Because I was like 'ingat ingat lupa' if I ever applied for Medic for this JPA/Mara Scholarship. That's y i asked u about where to check the list.
Anyone have called for PENDEDAHAN KERJAYA DOCTOR?, JPA medicine
Mar 20 2009, 11:34 PM
399 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Bangi |
Because I was like 'ingat ingat lupa' if I ever applied for Medic for this JPA/Mara Scholarship. That's y i asked u about where to check the list.
Mar 21 2009, 02:48 AM
66 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
It's not a ceramah. They will take you around to visit all the departments, to let u know how doctors work. If you are lucky enough, then u will get to see corpses and delivery.
Mar 21 2009, 03:05 AM
399 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Bangi |
Corpses? I love corpses!!
Mar 21 2009, 03:51 AM
66 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Mar 21 2009, 08:54 AM
695 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 20 2009, 10:32 PM) here are some aspect of it (come see if can stomach it): If you took the pictures yourself, I suggest you take them down. ~ some fresh from OT [image removed] [image removed] [image removed] [image removed] [image removed] thanks to my trustworthy Motorola ZN5..... I'm pretty sure that there is a no photograph policy without the permission of the person/relatives in the dissecting/autopsy etc labs. This post has been edited by zltan: Mar 21 2009, 08:56 AM |
Mar 21 2009, 09:24 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
QUOTE(zltan @ Mar 21 2009, 08:54 AM) If you took the pictures yourself, I suggest you take them down. Perhaps... but in India, the policy is different or perhaps not enforced. Unlike in Australia. I'm pretty sure that there is a no photograph policy without the permission of the person/relatives in the dissecting/autopsy etc labs. The hospital director which happens to be the chief surgeon was also there in the OT, he is the one who instructed me to snap those photos for discussion later. besides.. in my school's anatomy/dissection lab, one can even record a video of the entire dissection procedure on the cadaver. I dont know about other medical schools outside of India, but the above practice are common here. Hell, I've even got 2 human skulls (real skulls, non of that plastic stuff), pelvises and several other types of bones (both male and female) in my room that I am currently using for my forensic medicine study. ... |
Mar 21 2009, 09:42 AM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
while the identities of the patient, and the cadaver are not obvious in the pictures, nevertheless, they should not be posted in a public domain place like this..........
even if the 'hospital director' tells you to take them, doesn't mean you have the right or permission to post them here.......... whatever media material available in the lab is meant strictly for the use of the med school for learning purposes....... owning a set of bones is okay, they are your private belongings........ poor enforcement is NOT an excuse for breaking rules........ |
Mar 21 2009, 09:49 AM
2,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Beneath the starry night |
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 21 2009, 09:24 AM) Perhaps... but in India, the policy is different or perhaps not enforced. Unlike in Australia. Is it? In Manipal, there's strict no photo policy throughout hospital, unless with patients' consent. The no photo policy also applies to anatomy lab. Heck, we can't even bring hand phones which have camera.The hospital director which happens to be the chief surgeon was also there in the OT, he is the one who instructed me to snap those photos for discussion later. besides.. in my school's anatomy/dissection lab, one can even record a video of the entire dissection procedure on the cadaver. I dont know about other medical schools outside of India, but the above practice are common here. Hell, I've even got 2 human skulls (real skulls, non of that plastic stuff), pelvises and several other types of bones (both male and female) in my room that I am currently using for my forensic medicine study. ... |
Mar 21 2009, 10:08 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 21 2009, 09:42 AM) while the identities of the patient, and the cadaver are not obvious in the pictures, nevertheless, they should not be posted in a public domain place like this.......... The purpose of showing those pictures here was to test those faint-hearted students wanting to do MD/MBBS if they could stand staring at those pictures before seeing them live. That is the least I can do in this forum to give them a bit of exposure of things to come or to expect.even if the 'hospital director' tells you to take them, doesn't mean you have the right or permission to post them here.......... whatever media material available in the lab is meant strictly for the use of the med school for learning purposes....... owning a set of bones is okay, they are your private belongings........ poor enforcement is NOT an excuse for breaking rules........ As for, the pictures of medical procedures and human organs that I took, it is up to me to do whatever I see fit, weather to place them here for informative/educational purposes or to put it in some medical forums for further discussions. Now Limeuu, as I said before, things or rather the usual customs may vary in different countries. Here, it is common for the surgeons and physicians to record (via video or camera) cases which interests them. and I forgot to mention, we do ask for the patients' permission prior to taking their photographs along with their ailments especially if their faces are in them. Added on March 21, 2009, 10:16 am QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 21 2009, 09:49 AM) Is it? In Manipal, there's strict no photo policy throughout hospital, unless with patients' consent. The no photo policy also applies to anatomy lab. Heck, we can't even bring hand phones which have camera. Hmm... that didn't apply in my place. Both medical students and doctors alike bring camera-hp in the college and hospital and use them to snap interesting cases when needed.This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 21 2009, 12:05 PM |
Mar 21 2009, 10:35 AM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hi, is there even a pdf file?
