QUOTE(doremon @ Mar 31 2019, 06:16 AM)
Thank you so much for all your info. Worth to watch. Laugh like hell lol. Question. Shazam aka captian marvel right ?
Yup thats him but they didnt call him that in this movie due to captain feminist .. Movies Shazam (2019) & Shazam! Fury of the Gods (2023), Rumor: Superman may make an appearance
Mar 31 2019, 10:05 AM
488 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(doremon @ Mar 31 2019, 06:16 AM) Thank you so much for all your info. Worth to watch. Laugh like hell lol. Question. Shazam aka captian marvel right ? Yup thats him but they didnt call him that in this movie due to captain feminist .. |
Mar 31 2019, 07:32 PM
117 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
QUOTE(red1982 @ Mar 31 2019, 10:05 AM) Yup thats him but they didnt call him that in this movie due to captain feminist .. not bagi chance.. but because when captain marvel/shazam first came out the publisher got sued by dc because the character was too similar to superman... then the comic was shut down.. during the time the comic was put down.. marvel came out with their own captain marvel.. then when dc decided to resurrect the comic they can't use the name captain marvel anymore.. so have to change to shazam |
Apr 1 2019, 02:42 PM
10,314 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
hhhmmm.
let me start by saying i like aquaman a lot. it is way better than marvel's black panther. so we have round 2 here. captain marvel vs shazam. personally i like shazam over captain marvel. but a few very noticable comparisons, shazam cgi wasn't very good. especially when it comes to the character flying. it just looks cheesy and cheap. but humour wise, it definitely beats captain marvel. the story is quite simple. with a lot of heart. a fun movie and nothing more. i think the trailer did a good job of not showing the best bits in the movie. let's just say it's 5 times the fun when you finally find out. and the ending scene (not the post credit scenes), make me laugh my ass out. but i still prefer aquaman. |
Apr 1 2019, 03:52 PM
837 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(kochin @ Apr 1 2019, 02:42 PM) hhhmmm. Aquaman's world building is top notch, but it was made with 200 million budgetlet me start by saying i like aquaman a lot. it is way better than marvel's black panther. so we have round 2 here. captain marvel vs shazam. personally i like shazam over captain marvel. but a few very noticable comparisons, shazam cgi wasn't very good. especially when it comes to the character flying. it just looks cheesy and cheap. but humour wise, it definitely beats captain marvel. the story is quite simple. with a lot of heart. a fun movie and nothing more. i think the trailer did a good job of not showing the best bits in the movie. let's just say it's 5 times the fun when you finally find out. and the ending scene (not the post credit scenes), make me laugh my ass out. but i still prefer aquaman. Shazam was made with 80 million budget, ok la. Actually the cgi is pretty good for the most part, except a few scenes. But the story was so good that I forgot about the cgi |
Apr 1 2019, 05:53 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
135 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Well for a second or third tier dc hero, guess it's reasonable for what it is as a film. The biggest role that I can remember Shazam did on the dc books was Kingdom Come and maybe a part of the Flashpoint storyline. Tonally it has the vibe of 80's Big and Goonies. Wish fulfilment of kids running their smart ass mouth. All in all they did good on the Shazam's family aspect and might synergize with a rumoured 2019 relaunch by Geoff Johns.
It is not by any means a good movie as in, still got a villain problem and like WW where you need to ignore the shortcomings and just enjoy what it is. The heart and charming cast members simply connect with the audience. At the bare minimum now you can't fathom anybody but Zachary Levi is "the" actor for Shazam. The big takeaway for me is DC able to bring lesser known heroes to the screen. This will certainly ease audience into the rich catalogue of smaller characters. Now they just need to deliver a through and through comic book movie experience on the level of Dark Knight, Logan, Spider-verse. |
Apr 3 2019, 05:03 PM
71 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
NICE Nice Nice Nice Nice movie !!!! Worth to watch
Apr 3 2019, 07:32 PM
Jeremy Jahns bagi Awesometacular rating
Apr 4 2019, 12:07 AM
248 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
did you guys watch it in imax or 4d ?
