24 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

astro byond V13

joshhd
post Sep 15 2017, 08:14 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Sep 15 2017, 07:46 PM)
Wow...they dont want to keep fight sports channel permanently so they charge per match. Pandai.
Or, Astro only want that match to be shown, not the entire channel that is to be made permanent.

Even if it's just a selected matches, astro still got to pay lots of money to Fight Sports.
joshhd
post Sep 16 2017, 10:49 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Sep 16 2017, 07:44 PM)
For those who familiar with Thai pay-satellite TV, in general term DTH, I am sure you've heard company named CTH (previously they used transponders via Vinasat 132'E). They aimed for exclusive live sport such as football match livecast but ended with bankruptcy and led to lelong all their broadcasting eqipment
Yes I know that news. At the end, some of the sports events (I forgotten what is it already) ended up aired on one of Thai's national channels, such as CH 3 (Channel 3). I think the national TV station buy over the broadcast rights from CTH so that's why, fortunate for the Thai people, they can watch full premium sports content for free on national TV.

But that only happens, during that time only la...
joshhd
post Sep 17 2017, 11:05 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Sep 17 2017, 06:07 PM)
Fyi, Nat Geo Wild(ch550) has upgrade to 16:9 feed.
Sial astro upgrade to SD 16:9 feed only. Kedekut betul.. doh.gif bangwall.gif

Some people will say. Woah, sudah upgrade jadi HD. Thank you astro. dry.gif laugh.gif
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 17 2017, 06:36 PM)
#556 also.
This two, Nat Geo Wild (ch550) and Animal Planet (ch556) would be part of the "channel lineup" for having 16:9 fit to screen in 4:3 video, right after MTV 713, Animax 715 all those.
joshhd
post Sep 18 2017, 01:14 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Sep 18 2017, 12:36 AM)
That say some Astro legacy box not support 16:9 view.
So, is this Astro "new tricks" to force old customer to migrate to byond HD stb. hmm.gif

Might as well start lying customer to take HD service... devil.gif brows.gif
No..
The display mode is 16:9 fit to screen but the video they transmit is in 4:3, so that means legacy Astro boxes are still able to watch the channel as per usual.

Only the few ones that is native in 16:9 video (display in 16:9, video also in 16:9) that some legacy Astro boxes may not able to watch, such as Disney XD and Eurosport.
joshhd
post Sep 18 2017, 02:11 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 18 2017, 01:59 PM)
Meaning those watching FHD TV gets full 16:9 views (without any black box) while those on CRT TV also get full view (without any black box thingy)??

Correct??
I'm asking because I don't own any CRT TV.. So I don't know how those 16:9 fit to screen looks like blush.gif
Yes. The letterbox will not display regardless of any types of TV you watch (unless you set it to force display letterbox on your own ways on your TV, that one don't say lah)

I thought I posted the photo long ago? Read this post:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=86099420
joshhd
post Sep 21 2017, 09:04 PM

7,791 posts

Well, Discovery Science (ch554) is now displayed in 16:9 fit to screen on 4:3 video. Previously it shows letterbox all the time.

Not bad eh, Astro have changed the display mode for 3 documentary channels (Nat Geo Wild, Animal Planet and now Discovery Science) this month alone.
joshhd
post Sep 23 2017, 03:16 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Sep 22 2017, 03:25 PM)
Can we throw away the Astro top box if already cut off and unsubscribe Astro???
Keep it or throw it, up to you.

I suggest that you keep it la, in case in the future you need to reactivate back.
joshhd
post Sep 24 2017, 12:20 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Sep 23 2017, 11:27 PM)
Since Astro don't want to give HD feed for E! & Animax.

They are doing update like almost all E! Channel 712 program will be made available on E! Zone in HD quality. For Animax, they update some show like Poco's Udon World, Flip Flappers(last year 2016 same day anime) & Jojo's Bizzare Adventure - Diamond Unbreakable & Terra Formars Revenge made available on Animax On Demand HD.

I wonder when will Astro give Disney On Demand HD with dedicated Disney Channel, Junior & XD program will also be made available in HD quality in Disney On Demand. Just check Club Mickeymouse in Disney On Demand, sadly still no HD quality... doh.gif sad.gif

More interesting is Astro Prima HD logo is available in On Demand. Not include HD indicator. Just the logo only. If not mistaken, show name is Mat Dan Kaki Jalan... laugh.gif laugh.gif

Same like Astro Bella HD. Some show take the channel logo & include HD quality in OD. Notice that Astro Ria HD, Prima HD & Bella HD logo very small in OD. It's like you are watching Astro Bella show in HD with Astro Bella channel logo include.

inb4 at home use PVR box. But, no fixed line internet to download.... laugh.gif laugh.gif
Average Malaysian still use 1Mbps & 2Mbps screamyx.
Talking about Astro Prima HD, the Singapore feed of Astro Prima is available in HD.
Maybe it was taken from there?
joshhd
post Sep 26 2017, 12:27 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Sep 25 2017, 06:18 PM)
Guys

Currently having a constant issue of SCNA at my dad office
Previously, i only play-around with the white cable connecting to the decoder but one thing remain the same only one signal (supposed to be both inputs right)
Contact astro multiple times, still the same issue happening again
I tried the Installation settings, all network (LNB) give no signal at all

What is the solution?
"...i only play-around with the white cable connecting to the decoder but one thing remain the same only one signal (supposed to be both inputs right)"

Can you explain more about this? I don't understand...

