Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

BWassup
post Oct 31 2023, 10:59 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 31 2023, 08:29 AM)
I tired to read the T n C of the True Saver/FD combo. So long as the True Saver 50% (MAB monthly average balance) amount is counted in the bonus interest, should be OK to achieve higher than the non bonus of 4.0%. Also fulfilling the other requirements listed like 3k bank in, spending/usage of credit cards etc.

However the 18 month 4.1% is good that in case the OPR drops then we can enjoy longer period of higher interest vs the above 12 months.

Add Thurs OPR meeting announcement. Today got FD matured. Haha.
Wait for OPR outcome before placing FD? Who knows, BNM might have to raise rates to stabilise the ringgit, tho analysts' consensus is no hike.
BWassup
post Oct 31 2023, 03:15 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 31 2023, 02:18 PM)
KUALA LUMPUR: There is no need to hike the overnight policy rate (OPR) for now as the country’s present situation does not necessitate it, Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim said.

Anwar said while the value of the ringgit is declining at the moment, it is not the only currency facing such a situation. He cited the decline in the value of the yen and the renminbi.

Basically Big Boss already gave "orders"... No To OPR Hike whistling.gif
Thot BNM is independent? hmm.gif laugh.gif
BWassup
post Oct 31 2023, 05:35 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(1hoohoo1 @ Oct 31 2023, 03:46 PM)
Is this Ambank Bundle FD limited to Privileged Banking customer? Or anyone also can go for it?
As far as I know it is not limited to Privileged customers.

If anyone knows otherwise, please advise.
BWassup
post Oct 31 2023, 10:15 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 31 2023, 08:47 PM)
Hi, the website link only talks about the True Saver Account mechanism. How to do the FB 50:50 bundle, that is under which campaign?

Cap RM100K at True Savers account, means if I place RM300K, RM150K will go to FD and RM150K will go to True Saver, will the balance RM50K at FD and True Saver will get any interest?

Can give hint what amount is eligible for the 7.45% special rate?

Thank you  notworthy.gif
If place 300k, 150k will get FD 7.25% + 100k Truesaver (max 2.5%). The balance 50k in Truesaver will get 0.75% only.

To get 7.45% for FD, someone mentioned 500k, and the Branch has to seek approval from HQ. I enquired last week when I placed 100k, staff said need larger deposit laugh.gif . I believe it also depends what is your overall AUM with AmBank. If you already have existing deposits or other products, there is better chance of getting support from the Branch to request for higher FD rate. No harm just try and ask.
BWassup
post Nov 2 2023, 03:17 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 2 2023, 02:58 PM)
The 100k cap limit is for the True Savers, right? So shouldn't the FD part still get the 7.25%? Unable to find the tnc for the 50:50 bundle thing, so abit uncertain there.
It's unpublished. but the branch staff have the rates laugh.gif

You will still get 7.25% for any amount of FD. But because the FD has to be bundled with Truesavers account, if your total deposit is 300k, the last 100k will earn you 7.25%x 50k + 0.75% x 50k = 4.00% effective rate on the last 100k.
BWassup
post Nov 3 2023, 06:26 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(virulence @ Nov 3 2023, 02:57 PM)
The last time I did with UOB FD OTC, they said need to go back to any branch to uplift or they will renew at board rates.
Same experience for me. But that was 3 years ago.
BWassup
post Nov 4 2023, 02:26 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Nov 4 2023, 09:19 AM)
opened an islamic true saver to combo with TD-i yesterday.

not sure if fpx spending (0.6%) will count towards spending or not.

as the atm card is tied principally to the conventional true saver.

will update.
Does this mean can get another 100k under Truesaver-i at 2.5% interest rate, in addition to 100k under conventional Truesaver at 2.5%? smile.gif

But I just read this T&C:

3.4 In the event where the TRUE Savers Accountholder(s) holds two (2) or TRUE Saversaccounts, Bonus
Rate will be awarded to the TRUE Saversaccount that maintains the highest balance during the month.

hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BWassup: Nov 4 2023, 02:41 PM
BWassup
post Nov 4 2023, 03:51 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Nov 4 2023, 03:42 PM)
ya read that too. but trying with some small amount haha.
Let's see if they treat conventional and islam separately. 😁
anyway will only know mid Jan liao. the base rate 0.75 shld be around, and islamic td can give interest monthly.
ok, let us know if successful laugh.gif

As you mentioned debit card is tagged to one account only.

BTW, monthly interest is available for conventional FD no? Mine is monthly interest, but I'm senior (>50).

