USD/MYR v5

AVFAN
post Apr 18 2017, 10:23 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Apr 17 2017, 12:05 PM)
You mean MY's fundamental is strong...or it is slated to drop further? While I applaud for SGD's appreciation, but I'm still skeptical that MYR will stay this way forever.

Thoughts anyone?
such "thoughts" have been given over the last 3 years from v1 to this v5 thread!

if u think the "fundamentals" are strong, i like to hear them.... which ones are strong?

strong enough to incr foreigner confidence to buy the RM?

then, list down the opposites, the weaknesses - the systematic methodologies for big money missing, wasted, must spend on certain quarters, must borrow, etc... are these going to stop any time soon?!

how is all that going to strengthen any currency?

never crossed yr mind that 4.4x now may be too strong?

perhaps 5.0 is more suitable, more RM to throw around for same purposes, actually better all round esp for the crooks to keep going?!

look at the history of some of the worst currencies in the world in recent times and how they developed over 10, 20, 30 years.

RM has been the worst currency in asia for the last 3 years - that is no temp matter or joke but captures the realism of something fundamental gone awfully wrong that will not be corrected so easily.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 18 2017, 10:30 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 18 2017, 10:38 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 18 2017, 10:31 PM)
If that's the case why is foreign funds flowing back? Blasted all over Star Biz. Please explain. Shouldn't it be they leave why would they want to come back?
nothing to explain to you if u don't already understand it all.

AVFAN
post Apr 19 2017, 01:39 PM

24,455 posts

a related matter.

inflation 5.1%... do you think it will get lower or even higher?!

The consumer price inflation hit an eight-year high in March, but was slightly below the forecast in a Reuters poll and not expected to push the central bank to change its stance on monetary policy.

Annual inflation was 5.1 percent in March, the highest since touching 5.7 percent in November 2008.
Read more: https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/379661#ixzz4effA5owB
AVFAN
post Apr 19 2017, 01:49 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 19 2017, 01:40 PM)
Is this 5.1% realistic?
u shud already know...

becos of the weightage on the items in the cpi basket.

official 5.1% is for rural/villages.

urban/suburban, need to X 2.5 or 3 to get the real life picture.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 19 2017, 01:52 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 20 2017, 01:12 AM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Apr 19 2017, 04:50 PM)
I totally forgot about the CPI basket. No wond r the inflation numbers never seems to be accurate.

It is a bit unrealistic if you ask me.
more to come...

PETALING JAYA: Fuel prices are up across the board for the fourth week of April under the new weekly pricing mechanism.

The price of RON95 petrol has gone up by three sen to RM2.27 per litre compared to RM2.24 last week, while the price of RON97 petrol has gone up by two sen to RM2.54 compared to RM2.52 per litre last week.

The price of diesel has also increased, with a five sen increase to RM2.21 this week compared to RM2.16 per litre last week.

The new prices will come into effect on Thursday and will remain in effect until April 26.

Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017...5vhibhMesUY7.99

AVFAN
post Apr 21 2017, 09:58 AM

24,455 posts

weak $.

if buy $ now, good chance.

things may change quickly.

The market suddenly doubts the Fed will raise rates twice more this year
Traders assign just a 41 percent chance that the Fed will raise interest rates three times this year.
Goldman economist Jan Hatzius counters that concerns over the economy now will abate and allow the Fed to fulfill its projections for 2017.
http://www.cnbc.com/2017/04/20/the-market-...-this-year.html

AVFAN
post Apr 21 2017, 12:29 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 21 2017, 12:02 PM)
Hopefully forummer Ramjade will reply here,... he is on top of this matter,...
So, here we go...

Back to how to open bank accounts in sinapaore.

Most popular subject in mutiple threads n sections. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 21 2017, 12:34 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 29 2017, 06:06 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(tensixteen @ Apr 29 2017, 12:13 PM)
Microeconomically speaking, good for him. But for those wishing for the downfall of the RM, you no love your country???!!  devil.gif
it is not a matter of wishing.

things don't happen by wishing... well, maybe some people think so.

it's a matter of how u take care of yrself, when some others are screwing it big time.

these devils surely want u to keep wishing and wishing only.

AVFAN
post May 18 2017, 09:53 PM

24,455 posts

just FYI.

right now...

brazil... new corruption scandal, president in the story.

stocks fall 10%, currency, the real fell 6.7%.

