24 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

astro byond V13

joshhd
post Apr 25 2017, 02:02 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Apr 25 2017, 01:55 AM)
Warner TV HD have expired exclusive contract with TM HyppTV.. hmm.gif

Astro turns to lose exclusive contract with AXN & ONE HD when?... brows.gif

Doesn't matter if exclusive in Astro Go. Because we can watch it on HyppTV Everywhere app too(RM1/day for 3 channel)... laugh.gif
Is it true that Warner TV channel's exclusive licence with Hypp TV has over? Or you're just assuming?

HyppTV Everywhere? RM1/day = RM30/month? Lol? Nope.

joshhd
post Apr 25 2017, 02:33 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Apr 25 2017, 01:27 PM)
just wondering if anyone has experience with this..

I have a byond pvr box at home.. previously upgraded from the old box (paid full amount for this old box) + RM200 for the upgrade. ( they took the old box away)

if i were to terminate my astro subs, will they take away my pvr box ? or i get to keep both the dish and the box ?
If your contract is over, you may able to keep your Astro STB. If not over, the STB must return.

As for satellite dish, you got the option to remain as it is, or tell them to dismantle it for you.
joshhd
post Apr 25 2017, 02:47 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Apr 25 2017, 01:27 PM)
just wondering if anyone has experience with this..

I have a byond pvr box at home.. previously upgraded from the old box (paid full amount for this old box) + RM200 for the upgrade. ( they took the old box away)

if i were to terminate my astro subs, will they take away my pvr box ? or i get to keep both the dish and the box ?
Astro will for sure ask you the reason of the termination. I suggest that you better give positive/neutral reasons (e.g. no one at home most of the time, having financial issues, temporarily stop for now) rather than negative reasons (e.g. Astro so many repeats and ads, lousy channels, I rather use Internet to watch shows like Netflix/iflix/illegal IPTV services) to avoid any inconvenience they would give you.

Last time there's a case where the customer got to go all the way to Astro centre to return the Astro box (including its smart card, remote control, etc.), otherwise customer got to pay penalty fee. After returning it, then only they will assign an installer to dismantle the satellite dish for you. I can see that Astro is deliberately giving inconveniences to customers to terminate Astro, but 'm not sure if this still happens today.

If you try to convince them (by telling lies) that you might subscribe/reactivate Astro again in the future, they are expecting that you might reactivate Astro again next time, so it is more likely that they will allow you to keep your Astro box and its accessories as well as the satellite dish.

However as a general knowledge for you, according to their policy, if you tell them that you will migrate to other country, then you must return the STB and its accessories for sure. That's because they know that you won't be subscribe to Astro in the future since you won't be in Malaysia.

So as you can see, this is a case to case basis. So, you better come out a good reason. Hehe.
joshhd
post Apr 25 2017, 02:49 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Low Li Hao @ Apr 25 2017, 01:58 PM)
No lah, Astro has renewed the exclusive contract wirh AXN & ONE HD and don't forget, this 1st May will also celebrate Jade Pack 1st anniversary.
Where did you get this info?
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 12:44 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 25 2017, 10:12 PM)
in the past it is used to be ok one. the same drama broadcasted few years in full screen, while now broadcasted in letterbox.

i could only explain this that they do it for those 4k tv? because if show on full screen will be stretched so there will be too much distortion?
No... Nothing gonna do with 4K TV. No need to think until that far.
It's all about aspect ratio and video quality. Initially the channel is in SD 4:3 but now the channel provider provides the channel in HD 16:9. But Astro still offer the same channels in 4:3 without stretching/remove letterbox, so letterbox will appear at all times in order for 16:9 content to display correctly on 4:3 TV. But it won't look good for 16:9 TVs as viewers will see stretched image+letterbox.

Things become worse when the channel is airing a 4:3 programme in 16:9 HD channel. Pillarbox will be added from channel provider + unnecessary letterbox added from Astro = windowboxed (black bars on top, bottom, left and right sides).

Astro has this hidden agenda to display letterbox for 16:9 content on 4:3 channel is for the sake of marketing of HD service. If Astro transmit the channel in native 16:9 aspect ratio, majority of the customers won't be able to see the difference between SD and HD, making HD service (RM26.50/month) no longer a good selling point, and no longer something that is easier to persuade customers to subscribe to.

You can try compare it yourself with Astro Arena channel. Astro Arena is one of the native 16:9 SD channels on Astro. Make sure you're watching from HDMI. Ask yourself, how BIG is the difference you see between CH802 (SD) and ch802 (HD)? Now you know why Astro is reluctant to display all of its SD channels in natove 16:9? Astro only handpicked several SD channels to be in native 16:9 (NHK World, Bloomberg, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, Disney XD, Astro Arena, Eurosport, FYI) and nobody knows what's the reason behind it.