Apr 4 2019, 09:59 AM
1,723 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Shazam! (2019)
As Alpha 5 from Power Rangers would say, Aiya ya ya ya.... This movie is SO..... CHEESY!!!! Wait wait wait... First thing first, this is directed by David F. Sandberg (Lights Out (2016), anyone). Probably one of my favorite horror movie in recent years. The main lead in this movie is Shazam (duh), played by Zachary Levi (whom I liked alot in (Chuck 2007)). Mark Strong plays the villain, Thaddeus Sivana... and was he not also the main villain in Green Lantern? Oh wait, not DCEU canon.... Shazam is actually the acronym for Solomon (wisdom), Hercules (strength), Atlas (stamina), Zeus (power), Achilles (courage), and Mercury (speed). Billy Batson/Asher Angel is magically transported to the Rock of Eternity and was bestow with the power of Shazam by the wizard. The reason he was bestowed the said power if to fight again the Seven Deadly Sins: Pride, Greed, Lust, Envy, Gluttony, Wrath, and Sloth that had taken over Thaddeus Sivana. As Michael Buffer would say, "Let's Get Ready To Rumble!!". Here is my experience with this movie.... I am more interested in Billy Batson back story, compared with his growth into the superhero Shazam.... Weird right. What I am trying to say is I am more sold by Asher Angel as Billy Batson than I am by Zachary Levi as Shazzam... Am I making sense? Jack Dylan Grazer is proving to be a really good actor. The Marvel Family/The Shazam Family is also introduce. Am disappointed that with all the characters introduces, Mister Tawky Tawny, wasn't... My Two Sen. |
Apr 4 2019, 12:21 PM
11,251 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Apr 5 2019, 10:12 AM
1,636 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Vault 13 |
LOL when I recommend Shazam to my friends all of them think this is a lame hero and a lame movie. All have their eyes on MCU. Sad
Apr 5 2019, 10:21 AM
117 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
QUOTE(killdavid @ Apr 5 2019, 10:12 AM) LOL when I recommend Shazam to my friends all of them think this is a lame hero and a lame movie. All have their eyes on MCU. Sad similar to my fren.. i told him about this movie and he said.. eww dun wan watch la because its DC.. marvel is better.. then last saturday saw him post in fb saying omg.. this movie is so nicee.. then I kept teasing him.. cakap haritu dont wan see.. said tak best la.. itu la.. |
Apr 5 2019, 10:24 AM
1,636 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Vault 13 |
Although I haven't watch it (planned to next week), I know this is way better than the SJW propaganda bullshirt Captian Marvel movie
Apr 5 2019, 10:31 AM
Apr 5 2019, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(killdavid @ Apr 5 2019, 10:12 AM) LOL when I recommend Shazam to my friends all of them think this is a lame hero and a lame movie. All have their eyes on MCU. Sad QUOTE(kraziekd @ Apr 5 2019, 10:21 AM) similar to my fren.. i told him about this movie and he said.. eww dun wan watch la because its DC.. marvel is better.. then last saturday saw him post in fb saying omg.. this movie is so nicee.. then I kept teasing him.. cakap haritu dont wan see.. said tak best la.. itu la.. Haha i support DC since the Nolan batman trilogy QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Apr 5 2019, 10:31 AM) Haha like iphone vs rest of the world |
Apr 5 2019, 08:58 PM
271 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Good movie, but some parts bugged me abit;
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I know, I know I am nitpicking abit too much but things like these bugs me alot. |
Apr 5 2019, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(erald06 @ Apr 5 2019, 08:58 PM) Good movie, but some parts bugged me abit; » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I know, I know I am nitpicking abit too much but things like these bugs me alot. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by gaeria84: Apr 5 2019, 10:09 PM |
Apr 6 2019, 11:45 PM
1,696 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Penang |
Honestly it was sorta boring. Watchable but can skip. Some parts are funny but most are very forced. Very low budget and the fight shows it.
The acting, besides Zachary Levi and Mark Strong are rather weak. Zachary Levi made a very convincing performance as a kid in adult body, the other actors? Not so much and was cringe worthy. Mark Strong still as awesome as ever |
Apr 6 2019, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Apr 6 2019, 11:45 PM) Honestly it was sorta boring. Watchable but can skip. Some parts are funny but most are very forced. Very low budget and the fight shows it. Haha marky still the best as the lancelot in kingsman The acting, besides Zachary Levi and Mark Strong are rather weak. Zachary Levi made a very convincing performance as a kid in adult body, the other actors? Not so much and was cringe worthy. Mark Strong still as awesome as ever |
Apr 7 2019, 09:42 AM
1,474 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
awesome movie. go watch it. better than captain marvel IMO.
| Change to: | 0.0205sec
5 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:59 AM |