Shadowverse, CCG - HS and MTG similarity

TSLostWanderer
post Dec 17 2016, 07:24 PM, updated 9y ago

315 posts

https://shadowverse.com

A strategic multiplayer digital card game with over 400 cards and countless combinations! Available on Google Play and the App Store

Also recently made available on Steam for PC:

http://store.steampowered.com/app/453480/

Reddit thread:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Shadowverse/

Didn't get to see a topic on this yet, if any has been made. Anyway for you guys who enjoys playing CCG ala Hearthstone (HS) & Magic the Gathering (MTG), you guys can try this game out. It is similar to HS and also is made by Japan's very on Pro MTG team. The game released outside of Japan was pretty recently, although the main market comprises of mainly Japanese (due to Cygames is a Japanese Company and has a few franchise games there as well), but usually it's not difficult to find a match either way - you see people from around the world as it is only 1 server connecting everyone everywhere. As for a complete newbie, if you join to date (as in NOW) - after completing the tutorial you will be getting around 3X-4X packs after tutorial completion alone, and 1 pack consist of 8 cards (common, rare, epic and legendary - although the game system is bronze, silver, gold and legendary), so it is not too difficult to get packs as a complete newbie, although it will eventually slow down because newbie benefits don't last long. Anyhow, there are instances you get around 3 to 8 packs for free occasionally due to the generosity of cygames (e.g most recently Japan pro MTG team won the MTG tournament, they gave out a total of 13 packs). Last but not the least, a new expansion is releasing by this week so it is foreseeable that new packs will be given out soon as well. Art style is anime style and you can change the Voice to Japanese as well - you need to search it up on how to do so.

Also, do read on re-rolling guides just in case if you do not like your cards from your newbie package (re-rolling means resetting account) and you can find it on the reddit thread.

There is arena mode too as well (building a deck out of random cards) so you can play that if you like arena mode and not constructed.

Famous HS players e.g. Hafu, Reynad, Kripp and Eloise is playing the game as well (although due to the recent release of MSG of HS, i guess they went back to HS full time mostly on stream).

Ranking system:
Beginner
D
C
B
A
AA
Master

Each rank goes from 0 to 3 (E.g. D0, D1, D2, D3 into C0, C1, C2, C3 etc) and you do not lose rank at the end of the month, only the numbers behind only if you lose too much and NOT due to monthly reset, so if you do not wish to fight any good decks meaning the decks are somewhat incomplete but usually the players are lacking of skill but it is close to a competitive deck (40 cards in a deck), it is advised to stay below C rank.

Good luck and enjoy.

nickykee
post Dec 21 2016, 03:43 PM

50 posts

installed and played. wow.

its a WAIFU Hearthstone game!! lots of waifu arts.

similar mechanic like hearthstone but few more new mechanic makes it different.

1) evolve feature (for mid turn battle)
2) no over-RNG like hearthstone
3) and AUTO-SQUELCH

sometimes have ridiculous cards and cool combos. (but there are counters)

example:
Havencraft auto win card - enstatued seraph auto win after 3 turns (but there are counter for this = banish mechanic)

maker of "rage of bahamuts"(english one shutdown) and "grandblue fantasy" (onli japan). i think the rage of Bahamuts arts are translate to this game.

This post has been edited by nickykee: Jan 4 2017, 01:31 PM
TSLostWanderer
post Dec 21 2016, 09:25 PM

315 posts

yup, was thinking seems like no one here likes this game since no one commented here, but seems like you like it, great, haha

and also, i'm not from the shadowverse team, just a random player there as well, thought of letting you guys know more on this game
nickykee
post Dec 21 2016, 10:51 PM

50 posts

ya man thanks for intro. randomly found kripp played it on youtube, but didnt bother to look into it. but after it came to steam, try it out. wow, it was good.

hope some will like it , and spread it to let more people know about this game.

stinger
post Dec 22 2016, 10:54 AM

333 posts

I am playing this biggrin.gif converted to japanese voice for better experience !

https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/file...s/?id=788439931

At least they are much more generous of giving card packs compare to hearthstone.
nickykee
post Dec 23 2016, 10:40 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(stinger @ Dec 22 2016, 10:54 AM)
I am playing this  biggrin.gif converted to japanese voice for better experience !

https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/file...s/?id=788439931

At least they are much more generous of giving card packs compare to hearthstone.
cool!! thankss! later gonna download and replace it. rclxms.gif
Patent
post Dec 24 2016, 12:57 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

New expansion coming at the end of this month.
I'm enjoying the game so far although ranking up is quite the grind.
TSLostWanderer
post Dec 24 2016, 04:05 PM