Btw, you might wanna check on the F connector of your Astro cable, the connector that is on your Astro cable, to be connected from your Astro box to the port (connecting to satellite dish). Make sure it is not loose (not easily pull out), and it is properly installed and tighten as well.
joshhd
post Sep 26 2017, 01:14 AM

7,791 posts

Translation:

Samantha: Why cease broadcast? Will the existing programmes be aired on other channels?

Kah Lai Toi: Astro did not continue the agreement with us, so it will no longer be on Astro anymore. As of now still couldn't confirm if it would be aired (moved) to other channels.

Samantha: I see.

But I think is, Kah Lai Toi want to pull off the channel from Astro, so they don't want to continue the agreement with Astro, not the other way round.
I guess is either due to low viewership or budget constraints, or both.

I mean, how popular or well known is Kah Lai Toi channel to Malaysians anyway? It is just a matter of time.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Sep 26 2017, 02:29 PM
joshhd
post Sep 26 2017, 02:30 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 26 2017, 07:07 AM)
Hahahaha you are suppose 2 rub off the names and profile picture😂😂👊👊
Opps... my bad.
I've edited it. Thanks for reminding. I didn't thought about that...
joshhd
post Sep 28 2017, 12:23 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Low Li Hao @ Sep 27 2017, 05:39 PM)
http://www.xuan.com.my/entertainment/artic...666/goXUANRadio

Astro has rebranded Star Radio Capital FM 88.9 into new Chinese radio station called goXUAN!!
It's been about a week ago that 88.9MHz (Klang Valley) keep playing those Chinese hit songs with some Korean and English songs for 24/7 non-stop, all without ads and no much DJ talking... only pre-recorded DJ voiceovers.

Good to see a new Malaysian radio station rclxms.gif
joshhd
post Sep 28 2017, 09:39 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Sep 28 2017, 12:34 AM)
Oh, in testing mode... wink.gif

Later, be sure to listen bunch of ads on radio.. sad.gif
It's good. But, too much ads is annoying.. doh.gif doh.gif
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 28 2017, 01:30 AM)
......instead of music station, perhaps these stations should be called as advertisement station.  dry.gif

Once I listen to our local radio (cant remember which) ....in one hour = music 20 minutes (total 5 songs), advertisement 40 minutes.  doh.gif
Radio station is like that one... Advertising is the way for them to earn money mah... Dont forget that we don't pay anything to enjoy listening to music and radio programmes, but only a radio player.
joshhd
post Sep 28 2017, 10:18 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Sep 28 2017, 07:35 AM)
Hi guys... just wondering...

I m stayin in condo. And the condo comes in with one port ready for Astro.
But I wish to use PVR. It comes with 2 ports right or 1 port to connect to satelite only?

Or how to connect tat 2 ports into that one single holes for Satelite? Is there any one to many port hub available?

Please help. Thank you.
It will be complicated oh... But it is possible to use a splitter, but it will have signal conflict when you tune/record between SD and some HD channels.

It is also possible to connect only 1 port to the PVR box from ur centralised dish. But you can only watch/record one channel at a time. After u connect to the port, and when you see "Service currently not available", try record any other channel that you subscribed from EPG, then tune to the channel that you record, then you should able to watch as per normal already.
joshhd
post Oct 1 2017, 11:08 PM

7,791 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...act-with-astro/

The annual fee per Ku-band transponder would be US$1.8mil for the first two years, US$2mil for the next four years, and US$2.2mil for the rest of the contract period. Hence the total fee would be US$166.4mil.

So I assume that the price for one (1) Ku band transponder from Measat is:
*correct me if I'm wrong

First 2 years: US$1.8mil (approx RM7.6 mil) per year
After 2nd year, the amount for next 4 years: US$2mil (RM8.4mil) per year
6th year onwards: US$2.2mil (RM9.2mil) per year

