Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

StarGhazzer
post Oct 10 2008, 09:00 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 10 2008, 06:07 AM)
whuts?! surgeon in the making i see!!  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

well if its med that ur interested in then its the coping bit that ur struggling with...but if u already made up ur mind of rebooting ur whole med skool thingie....i think its better to do A levels as it sorta gives u the widest range of med skools to choose from....those australian year12 stuff isnt that good tho its shorter, u might find difficulties further down the track when u wanna apply for non-aussie unis.....

times is not a big factor as medical training itself takes forever....everyone will only start to be doctors when they are in their 30's.....
Actually not that interested in chopping people up at the moment, but who knows what will happen in the future? tongue.gif

A-levels yeah... it probably can bring one to more places overseas compared to SAM yet at the end of the day it depends on one's preferred destination and also other factors like accessibility/affordability/willingness to endure the extra 1/2 a year... I guess the choices for medical education in M'sia and overseas are abundant and it's not necessarily hard to get in. To survive it (with an intact sanity biggrin.gif) is another matter though.
StarGhazzer
post Dec 1 2008, 05:58 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(hyperx @ Dec 1 2008, 02:14 AM)
source

lol how true is that number?
The actual number is not the most important thing. The issue now is WHY and HOW TO SOLVE IT.

It's known that medical professionals are at high risk of developing mental illnesses no thanks to the heavy workload and pressure-cooker like environment. And it probably stems all the way back into med school where there will be people stepping over others' heads to climb up the ladder.

Now that they have identified the problem, let's see how they can solve it. Better working hours, better pay, revamp the corrupted if not biased system, improve working environment... easier said than done though; we're still a long way off compared to other countries.

StarGhazzer
post Dec 9 2008, 08:16 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 1 2008, 08:13 AM)
The Why and How to solve is right there in the news report:

"He said these doctors were either psychotic or neurotic but still managed to get into medical schools because these schools were not screening students meticulously enough."

Start with selection of students.
Selective selection will only weed out those unsuitable ones from entering med school, but not enough attention is being paid to problems developing after medical school/working as a doctor. The underlying problems amongst the medical system in our country is well known especially to those involved, but are there enough measures done to solve it?

This is a good blog from a local doctor who has served in Sabah. Browse through his entries and one will realise some of the problems that haunt our healthcare system.
StarGhazzer
post Jan 7 2009, 03:35 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Leto Kynes @ Jan 7 2009, 09:06 AM)
I'm just wondering.. but for those of you who got accepted into uni's.. did you get any experience before-hand?

Like shadowing a GP / volunteering at a hospital / etc.

When did you do it?
I just started my A-Levels and I have to send my application off around Sept. this year so I'm wondering if it's a good idea to start now - need to find out how first though tongue.gif
I'm not sure what do you mean by experience before-hand, but I assume it's like those pre-medschool entry kind of thing where aspiring students apply for a short term (few days to 1, 2 weeks) of posting at hospitals. IMO it's not particularly helpful.

Sure, its aims is to expose students to the real life of being a doctor, and it surely dispels most myths (mainly those glamourous and exciting perceptions) that a layperson could have. Nevertheless, being someone who has very limited, if not zero, knowledge about the medical world, one is probably going to end up standing in a corner listening to jargons which sound like alien language. I'm currently doing my electives in S'pore and last week I met two students who did the same pre-med school attachment thingy. We had a patient who suffered an extensive subdural hemorrhage and eventually coned; and when the ED consultants were explaining the CT scans and other medical stuff eg resuscitation to us, the two students just couldn't make any sense out of it. This is not to show off or anything, but rather to highlight the relative uselessness of doing such activities especially when one has no real knowledge of the medical side of things.

I'm not sure about shadowing GPs, and would GPs be willing to take in students who have no prior medical teaching? Volunteering at a hospital on the other hand is a bit difficult as well if one is not particularly trained in specific medical procedures. I don't think any volunteer would be allowed to perform venepunctures or cannula insertions or set up drips etc, so one might end up doing boring stuff like pushing trollies and wheelchairs/show directions/ office and paper work. I could be wrong, so correct me if I am.

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 7 2009, 01:39 AM)
1. What is your STPM/Matics etc. result when you get accepted to certain university?
2. Any list of good IPTS recommended? PMC,Monash, etc. in term of cost vs. quality
3. How you pays the enormous tuition fees? Loans? Scholarship?
4. Interviewing process?

Lastly, I'm a Singaporean studying my whole life in M'sia.

5. What is my chances of studying in public university? I heard most don't accept except UIA (which I vying for).
First of all, it's interesting for me to read that you're a Singaporean studying in M'sia. I come from JB so it's more common for me to know Johoreans crossing the causeway daily to study rather than the other way round. tongue.gif

As for your questions, most of them are very hard to answer:
1. Depending on which uni - private ones usually have slightly lower requirements but the competition for places doesn't necessarily makes it easier to enter.

