Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

c64
post Sep 4 2021, 12:21 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Sep 2 2021, 02:14 PM)
What is the current promo as there is no info on its website.

Seem like no saving account able to open online without visit to their branch. Just to confirm.
Affin Bank has one of the worst bank account opening procedures....open a saving account need to fill up so many pages of form. I transfer money out of the country also no need so many forms.
c64
post Sep 4 2021, 12:30 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Sep 2 2021, 10:57 AM)
I notice that BR, BM, AB maybe others are consistently having promo on eFD higher than PBB and HLBB.

I only have MBB, RHB, PBB and HLBB. Which one worth to open an online saving account to get better eFD rate?

TIA.
Currently HLB has the best offer curently at 2.4%. Previously bout one two months ago AmBank has very high rates at up to 2.7% for 18 mths. MBB is the worst, i just have it for the current account. I would say HLB, RHB has the highest rates usually while PBB have the 2.2%@ 3mths offer seems to be all year round. lol. Other banks depends on offer lor.
c64
post Sep 7 2021, 11:10 AM

711 posts

Just curious...is everybody active in this thread > 50 yrs old? Lol.
c64
post Sep 9 2021, 12:57 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Sep 8 2021, 08:54 PM)
I'm 33
QUOTE(LoTek @ Sep 7 2021, 01:49 PM)
Silent reader here. I'm in my 20s tongue.gif
Lol. I thought young guys wouldn't be bothered with boring low interests FD. biggrin.gif
c64
post Sep 9 2021, 01:02 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Sep 7 2021, 01:51 PM)
The old timers in this forum most likely yes, maybe like 100 pages earlier...
Not possible & is a MUST to make an appointment with them.
Moreover, you need to bring a utility bill if your IC address is not nearby the branch you're going to & declare source of income if plan to open a savings account first.

As I had a previous account, now I'm having issues accessing my savings account via online & have to go back to the branch again.
With the pandemic, seems like is a pain to open a bank account at most places...
I already have an affin savings account but to qualify for Invikta promo rates, I need to open an Invikta account which is as slow as opening new to bank account.

Bank Muamalat is equally as slow.
What is this Invikta account? I have FD with Affin maturing this month. And now with Selngor moving to Phase 2, i can go to KL Bank Muamalat to open account if needed...but is this Mualamat Jalat like Affin and RHB?
c64
post Sep 11 2021, 08:07 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(a.lifehacks @ Sep 10 2021, 10:15 AM)
The waiting time in Affin Bank is indeed much longer as compared with other banks. Not sure what others think, but I think the staffs there are much friendlier la.

I guess it’s a trade off between waiting time and friendly service? Hahah
So far, most staff in bank are friendly...just some inefficient....CIMB even managed to open the wrong type of account for me. Really KNS.
c64
post Sep 15 2021, 09:56 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 14 2021, 06:16 PM)
BR branch called to collect FD cert renewed thru' WhatsApp and email instructions. This branch is in another district, luckily now can cross districts with 2 jabs.

Surprisingly no other customer in the branch, either due to Covid scare or other reasons.

BR no FD promo at the moment.
Thing i don't like about BR is there is no PIDM protection. Can you do FPX out from this bank? Later put in money, need to go bank to take out money....sweat.gif...i do everything online nowadays...FPX from this bank to that bank, whereever got promo. Stay at home, click click, place FD, watch Netflix.
c64
post Sep 15 2021, 10:42 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(chiwawa10 @ Sep 15 2021, 04:34 PM)
Thanks bro. But the rates look miserable sad.gif
Always check this website every month for best and latest promo.

https://loanstreet.com.my/learning-centre/b...-deposit-promos

Currently HLB has best offer.