When it shows letterbox, you will see the difference and having the tendency to subscribe to HD service because of its pictures quality differences. And eventually, Astro earn money.
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 01:26 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 26 2017, 01:19 AM)
But for those channels like xinghe and tvb classic there is no HD version. So it does not help rite?.
On Astro, only in SD. But God knows why they still insist to transmit the channels in 4:3.

I was told by Astro via email that the reason why not all SD channels being transmitted in 16:9 is due to customers who still using a selected models of legacy Astro STB will not be able to watch the channel if it is in 16:9 where only the audio will be played but with black screen. However I'm not convinced by this, as they can still choose to transmit the channels in 4:3 but without any letterboxes that is currently added by them.

Surely there's a hidden reason for Astro to do this deliberately, and for sure they do not want the public to know.
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 01:52 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Apr 26 2017, 01:31 AM)
You are smart thinking. rclxms.gif

Both is same because 802 Arena will be in MPEG4 anyway. Because its original feed is HD. And astro transmit the HD channel by using MPEG4 codec. To know this, you need both HDMI & 3 old cable connect to your HDTV & watch the channel. Arena 802 looks like real 480p in Youtube. I try to display some TV channel ads download from Youtube. And the result is same because my eyes cannot see any difference between both 480p vs 720p. Because it almost same for my eyes. You can try to download some Astro ads on Youtube in 480p & 720p and put the files in USB. Both are same anyway laugh.gif

Also you can try to download some Disney Asia ads in 480p & its look good on my HDTV. Almost in 720p HD quality. But i realise that we still don't have Disney Channel HD in astro... cry.gif
Yes you're right.
Not to say no difference between 801 and 802. It's just that the difference is not very obvious for every viewers to notice. Did you know that there are people that cannot differentiate between SD and HD, and they think that both SD and HD are the same thing? Astro aware of this, and that's why they're deliberately find ways to make us customer to be able to see the obvious difference compared over SD and HD. Then only Astro can earn more money mah... This is called, marketing.
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 08:44 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 26 2017, 07:37 AM)
Exactly, all the while it is ok one. Only recently it turns into letterbox. And it is not all drama will be like that. But instead only those older years drama that are on SD and not yet HD one will have letterbox. This is the reason why I suspect it could be due to the new 4k tvs that ppl may use nowadays so they did the change like this.
You mean pillarbox (black bars at left and right sides)?
If you encounter this, you got to manually change viewing mode by pressing the change aspect ratio button on your remote control, choose LB Expand. The pillarbox added by channel provider (TVB) is meant for 4:3 SD programme to display in proper shape on 16:9 TV instead of stretching it to full screen.
This is all about aspect ratio, nothing gonna do with 4K TV.
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 08:49 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 26 2017, 08:32 AM)
If just use to watch astro, FHD TV is just enough..
But if u download & have 4k content.. Then buy 4k TV tongue.gif
But then, 4K TV is worth considering to buy if it's within your budget because 4K TV is the future of TV standards. You should take TV is a long term investment cuz unlike smartphone, we tend to change to new phone after around 2 years of using it, unless it still works fine. You're not gonna change a new TV every few years, isn't?

The 4K UHD content and even HDR 10 bit era is already starting now, sooner or later those will become mainstream. Technology changes very fast...

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 26 2017, 08:50 AM
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 10:04 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 26 2017, 09:02 AM)
Not at the left or right. The Programmes are broadcasted in a letterbox in the exact center of the screen while the surrounding are all black. All the while it is not like this. In the past only Asian channels do this not xinghe or tvb classic now all same.

And it is only for older tvb drama.

Nothing to do with my settings at all. Different dramas under the same channels just simply appear differently.
That is called windowboxed, where blacks bars are visible at all corners of the screen. Yes, it is a mistake from Astro side by adding letterbox (top and bottom) of it.

The only solution is change to LB Expand when you see this when watching Xinghe or TVB Classic, at least the picture won't look too small.
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 10:09 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 26 2017, 09:25 AM)
actually astro their satellite broadcast is rather outdated. If compare the same hd content to watch on astro satellite vs the same content on IPTV  like hypptv. Even SD one can tell the difference.

But to subscribe to astro IPTV must use maxis broadband which are on different package than the standard one. This is a bit turn off.

Plus the cons about the satellite tv.......
The main thing is outdated is Astro still using MPEG2 codec and DVB-S (modulation) for SD channels, which is now consider as obsolete technology just for the sake of the compatibility of legacy Astro STBs but as for HD channels, Astro uses MPEG4 codec and DVB-S2 (modulation). Meanwhile Hypp TV uses MPEG4 for both SD and HD channels.