2. Hard to say. Every institution has its pros and cons, and sometimes it's a perception (or misconception if you want) of "the grass is greener on the other side".

3. Self-funded, bank loans, scholarships, etc... there's lots of ways to pay for it, but bear in mind it's not really a good thing to insist on studying medicine if the costs will bankrupt you and your family. Sounds harsh but that's the truth.

4. Interviews for medical school are kinda bullshit anyway. The one that I had for IMU consists of typical talk cock questions such as "why do you want to study medicine" bla bla bla, and a couple of random stuff about your life both academically and extra-curricular activities. IINM, Uni Melb doesn't even have interviews but it might change as they've started the Melbourne Model which is a post-grad course. In short, it's really hard to "prepare" for interviews but you'll need to be articulate and enthusiastic, yet not appear fanatical and aggressive.

5. Public Unis in M'sia? Get a CGPA of 4.0 first, otherwise it's really hard to even fathom about it. Even 4.0 won't guarantee a place in your desired institution, eg you might only get UKM/UPM instead of UM.

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 7 2009, 12:34 PM)
Yes as docotr works without any limit of hours compare to the UK's law. Doctors in M'sia have lower wages than engineering (in private sector) and can have terrible day if the patient is in bad mood(most of the time) but I guess everyone going for it as the benefit exceed the cons.

I planning to work in the UKs so I got more time for myself.
Hmmm...my sister's friend (very smart) apply as intern for hospital even before applying so she could get a headstart in interview. But she fail the interview because NUS entry is very strict.

If I were you just read medical books and knows basic medical knowledge as it could help in interviewing process.
Well private sectors are obviously going to pay you more so your example isn't particularly valid.

Like they always say, if money is your top priority, DON'T study medicine and become a doctor. To make things simple, being a doctor will put food on your table; yet it's not a guarantee that you'll become the next big thing on the Forbes' coverpage.

It's undeniable that doctors in M'sia aren't exactly as well-paid as their counterparts in other countries, plus the working hours and environment are in much dire states as well. If you're planning to work in UK then it's another matter compared to M'sia as there are other issues and requirements for working over there eg visa/PR/qualification stuff. Those who are studying/working in UK would be more qualified to answer than I am so I'll leave this out.

As for NUS, it's notoriously strict in its student selection; plus the quota for international students is very limited as well. Many Singaporeans who fail to enter NUS end up going overseas for their tertiary studies and it's not exactly a bad alternative either.

Think wisely and thoroughly before making a decision. My best advice would be, "Things aren't exactly as they seem", but once you get the hang of it, it's not too bad.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 7 2009, 03:36 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 8 2009, 06:04 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 8 2009, 07:49 AM)
It is a bit more common than what most people thinks. Let me make this clear: no one comes to Malaysia actually study. It is always a backdoor by 3rd world countries to the western world. I have met Mainland Chinese who went to Inti, Namibians (?) who did a Diploma in Taylors, before coming to Australia/NZ.

And take a look at the number of Singaporeans in IMU. The fact still remains, these are the people who did not, or could not have, got direct entry into the medical university of their choice.
What interests me is that Ibrahimovic states that he has been studying in M'sia for his whole life, which means he's not just another one who's merely here for tertiary education like most foreigners do. The fact is that there are more Chinese/Indonesians (not forgetting our own people esp Johoreans) spending their childhood in Singapore to receive basic and later tertiary education, rather than making Malaysia their preferred destination.

Your example of foreigners coming to Malaysia to gain entry to first world countries is indeed not a surprise. However, Singaporeans in IMU are a new thing for me. During my time over there I didn't exactly meet many of them - Malaysians who studied primary/secondary school in Singapore are pretty common, but not Singaporeans who came over to IMU for pre-clinical years. My experience is that Singaporeans who failed to receive entry to NUS will often go directly to overseas rather than choose to do so via Malaysia/IMU as a temporary gateway.

However, it's been nearly 3 years since I've left IMU so things could have changed drastically by now.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 8 2009, 06:05 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 9 2009, 06:39 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 9 2009, 02:03 AM)
I know for a fact that I'm better than most of my Singapore-educated cousin as I put education as my top priority than entertainment.

I have abandon my quest to send an application to UCAS after convincing my parent that IMU have a cheaper tuition and also get a twinning with UK as well.

Got a question, do IMU student study in Malaysia the first 2 years before do the >3 year in UKs?  Is IMU cost ~300k INCLUDING twinning cost? Do the twinning to UKs etc. is guarenteed is passed?
Good on you to prioritise on your education, but I still don't think anyone should be too cocky about being "better" than others. Humility is a vital aspect of being in the medical profession.

Anyway, OmniAtlas has explained the IMU-UK Twinning programme as below, so I'll leave this one out. There's no guarantee that you'll be matched to your preferred university be it UK, NZ, Australia etc. No one really knows how the matching process is being conducted despite a short briefing given to students (which doesn't make any sense anyway), and I doubt there's any transparency in it. Just do your best in your studies and pray really hard so that you'll win the russian roulette.