c64
post Sep 16 2021, 02:27 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(chiwawa10 @ Sep 15 2021, 11:41 PM)
HLB always require fresh fund. My funds are already there. Hahaha..
Easy mah, transfer out , and FPX back. I always do that. Just need to wash money with other bank and then come back nice, fresh and clean. 😄
c64
post Sep 16 2021, 07:35 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(joeduff @ Sep 16 2021, 04:46 PM)
OMG~ Bank Mualamalat only able to place E-FD on business day. I tried to place on today 16/9, but failed and i called CS to ask and they told me try to place the e-fd on tomorrow business day
Can place eFD already cukur...don't expect much from these banks in terms of services.
c64
post Sep 17 2021, 09:34 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Sep 17 2021, 06:57 AM)
I think you can set a higher daily limit for Duitnow transfers for PBB and Maybank (not sure about other banks as i only use 2 banks)- my Duitnow transfer limit is rm50k and total limit (inlcuding Giro and other transfers) is rm100k for MBB but PBB limit is only rm50k for all transfers. My fpx limit is rm100k for both MBB and PBB.

MBB efd rates are terrible compared to PBB. I have all my efd with PBB. Nearly every morning (i have quite a lot of efd), i have to transfer to MBB and then fpx back. Sometimes i have to do the fpx three times as i break my efd to 1,2 and 3 months just in case i need the funds.

The rm50k daily limit for Duitnow transfers is a real pain. If my total for the day is more than 50k, i have to use my wife's acct as well (total of 100k per day limit for both of us.) to do the Duitnow transfer. I do this so many times a month, it is like a routine for me  smile.gif . The real pain is using PBB token to transfer - need to key in so may digits into the token and got to login to the token every time the token times out and goes blank  bangwall.gif

Hope this helps.

P's: PBB only allows you to do rm30k each time so if you exceed the rm30k limit, you have to do it twice (like if you want to transfer rm50k, you need to do rm30k and then another rm20k). Real pain!
PBB got 20k limit to FPX out daily..so if you want to FPX to other bank, bear this in mind. I don't put more than RM20k eFD per day in PBB...so easy to FPX to other banks if i needed to when it matures.
MBB has the highest transfer limit so far (DuitNow) and can be up to 100k if i am not wrong.
c64
post Sep 18 2021, 08:15 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Sep 17 2021, 10:42 AM)
I don't understand what is meant by fpx limit. My PBB and May bank fpx limit are both 100k (i also don't know why it is set to this limit as i only started using fpx about 3 months ago).

If i am putting in an efd from Maybank to PBB for 50k, am i using the fpx limit from Maybank or from PBB or both?

My Duitnow (Maybank) is set to 50k but there is something in there called Instant Interbank Transfer Limit and mine is set to 100k. So many different types of limit in Maybank - there is also one for Interbank Giro Transfer (limit also 100k). So confusing - sometimes you don't know which one is the limit one is using.

Over the past 3 months, i have exceeded the limit quite a few times so i am quite confused. Don't know why there are so many types of limits  bangwall.gif
From Maybank to PBB, you using Maybank FPX limit. Maybank have much higher limit. I can't remember if it's 50k or 100k. But theDuitBow transfer limit is 100k for Maybank.

FPX limit is when you want to do eFD to another bank.
Duit now transfer limit is just transfer,not eFD.

So these are the difference.

Why there are so many limits? Because banks don't want you to take your cash and runs to another bank and tries to make your life miserable. by making it hard to place eFD elsewhere.

Banks with higher transfer/FPX Limit ae Maybank and CIMB. Ambank has high transfer limit, but not sure the FPX limit.

RHB is the worst. You literally can't do any FPX using the web browser and must do it with mobile app (web browser limit for FPX and js RM 9,999.99 no joking). Basically forget using web browser to transfer money if you are using RHB. Really Horrible Bank!

Oh yeah, Duit Now got two types, one is for directly to the person via IC or something, which I feels very insercured and I usually disable or set the limit to zero. The other Duit Now is to bank account (formerly known as Instant Transfer). And then there is Interbank Giro transfer which nobody use now because it's slow to clear and also charge you money for transfer.

Are you confused yet? Lol.
c64
post Sep 18 2021, 11:06 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Sep 18 2021, 09:33 AM)
Thank you for your detailed post.

