Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

gchowyh
post Feb 11 2020, 04:41 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 10 2020, 09:00 PM)
That bond actual return is like 3.9% only. TIAi just has to take the risk.

Next will be Affin FD at 3.7% ? For u, maybe can go for Bangkok Bank's promo since the branch is at Prai side.
I think TIA is similar to the GIA back in Maybank last time and after all these years, no issues with the promo rates so in my opinion the risk factor is about as good as FD, at most just a tiny little notch lower maybe?

gchowyh
post Mar 2 2020, 11:53 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 2 2020, 10:59 AM)
KUALA LUMPUR: The ringgit opened slightly higher against the US dollar amid growing expectations that Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) and the US Federal Reserve would cut interest rates soon.

The local note stood at 4.2100/2150 against the greenback from 4.2120/2180 recorded at 6 pm Friday.

AxiCorp chief market strategist Stephen Innes said BNM could cut its policy rate by 25 basis points during the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) meeting tomorrow.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...on-of-rate-cuts
I saw this too and so need to squeeze whatever money out for FD today.
gchowyh
post Mar 2 2020, 03:18 PM

860 posts

2 small updates for the banks with higher FD rates:
1. Affin Bank - contacted branch and HQ, they informed the same that they no longer offer 12 months above for new FD placements
2. Bank Rakyat - in order to get nego rate of additional 0.1% above board rate, you need to contact them first 1 or 2 days in advance with minimum 50k and above placement
gchowyh
post Mar 5 2020, 11:04 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 5 2020, 09:42 AM)
Just now placed another RHB eFD 6 mth 3.6%. This seems to be one of the best FD rate for now, if not the best. May disappear soon.

Also noticed minimum is 1k only.
At this point in time, 6 months is too short, I regretted putting into CIMB & Hong Leong 6 months tenure over the past few months as initially I thought the BNM governor was joking in January when she said there is still a lot of room for OPR adjustment and thereafter got shot down for making such a statement.

So on Monday I put in whatever spare cash I had in 3 years BR 3.7% and the worst part is I don't have any FD maturing in February or March.
gchowyh
post Mar 5 2020, 11:29 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 5 2020, 11:18 AM)
That one on September is my personal view.
The one he quoted is a professional view.

2 cuts in the first half is considered steep.

BNM MPC meeting schedule: May, Jul, Sept, Nov
Federal Reserve FMOC meeting schedule: Mar, Apr, Jun, Jul, Sept, Nov, Dec
The first cut in January was unexpected even by analysts so by right Mar since is just 2 short months apart should evaluate the market situation first.
However, maybe analysts by now know the governor has no other measures to take and trigger happy to reduce the rate also said will cut the rate in Mar.
So my gutfeeling says it will be no surprise May will see another cut also.
gchowyh
post Apr 4 2020, 06:27 PM

860 posts

I still managed to get nego rate of additional 0.1% above board rates at Bank Rakyat yesterday for amount >RM100k
gchowyh
post Apr 4 2020, 08:20 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 4 2020, 07:08 PM)
For what tenure, 1 or 5 years ?
I chose 3 years 3.45% pa. board rate, 5 years only 0.1% difference and feels a bit too long.
gchowyh
post Apr 5 2020, 01:31 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 4 2020, 08:52 PM)
Just placed it few days back ?

3 years is a compromise. 5 years a bit far back. Considering that there will be further cuts in OPR this year.
I am placing it on Monday, but prepared the email standing instruction on Friday via Xclusive centre so that I don't have to go there as it might be more than 10km from my house
gchowyh
post Apr 5 2020, 02:34 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 5 2020, 11:15 AM)
Good deal considering that the OPR might be dropped further. Securing 3 years rate now is good.  thumbsup.gif
I'm hoping everything will recover to 4% pa. promo interest rate range in 3 years time, else 5 years would be a safer bet.
gchowyh
post Apr 7 2020, 03:32 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 2 2020, 10:14 PM)
My existing CIMB preferred FD got renewed at the rate of 3.05% 12 months, just slightly higher
gchowyh
post Apr 7 2020, 06:53 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 7 2020, 03:33 PM)
Not everybody can become preferred customer.
Sorry, actually I meant to inform for existing CIMB preferred customers, the existing 12 months FD is automatically renewed at the rate of 3.05%.

QUOTE(??!! @ Apr 7 2020, 03:57 PM)
Try getting 3.15% for 6 months (if it fits you)
Is it applicable to 12 months FD also?
I plan to check further on their FD and TIA promos at the end of this month

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 7 2020, 04:09 PM)
why not Am bank 3.5%?
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 7 2020, 04:19 PM)
No AMB casa maybe.
I did not stay with CIMB but instead went for BR and lock it in for 36 months 3.55% pa as I anticipate the gloomy economy will last for more than a year.
gchowyh
post Apr 7 2020, 09:34 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Apr 7 2020, 08:55 PM)
Done Last week..was told only available for 6 months tenure.
That needed HO approval ..try talk to manager to get HO approval for you.
Thanks, will check but 6 months would be too short.

