USD/MYR v5

Showtime747
post Jan 8 2018, 02:37 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 8 2018, 11:52 AM)
What is your opinion on those who dont go into Forex? Should they convert right now into USD because of the weak USD and put it into FDs or savings to anticipate the appreciation of the USD later?
Forex trading is very risky (buy low sell high and make money trading it). So it depends on individual risk appetite. I am not into forex trading itself, but investment denominated in forex, like foreign market shares, bank instruments, property...

USD FD pays peanut, could be negative return at the end of the day.

To me, those who still don't go into investment in foreign market should start ASAP. 100% in Malaysia in RM terms is not a good balanced portfolio.

Should diversify the risk. To me, 20%-50% of total portfolio should be in forex denominated investment (if the intention is staying long term in Malaysia)

It is a long term portfolio re-balancing. Maybe all income from now on should be converted and invested into forex investment to achieve that %. So, in 10 years time, there is a sizeable forex investment as part of the total portfolio.

Showtime747
post Jan 8 2018, 05:44 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 8 2018, 05:00 PM)
The market is on random walk in the short term. Long term economic equilibrium always prevail.

Myr has been on long term decline vs USD and SGD, any reason why the down trend is reversed?
Look at it like a company's share price. Share price depends on the financial management and performance of the people running the show.

The market is very objective + ruthless. When there is future in the company, everybody chases the price up. When there is bleak future/leakages/mismanagement in the company, everybody ditches the shares.

For the past 2 years, seems like the market is seeing the current managers were mismanaging the company. Hence the share price dropped by 1/3.

However, managers are not permanent. They can be sacked by the stakeholders. When a new manager comes in, then that may be the reason the down trend of the share price to be reversed
Showtime747
post Jan 8 2018, 06:19 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 8 2018, 05:49 PM)
I dont see any potential for "new managers" coming in after the elections, so is there still a reason for the down trend of the share price to be reversed (in our case the RM to rebound)?
Yes I agree there will not be a new manager for the next AGM. I would even say the current managers will survive comfortably for the next 4-5 AGMs biggrin.gif

Because the company has preferential shareholders whose votes have more weight than other ordinary shareholders. And the board of directors will further give even more weight to these preference shares by changing the M&A. The audit committee, accountants, company secretary, panel lawyers, security guards, etc are more than willing to follow orders

The change of manager may only happen after another generation (20-25 years or 4-5 AGMs). Because the current special shareholders are staunch supporters of the current board of directors. Only after these old special shareholders are gone, then there may be a chance for new manager to come in

My opinion is that the current high share price is artificial because the AGM is approaching. This artificial intervention is not what the market perceived. So, in short term, the share price will be goreng on an uptrend. After the AGM, irrespective of how the shareholders vote, it will be back to market forces and the market will critically judge the managers' performance again
Showtime747
post Jan 8 2018, 08:15 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 8 2018, 06:26 PM)
That is why I find it weird that the Rm is on the uptrend since many if not most believe there will not be a change of managers. Are there some external forces driving our RM value up for their own personal agenda or is our economy really improving after being managed by the "managers" (which I highly doubt). Looks like there is and will not be an answer to this question. To the normal laymen like us, its whether we can gain/benefit from the current sudden RM uptrend.  sweat.gif
Not difficult to find the answer.

If 3 months after AGM, share price still goes up, then the market agrees that the managers are doing a good job

If 3 months after AGM, share price goes down, then it proves that the current strength is artificially goreng by the manager

My source told me maximum share price is 3.80 before AGM. Because of goreng, not instrinsic value. That is the target given to the finance manager before AGM. So, anywhere around 3.90 now is a very good price. After AGM if the shareholders voted 2/3 of their directors into the board, it will retreat back to just below 4.00. In the event that no 2/3, then share price will drop back to >4.00 like before. Back to square 1.

I tend to believe my source. Good opportunity for the next few weeks. Let’s see if he is correct.

Showtime747
post Jan 8 2018, 10:29 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 8 2018, 09:40 PM)
It doesn't matter 5.0 or not, or who knows what,... it is always good to diversify out our holdings,... this is my point,....
Bro, there are some here who hate to read this thread because they are not in the position to transfer any money out of malaysia into forex investment.