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/05/18/this-brazil...al-scandal.html
AVFAN
post Jul 12 2017, 10:33 AM

24,455 posts

$ was last strongest in dec 2016 with index at 103.

today, it is 95.4 - a 7.9% drop.

in the same period, rm went from 4.45 to 4.296 - that's 3.5%, gain is much less than the $ decline.

take a look at other rmb, sgd, aud...

rm lost 1-2% against all of them in the last 6-7 months.

most dramatic is the euro - rm is almost at all time low of 5.0 to euro. good luck to yr travels to eurozone!

anyone who can't see RM actually weakened against other major currencies is definitely syok sendiri.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 12 2017, 02:52 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 12 2017, 12:39 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 12 2017, 11:49 AM)
While I dont want to go into politics, bad policy making will really affect us indefinately. Its only how we manage our money and play around with the policies. While a lot might fret, there might still be ways to go around it. Just my two cents.
like it or not, bad policies are derived from bad politics!

the situation is such bad politics=>low confidence=>lack of funds inflow/continuous outflow=>weak currency.

and not that exports are incr big-big or monstrous tourist$ coming in.

there was a hushed-up report last week about some article claiming the budget deficit 1h2017 has widened significantly.

official secret, i guess, nobody talked further, MOF says wait till year end and see how... something like that.

no surprise it widens as it does every year, matter of how big.

if so, borrow more la... same same.

nothing has changed, probably got worse.

RM/$ improvement is not due to strong rm but a weak-weak $ at this time.

when the $ strengthens, we will see the true colors.

AVFAN
post Jul 12 2017, 05:59 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 12 2017, 04:52 PM)
myr is on long term down trend
Einstein... insanity is doing the same things over and over again and hope to get different results.

Ok, some people probably will say he was an idiot, there are geniuses here like mox.
AVFAN
post Jul 18 2017, 01:15 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 13 2017, 04:35 PM)
It already went up to around 3.15-3.16 last two months ago. I do not think that SGD is going up that much but rather our MYR dipping.
SGD is 3.13x again.

AUD.. almost 4.4 again.

Thai Baht.. RM1 can now buy 7.8 baht only.

congrats to those holding wealth in these currencies.

Becos USD falling n falling... RM falls with it.

$ index now only 94.6.

AVFAN
post Jul 18 2017, 01:33 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 18 2017, 01:26 PM)
AUD is 3.36. SGD is 3.13 again.

Already knew the 'Gula gula' wont last long. Congratulations to those who managed to capitalize on it last round. Surprisingly, USD is still around 4.28-4.3 range. Looks like not much movement at all.
becos xyz is "obsessed" with stability with the $?!

the most impt one for us here is actually the china RMB.

RM1 now gets RMB1.57 only.

u can see why food n other basic items prices keep rising - we import a lot of such from china n thailand.

the only way to beat this inflationary pressure is SGD, AUD or Baht... not USD! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 18 2017, 01:36 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 18 2017, 04:09 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 18 2017, 03:31 PM)
Looks like the moment the RM starts to strengthen against the other major currencies, we have to set a target and aim to convert over already,... We must not wait anymore,.... this is another big lesson learnt this time.
The time will come, maybe after ge14.

The big variable is confidence.

Until n unless the crooks are replaced, nothing will change.

This weak rm period has gone for so long, maybe some permanent structural damage done.

And it always turn out bad when u do not save n build when times r peaceful.

When the next global fin crisis hits, n some r saying it is already delayed, there is nowhere to hide.
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2017, 11:39 AM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 27 2017, 11:31 AM)
As we talk, SGD and AUD just went up again. Looks like its going up up and up again.  sweat.gif
becos $ falling again after no FED hike last night.

$ index now 93, 2.5 yr low.

RM fall with $ since the powers are determined to keep $/RM very stable. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2017, 11:56 AM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 27 2017, 11:50 AM)
In other words, BNM can save money because less RM is needed to peg the RM to USD right now.
that also means rm buys less n less euro, rmb, thai baht.

expect food n essential items price to keep rising.

nasi campur/chapfan will soon hit rm10 a plate!

ok, unless only nasi and kangkung. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2017, 12:14 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 27 2017, 11:59 AM)
Propaganda say if you dont go overseas or buy imported items you are not affected la.  rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
to be exact, if u eat only nasi n kangkung, definitely not affected.

more fearful will be prices for infant formula, milk powder, medicines - all imported in various currencies.
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2017, 01:57 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Jul 27 2017, 01:49 PM)
Euro at 5.02  ohmy.gif  cry.gif
i will surely need to cut down on my consumption of camembert n bratwurst. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 2 2017, 11:02 AM

24,455 posts

it has always been amusing to me for some people to think results will be diff by doing the same thing again and again.

i.e. waste money, plunder money, steal money...

then borrow, borrow, borrow...

rinse n repeat.

for decades.

and keep[ saying the currency will strengthen.

the ultimate money delusion.

but works for millions of goons in this land.

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0438sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:18 PM