QUOTE(ksf2019 @ Apr 7 2020, 07:53 PM)
mine got auto renewed yesterday at 2.6% for 12 months  ranting.gif

I am also a Preferred but it seems not all Preferred customers are equal ?  cry.gif
Before the auto-renew, did you opt for the 4.3% promo last year?
Anyway, maybe you can call their hotline to check further as last time the teller told me they will always auto-renew the FD at the available promo rate.

gchowyh
post Apr 8 2020, 02:42 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(ksf2019 @ Apr 7 2020, 10:57 PM)
yes i got it last year at 4.3% online promo. I did an uplift and re deposited at 3% online promo .
my past experience so far is that the auto renew is always using the worst rates.

if i had am bank account i would have moved it to am bank instead but now mco so just have to wait for next batch to mature.
QUOTE(??!! @ Apr 7 2020, 11:23 PM)
My experience with CIMB is this:-
1) Default  auto renew--- at board rate
2) If RM/Manager rajin/wants to help- they will have to pick out your FD and do renewal at prevailing promo rate (if any)
    What criteria used for this to happen will depend on the particular RM/Manager . I have different RM applying different criteria eg only do it for FDs exceeding certain amount. Another manager did it for all my FDs regardless of the amount.
Sorry to hear that. I must be lucky then as I do not even know who's my current RM.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 8 2020, 02:08 PM)
BR for 36 months 3.55%, got monthly interest?
Yes, monthly. If you intend to go for it, better approach the Xclusive centre directly to request for the additional 0.1% nego rate
I noticed at branch level is very slow, the told me it takes about 1 week just to get the approval when I got it approved on the same day thru Xclusive HQ.
gchowyh
post Apr 8 2020, 03:23 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 8 2020, 03:04 PM)
Wah... cry.gif
Can you share around how much you put?
If not convenience to mention, then just ignore my question..
Thank You  thumbsup.gif

I usually call to branch to nego rate..
Is just start of 6 figure. I was once told also to apply for nego rate should be RM100k.
gchowyh
post Apr 9 2020, 03:40 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Apr 8 2020, 07:09 PM)
Any bank that we can open savings account online without going to bank? Tried RHB one, it’s useless. After key in my IC ask me to go bank apply instead
Unfortunately, I don't think is possible yet in Malaysia to open an account when you're new-to-bank.
I initially thought was possible with Hong Leong Bank also but IC verification at the bank is still required.
gchowyh
post Apr 23 2020, 12:59 PM

860 posts

Does anyone know if CIMB 3.0% 6 months / 12 months still available?

* edited *
Finally found it at Dashboard, minimum RM 5k, should still be available till 30 April 2020

This post has been edited by gchowyh: Apr 23 2020, 01:20 PM
gchowyh
post May 2 2020, 04:05 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 1 2020, 05:36 PM)
We should do a poll in here for OPR decision next week:

A. 50 basis point cut
B. 25 basis point cut
C. No change
D. 25 basis point increase

I'm for A.  rclxms.gif
I'm between A & B, hoping it will be B.

I am rushing to Bank Rakyat on Monday 4 May to place some $$ before 5 May's BNM's meeting.
gchowyh
post May 6 2020, 05:14 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 5 2020, 06:29 PM)
Pain loh, from the good old days of 4.8% (or slightly more nego rate) with monthly interest, to now <3% FD promo.

My BR some FD 4.8% expiring Nov 2023, Bank Islam EIR 4.65% expiring by May 2021. These are super deals....... Luckily covered by some retail bonds of 5.3% to 5.7%.

Going forward, not sure when can go back to these GOOD OLD DAYS of high FD rates.......
Back then, never thought this would happened. Next time when you put 5 years FD in BR, i'll follow you too rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
I should have started putting my FD to 3 to 4 years term end of last year also when BNM already starting cutting OPR rates, really regretting it now.
Must remind myself, downturn / recession estimated every 10 years cycle.
gchowyh
post May 7 2020, 01:16 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 6 2020, 09:40 PM)
Only rich ppl dare to put 5 years because expected not going to withdraw the money tongue.gif
I remembered a forumer also placed in small amounts of maybe rm10k, so maybe can place in varying durations also.
The monthly interest payment from BR is also very helpful.

gchowyh
post May 12 2020, 12:23 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 11 2020, 10:43 AM)
Is this before or after OPR revision?
CIMB new BR and BLR will only commence starting 13/5/2020

This is exactly similar to conventional board rate.
QUOTE(piscesslyw @ May 11 2020, 10:36 AM)
Just sharing. Cimb preferred 3M 2.45% 6M 2.55% 12M 2.6%
I just got some clarification today. In summary, there is no special rate for CIMB preferred.
The new FD rates should be announced tomorrow 13/5/2020 as they still do not know what it is and there might be a fresh promo for CIMB preferred.
I believe at best the promo can only be the current board rates.

On a side note, there is a CIMB Islamic account (Fixed Return Income Account-i (Monthly Returns)) similar to Bank Rakyat where one can get monthly interest with the same FD interest rates.

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0555sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:10 AM