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Jan 9 2009, 03:05 AM)
The local degrees, e.g. IMU completed in seremban are not recognized but if you match with a UK university you should have no problem securing a spot in Singapore because you'll be awarded a UK degree. Trust me, the Singapore government has been sending their representatives to recruit IMU-PMS students every year for the last 2 1/2 years I've been here smile.gif

If you want to remain in the UK thats another story because of the new work restrictions in place. For my batch matching to an Australia University was more competitive.

If you have any questions you should try and visit the University or talk to the Students affairs department (ask for May Kuan); that way you can also take a look at some of the new nice buildings and halls. At the rate they are going, I think the construction won't be finish until 2011  cool2.gif
IMU's still building the extensions? Which part are they building now? The admin block which takes up the place of the previous flagpole area should have been completed by now. Unless they are refurbishing the interior of the old building, which at times seem old, creaky, and sometimes leaking when it pours.

Just to side track a bit, is the "hawker centre" in front of Vista B still around? Or has the local council shut them down after complaints were lodged last year?
StarGhazzer
post Jan 9 2009, 07:44 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 9 2009, 11:50 AM)
Well, I do sound cocky, but I just quoted some teacher,lecturer, and motivational speaker that come to or school 5 times a year since Form 1. They just kept repeating it over and over again...

So if the fee is fix , is there chance that the whole 5 year including maybe a twinning in Australia cost below 450k?

Anyway,I just started reading Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine(its dang thick), but do I suppose to read anatomy fist? My dad got quite a few book on medicine here. Hopefully got some understanding of it by next year.
Don't remind me of those crappy motivational talks. They do nothing but con my money as they are deemed compulsory by the school.

Don't expect to pay less than RM450K to gain your basic MBBS if you decide to go to Australia. It just ain't going to happen, Aussie tertiary education doesn't come cheap and they tend to increase on a yearly basis. Throw in the overseas living costs and your overall expenses in Bukit Jalil and you'll realise that 450K is absolutely inadequate.

Give IMU a call and ask them for the latest tuition fees for their partner medical schools. Bear in mind that by the time you complete your pre-clinical years it's probably much higher than the current fees. To play it safe, add an annual 5-10% increment and you'll get a rough idea of the tuition fees, EXCLUDING the living costs and miscellaneous stuff you'll need when you're overseas.

OMFG... Reading Davidson's even before you entered med school. Can you do us a favour, and play as much as possible for the time being? tongue.gif You'll have shit loads of chances later to read Davidson's once you get enrolled.

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Jan 9 2009, 01:35 PM)
lol, they've spent millions upgrading EVERY floor of the bukit jalil building. CSU has now expanded 3 times its size because they are planning to open a clinic within IMU for the community. The PBL rooms have expanded vastly and some of them have LCD/TVs in them (powerpoint presentation?). The second floor where the deans office is looks like as if you've waltz into a hotel. The library has now combined with the medical museum and nearly takes up the whole of the 3rd floor along with a cafe(!) where you can get your daily caffeine fix inside the library. They've tripled the number of computer labs. It looks hell of a lot better (everything is brand new) then when i first joined. I heard they will be renovating the carpark and converting the whole floor to a student center. They've fixed most of the toilets and repainted (so very important).

The new extension has yet to be completed -- with the exception of the cafeteria being placed there (temp).
So that's where my money went... lol IMU is becoming a luxurious campus instead of the worn out, leaky, smelly shack previously known as Wisma Komanwel. tongue.gif Triple the com labs, that couldn't come any sooner. But LCDs and TVs in PBL rooms are kinda redundant eh? Might as well put PCs there instead - we have Macs in every PBL room over here in Melb. Then again, who the heck does powerpoint presentations for every PBL? Rajinnya...

The community clinic is a good idea as it will service the Bukit Jalil area and provide some clinical experience for medical, pharmacy, and nursing students. Hopefully the various clinics in Sri Petaling won't mind the competition hehe...
StarGhazzer
post Jan 27 2009, 06:06 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Jan 26 2009, 11:11 PM)
that means i shall go for the PMS option lor?? o.....

actually i don mind working as a doctor in malaysia la.... tapi at the moment i say i wan to work in malaysia, then my uncles aunties cousins siblings will start to point their shotguns and machine-guns at me, say pay like shit and work like dog la.... coz 3 of my cousins are doctors, and 3 of them choose to stay in different places. 2 in singapore, 1 in OZ.... but of course la they graduated from those angmoh's med school...

especially today is chinese new year, i got shot again ... blink.gif
If you don't mind working in Malaysia, then don't give a damn to what other people say. Having said that, make sure you understand the real life situation of the Malaysian healthcare system, working environment, and all the political/racial bias shit going on first before making a decision. I'll say if possible try to get as much exposure as possible to different environment, eg doing electives overseas or (doing electives back home if you're studying overseas) etc so that you have an idea of which system that suits you.