315 posts

all card games ranking up is a grind, its grindier in HS actually since it resets the ranking every end of the month

i just reached A2 but fell off back to A1 just because i always start first usually after that and all the games i play is vs elena heavan or just heavan in general vs my banner sword just helpless if my draw is bad or their draw can hold off my aggro, lul
nickykee
post Dec 24 2016, 04:08 PM

50 posts

cant wait for the expansion and tbe prebuilt deck

the alternate legendary art look nice
Patent
post Dec 24 2016, 07:31 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Dec 24 2016, 04:05 PM)
all card games ranking up is a grind, its grindier in HS actually since it resets the ranking every end of the month

i just reached A2 but fell off back to A1 just because i always start first usually after that and all the games i play is vs elena heavan or just heavan in general vs my banner sword just helpless if my draw is bad or their draw can hold off my aggro, lul
I got to A with banner sword too.
Now using storm haven climbing to A1.
Elana haven is really annoying to deal with.
TSLostWanderer
post Dec 24 2016, 10:11 PM

315 posts

i don't only play banner sword in the game but i would say that banner sword was easier to climb the ladder until at least A0, after that it became haven / banner / control blood for me, and control blood seems to be dealing with most decks at A1 to A2 i think, especially those elena haven

storm heavan is quite good currently as well, but as with most aggro decks if the opponent has heal and it has elena in it, it loses badly to it as well

i play all decks (due to dailies) but my most incomplete deck would be forest and rune, next would be shadow (i did try to buff it slightly by crafting due to dailies though), but since it's terrible currently so meh....other decks are working but still missing a few key cards
nickykee
post Dec 29 2016, 02:18 PM

50 posts

Guys, rage of bahamut is on!

free 10 pack ROB

and heard got free 1100 rupies for new years event (have to login consecutively)
cili sos

only pulled 1 legendary from free packs (the forestcraft wolf one)

edited: not crystal, its rupies

This post has been edited by nickykee: Dec 29 2016, 02:24 PM
TSLostWanderer
post Dec 29 2016, 09:04 PM

315 posts

15 free packs - 1 free legendary

bought 30 packs - got like 6-7 legendaries

most of them duplicates, managed to get 3x of the rune spellboost legendary minion, lul, 2 x bahamut, others forgot
nickykee
post Dec 31 2016, 05:15 PM

50 posts

anybody wan to do the 20 private match thing, can hook up
TSLostWanderer
post Dec 31 2016, 08:57 PM

315 posts

the above you will need the non-lowyatians, because no one seem to be playing this much here, haha

i suggest visit the reddit site and add random ppl there if you want to do it, as for me, i am not doing it - you will need to add 20 different ppl to play with (and those ppl will use suicide blood mostly to get it done quickest)
nickykee
post Dec 31 2016, 09:22 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Dec 31 2016, 08:57 PM)
the above you will need the non-lowyatians, because no one seem to be playing this much here, haha

i suggest visit the reddit site and add random ppl there if you want to do it, as for me, i am not doing it - you will need to add 20 different ppl to play with (and those ppl will use suicide blood mostly to get it done quickest)
damn 20 different people
stinger
post Jan 1 2017, 06:46 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(nickykee @ Dec 31 2016, 09:22 PM)
damn 20 different people
there is a megathread at reddit, go there and join
https://www.reddit.com/r/Shadowverse/commen...nus_megathread/
nickykee
post Jan 1 2017, 08:02 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(stinger @ Jan 1 2017, 06:46 PM)
there is a megathread at reddit, go there and join
https://www.reddit.com/r/Shadowverse/commen...nus_megathread/
got it rclxms.gif

eicler0
post Jan 4 2017, 01:14 PM

If anyone haven't joined the Discord yet: https://discord.gg/3m3ab

It's preeeety good

This post has been edited by eicler0: Jan 4 2017, 01:14 PM
TSLostWanderer
post Jan 11 2017, 04:12 PM

315 posts

So how is you guys progress so far?

My current best decks would be:
Daria Rune, Control blood, banner sword (updated), storm haven

Worst decks:
Forest and shadow

Mid tier:
Ramp storm Dragon

anyway, as a rank A2 player currently, without an almost complete deck, it makes the game lop sided as in the subtitute for key cards such as ancient elf or will of the forest makes it really hard to play against others, and so those are the main reason why it is the worst decks for me, and although shadow is slightly better in RoB, i find it that it is still weak in comparison to storm based decks as control shadow is still too slow in a way and weak towards haven as well.

Best win rates would be daria (when hand is almost perfect) and storm haven i would say as those decks are almost complete on my side

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:00 AM