Both satellite and IPTV has its pros and cons, in terms of reliability and coverage.
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 11:56 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 26 2017, 11:52 AM)
Hmm true...
But nowadays since technology changes fast, maybe if buy later.. 4k TV becomes cheaper...
Few more years down the road, 4k will become the standard from current 1080p
True also... 4K TV now is quite affordable already lo. In another few more years will be even affordable.
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 12:03 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 26 2017, 12:01 PM)
Well those low end 4k TV pricing seems okay okay.. But I got some doubt on the display quality..

The high end one that cost a bomb tongue.gif but quality superb rclxms.gif
More or less got difference la...
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 04:08 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 26 2017, 03:42 PM)
problem is that it is not all drama appeared like that, only old drama, u can try to tune to asian channel, u will know what i mean. the asian channel is the first one to have this windowboxed thingy. after that recent few months tvb classic follows, then only xinghe follows.

the old drama will just appeared as a small box in the middle of the screen. resolution is very poor also and the biggest problem is that it is too small to see.

so i am not sure if it can be adjusted by using remote control to adjust it. I will try it but i doubt so that it can be solved though.

if it can be done also, i supposed the image will be distorted and quality of the image will be extremely bad.
I understand what you're trying to say. But we as a viewer, can't do anything but only to press "change aspect ratio" button on ur remote control, change from Fit to screen to LB Expand.

This is a video encoding mistake made by Astro, and we can't do anything about it. Even you complain to Astro, they won't listen. I've tried that before.
joshhd
post Apr 26 2017, 08:53 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Apr 26 2017, 07:20 PM)
not only the astro EPG promote HOTLINK HAPPY HOUR but it started to advertise in TV(in 5 languages, English, BM, Chinese, Cantonese and Hokkien,yes you might not heard about Hokkien ads, but now every maxis ad now in Hokkien) even in music app SPOTIFY..
so that last time HOTLINK HAPPY HOUR ads in EPG is testing water only?
For sure they're not testing the feature, but I think is at the same time they earn money from it, they also want to see how's the response of the public.
joshhd
post Apr 27 2017, 12:02 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Apr 27 2017, 02:03 AM)
Warner TV(CH719) on Astro! drool.gif rclxm9.gif
Finally! Yeay... biggrin.gif
So, TM deals with Warner TV HD have expired & Astro can get the channel... hmm.gif rclxm9.gif
[attachmentid=8767475][attachmentid=8767476][attachmentid=8767477]
Yay... Finally...
Btw TM deal with Warner TV got expired meh? Or maybe just the exclusive license is being expired but non exclusive license still not yet expire? Hmm
joshhd
post Apr 28 2017, 10:09 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 28 2017, 09:56 AM)
Why u go watch astro SD channels on 4K TV laugh.gif
Even FHD TV also I feels kinda blur shakehead.gif

Damn even the Hits HD channels also blur blink.gif

Anyhow I'm waiting for the baywatch series brows.gif
Well, there's a way to make your TV look better on those blur HD channels, as well as SD channels. Which is, make your TV's image quality smoother instead of sharper.

Adjust your TV's Sharpness setting into 0/100. Yes, all the way to 0. You may notice the image quality will look natural sharpness instead of artificial sharpness. Why am I suggesting you guys to do this? Read here: https://www.cnet.com/how-to/turn-down-your-...rpness-control/

Now my TV's sharpness is 0, I am very satisfied with the picture quality. It displays natural sharpness from source (Astro) and I don't want my TV to have image enhancement on it that will make it look unnatural. But it depends, some people prefer to have it sharpen because Astro SD channels will look blurry, but at least the MPEG2 image artifacts won't be obvious.
joshhd
post Apr 28 2017, 10:10 AM

7,791 posts

It's great to have Warner TV on Astro as well as the upcoming tvN Movies. Thumbs up for Astro, this time. 👍
joshhd
post Apr 28 2017, 01:08 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Apr 28 2017, 12:40 PM)
i am experience it .. watching tv3 SD in 4k tv blur..
If you can't tolerate the blueness, you can watch FTA terrestrial channels via digital TV instead from Astro.
Because Digital TV in Malaysia uses MPEG4, where the image quality is much better than the one you watch on Astro.

Since newer TVs has built-in digital TV tuner, just connect the cable of your UHF antenna, initiate auto scan and you should be able to receive those channels.
joshhd
post Apr 28 2017, 05:14 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Apr 28 2017, 02:34 PM)
i have made it to 0 sharpness but i think not comfortable with it .. because in HBO hd picture look like blur a bit so i increase to 20 .. and now a bit ok compare to 0% sharpness .. i think different tv has different settings
As long you're comfortable with your preferences.
Or maybe for some TVs, putting 0 sharpness will display blurry image (like really blurry), I'm not very sure about it.

24 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1599sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:41 AM