StarGhazzer
post Feb 10 2009, 09:35 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(khaishin @ Feb 10 2009, 09:24 AM)
Sorry, Can I ask some questions here? Need advices from you all smile.gif

My friend intend to go for MBBS but now he is in the dilemma to choose either Sam or Alvl?
He would like to pursue his MBSS in IMU.

Another friend says that sam would be better as it saves time, a good basic is useless, is it? I'm disagree with his opinion but heard that the 1st and 2nd semester of MBBS would be foundation, so it is okay for those who have a weaker basic?

Isn't that IMU would look for A-level students at first than a student with Sam?

He is in dilemma now..please help, need advise from you all..
Thanks!
I don't think IMU would prefer one pre-U over another as long as you get good results, but maybe they do have some insider criteria that non-admin people wouldn't know. A-levels may teach slightly more stuff than SAM yet it all depends on your chosen subjects in your pre-U course - if you don't take Biology in A-levels obviously the SAM student with Bio would know more than you.

But it doesn't matter... You'll get to learn the essential biology stuff in the first semester whether you've learned it in pre-U or not. I didn't take biology in my pre-U but I didn't feel any disadvantaged than my other peers, since everyone would still have to revise the same stuff for exams anyway.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Feb 10 2009, 09:36 AM
StarGhazzer
post Feb 17 2009, 09:29 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Feb 13 2009, 02:52 PM)
My only advice is get money in Malaysia and if the quality here is bad then just do like every Johorian do, go to Singapore.
Erm... I didn't cross the bridge for my education, I headed north then down under tongue.gif
Oh yeah I did cross the bridge, but only for a 1 month-long elective hehe...

Anyway, every now and then a verbal melee breaks out between several members regarding the standard of M'sian medical students and the dire state of our healthcare system doh.gif It's a known fact that our universities' student selection may not necessarily be the best, and there are far too many complaints about sub-standard care in public institutions.

Nevertheless, I must say our healthcare system and subsidies aren't exactly too bad, in fact it's pretty beneficial for people whose income isn't at stratospheric levels. I've a friend who severed his extensor pollicis tendon at work during the holidays and required surgical repair. He ended up staying one day in a public hospital post-surgery. The management of his wounds were pretty ok, and with the surgery expenses, medications, followup review, and a one day hospital stay all he needed to pay was a meagre RM30. If that ain't affordable I don't know what is. Having said that, my friend didn't understood much about his injuries - it could be due to poor doctor-patient communication, or possibly that my friend was just too busy looking at pretty nurses distressed by his floppy thumb.

My point is, despite all the crap publicity that our doctors and hospitals and other healthcare personnel is getting, it's still a relatively efficient system where the public gets the care they need at an affordable price. If anyone's too desperate, there's always private institutions provided you have enough cash in your pockets.
StarGhazzer
post Feb 21 2009, 03:19 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 20 2009, 07:23 PM)
one question......if a singaporean is resident overseas, and remains there, does he necessarily need to return to serve out the 2 years national service? Or can he finish up his studies elsewhere and either get exemption, or perform the ns when he graduates and return?

visualize, every male singaporean, and pr as well,  is required by law to perform 2 years of armed forces national service.........this is the real thing, not the 3 months summer camp of msia's ns........
LOL... summer camp... that's the best description for our NS !!

I've a friend in Melb who used to be a Singaporean who skipped his NS with overseas education as an excuse (illegally I presume), and he mentioned that he couldn't go back to S'pore because the minute he step foot into Changi Airport he'll be arrested. tongue.gif He's now an Aussie citizen so I'm not sure whether he's still subjected to S'pore's NS laws anymore or not.

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Feb 21 2009, 03:02 PM)
Ah, so if its both the same, its better to buy generic? I heard India bypass international copyright by being able to product American drug that much more cheaper to 3rd world country.

Yep, it sound selfish but I live in Malaysia since the first year I'm born. I study here since kindergarten, buy Malaysian product,services and embrace myself of all the culture Malaysian has to offer. I seldom go to Singapore and if I did, I only stay in my family house for 2 days before back in Malaysia. I don't know if this sound unpatriotic of me but I consider myself more of a Malaysian than a Singaporean.
You're the first Singaporean I know that prefers to be a Malaysian than a Singaporean hehe, but then again considering your childhood I'm not surprised. laugh.gif

As for generic vs branded drugs... IIRC the patent for a new drug only lasts a certain period of time (10 or 15 years I'm not sure) and after that any company can produce the same drug under a generic brand and sell it at a lower cost. Generally speaking generics should have the same, or at least similar efficacy as branded medications; yet I reckon the psychological and placebo effect of using a branded medication shouldn't be overlooked especially in those who are less enlightened. It's a personal choice I guess, it's like whether you want to wear a RM 25 Forest cotton T-shirt or a RM80 Nike equivalent.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 20 2009, 09:55 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Mar 20 2009, 04:22 PM)
hey, here is a list of blogs by medical students, from a diversity of medskols, from Russia/India to UK/Aus, and of course our beloved country, Msia

http://medicine.com.my/wp/?page_id=1536
cool... tongue.gif

I see lots of familiar faces around there...
StarGhazzer
post Mar 24 2009, 01:47 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 23 2009, 09:44 PM)
okay, i have done some search, and these are my impressions, in general, and in particular to the several med schools mentioned.........