Just like those who did not buy property when it was RM200k, and the property market pulled away and reached RM500k. So, they hope for market crash.. biggrin.gif

The "missing the boat" feeling....you are high and dry when you bought SGD at 2.4 onwards, so you don't understand how they feel one...
Showtime747
post Jan 8 2018, 10:37 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 8 2018, 10:05 PM)
My goodness, to achieve the target given to the finance manager, the company must be splurging a lot of capital into the market ie, buying more stocks of the Rm to temporarily strengthen it to make the board of directors look good before the annual AGM to ensure they get re elected back to their posts on the board. I always wonder what the shareholders and investors are thinking about this since many pulled back their investments and capitals in the company recently. Nevertheless, the directors managed to bring in new investors and shareholders overseas even though the country has to give up some prime estate, contracts and shares in subsidaries to sweeten the deal. Since the directors would surely get re elected this round, Im not too sure where this company is heading, but I sure hope the directors know what they are doing and steer the company in the right direction.
Back to the question, I think those who managed to capitalize on the circumstances this round would benefit the most. I put it at around 3.8-3.9 based on the tip from your contacts.
Bro, are you the one who has a business contact in Sg to exchange RM from you ? That would be the best rate you can get. Hope MoneyMatch can accelerate their service for user-to-user so we can get middle spot rate
Showtime747
post Jan 9 2018, 09:03 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 8 2018, 10:48 PM)
Well said.  thumbsup.gif

Talking about properties, we dont see much movement yet on the price that many had hope to crash. Yeah, we get the occasional below market prices sale, urgent fire sales and auctions, but property prices are still holding well after so much talk. People who managed to buy before the property price boom still could afford to hang on because their entry price was low.
Nolar. I am small potato only.  laugh.gif Btw, a Malaysian woman got caught trying to smuggle Sgd200k over the causeway to Malaysia by Sg Customs last month. Habis all the money kena consficated. sweat.gif
Don't say small potato. Everything is relative. When we make RM3k per month, RM300 is big potato. If we compare to those billionaires in US$ term, we are all small potato biggrin.gif

You where got small potato...anyone who has the privilege to invest is moving in the right direction.

Compare to those who still struggle with debt and hope for market crash only can afford to invest, we are all very lucky
Showtime747
post Jan 9 2018, 09:03 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 8 2018, 10:48 PM)
No not him. It's ShinG3e
Oh yeah....age is catching up on me sweat.gif
Showtime747
post Jan 10 2018, 09:55 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 9 2018, 09:56 AM)
Hoping for market crash only can invest.  Eh, that's bad?  One is sitting in huge pile of cash leh. Waiting for opportunities.  Better than have no money when crash come.
Timing the market is strategy for trading only. For long term investment, better off buying along the way averaging up or down. Nobody is going to buy at the lowest point and sell at the highest. Investment is a long term game. There are always opportunities to buy again in the future
Showtime747
post Jan 10 2018, 01:30 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 10 2018, 12:01 PM)
Does this apply for properties as well? With the currency market being so volatile now, I think the safest bet would be on properties. Of course one has to survey properly and buy properties which are 'worthwhile' since the property market is, at least more stable compared to foreign currency.
Property as in own house for staying or investment ?

If own house, buy what you can afford, and what you like, at anytime when you are ready

If investment, it is unlike stock market which you can buy in tranches. So, a lot more homework and patient is needed.

I agree with you over long term, property is safer in general. Good for those who don’t feel comfortable with stocks and other investment.
Showtime747
post Jan 16 2018, 10:14 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(doggmeister @ Jan 16 2018, 07:49 PM)
can anyone tell me why the RM is strengthening so much against the dollar? is it the upcoming election? the increase price for oil? repayment of 1MDB interest? any other reason? because i need to convert USD to RM and its the worst possible time to do that so I need to know when this trend will reverse! thanks!!
Yes. Election coming, the monkey behind the curtain is pulling the string biggrin.gif

My source told me the RM will hover around 3.80 to below 4.00 after election. Because government will remain and possibly returned with 2/3. So there is not much difference. Actually change now is to your advantage

As usual, do your own due diligence and decide....
Showtime747
post Jan 17 2018, 01:40 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Jan 17 2018, 09:31 AM)
Any possibility it's gonna be in May? After ge perhaps
I replied to you last night, but moderator cherroy ? deleted my post probably because I wrote some offensive words describing "those people" biggrin.gif

The BNM MPC meeting will on 25/1, 7/3, 10/5, 11/7, 5/9 and 8/11

If there is a rate increase, it will be on those dates.

