USD/MYR v5

Ramjade
post Oct 21 2023, 10:10 PM

24,369 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 21 2023, 10:05 PM)
Is there any limit for how much we can hold in IBKR?
Depends on how much you trust IBKR. If you open IBKR LLC (us version) SIPC protection is up to USD500,000. If you open say UK version like me, then it's GBP75,000. But I am too lazy to switch to LLC (US version). It is like FD and bank acocunt. Some people want safety so max only RM250k.

Otherwise if you don't mind about SIPC protection then no limit.
CharmaineLee80
post Oct 21 2023, 11:06 PM

992 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 21 2023, 10:10 PM)
Depends on how much you trust IBKR. If you open IBKR LLC (us version) SIPC protection is up to USD500,000. If you open say UK version like me, then it's GBP75,000. But I am too lazy to switch to LLC (US version). It is like FD and bank acocunt. Some people want safety so max only RM250k.

Otherwise if you don't mind about SIPC protection then no limit.
How to know which IBKR I choose?
I just opened IBKR, where i choose US market.
dwRK
post Oct 21 2023, 11:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(CharmaineLee80 @ Oct 21 2023, 11:06 PM)
if you are resident where ibkr has an office/operations, it will default to that country's ibkr... otherwise it will default to ibkr usa...

Ramjade
post Oct 22 2023, 12:37 AM

24,369 posts

QUOTE(CharmaineLee80 @ Oct 21 2023, 11:06 PM)
Generate a statement. Look at the header of your statement.

Cubalagi
post Oct 22 2023, 10:20 AM

4,491 posts

At current levels, Im not converting MYR to USD anymore.

In fact doing the opposite, but a little only. Started to change some loose USD notes in my posession to MYR.
CommodoreAmiga
post Oct 22 2023, 10:27 AM

3,863 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 22 2023, 10:20 AM)
At current levels, Im not converting MYR to USD anymore.

In fact doing the opposite, but a little only. Started to change some loose USD notes in my posession to MYR.
Later RM7 to USD 1.... brows.gif
Cubalagi
post Oct 22 2023, 10:36 AM

4,491 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Oct 22 2023, 10:27 AM)
Later RM7 to USD 1.... brows.gif
Or 4.5 to 1 in nearer term.

SUSxander2k8
post Oct 22 2023, 06:09 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 21 2023, 10:45 AM)
Where do most of you store your money now since RM is so weak?

I was thinking of moving some to SG or hold in IBKR.
Store where you think you will gain more but not holding too much cash 🤦‍♀️ and hold currency that will gain while generating income

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 22 2023, 10:36 AM)
Or 4.5 to 1 in nearer term.
Possible 🤦‍♀️ but unlikely until Fed start cutting rates
SUSxander2k8
post Oct 22 2023, 06:11 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 20 2023, 11:16 PM)
For certain you were not in banking or foreign trade. During bn administration, foreign proceeds was compulsory converted to RM for some time to build up depleted foreign reserve.
That was only after late 90s 🤦‍♀️ but before that it was in pounds until the stupid Governor lost money by playing FX during the 80s while free floating RM
icemanfx
post Oct 22 2023, 06:20 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 22 2023, 06:11 PM)
That was only after late 90s 🤦‍♀️ but before that it was in pounds until the stupid Governor lost money by playing FX during the 80s while free floating RM
Bnm and mamak thought they were smart, didn't realize bankers in London and NYC were smarter, beat them in the trade. A reason why they hate the west until today.

SUSxander2k8
post Oct 22 2023, 06:26 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 22 2023, 06:20 PM)
Bnm and mamak thought they were smart, didn't realize bankers in London and NYC were smarter, beat them in the trade. A reason why they hate the west until today.
Thanks to this bunch of idiots 🤦‍♀️ yet playing the blame game on the dead

https://www.nst.com.my/amp/news/nation/2017...t-rm4b-annually
icemanfx
post Oct 22 2023, 07:00 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 22 2023, 06:26 PM)
Thanks to this bunch of idiots 🤦‍♀️ yet playing the blame game on the dead

https://www.nst.com.my/amp/news/nation/2017...t-rm4b-annually
They are not idiots but jaguh kampung.
SUSxander2k8
post Oct 22 2023, 08:46 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 22 2023, 07:00 PM)
They are not idiots but jaguh kampung.
That is why narrow mindset 🤦‍♀️ the world has change rapidly for the past 30 years but yet still daydream especially thinking that RM will go up rapidly once the Fed start cutting rates
icemanfx
post Oct 22 2023, 10:03 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 22 2023, 08:46 PM)
That is why narrow mindset 🤦‍♀️ the world has change rapidly for the past 30 years but yet still daydream especially thinking that RM will go up rapidly once the Fed start cutting rates
Given pmx support on hamas; many mnc, fdi and ff are likely to stay away, would lack catalyst for rm to rebound.