or can we only check if we enter our IC number? Oh, yes! What is the ceramah all about? I thought it was a doctor's exposure program This post has been edited by sarahcsm: Mar 21 2009, 10:37 AM |
Mar 21 2009, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 21 2009, 10:08 AM) Now Limeuu, as I said before, things or rather the usual customs may vary in different countries. Here, it is common for the surgeons and physicians to record (via video or camera) cases which interests them. and I forgot to mention, we do ask for the patients' permission prior to taking their photographs along with their ailments especially if their faces are in them. the issue is posting them in public domain sites like blogs, or forums like this...... try asking them for permission to take their pictures and inform them that you will be displaying the pictures openly in the internet (or post them on posters all over town), and see what their response is......... |
Mar 21 2009, 01:08 PM
I doubt they care about it, the vast majority of them neither know how to use a computer nor even care what an internet is, since such things are a luxury in most parts of India. (unlike patients in Malaysia)
Besides, most of the patient gave their permission for us to take the pictures of their ailments. Most of them are already grateful for the doctors that treated their illnesses to refuse. It is up to us to use it, weather while presenting them in a public medical conference, lectures, awareness campaigns or even in an internet forum such as this. permission given, why would we want to limit the spread of knowledge to others? This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 21 2009, 01:13 PM |
Mar 21 2009, 02:32 PM
therein lies one of the many differences between the developed world, and the 3rd world......
i am now being pedantic, but there is a distinct difference, legally, between giving permission for pictures to be taken for private, professional, and public use........ case in point being the yb elizabeth wong pixs.......... but i guess it doesn't matter in the india context....... This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 21 2009, 02:33 PM |
Mar 21 2009, 05:04 PM
2,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Beneath the starry night |
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 21 2009, 01:08 PM) I doubt they care about it, the vast majority of them neither know how to use a computer nor even care what an internet is, since such things are a luxury in most parts of India. (unlike patients in Malaysia) Well, i think that the permission was given based on the understanding that the pictures will be used solely for academic purposes, among health professionals. This is, after all, a public domain, and it's not an appropriate place for sharing such pictures. I am sure that your professors dun simply show the pics to any Tom, d***, and Harry.Besides, most of the patient gave their permission for us to take the pictures of their ailments. Most of them are already grateful for the doctors that treated their illnesses to refuse. It is up to us to use it, weather while presenting them in a public medical conference, lectures, awareness campaigns or even in an internet forum such as this. permission given, why would we want to limit the spread of knowledge to others? Imagine this, pictures of you undergoing orchidectomy got leaked into the internet. How would you feel? BTW, the purpose of you posting such pics is to "scare off" potential medical students who are afraid of seeing such images. Can it be considered as "academic"? Also, pls respect the dead. They had donated their bodies to become cadavers so that medical students can learn anatomy better. They are not tools for you to scare people off. Added on March 21, 2009, 5:11 pm QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 21 2009, 02:32 PM) therein lies one of the many differences between the developed world, and the 3rd world...... Again, pls dun generalise. Such practice is unacceptable in Manipal, which is part of India.i am now being pedantic, but there is a distinct difference, legally, between giving permission for pictures to be taken for private, professional, and public use........ case in point being the yb elizabeth wong pixs.......... but i guess it doesn't matter in the india context....... This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 21 2009, 05:11 PM |
Mar 21 2009, 06:14 PM
I consider those pictures useful (in this case useful to 'scare-off' over enthusiastic future medical students and to weed out those that cant stand them) and informative to the general public/forumers.
