Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

voonmingloo
post May 18 2017, 01:39 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ May 18 2017, 12:56 PM)
Muamalat 4.5% @ 12 months promotion profit is payable at redemption only.  Monthly, etc. profit payments only applicable to board rates.

This is a Non-negotiatable promotion for amounts less than RM5mil.  If you have RM5 million coming up, you can nego.

Sales execs. are mobile and can visit you at your place and convenience (they have mobile thumb scanner) to take your documents and process on the spot.
For additional details, Minimum amount is RM100K to get 4.5% p.a. for 12 months FD, less than that is 3.8% p.a.
voonmingloo
post May 18 2017, 01:52 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ May 18 2017, 12:24 PM)
The shareholders comprise DRB-HICOM, which holds 70% shares in the Bank while Khazanah Nasional Berhad holds the remaining shares.

any concerns? hmm.gif
Just deposit not more than 250K. PIDM protected.
voonmingloo
post May 22 2017, 11:44 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 20 2017, 10:42 PM)
I also got this glossy leaflet about 15 cm x 21 cm which does not have much detail. I was also shown another which shows the details when I visited on Friday. The promo changes for WLB! 5 RI2 were not even printed in the other paper as probably old existing one. An officer told the attending teller about the change. There are quite a number of rates shown but probably not relevant.
Bank Muamalat has PIDM. The chairman is Tan Sri Dr Munir bin Abdul Majid.
100K for 12 months 4.5% p.a, less than 100K different rate. no need 101K to get 4.5%. Go to Melawati Branch see Cik Reena. Every branch should have an officer in charge about solely on this new promotion.
voonmingloo
post May 22 2017, 11:49 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(spurswong @ May 20 2017, 11:34 AM)
Anybody got any experience with their mobile sales exec? They will come to your office? Too good to be true!
First time opening new account still need to go to banking hall. Later you have account already, can arrange but only for deposit by cheque. They come pick up only.
voonmingloo
post May 24 2017, 05:17 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ May 24 2017, 04:35 PM)
Any idea if Muamalat needs 100k in single cert or can break it up into 2 or 3 certs?
Cannot break, must be 100k in one cert

This post has been edited by voonmingloo: May 24 2017, 05:18 PM
voonmingloo
post May 24 2017, 05:27 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ May 24 2017, 05:25 PM)
Can use 2 bc from different banks combine to make 100k ?
Most banks can....but PBB cannot
This one I ask the rep tomorrow as he is coming to send me the cert to my house.
voonmingloo
post Feb 14 2018, 12:40 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 14 2018, 11:22 AM)
Latest from KFH,
the effective rate can be much higher due to
1. upfront profit payment which you can reinvest in another fd,
2. higher rate in the last month.

No, unker too lazy to calculate, count it yourself.
I really don't like the service at KFH, deposit or withdrawal or placing a FD will cost you wait for 30 minutes to finish the transactions, this case was when I am the only customer in the place. What a nuisance. Even the service at Bank Muamalat was better than them.
voonmingloo
post May 22 2018, 02:24 PM

454 posts

Is AmBank still got 4.4%? My Muamalat FD mature tomorrow, asked earlier for retention rate is 4.1% only.
voonmingloo
post Feb 19 2019, 03:49 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 19 2019, 03:41 PM)
whr u find it? i see website only got 3%
When you login Hong Leong Connect, then you can see it at one of the banner. Only for eFD.
voonmingloo
post May 15 2019, 02:19 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ May 15 2019, 01:01 PM)
Ive just placed wit BI

4.4% through bankers cheque

Since its bankers cheque, need to go back there on friday to collect the cert. when BC is cleared

No need open savings account

Shah alam branch
I did the FD at Bank Islam at Tesco Ampang using bankers cheques twice already, collected the receipts on the spot, no need wait n need to go back again.
voonmingloo
post May 15 2019, 07:48 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ May 15 2019, 03:00 PM)
6months
Damn it! Y mine need to wait.. terrible branch
BI no need CASA
Is it you went there and process at late afternoon? Around 3.30 pm? As cheques need to be bank in system before 3.30pm for same day clearance. If not the case, can check with the person in charge and ask to have the cert on the same day.