1. The quality of medical education is generally reflected in the country's quality of healthcare......students learn from observing what is actually practiced, and will assume that is the standard of care.......case in point being the mastectomy patient in another thread, where someone trained in that environment may assume that the standard of care is radical surgery, when worldwide, the best practice treatment is minimal surgery with chemotherapy/radiotherapy.....

12. in ibrahim's particular case, if it is really the degree smc recognises, at that price, and with easy entry conditions, by all means go for it.....just remember, you will need to learn some mandarin, as EVERYTHING else will be in mandarin, including communicating with patients.........
Just to add something:
Over in Australia the general consensus for non-metastatised breast cancer is "total mastectomy" = "lumpectomy + adjuvant radiotherapy". Both will have similar, if not equal cure rates. The location of the lump and the size of the breast, plus the patient's wishes of course, will decide which route is chosen. So no, the best practice does not necessarily require any chemo/radiotherapy; it all depends on the case.

As for medical education in China, well like what you said, if it's a decent university plus able to get you a job in the future, it's not a bad choice to consider. Oh yes, mandarin will be a huge requirement over there and I would sheepishly admit that I find it hard to explain certain medical terms in mandarin despite being a native Mandarin speaker as we're mostly trained in English.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 24 2009, 06:21 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 24 2009, 04:54 PM)
"lumpectomy + adjuvant radiotherapy", or more precisely breast conservation surgery provides the same survival as mastectomy, but with likelyhood of more events.......although these events (eg recurrent disease) does not impact of overall survival.........

this case mentioned was stated to have nodal disease, so adjuvant hormonal manipulation is definitely needed if receptors are positive, and if the nodal load is heavy, or there is distant disease, chemotherapy may also be required........but that's not my point.....which was that radical surgery confers no additional benefit......
Well I did specify non-metastasised brca to start off with so yeah tongue.gif The likelihood of adverse events is probably associated with the side effects of subsequent radiotherapy, but the fact that it does not impact overall survival means that we have the same viewpoint. And as mentioned before, it depends on the breast size and patient's wishes. For someone with large bosoms conservative surgery might yield better cosmetic results (or not, it depends) whereas someone with a small breast would probably not even be considered for lumptectomy as the removal of the lump plus surrounding margins would likely mean taking out almost the entire breast.

Nodal disease is another kettle of fish where the sentinel node theory is the widely accepted rule, although there might be some arguments about it. I'm merely a lowly student who probably doesn't know too much about oncology, but from what I know radical surgery for localised brca is likely to be phased out, if not already; in fact I'm not sure whether people still do radical resections for these lesions anymore... At least not in my area.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 24 2009, 08:49 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 24 2009, 06:58 PM)
please refer to this thread......that is what i was referring to.....not a theoretical patient.....

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/971263/+20

i was referring to 'additional events', NOT 'adverse events'.........BCS is associated with a 10% local ipsilateral recurrance, compared to less than 3-5% for simple mastectomy.......

again, the issue here is NOT between mastectomy and BCS, but whether radical surgery still have a place at all in modern management of breast cancer.......

in any case, it is not a matter of viewpoint, these factual infomation is pretty much evidence supported and in the public domain for the last 10 years.......
Whatever, I wasn't exactly basing my previous posts on the case you were referring to anyway, in fact I wasn't conflicting you in the first place regarding radical surgery as I believe our current teachings (if you disagree with the word "viewpoint" so much) is pretty much similar.

Cool mastectomy pics from the link you posted, but I think the surgeons should be given the benefit of doubt. We can't be sure about the initial presentation of the patient, the position/size of the lump may have been such that the chosen prodecure would have benefited her the most despite leaving behind the ugly scar. The wound closure is kinda messy though, with all the staples and unburied sutures; yet again I'm not going to criticise too much based on a single picture without fully understanding the entire case.

She's like to have chemo and possibly other adjuvant therapy eg hormonal/immuno after the surgery, we don't know for sure but fingers crossed that she receives the most appropriate treatment.

