20 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Cycling, Any cyclist here??

butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 12:42 PM

593 posts

give johnny a call and see what he has..
http://www.facebook.com/pages/My-Bicycle-S...9582326?sk=info

he is in the vicinity...

also try KH.. or KSH in centre point...

Added on January 20, 2012, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(hianboy @ Jan 20 2012, 12:41 PM)
Le Butthead da powdafull ideology:

"Wear protection gears meant you're expected a crash... thats y i dun need one..."
screw you... dun twist my words...

i never said that...helmet is a must... just not for me...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 20 2012, 01:03 PM
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 03:09 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Jan 20 2012, 01:56 PM)
Hi thanks for the insight on the stem...

Here is the image of the said OD2 stem on SL2

I am a little bit confuse here. Base on what I see on the location of the stem on the bike

image hosting

I thought the OD2 thingy is refer to the part inside headtube, and stem is the part above headtube, thus the stem is not affected by the OD2's "1 1/4-inch top and 1 1/2-inch bottom bearings."

Hope I get all the terms correct this time  tongue.gif

rclxub.gif
as for OD2...here is some good reading...

http://www.bikeradar.com/news/article/gian...d-launch-30729/

basically... what OD2 does is that it doesn't affect the frame.. they just increased the cross section of the fork steerer tube.. which means an increase of the stem clamp size...and also the headset bearing sizes.. as it has to have a bigger hole in order for the fork steerer tube to go through the head tube.

this is why they mentioned in the article that OD2 is compatible to be installed on OD1 bikes from Giant.

much like the Deda OS35... but reversed...
http://www.bikeradar.com/news/article/deda...for-2011-27825/

a quote on the bikeradar article...

"If our hunch is correct, you'll likely see more manufacturers heading that way, too, as there's also minimal impact on consumers in terms of component compatibility. Giant of course will offer its own stems with a 1 1/4in clamp but other models already exist from Ritchey, Syntace, and FSA (PRO has stems in the works, too). "

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 20 2012, 03:15 PM
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 03:22 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 02:50 PM)
came back frm GH din get the helmet...went thr primarily to fix brake caliper as it was loose before.. took me 1 and and 15 mins whilst i stayed thr for only 15 mins..damn...lol...well at least i dun have to go later after 6pm...going back hometown tonight...going to ride on the 29th this month in putrajaya...provided i m not caught up in work(not jam) ..malleus..maybe i will see u ahhaa
dun rush la... you have to survey around the market to find a one suited for you...and since you are not riding this couple of days... jus wait till you come back lo... with some ang pau money... maybe can get better one...

price being a limitation is always going to be hard... especially in GH... call johnny and see... i think they have a helmet called A1 Racing or something like that...

or try Limar in KSH TTDI.. maybe got sub RM200...

QUOTE(kindredd @ Jan 20 2012, 03:00 PM)
Hey silvy, congrats on the new bike, its really awesome. Think you will be very happy with it, no need to upgrade until you are more comfortable....

as for the choice of helmet, i agree with the last poster, you should choose carefully, get a helmet you really feel comfortable in. I dont mean just the fit (although thats important) but comfort in terms of airflow, and how you feed wearing it). I got a friend who spent 7k on a great bike and RM200 on a cheap helmet....not satisfied at all....

good luck on your putrajaya ride smile.gif. Will be going home for CNY so no ride for 1 week sad.gif
hahaha.. CNY dun ride la... not nice if bad luck happen to you... very cialat to start new year injured...

you put a stick through my heart man... everytime you post your bike picture...goddamit.

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 20 2012, 03:37 PM
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 03:56 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Jan 20 2012, 02:43 PM)
hydraulic brake...

http://p5simplyfaster.com/

go buy... magura hydraulics... service also dunno find who...

QUOTE(kindredd @ Jan 20 2012, 03:21 PM)
Not so expensive la.....bout RM 2.5k. Need to move my groupset up to 105 to match with yours smile.gif

Enjoy your ride!
don't need to spend much... just buy a 105 shifter and 10speed cassette.. that can easily fly above RM1.2k... you can get a SRAM PG-1050 cassette which has 11-28T .. so easier for climbing but sacrifice close ratios...

tiagra RD should be capable of shifting the 10speed cassette...

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 03:23 PM)
but i tot it's more than 5k...nice colour nice colour! erm mind to teach me how the shifting works? esp the big gear in front...need to hold for awhile one r? seems like mine in front oni got 2 gears ...up and down
WHY SINCE THE PURCHASE .. I FEEL LIKE "QIAN BU GOU YONG" MONEY NOT ENOUGH
you fell into the trap of the cycling world.. now you are in for it tongue.gif

shifting.. you are referring to when to use which gear in general?