voonmingloo
post Aug 27 2019, 05:40 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(MakcikLum @ Aug 27 2019, 12:59 AM)
Wah! lucky lah u ... may I know which Affin branch you place ? Thanks. smile.gif
Yesterday I also got it at 4.23% 15 months. The location is at MyTown.
voonmingloo
post Sep 4 2019, 11:06 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Sep 3 2019, 09:26 PM)
the staff in mytown (via call) told me they can process open new account upto 10pm, only placement of FD must be before 530pm.

tomorrow will called them to confirm again
If deposit FD(s) at MyTown AND want the same day effective deposit for the same day, all personal cheques or banker's cheques that need to deposit for FD in MyTown KL, U BETTER need to be there and done before 4pm as this "Service centre" does NOT have a cheque deposit bank-in machine as it is not a banking hall at all. After the FD account is created by their laptop (link to affin system), the cheque will be handle by the their delivery man (if he is around as he need to travel to Maluri banking branch to deposit the cheque and collect the FD slips back to MyTown again, if after 4.30pm for cheque deposit in Maluri branch which is a cut off time for banking day, it will consider next BUSINESS day transaction and the FD effective day will be next Business day). So the person in charge in MyTown will check whether the delivery man in nearby or not when he/she start creating the FD account for you to make sure whether can make it on time. If not, it will be next business day to collect your slip. But you don't have to be there to do the transaction anymore. As it has been key in the system.

AFFIN MyTown is merely a service centre with ATM machines convenient for people who just want to come after office hour to do any transaction like creating account (can be same day as there is cash deposit machine, FD (effective next business day). So it is good for people who go on Weekend and do it in LEISURELY and on Monday OR any even in next weekend,(or next next) U go and collect the slip. No need to take leave.

All other banks should have practice more on these service centre that can accept FD deposit after office hour and don't mind the next business effective day slip or cert.

voonmingloo
post Sep 19 2019, 06:30 PM

454 posts

Here is the information of FPX limit for banks

voonmingloo
post Oct 22 2019, 12:30 PM

454 posts

If we instant transfer to MBSB SA from another bank today 50K max, and tomorrow do another transfer 50K max from another bank into this MBSB SA to make it 100k. Then tomorrow we go to the MBSB branch to apply for the FD offer (with CASA). can still consider fresh fund and get the promotion effective rate of 4.25%?
voonmingloo
post Oct 22 2019, 03:12 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(poor fella @ Oct 22 2019, 02:22 PM)
most banks that i deal with takes anything within 7 days as 'fresh fund'. u may call the branch and confirm with that specific officer.
Thanks, I called my branch and will take it at fresh fund indeed.
voonmingloo
post Nov 7 2019, 07:02 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(talzer @ Nov 7 2019, 04:34 PM)

assume i want to put RM30k into fixed deposit, what are the rates i can negotiate from banks ? or it is too little for them to care?
Normally for PB customers, minimum is 100K for RM to help get better rate
voonmingloo
post Nov 19 2019, 05:01 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(Micozole @ Nov 19 2019, 02:24 PM)
just got back from Affin bank, offering 3.9% for 12 mths...

my previous one was at 4.45% rate and it just matured...so tried nego and was told 3.9% is the highest for now..

end up withdrawing all 200k in bank draft...

any idea where i can get close to 4.4% currently? if not better... nod.gif
MBSB Bank, effective rate 4.25%, for 6 months only.
voonmingloo
post Nov 20 2019, 06:22 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Nov 20 2019, 04:06 PM)
The effective rate is good but mind you that the promo is a CASA bundle
Yes, the amount placed in FD gets the rate 5.5% for 75% amount placed and remaining 25% amount in CASA (current account saving account) is 0.5%. And best is queue in branch is virtually no one at all. Done mine in 10 to 15 minuets only. After 6 months, amount will be transfer to saving account. So you just apply internet banking and transfer elsewhere or FPX to another bank that gives best rate for FD (free for debit card 1st year so no charges at all).
voonmingloo
post Nov 21 2019, 05:42 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 21 2019, 07:36 AM)
Mbsb bank now have internet banking already?
Yes, apply the debit card at counter first then apply the internet banking at home.

0.0539sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:48 AM