StarGhazzer
post Mar 25 2009, 05:09 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 24 2009, 09:20 PM)
the simple point i was trying to make was in my comments about chinese medical schools, where i used this case as an example of how the usual standard of practice locally will determine the kind of training and knowledge the students get.......

you as one training in oz will of course know what the internationally accepted standard of care is, as you outlined above.......

but you made a general comment about the variable need for adjuvant treatment, and i just pointed out in the specifics of the example i used, that there is NO question that adjuvant treatment is needed.........

ie, you used general observations to comment on a specific case i was referring to.......quote: "So no, the best practice does not necessarily require any chemo/radiotherapy; it all depends on the case. "

and now aware of the specific case i am referring to, you corrected yourself quote: (sic) "She's like to have chemo and possibly other adjuvant therapy eg hormonal/immuno after the surgery, we don't know for sure but fingers crossed that she receives the most appropriate treatment."

current consensus guidelines would unequivocally recommend that node positive patients will benefit from additional adjuvant treatment.........
Like I said, I wasn't referring to your node-positive case to begin with, I was only adding on some information regarding non-mets brca which for you may just be basic undergrad information but others here might not know. And my statement of "So no, the best practice does not necessarily require any chemo/radiotherapy; it all depends on the case. " isn't necessarily wrong because it does depend on every individual case and presentation.

Let's not continue this anymore as we're on the same path regarding cancer treatment, plus this is a thread about medical education, not an oncology forum.

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Mar 25 2009, 02:12 AM)
Oh thank god. but i guess treatment plans for patients is a must when i enter clinical years.

I initially thought PBL would be fun and great time to really deepen my knowledge into things i really like and discuss them with my group and facilitator. but in all honesty, what i've come to realize is that it depends on your group. Some groups like to spread the work up. so if topic A is interesting and you dont get it, and if the person that researches it doesnt do a good job, you wont really learn (of course self learning is an option). second of all many of the things covered in PBL has not much application to our exams, even though some of the cases might come out in the exams (as objective) and they ask whats wrong or what treatment sort off (atm its quite basic)

So yeah, its quite shallow , unless you hit a good topic that you're really really interested in. then its good. Did one on Wernickle-Koriskoff Encephalopathy (sp mistake) and that sort off stuck. where else some topics only become Behavourial Science and Community Medicine topics....bores everyone i know.  cry.gif

And at the end of the day my pbl scoring (such as team work, polite, content etc) is not gonna be added up to my finals, hence many students dont bother so much and consider it a waste of time  whistling.gif . IMU=study lecture notes to death and a bit of extra (to reach A mark)
PBL is variable. You get shit group mates... you suffer. You become a shit groupmate, your group suffers. You get a facilitator who can't be arsed, all of you suffer. Behavioral sciences stuff is boring but relevant indeed, yet I don't see how sitting in a group of 8-10 talking about how to talk is going to help - one's better off learning it by observing real doctors working in real life (albeit sometimes crap attitude btw doc and patients does happen).
StarGhazzer
post Mar 28 2009, 07:45 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 28 2009, 12:14 AM)
Well, it would be more convincing if you could explain their incompetency using real life scenario, like what Dr. POT did.  nod.gif

Anyway, some new blog entries regarding Russian and Ukrainian medical grads. Continuation of the story by Dr.POT and an insider view from a Russian med student.

After reading all these blog entries, i feel lucky that i wasn't deceived by the agent back then, even though the agent claimed that medical courses in Russia are "peng, leng, zheng" (Cantonese; English translation: cheap, pretty good, and awesome) blink.gif
POTS is a breath of fresh air, a feisty critic; not only in the flawed healthcare system of M'sia but also the murky world of politics tongue.gif Love his posts.

However I'd like to comment on one thing from the other blog that you posted:
It’s not like we learn nothing. We really learn something; but only for 3-4 hours each day including more than half hour break in a two-week clinical rotation. What we learn here are mostly theories with very little clinical cases or integrated problem-based learning.

http://efenem.wordpress.com/2008/05/22/the...es-from-russia/

It's sad that they end up learning stuff that may not necessarily be clinically relevant. sad.gif

However, during clinical years the amount of proper, structured teaching we receive is minimal (rotation dependent of course). What we end up doing most of the time if self-studying, like what one professor put it: "Write it down in the little book, read it up in the big book." Not that I'm whinging too much about it as we are supposed to cultivate the habit of self-learning; but more didactic teaching will always be appreciated. A balance is required of course, we don't want to end up like what happened to Faiz, the blogger, where they end up in classrooms all the time rather than the wards.

Like what my angmoh friend's sister (non-medical) said, "You bloody medical students, get an extra half an hour tute and you're happy... We would have complained about the overtime."