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 20 2012, 03:35 PM)
hmm for me is, if i din control i might have  bought a titanium, be wise and self satisfied, until the venom is out of control haha
wrong... if you don't control.. you stop only when your credit card runs out of limit...

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 03:41 PM)
kindredd so u bought a computer to monitor ur km damn tat is needed for sastisfation as well huh...! haha ....u ride alone? i find it quite dangerous..cant see the cars frm behind....lets go night riding in a group ....location anywhr in klang valley...

Added on January 20, 2012, 3:45 pmQuote butthead - you put a stick through my heart man... everytime you post your bike picture...goddamit.

u referrring to mmyy bikkeee? oMG
for riding and fearing cars coming from behind... most important to not wear earphones with music blasting.

was referring to kindredd's scott... or any white bikes that i felt look better than mine.

you haven't post your actual one right?

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 20 2012, 03:57 PM
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 04:01 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 20 2012, 03:55 PM)
Just a meter will do that too right? I bought one together, less than RM100, din opt for the wireless one which is below RM200. U don't really need an advance monitor unless you are going serious cycling
wireless is shit... have to wait startup time and stuff.. and you have to spend money feeding it batteries...

the main problem is that wireless is not really an additional function for me.. and i have to pay almost twice the price of a normal wires one...

if i opt to get wireless... i at least will get something with more functions... like cadence function to justify for the additional cost...
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 04:01 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Jan 20 2012, 04:00 PM)
RIDE FIRST TALK COCK LATER GUYS

by the way Le Butthead da Powdaful... recently didnt see you listening music dy? ur mp3 kaput dy?
concentrate on pressing the pedal... if not UH is very distracting...
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 04:22 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 04:01 PM)
posted at page 66. captured using handphone hence the quality.shifting as in do i have to hold the lever or just touch and go?
cantik also mah.. got red and white... once the wheels are swapped.. it should match the frame nicely...
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 04:24 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 04:21 PM)
eh there can ride road bike one meh?? i tot mtb ...of course if there can tats the best!
there is road sections around the place.. just dun go into the trails...

the front is about 1KM uphill covering about 90meters of elevation... then inside loop is about 2KM but going up and down...

Added on January 20, 2012, 4:33 pm
QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 04:23 PM)
got wheels red and white one meh?

actually my bike got black/white colour one...

http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/SBCPro....jsp?spid=62033

i think the black/white nicer la..shit
it's your personal preference... but i think the red white also not bad...

fulcrum racing 3.. no red and white.. but black and red livery...

http://www.fulcrumwheels.com/en/collection...oducts/racing-3

serious poison... RM1.8k i think.

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 20 2012, 04:38 PM
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 06:27 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 04:41 PM)
LOL I am not gonna change anything until i can reach like 35km per hour on a flat road
35kph.. you can do it tonight as well... just find a long downhill... get to 50kph... reset meter while riding and then ride like hell for a couple minutes.. sure can touch it...

QUOTE(hianboy @ Jan 20 2012, 04:44 PM)
Due to some violation against licensing and trademark... photo will be remove... thanks for dropping by~~~~~  rclxm9.gif
yeah... violation of privacy of my ex-wife.

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 05:22 PM)
GUYS WE NEED TO RIDE ! LETS RIDE TONIGHT AT PUTRAJAYA PLZ!
QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 20 2012, 05:46 PM)
i think the concern is the jam... rite?
jam is a no point asking question... on top of that.. it is raining here in KL...

Added on January 20, 2012, 6:31 pmanyways... happy chinese new year to all you pedalholics...

may you collect enough Ang Paos to buy a sub 1000gram light weight carbon tubular wheelset shod with Vittoria Corsa Evo CX tubulars for 2012 rclxms.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 6:36 pm
QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Jan 20 2012, 05:53 PM)
currently have 4 helmets, A Limar 757, cheap and my favourite, A Giro Aeon( leisure and pleasure rides), OGK Kabuto Redimos ( When serious), and Catlike Whisper.

Added on January 20, 2012, 5:54 pm
tonight there's a ride in Putrajaya. I don't know where but I'll try contact my friend and ask.
not really what he wants to pay for le...

but, catlike whisper is nice... carlos sastre's helmet rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 20 2012, 06:36 PM
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 07:02 PM

593 posts

when global warming is not a problem anymore...
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 10:32 PM

593 posts

susah la.. terrible jam... and raining...
butthead
post Jan 20 2012, 10:39 PM

593 posts

wats nice about MEX?
butthead
post Jan 21 2012, 01:18 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Jan 20 2012, 11:09 PM)
Anyone interested??
speechless...