When i login to my Maybank, i see a limit of Duitnow Transfer of rm50k but Instant Interbank Transfer of rm100k. I thought they are the same but how come there are two different figures?

That stupid Giro transfer - there was one day i have finished using my interbank limit so i thought i will try to transfer using Giro and see if i can transfer with that. I didn't get the money till the next day!! My wife was so angry with me as i was trying to use her acct as well. My wife and i have separate passwords which she will not divulge to me while she knows all my passwords. I have got one of those types of wife - your money is mine and my money is mine  smile.gif
Wah...better hide your money in hidden accounts bro....sweat.gif
As for the maybank limit u saw...i believe the first one is the typical DuitNow which can transfer money to anybody by IC or name. If you have no use for this, set the limit to 0. It's very insecured. Scammers who have accessed to your account(touch wood) at least will have a harder time to transfer money and only can transfer to other bank accounts....
c64
post Sep 21 2021, 10:59 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 20 2021, 06:02 PM)
AmOnline: 6 months eTerm Deposit-i (eTD-i) Promotion [ Ambank | T&Cs ]

Today got some FD matured at Affin, i transfered some to Ambank. So i am going to do a review.

First time eFD oout from afiin. I expected lots of problems. As expected encountered some problems:

1) I use webbrowser to do the eFD, after confirmed at Affin website, it supposely triggers the Affin Secure App on your mobile to reject.

2) First time, failed limit, so login to Affin to update my transfer limit. Good news is the FPX limit can be quite high, i set it to RM50k no issue. Some banks like Public only allows RM20k or worse like RHB...transfer don't even work unless its < RM10k. Maybe can set the limit higher. FPX never works in RHB. They simply force you not to transfer FPX out. No kidding.

3) The trigger doesn't happens first time, subsequent time, i disable my WIFI and use only 4G, sometimes, i finds this works better for Bank notifications.

4) The Affin Secure will asked me a PIN. I totally forgot what PIN and key in my Debit Card PIN no....there is another PIN for Affin Secure when i registered. doh.gif Failed a few times due to this. Most other bank apps can recognized my fingerprint on login and there is no need to key in any PIN like zaman batu.

5) Now another problem. You only have 2 freaking minutes from clicking confirm to waiting for notification, open affin secure, click approve and key in PIN no. It's really too little time for so many steps, especially the waiting part can be pretty long.

6) I almost wants to give up and just do DuitNow instant transfer money to Maybank and FPX from there....but i persist and finally managed to do it. This Affin bank probably has the 2nd worst system i have used since RHB. It wins over RHB because at least it worked! But points for higher FPX transfer limit compared to banks like PBB, Ambank and OCBC which has around RM20k to RM30K transfer limit if i am not wrong.

User Experience Score: 2/5

This post has been edited by c64: Sep 21 2021, 11:03 PM
c64
post Sep 23 2021, 02:03 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Sep 22 2021, 01:55 PM)
I also like to do everything online as I live overseas. OTC is very inconvenient for me

But one day, when I die, my family will have a hard time proving that banks have my $$ because only one issue FD cert and only 3 have bank book. I have more than 10 different bank accounts in SEA.

If the bank is dishonest and say I don't have $$ with them, my family will not have any prove with them to claim.

Since 2 years ago, I do screen shot of my bank account and print out every 6 months. Very tedious process but necessary so that my next of kin could get my inheritance
Why not just write down all the login and password in a book and in case anything happens, let your family knows where the book is. I need to write them down anyway since i can't remember all of it.

Never keep your login id and passwords digitally.

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Sep 22 2021, 04:54 PM)
What u wrote is the correct procedure

But in actual fact, many inactive account in Malaysia, the $$ got stolen by employees

My personal experience, with probate, bank still refuse to release info nor let me withdraw. Only relent when we arrive the following week with police report and lawyer but still refuse to provide printed statement of last month statement.

They just give "balance" of what they supposedly see in their computer (which we can't see) and ask to sign documents that say we close acc on behalf of deceased.
May i know which bank?

