probs with speedtest.net or speedtest.tm.com.my with or without ipv6.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 19 2017, 03:14 AM
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 02:06 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Feb 20 2017, 11:58 PM)
Cat5E, it used to be 1.0Gbps though. What's yours?
First thing I'd check is the cable. Have you tried another cable?
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 01:29 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(NyOx @ Feb 21 2017, 08:42 AM)
so what is significant different using IPv6 instead IPV4? I don't see any different unless you broadcast to the large network.
Not much, same thing just longer.

For me:
- It's harder to remember cause it's so long and uses alphabets & numbers.
- Everything on the LAN is directly addressable from the internet, no need port forwarding.
- Another firewall to set up.
- You can have a lot more devices on your subnet.
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 03:48 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Feb 21 2017, 02:46 PM)
Tried another old one and it shows 1.0Gbps. :'( Not even one month........
What brand is the cable? Don't throw away yet. Might not be the cable. Maybe the RJ45 heads not terminated properly. I see a lot of cables sold with wrong termination. It will work at 100mbps and intermittent with 1Gbps.

soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 03:56 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(NyOx @ Feb 21 2017, 03:30 PM)
bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  a lot people willing use ipv4 instead ipv6.  how many device to connect? /24 does not enough? unless you run big business.
I'm fine with ipv4. I usually have ipv6 disabled unless I'm testing something. For house/office, it's not a problem, can always subnet.
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 04:15 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Feb 21 2017, 04:00 PM)
I mean what cable the seller use. Look at the printed markings on the cable. Anyway I'd bet if you re-terminate the RJ45 heads, it'll work again at 1Gbps.
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 05:41 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Feb 21 2017, 05:01 PM)
Crash CAT5E 24AWG.
OK, never heard of that one. Cat5e cables vary in quality and price drastically. In LYP, for example, you can get a 305m box of Vztek, Dintek & AMP for 150, 350 & 500.

I guess the seller is going for the profit by using the cheapest cables that he can find.

Anyway just get it re-terminated and see if it works. If still cannot then maybe a break or a short somewhere in the cable. I spose you can return to the seller but the shipping costs.

edit: Clarified Cat5e cables

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 21 2017, 05:59 PM
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 05:50 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Feb 21 2017, 05:46 PM)
no need so exp. standard cat5e is more than enough for home users.
Dun understand what you mean, I'm only referring to Cat5e.
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 06:08 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Feb 21 2017, 05:52 PM)
those cables u mentioned damn expensive  sweat.gif
Any cables that you are able to recommend?
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 07:47 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Feb 21 2017, 06:09 PM)
any normal cat5e will do the job.
You misunderstand. Can you share where to buy the cheaper cables that you mentioned and prices?
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 07:53 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Feb 21 2017, 07:51 PM)
i already posted earlier. there's a lot place to buy.
Do you mean this one? https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3469313
Are they cheap? But they don't have prices for a 305m box.
soonwai
post Feb 21 2017, 07:56 PM

11,458 posts

Anyone in 43200 got their speed upgrade yet?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:15 PM