Anyway, nice blog for a Russian perspective... going to bookmark it thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 28 2009, 07:52 AM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 14 2009, 07:08 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 10 2009, 05:26 PM)
Yup, IMU's PMS programme is by far the best private medical programme in Malaysia. However, it costs a bomb and the students don't actually save much when compared to their counterparts doing full course at the respective universities which they are twinned to.
Not really. You do save heaps, although don't expect to save 50% of the costs compared to those who went overseas straight into first year of uni. Depending on the currency exchange and when you started the course (as Aussie uni fees esp UniMelb skyrocketed in recent years), going through IMU may potentially save you up to 100-200K ringgit on tuition fees, possibly even more. And that alone, is a huge saving for paying parents... and don't forget the living costs one will save in Malaysia, especially if one's still staying with parents, using parents' car, eating meals at home etc.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 12 2009, 05:57 PM)
Some people said IMU/PMS is easier back door entry to overseas university. Any truth in that?
Yes, if "easier entry" to you means lower entry score like what limeuu mentioned below.
Think of it as an alternative choice, or a second chance.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 12 2009, 06:24 PM)
yes......many of imu students are those who have applied direct to these med schools and failed to secure a place, especially to oz undergrad med schools......eg, someone with ter 94 will have no chance of getting direct entry, but after imu, have a reasonable chance of getting oz.......althought the winds of change has swept through the landscape, oz is now the fav destination, not uk anymore with the new immigrations rules.....and it becomes that much harder when almost everybody puts oz as their top choices........
The bolded part is true, but not always the case. There are people who choose not to go directly due to various personal reasons, mainly financial issues; but quite a number of students went into IMU instead as their TER score did not meet the requirements - the minimum 97 TER for UniMelb (previously of course) is misguiding as competition for places would push the requirement score unofficially up to 99 and above.

As mentioned many times before, the IMU-PMS matching system is like a lottery. They did explain the matching process to us before, but conflicts, dissatisfaction and subsequent b*tching and appeals will occur every time. The best advice is still to put wherever that you want to go as number 1 choice.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 14 2009, 07:12 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 3 2009, 01:13 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Jun 3 2009, 12:23 PM)
sorry but i was told by a neurologist that the term grand / petit mal is obsolete... unsure.gif

Added on June 3, 2009, 12:37 pmbtw i only know about absence seizure....hav no idea what's coronary steal...heard of subclavian steal la.....and hav no idea what ondine's curse... and aseptic peritonitis....erm no idea....kinda get the picture....but cause?

so does that make me a bad med student? :depressed: sad.gif
Probably not entirely obsolete, but yeah less people tend to use those two terms these days... They mean the same thing anyway, so I don't see why people would want to remove the terms other than convenience's sake. I think the more interesting thing is the attempted abolishing of Reiter's Syndrome. Morality and ethics aside, I don't think it's fair to remove Reiter's contributions to the medical field but I couldn't really care less. They can call it whatever they want - medical terms change all the time... Pneumocystis carinii/jerovicii pneumonia bla bla bla... We still call it PCP rather than PJP.

Ondine's curse... lol... this was mentioned for interest's sake during my pre-clinical years, but I don't think most of us would have experienced someone with it anyway. Lost of automatic, reflexive respiration due to central respi centre insult; hence the patient has to "remember" to breathe voluntarily. As you would have expected, they probably won't "remember" to breathe during sleep so they go into respi arrest if no ventilatory support was provided. The various steal syndromes on the other hand, I understand how it works but don't really know much about the significance of it or how to manage it, that's probably out of my depth for now anyway...

Anyway, there's far too much to know in medicine, and even the most knowledgeable doctor would certainly struggle in areas which he/she is not specially trained in. It's good to know as much as possible, even those rare shit that occurs in 1/10M people; but there are certainly some exotic stuff that very few people hear about, let alone master and understand.

The advice that we often get is to know those diseases that are:
1. Common and simple
2. Common and deadly
3. Rare and deadly

But yeah, that itself is probably a never-ending list.

I just read this on the previous page, and I have something to add in:

First of all... the perspective of "your results are good, why not study medicine" in our community is wrong and should ideally be changed. No point forcing someone who has straight As in SPM to go down the medical field when his/her interests lie somewhere else, be it engineering/accountancy/law/art/commerce bla bla.

Secondly, how many of those "straight As" students are actually the real cream of the crop? Talk to any teacher today, and I bet my arse that at least 9 out of 10 will say the SPM marking criteria is a joke. Everyone gets an A for everything, and if previously schools are competing for excellent passing rates, now they are competing for straight As rate. Not to belittle the students who worked hard for great results in SPM; but either our marking criteria is far too lenient, or maybe our next generation's intellect has outgrown our examination standards (ie the education syllabus should be revamped !!).

The third issue would be PSD/JPA scholarships and loans. The aim of the scholarships is for the rakyat's benefit, where students get trained and return to serve the country. I'm not sure about any available statistics, but the majority of my cohort who are actual scholarship/loan holders are probably not going back, at least in the near future and possibly forever. One may argue that it doesn't matter as long as they pay back, which they are planning to do anyway.

Nevertheless, would it be better if the money was spent on improving the facilities, personnel, and resources at local institutions to provide more medical student intakes and of course improve the quality of the course? More students would get a chance in pursuing their aspirations, probably more would be retained in the country and hence reducing brain drain, and definitely providing more graduates who are well-trained and fitting our local population demographics.

Like what Dr Wee said:
“But the fact remains that medical courses in private universities are expensive and scholarships are hard to come by,” laments Dr Wee in summing up the predicament of the students and parents.