If these potential medical students find them interesting, those pictures can further increase their interest and curiosity in medicine/surgery. Otherwise, they will reconsider their future plans and do some other things instead.... ...those are some things to be expected in a medical school are they not? including those cadaver pictures (perhaps I should have uploaded cadaver parts without revealing the face part next time). Besides, the pictures I posted here are mainly focusing on a particular surgical procedure and the excised organs. The identity of the patient wasn't exposed and therefore is irrelevant to the pictures that I posted. Even if my pictures undergoing circumcision are published throughout the internet, I wouldn't mind if my identity wasn't exposed and those pictures are only focused on the procedure itself. Here are some more examples: Simple Mastectomy with axillary lymph nodes clearance » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Below the sutured (sown) area, are two drainage tubes to remove fluid/blood accumulation beneath it. Onychocryptosis removal » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The ingrown toenail removal as seen above,is done in the treatment room of the out patient department. If I were to depend on or expect my professors to join internet forums such as this and give exposure to potential medical students about the various aspects of a medical school, then.... sampai bila2 pun it wont happen. |
Mar 21 2009, 06:32 PM
2 comments......
1. that is a terrible incision, and will leave a terrible scar on the women...... 2. nail avulsion does not cure ingrowing toenail, and is mostly abandoned. wedge resection (zadek's procedure) is the preferred procedure, and should routinely be done with tourniquet to reduce bleeding........ |
Mar 21 2009, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 21 2009, 06:32 PM) 2 comments...... 1. The patient was a 72 years old woman, a housewife by occupation, from a low socia-economic background, the procedure was done primarily to save the patient's life and therefore the cosmetic reasons are secondary (especially for a women of her age). It was found that the malignancy has spread to her axillary groups of lymph nodes also. The surgeon could have done a radical mastectomy instead but considering her age, it was not performed.1. that is a terrible incision, and will leave a terrible scar on the women...... 2. nail avulsion does not cure ingrowing toenail, and is mostly abandoned. wedge resection (zadek's procedure) is the preferred procedure, and should routinely be done with tourniquet to reduce bleeding........ 2. It doesn't. The nail was totally removed followed by phenolization to prevent future growth of nails (it was requested by the patient). Otherwise, only half of the nail would do. |
Mar 21 2009, 10:09 PM
in which case, the best treatment is not radical surgery, but adjuvant chemotherapy........the same operation can be done through a less mutilating incision.....
in any case, no matter what the women's age is, or socio-economic class, there is no reason to mutilate them.......they are also humans with feelings....... history has clearly shown heroic surgery over 100+ years, from the times of halstead, had never reduce mortality from breast cancer......... what changed things was the original report some 30 years ago from milan by Bonadonna et al..........cmf changed everything...... |
Mar 21 2009, 10:45 PM
49 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Mar 22 2009, 03:16 PM
178 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 21 2009, 06:14 PM) Here are some more examples: OMG, did the surgeon close the mastectomy incision by STAPLING it shut??? Shouldn't he have sutured instead? Simple Mastectomy with axillary lymph nodes clearance » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Below the sutured (sown) area, are two drainage tubes to remove fluid/blood accumulation beneath it. And yeah, this woman would probably have benefited more from chemo. This post has been edited by drgadgets: Mar 22 2009, 03:18 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0187sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:19 AM |