This post has been edited by c64: Sep 23 2021, 02:04 PM
c64
post Sep 25 2021, 02:27 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ Sep 23 2021, 07:53 PM)
This is not true. Grant of probate or letter of administrator can do wonders without issue. You just need a good lawyer to handle all this and it takes time. It takes 6 months and 11 months respectively due to legal process. 

Once deceased info is submitted, the handling is done by special department. The branch can only execute instructions once gotten approval. Many assume branch can do everything and refuse to help but when someone can walk in with all those and claim those assets.
Never write log in details anywhere. This is dangerous.

All placements come with receipts.

You can file them up or share with someone you trust, otherwise it makes no difference not telling anyone.

Also funds movements after death is a grey area. It is risky and open to challenge. This can be better mitigated with joint names.
This is true...i have experienced. Move out all FDs(joint name) before submitting any probate letter. Only small money left in current/saving accounts, which can be done immediately.
c64
post Sep 30 2021, 01:20 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Sep 28 2021, 01:48 PM)
Muamalat too:

Unfortunately, this has to be placed & uplift OTC.
Usually TIA rates are higher than conventional FD rates so is not really a promo rate. However, do be warned that the rate can go down if the OPR goes down before your TIA matures.
Guys. Don't quite understands this TIA. Is the Bank Mualamat promo is TIA? I have just opened an account, maybe will do some eFD next month when some FDs matured.
c64
post Sep 30 2021, 04:50 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Sep 30 2021, 02:32 PM)
Bank Muamalat promo is NOT TIA and under PIDM. Just transfer money into your Bank Muamalat savings account. Then use the internet banking to choose which tenor you want and also how you want payments to be done. To  make best use of the offer, I usually set for monthly payments so that I can use it combine with other funds to make other FD instead of waiting long time till Maturity Date. I also make sure that each placement will not yield on maturity a principal + last payment that is more than the maximum daily transfer limit of 30k to ensure immediate placement at other competitive  FD instead of being stuck for some days in lower savings rate in Bank Muamalat when redeemed online on Maturity Date. Try to avoid placing OTC to avoid disadvantages.

TIA is not FD and has no PIDM protection. CIMB has TIA and HL has eTIA.

HL  eTIA is a Low Risk Category Investment with 3  promo tenors - 12m at 2.5 %, 6m at 2.45 % and 3m at 2.4 %, and a normal eTIA at only 1.95 % which are done online through HLConnect. How to do and best use of this had been posted before in my previous posts.

You need to check with CIMB or ask other posters on how their current CIMB TIA is done and whether it is still alive. There are no tips on how to get an advantage or how to do  on this.
Thanks for your detail explanation! Yeah, I am doing something like that to counter the RM30k limit of most banks. Public Bank even worse, only max 20k for FPX transfer. Although nothing beats RHB RM 9,999.99. doh.gif

This post has been edited by c64: Sep 30 2021, 04:51 PM
c64
post Sep 30 2021, 05:37 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Sep 30 2021, 05:33 PM)
The other day I transferred out of RHB in multiples of RM 9999 and I think they recently increased the limit to RM50k. One thing good though, it maintains separate limit for DuitNow Instant Transfer and IBG making it possible to transfer a total of RM100k of FD funds.
You transfer FPX? 9999.99? Very leceh how to make FDs like that. But Fyi, you can use their mobile app can Duit Now instant transfer up to 50k per transaction or more. I have only tried 50k so far, not sure what is upper limit. But must be done from mobile app.

This post has been edited by c64: Sep 30 2021, 05:38 PM
c64
post Sep 30 2021, 06:40 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Sep 30 2021, 06:01 PM)
I did not FPX, only did DuitNow instant transfer of 9999. I kept getting errors when trying to transfer RM50k using either mobile apps & internet banking so I gave up on that.
Hmm, did u setup the secure device thingy? If u use mobile app, when you confirm.to transfer > 10k, then the screen will pop up for ubto approve. I use Duit Now to transfer to other banks and FPX from there, done a number of times already.

0.0976sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:38 PM