Hmm... Feels like kinda expensive to me... Does anyone knows what is the transponder leasing price rates for other commercial satellite operators like Asiasat, ABS, SES all those?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Oct 1 2017, 11:08 PM
joshhd
post Oct 2 2017, 05:39 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Oct 1 2017, 06:55 PM)
We can dream to get free satelite TV service in Malaysia... cry.gif sad.gif
I get to watch this somewhere place in Malaysia... devil.gif brows.gif
[attachmentid=9192066][attachmentid=9192067][attachmentid=9192068][attachmentid=9192069][attachmentid=9192070][attachmentid=9192071]
Ah, that is Thailand's free-to-view TV provider, IPM. Just purchase the STB and enjoy it for life. No monthly fees, no such thing as "prepaid channels" like Njoi Prepaid, or whatsoever.
Thankfully, the Ku band coverage is big enough to cover entire Peninsular Malaysia, lucky for Thai people residing in Malaysia brows.gif

But for me, hmmm not so interested with Thai shows la...
And btw, the SD/HD quality from IPM is pretty bad, worse than Astro's quality cuz they use even lower video bitrate.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Oct 2 2017, 05:40 PM
joshhd
post Oct 2 2017, 05:42 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Oct 2 2017, 02:39 AM)
I know we already discuss about this satellite thingy for Ansa to use in page 130 astro byond v13 tered. But, seems like our Measat company not really help. So, i think ABS is suitable for Ansa. hmm.gif

I think Ansa can afford to use ABS 2A satellite service. All location in Malaysia is covered with this new satellite. Just check ABS website & this satelite just start service in 21st January 2017(which is ABS new satellite).

Also check lyngsat page. I see ABS 2A is not fully utilized yet. This new ABS 2A satellite got 48 Ku-band transponder that cover SEA coverage including our country in Malaysia. Maybe, me hope that Ansa can enter deal with ABS to use new ABS 2A satellite to offer Pay TV service in Malaysia... rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

The question is, how much transponder leasing price for ABS 2A satellite? Is it their pricing is much more cheaper than Measat, even ABS 2A just launch 14 June 2016. Enter service in 21 January 2017. Hope is either slim or we might see miracle(right there)... innocent.gif

http://www.absatellite.com/satellite-fleet/?sat=abs2a
https://www.lyngsat.com/ABS-2A.html
Will see how lo...
If I would guess, ABS seems to be a good choice for Ansa...
joshhd
post Oct 3 2017, 11:58 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Oct 2 2017, 07:11 PM)
I will say this.
All IPM drama & kids show in Thai dub & sub.

Maybe, you can just watch TV1 or TV3.
Or sports channel in IPM platform. smile.gif

This is not at my home. But, elsewhere(which is i will not tell you since we got Astro or SKMM spy this forum here). laugh.gif

This is the IPM Ku-band channel list.
https://www.ipmss.com/ช่องราย...าร-ku-band/

Boomerang HD is SD channel anyway. Don't know why it stated as HD. Quite surprise they have IPM Ani+ HD channel dedicated for anime show. But, something wrong because no signal to get.. sad.gif

Lucky Thai people. Got many choice.
No need to pay monthly at all. rclxms.gif smile.gif

SD channel in IPM are using MPEG2 codec same like astro. Not complain much because it's free for life & no bunch of ads like astro. They just put a lot shopping channel to make ads... hmm.gif
No need to tell where la...

Astro or MCMC spy this forum? Wait... Since when they care so much about the people, where they Astro already monopolised the pay TV market?
As long they dominated the market, and their profit keep increasing, I don't think they will care about what we say online tongue.gif
joshhd
post Oct 4 2017, 01:05 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Oct 3 2017, 10:38 PM)
Lucky you Singaporean..
You have about 300 channel TV & almost 200 channel are in HD quality... wink.gif

And, Toonami still shows MAL name. Even, Astro & HyppTV not take that channel.. sad.gif
I guess AMC HD is not popular & the channel itself identity is stolen by FOX HD channel.

I think Astro Prima HD will be available if the channel is on Measat 3 C-band. Just check through lyngsat page. Still in SD quality. I think joshhd is misleading. It's okay. You all have variety of channels. Here, we have crap rojak channel... sad.gif

I wonder what will happen to Malaysia Pay TV market if taken by Pakatan or DAP party. Either will be improve or price will be more cheaper. But, we need to look back with our current RM money to go strong(atleast to go normal rates).. smile.gif

Which is never happen in Malaysia.. doh.gif laugh.gif
Sorry for the confusion about the Astro Prima...
But do note that, Astro might provide some content in HD quality on On Demand platform when a particular programme is only available in SD on the linear channel. So, you'll see the channel logo smaller or different position than the linear channel.
joshhd
post Oct 4 2017, 01:06 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Oct 3 2017, 09:34 PM)
Sorry for the late confirmation ..... Both astro chs On Singtel are still in SD. On another post on the Thai DTH feed, just google and realized the Boomerang ch is a dedicated Thai feed.

Other updates: Singtel dropped AMC HD and [V] India. For the latter, STAR is pulling the ch out fr Southeast Asia...  Now TV HK has also ceased the ch.
AMC channel mostly air those old programmes, similar like HITS channel.
Don't know why, it sounds like a boring channel to me.

Btw thanks for providing us the updates.

24 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.1378sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:51 AM