A five-year medical course in a private university in Malaysia, including living expenses, can cost up to half a million ringgit.

Topping the list (fees only) is Sunway Monash University (RM412,000), International Medical University (RM351,000), Manipal College (RM300,000) and AIMST or Asian Institute of Medicine, Science and Technology (RM220,000).

Maybe JPA would like to offer more local medical scholarships instead of sending people to overseas (and risk them not returning later)... The money spent on sending one student to say UK, could easily be used on producing 2 students from local private unis. Probably 10 or even more from UM/UKM. I probably am being a bit impractical and unrealistic here; but I can't help but feel ironic that our country's best brains are being lost to other countries while our own country is seriously lacking medical staff and is forced to recruit foreign personnel, which may not necessarily be less smarter but surely less comfortable because of the language, cultural, and environmental difference.

So why not use our people's money to train our own doctors, in our country, to serve our community?

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 3 2009, 01:46 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 3 2009, 08:08 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jun 3 2009, 02:52 PM)

Well, i guess people at JPA think just like few of our forummers here: 1st world unis offer world class education while IPTSs produce rubbish doctors. Therefore, they are dying to send the scholars to those 1st world unis if their budget allows them to. wink.gif Right haya?
I'm not advocating that JPA shouldn't send people overseas, in fact if those scholars are able to bring not only knowledge but also work ethic and other qualities back to M'sia, that would be even better. It's just that maybe a portion of money used on sending our students to overseas (and risk losing most of them) could be used to revamp our own medical curriculum and facilities instead, as to provide more and better opportunities to students who wish to study and stay locally.

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Jun 3 2009, 04:29 PM)
Can someone answer my question regarding SMC and PMC? Lol looked like it got neglected.

And for it-int, are you still in your pre-clinical years? When I was in preclinical years I used to remembered quite a number of rare diseases too, cause the names and their pathophysio are cool. But after i entered my phase II, i realised it's all quite pointless. It is good to "know" about them so that you can impress your consultant if they happened to ask you lol, (eg Burgada syndrome in gen med or cardiology)  but they dont usually expect you to know. If i encountered such patients i would have referred him/her to relevant specialists,  hmm and I dont think i can diagnose an aseptic peritonitis by myself. (not even peritonitis lol)

Added on June 3, 2009, 4:43 pm
In my opinion the reason is quite obvious why msia is lacking medical staffs and "best brains". If those going-to-be-best-brains people chose to return to msia instead of staying back in foreign country, chances are they are not going to be best brains anymore. And, best brains want a comfortable life too with sufficient $$ and msia does not offer much unless they venture into private practice.

Sad but true.
Burgadawtf? laugh.gif

Peritonitis should be pretty distinct from other forms of abdo particularly colicky ones, but there is never absolute certainty in medicine.

Actually money wise, M'sia isn't too bad to be honest... Tax rates are sky high in foreign countries, my friend was mentioning recently that his wife who's an intern here in Aust barely got 3K/month after deducting the amount paid for tax. It's the environment and unfair policies that deters people from going back, and if the government wants to attract more people they'd have to do something about it. The SLAB thingy is something that many people don't know about, especially if you're overseas. I admit I didn't exactly know until I read POTS, and none of the Msians I talked to here knew anything about it either. It's one of those things that our beloved government carries out in a blatant manner yet without actually talking much about it.

QUOTE(bhypp @ Jun 3 2009, 06:52 PM)
erm well grand mal is more like a blanket term....like say he has large vessel vasculitis without goin into the specifics....but the current terminology  like generalized tonic-clonic seizure, complex partial, n etc are more specific... well that what the neurologist in hosp told me..  unsure.gif

hmm well if they can afford to pay JPA back, why don't they just study with their own $$$ instead of taking up the spots...when it could be offered some other medical students who wanna go back to msia to serve instead? unsure.gif

i dunno but i think once one signs a contract one has to stick to it...well if one was unsure about pledging their future to the govt....they shouldnt have signed...
"Grand mal" does refer to "generalised tonic clonic seizure", unless there are more subdivisions beyond our level which are used by neurologists. Oh well.

As for why "well if one was unsure about pledging their future to the govt....they shouldnt have signed...", let's just say that there are people who regard JPA's loan as a no frills, no interest, long term loan. No interest loan... seriously how good is that compared to bank loans? After speaking to my JPA friends recently, I only realised that JPA biasiswa and pinjaman are actually different things. Biasiswa means you have no choice but to go back, while pinjaman means you can choose either way. Most pinjaman students that I know are choosing to repay the debts to break the bond, but none of them could answer how much would they have to pay back. All they said was it's likely that they will have to pay back everything including college/pre-U fees as well, but the actual amount and the payment period/installments are uncertain.

With such confusing terms and conditions that the JPA scholars themselves don't even know either, I wouldn't be surprised if there are people who manage to escape through the loopholes or get some benefits ie no need to pay back the entire amount etc.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 3 2009, 08:09 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2763sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:19 AM