This post has been edited by BWassup: Nov 4 2023, 03:52 PM
BWassup
post Nov 4 2023, 04:04 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Nov 4 2023, 03:54 PM)
oh ya kah? when i do conventional she never asked if want monthly. yesterday when i did, she asked. i am in my 40s

i spent with fpx (which can choose saving account) hihi
Tho the TnC says the account with highest balance will get the bonus, how do they monitor this condition? Manually? Is that why they need 5 weeks for the machai to check all our accounts and manually make the adjustments? Additional work ohmy.gif

Anyway, all the best in your test case. If successful, we can follow thumbsup.gif
BWassup
post Nov 6 2023, 02:50 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 6 2023, 12:02 PM)
I believe this has been shared previously too, 12m
Opened true savers account, already have an existing debit card so link to the old one. Annual fee for this true savers without debit card is RM8.
I didn't see this before. thot it was just verbal info by counter staff.

Thanks for sharing thumbsup.gif
BWassup
post Nov 7 2023, 06:06 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Nov 7 2023, 12:55 PM)
my last month experiment ok. took out two days after.
Think same day also can, unless it is mentioned in TnC. biggrin.gif

But I don't do that, since I need to use some of the funds to meet the spending requirement bonus interest.
BWassup
post Nov 7 2023, 06:30 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Nov 7 2023, 06:12 PM)
ya. this month i use bp to "spend" out on the same day lol. hopefully it's ok. 😂
Definitely can. You can even spend before you deposit, and even if the deposit is on the last day of the month, it still counts! I try to do payments as early as possible, so I don't have to think about meeting the 1k asap tongue.gif
BWassup
post Nov 7 2023, 07:00 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 7 2023, 06:42 PM)
Yet to fulfil the spending requirements. Is it confined to FPX Direct Debit registeres merchants/billers for the purchase of any goods or services (local and international) ONLY? Or does it include any credit card transactions regardless whether physical or online? Are payments for direct marketing and government related payments included?

Have asked CS and waiting for reply
Per T&C,

...Performs a minimum of three (3) transactions (applicable to bill payments (billers listed
on AmOnline Bill Payment webpage or JomPAY billers)...

The government related payments with JomPay codes are included then?

This post has been edited by BWassup: Nov 7 2023, 07:20 PM
BWassup
post Nov 11 2023, 08:32 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(umboy @ Nov 11 2023, 12:45 AM)
Today I went to UOB to put FD, the staff counter frowned and scowled, she said she prefer all the customers to borrow and transfer out money, the bank flushed with money. I was so dismayed.
What a strange reaction ohmy.gif . Maybe she was having a bad day, work stress, year end coming targets to meet, etc.

Based on my own experience, UOB staff are generally courteous, professional and work speedily. And in terms of product knowledge, the staff are better than many other banks' staff. Just my 2 Singapore cents laugh.gif
BWassup
post Nov 11 2023, 02:50 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Nov 11 2023, 08:32 AM)
What a strange reaction ohmy.gif . Maybe she was having a bad day, work stress, year end coming targets to meet, etc.

Based on my own experience, UOB staff are generally courteous, professional and work speedily. And in terms of product knowledge, the staff are better than many other banks' staff. Just my 2 Singapore cents laugh.gif
deleted

This post has been edited by BWassup: Nov 11 2023, 02:51 PM
BWassup
post Nov 11 2023, 02:51 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 11 2023, 09:42 AM)
Singapork lang sudah datang plotek plotek... brows.gif  laugh.gif
hahaha I'm not Singaporean. 100% Malaysian. UOB Singapore Bank mah laugh.gif
BWassup
post Nov 11 2023, 03:59 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 11 2023, 12:31 PM)
UOB FD not high. so dont waste time. Just use UOB One - 6% better
6% for savings account? Need to meet other conditions?
BWassup
post Nov 12 2023, 10:52 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Nov 11 2023, 05:52 PM)
ya mafan.
rize much better
Rize thread plenty of complaints about Rize. laugh.gif

But agree can't beat the rates for now. Hopefully will continue after 31 December.
BWassup
post Nov 12 2023, 11:08 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(ilovefdmalaysia @ Nov 12 2023, 10:54 AM)
i noticed there are many bank now encourage customers to perform many transactions (with minimum spend) for higher interest rate.....more mobile banking spending (QR etc)

also, bank set minimum limit for saving account and minimum monthly top up for a higher interest rate.....similar to a salary account

this new trick are not new, but now more to promoted/ads.

i always avoid and go for FD only
I wouldn't say it is a trick. We are being asked to do some transactions to earn higher rates. Fair enough. It's clearly spelt out in the T&C (well, sometimes we may need to clarify some terms that seem ambiguous).

It's another option for depositors. Yeah we can always go for straight FD, but rates will generally be lower.
BWassup
post Nov 12 2023, 11:12 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Nov 12 2023, 11:00 AM)
complain what ah.. ok ba?
Complaints in relation to transactions blocking needing manual approval, 50 sen charge, non-payment or late payment of monthly interest, slow response by CS, etc.

Nothing to do with the promotion rates thumbsup.gif

23 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0572sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:42 AM