QUOTE(malleus @ Jan 21 2012, 12:19 AM)
Hahahahahaa Vat19 stuff smile.gif

Speaking of that, check this out: http://www.vat19.com/dvds/26-pound-party-gummy-bear.cfm

Energy bar replacement? smile.gif

Or better yet: http://www.vat19.com/dvds/banana-bunker-protects-bananas.cfm

good way to store bananas for those who carries them for long rides? smile.gif
lost for words... i think we can just but a bunch of em and make a gummy bear gummy pit and do motocross back flips into it...

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Jan 21 2012, 12:23 AM)
Thanks for the links.

This part I not understand:

The OD2 design is actually only a change in the headset’s upper cup, not the frame. So, you could buy a lower level bike and upgrade later by purchasing the right stem, fork and headset. Alternately, if you have a fork and stem you really like, or you get an OD2 frames but don’t want to commit to a new standard, you’d only have to put in a smaller headset cup in the top. This also means you could potentially set up any other brand bike that has a reasonably modern tapered headtube with this new OD2 style front end.

Meaning if let say I want to try other stem, I would need to change the headset (smaller cup on top) as well?

Now I am a little bit worry if it is worth it to have this OD2 part...expensive to upgrade later..

Added on January 21, 2012, 12:31 am

hahaha banana bunker!  rclxms.gif
from my understanding... it says you have to swap all 3 components together... that means reversing the stem, headset and entire fork back to a normal one like ours...

and i don't think there is an upper cup being sold alone and the internal diameter of the lower cup should also correlate to the upper cup since it is practically the same girth that is going through the bottom opening of the head tube through the upper opening...

it isn't expensive to upgrade for most part of what i feel.. i think it is just a simple case that you don't have a lot of choices to upgrade your stem or even basic changes to your stem length can prove troublesome.

which is why i suggest if you can check with the giant shop if they at least keeps some giant made OD2 sized stems in hand... that way at least even if you can't choose brands.. you get to change length in case you feel uncomfortable..

if you look at giant's site.. there is a OD2 specific stem..
http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-in/gear/b...ear/stems/1181/

Added on January 21, 2012, 1:20 am
QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Jan 20 2012, 10:52 PM)
just the hilly climbs.And those who looking to sprint and climbing.
nah... i jus go my usual route...

bit far for me anyways with the CNY traffic... chicken out...

Added on January 21, 2012, 2:07 amdid you read your article here?

http://www.bikerumor.com/2011/07/22/2012-g...n-alloy-trance/

it seems even more weird for them to bring it to MTB as MTB changes their suspension forks much more and they would be running into more dead ends with the OD2 design...

well, let's see how it goes.. we can only speculate that much.

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 21 2012, 02:07 AM
butthead
post Jan 21 2012, 02:35 AM

593 posts

yup.. what is of concern is the stem because stem length is of the immediate concern...

headset if taken care well enough... should last at leas 2 years before the bearings get shot to hell... even with that happening.. bearings are just a couple of steps away at bearing shops as long as you know the OD, ID and thickness of the bearing...

guess this serves as an interesting topic...

http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/vi...=64725&start=30

must check if any of this parts get anywhere near malaysia...

officially, it does say that ritchey will only start selling their 1.25" fork clamp stems to consumers by 2013... now they are just serving as an Original Equipment manufacturer for canyon...

so, at the end of the day... there is some risk to the designs of this new giant despite it being light...

and it is still a seriously suspicious sort of lightweightness for an aluminum frame... their lower end TCR composites just weigh in at 100 odd grams less than their aluminum counterpart which is very crazy... but if you can risk the stem length issue... then hell... it's going to be worth every penny for getting it down to that weight..

put in 2 fully filled 750ml water bottle and it will only weigh the same as mine without a bottle...DAMN!!!

if kindredd says his 9.1KG Scott Speedster S40 feels like nothing when going uphill... i must be missing something... i've ridden carbon bike on the lower end of 7KGs but those bikes could have been a whole lot stiffer in terms of power transfer compared to alloy frames rather than purely their weight alone..the giant being another whole 1KG lighter... DOUBLE DAMMIT!!!

with a set of sub 1400 gram alloy clinchers like this
http://www.cycleway.cn/products/product-216.html

and some top end SRAM gruppo

TRIPPLE DAMMIT!!!