If the targets set are not met, most probably on 25/1 or 7/3 interest rates will increase, as told by my source....

Showtime747
post Jan 17 2018, 01:45 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 17 2018, 10:40 AM)
Hmm..
If really.. Then many of us would be very happy to convert into USD.. Been waiting like forever to get that level 🙏
Bro, you forgot we had much better rates just a few years ago....against all other currencies also...

RM has done very poorly over the past 2-3 years. Used to be USD 3.00, SGD2.40, AUD2.80, RMB0.50, HKD0.40.....

I am not appreciating the level we have now cry.gif
Showtime747
post Jan 17 2018, 06:54 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 17 2018, 04:44 PM)
Bro,... I was thinking along your line as above too,... but suddenly this afternoon, I got another opinion - with the GE coming, those people will try NOT TO increase the interest rates and put the people in difficult positions, right ?
That's why my source told me if target not achieved (~3.80), and interest increase in January, then --> election in March (in 2 months time, the effect is digested)

If target not achieved + interest rate not increased in January but March, then --> election in May

If target achieved, interest rate won't increase

Let's see if he is right or wrong...including his theory of interest rate increase as a sign of election date
Showtime747
post Jan 17 2018, 06:57 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 17 2018, 04:57 PM)
As per discussion, the monkeys may be pulling the strings (with costs) so that there would be a "feel good" factor prior into entering the elections. Question is, would they be still be pulling the strings once election is over (would there be a need then since they have won? (irregardless of how much).

So there is a possibility that the Rm may even go back to its original state once election is over as there is not much left to be poured onto the economy to create the feel good factor.
I think it depends on the AGM result. If got 2/3, most probably will be 3.80 to <4.00

If no 2/3, then back to >4.00

After AGM no need stage show anymore...

The current managers sure win one biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Jan 17 2018, 07:00 PM
Showtime747
post Jan 18 2018, 01:03 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 17 2018, 07:18 PM)
Cannot bro... if give them 2/3 they lagi langsi. They are free to do what they want. But what to do.. they already got fixed deposits with high interest somemore at the moment.  sad.gif
Let's be realistic. 2/3 is probable.

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 17 2018, 07:18 PM)
TBH, it would take a miracle to make them fall but then again, where would the RM be at, if they do really fall?  rclxub.gif
Market does not like uncertainty. In the unlikely event they fall, all hell breaks loose. RM will nose dive, so is the KLCI. MGS yield will sky rocket, pushing interest rate hundreds of basis points higher.

Society will be in chaos.

if you think it over, it is not a good thing for rich people over short term.

Showtime747
post Jan 25 2018, 08:22 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(MedElite23 @ Jan 25 2018, 07:14 PM)
Yes, he is spot on so far. Let's see if election will be in March, then he is 100% correct

This is not the first time. The 1MDB stuff was also spot on. At the height of it, he said it has been solved and true enough nothing else happened and died down eventually

It is time to convert to forex now. Don't be greedy and wait for 3.80 (the target). Anything can happen from now on. Even if it reaches 3.800, it is only 2.5% difference. 4 months of dividend already cover that

I have started my first trench today thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Jan 26 2018, 10:25 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 25 2018, 11:47 PM)
Bro.. is this for other investment or profit from exchange rate difference when the Usd goes up again? If you dont mind me asking. tongue.gif
For investment in share market, bonds, property, bank products. I have never bought forex for exchange rate movement. Just personal preference biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Jan 26 2018, 10:29 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jan 25 2018, 11:37 PM)
Last time got people posted a lot of articles explaining how and why RM kept weakening and heading to 5.0 but now it is like Malaysians are less interested in knowing why RM has strengthened...RM strengthens good right? Or those people already migrated....
Unker Dreamer predicted ~4.80, but didn't happen. He cannot take his wrong prediction and has since disappeared from LYN

The ship is sinking !!

Dreamer
Showtime747
post Jan 26 2018, 10:47 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 26 2018, 10:33 AM)
I think he reappeared under the name dreamxite
But writing style is different. Unker is much more snobbish biggrin.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top