SUSxander2k8
post Oct 22 2023, 10:43 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 22 2023, 10:03 PM)
Given pmx support on hamas; many mnc, fdi and ff are likely to stay away, would lack catalyst for rm to rebound.
For sure especially those so called latest investment 🤦‍♀️ look at the past 10 years when a lot MNCs especially in the semiconductor have move out from Malaysia prior to the war due govt flip flop in policies as well
abcn1n
post Oct 23 2023, 12:09 AM

2,379 posts

Malaysia I feel moving in the wrong direction. Heard that PM has got other countries such as China, Indonesia, Thailand to trade in RM. Not good idea if Malaysia is net exporter as it means less foreign currency for Malaysia to defend RM and to import necessities such as food stuff. You need lots of foreign currency so that speculators will not push your currency down and also to project strength for your currency. They need to learn from countries such as Sri Lanka, Latin America, Turkey

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Oct 23 2023, 12:11 AM
legolas
post Oct 23 2023, 01:36 AM

49 posts

Wanna to hv some advise, I plan to move my capital RM to usd in long term, should I move to ibkr or multicurrency account which provided by many of the malaysia banks, ibkr with the interest 4.8% while local bank can give up to 5.8% per annum with 12 months term fd. I know ibkr without lock in, other than this what others benefit to move to ibkr, assuming my major objective is keep in usd few years with high interest rate. Thanks.
CommodoreAmiga
post Oct 23 2023, 07:07 AM

3,863 posts

QUOTE(legolas @ Oct 23 2023, 01:36 AM)
Wanna to hv some advise, I plan to move my capital RM to usd in long term, should I move to ibkr or multicurrency account which provided by many of the malaysia banks, ibkr with the interest 4.8% while local bank can give up to 5.8% per annum with 12 months term fd. I know ibkr without lock in, other than this what others benefit to move to ibkr, assuming my major objective is keep in usd few years with high interest rate. Thanks.
In order to get IBKR 4.8%, you need to have $100k minimum cash balance. Which local bank has 5.8%? I am also thinking to open an MCA now, don't know to go with which bank. But now really painful...at RM 4.8. Last time I have moved some money to IBKR when it was RM 4.1.

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 23 2023, 12:09 AM)
Malaysia I feel moving in the wrong direction. Heard that PM has got other countries such as China, Indonesia, Thailand to trade in RM. Not good idea if Malaysia is net exporter as it means less foreign currency for Malaysia to defend RM and to import necessities such as food stuff.  You need lots of foreign currency so that speculators will not push your currency down and also to project strength for your currency. They need to learn from countries such as Sri Lanka, Latin America, Turkey
I thought we are net importer? I am not too sure.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Oct 23 2023, 07:09 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 23 2023, 09:38 AM

24,369 posts

QUOTE(legolas @ Oct 23 2023, 01:36 AM)
Er never ever use Malaysian banks to hold USD. Reason is when you convert to USD, you already lose 2-2% cause they markup the exchange rate.

First USD10k no interest.

What benefits?
1. IBKR give you spot exchange rate. Means no markup on exchange rate unlike banks. It only cost USD2.00/conversion for USD100k if you convert from SGD. MYR not supported. That means better rate than wise.
2. You can buy US treasury directly on IBKR. If that is what you want.
3. You have access to basically the whole world market at very cheap commission. Something no banks or broker in Malaysia can offer.
This enable you to invest in any market you want. Well almost any market.

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Oct 23 2023, 07:07 AM)
In order to get IBKR 4.8%, you need to have $100k minimum cash balance. Which local bank has 5.8%? I am also thinking to open an MCA now, don't know to go with which bank. But now really painful...at RM 4.8. Last time I have moved some money to IBKR when it was RM 4.1.
I thought we are net importer? I am not too sure.
Rhb multicurrency is the only good acocunt.
Cubalagi
post Oct 23 2023, 11:30 AM

4,491 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 23 2023, 09:38 AM)
Er never ever use Malaysian banks to hold USD. Reason is when you convert to USD, you already lose 2-2% cause they markup the exchange rate.

Actually will depend on your relationship with the bank. If u have one of those private bank accounts you can get spot rates or very close to spot.

157 Pages « < 150 151 152 153 154 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:53 AM