bring me my carbon Canyon Ultimate CF please blush.gif

Added on January 21, 2012, 2:48 ambefore i come to my senses.. Giant or not.. it's your choice since it's your $$$...

weigh them wisely...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 21 2012, 02:48 AM
butthead
post Jan 21 2012, 03:04 AM

593 posts

yeah.. sleep on it...with early closures tomorrow... there is no possibility of getting it anyways...gives you at least another week to think about it...

not much can be found on that topic.. but they could have used a different welding method or totally just have another secret way of making the tube joints stick together and require less welding to hold them in place...

smoothing out welding points as far as i know serves no purposes except for cosmetic reasons and possibly being a bit more aero if you are that particular...

it is like the lotus elise if you have heard of how they were built... the complications arose with the elise aluminum chassis was that they are risking increase in overall weight if they decided to weld the aluminum boxes and structures to form the base chassis... so, they developed a method with some special epoxy to bond the pieces of the chassis section together and totally eliminating or reducing welding on the chassis itself to drop weight...

i guess this is what happens with the AluxxSL frame compared to a non-SL which only relies purely on welding...

well.. sleep tight yawn.gif
butthead
post Jan 21 2012, 09:52 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Eokboy @ Jan 21 2012, 03:42 AM)
Eww so geli
like a beehive ma... just hope no bee masuk... or you bee regretting it...

QUOTE(Ifdlan Muhaimin. @ Jan 21 2012, 09:08 AM)
how much this bike cost? where to get in KL?

you know anything better for the same price?
you can check KSH TTDI out.. they carry BH but don't seem to recall seeing G5 in their shops...

in super record form.. it should be helluva expensive... so, it depends on which angle you want it to be better than? aero, stiffness, lightness?

should be fairly easy to find an alternative given the price.. Look 695 SR (if not enough + on a set of lightweights).. Trek Madone 6.9 SSL team replica should get very close in terms of price... Specialized Venge with a pair of Zipp / Corima or Lightweights...

depends on what you want...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 21 2012, 09:53 AM
butthead
post Jan 21 2012, 10:51 AM

593 posts

good luck on selling your bike... best if can find water fish tongue.gif
butthead
post Jan 21 2012, 12:06 PM

593 posts

want to build your own bike musium. Anyways, a cyclist should own 5 bikes. Training, race, commuter, city stroller, mtb.
butthead
post Jan 21 2012, 07:35 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Jan 21 2012, 03:06 PM)
Went to H2C just now. Omg Boardman drool.gif, but Saracen seems better specked though hmm.gif
You referring to their MTBs? it comes down to price difference really.. if for the same priced and spec'ed better than of course it is a better deal...

The only thing i remember of chris boardman was his 1990s record breaking lotus carbon monocoque bike... now he is just a famous TV commentator biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Jan 21 2012, 03:51 PM)
Hehe smoothing out welding will make it look more "carbon" look, but once knock on the frame and the sound will tell..

Anyway after reading on the stem fitting the OD2 spec (1-1/4" or 31.8mm), found few that said to woek:
1. FSA OS-120
2. Syntace F119
3. Ritchey WCS
4. Specialized stems, after taking out the shim (1-1/8" become 1-1/4"). However got ppl said not exactly match and need to cut a layer of aluminum cola can and put back as shim  shocking.gif

Butthead, any idea what price range of the above mentioned stems and the normal sized (1-1/8" or 28.6mm) stems that you usually get?

Thanks...
Welding can't really be the differentiators for carbon... rounded / non angular joints and odd tube shapes are more of the trademark of carbon.. alloy frames seems to be having odd shapes as well nowadays with hydro-forming tech..

1.25" inch stems i haven't seen before in market or ignored them blush.gif ... i also usually won't buy the high end stems as i tend to experiment with length and stem angle's quite a bit.. rugi a lot in the selling process.. i can answer you a bit on the standard ones..the ones i've owned before

1) Easton EA30 90mm, this i can't really remember the specs and price
2) Kalloy Uno Grade 3.0 110mm / +-8degree, superlight @ 100grams, RM110, very cheap and very light but not corrosive resistant when exposed to water
3) Bontrager Select 115mm +-6degree, not light, RM150+- can't remember, suspect they took it off a trek bike
4) Controltech Estro White, 110mm +-5degree, not really that light, RM240, bought it because it was 38mm stack height as i mistakenly cut my steerer a tad too short and was 3 degree less than my previous stem (back pains and stuff and wanted to raise the handlebar back up desperately)
5) On the current bike, a Deda Zero1 110mm +- 6degree, middle ground for RM180

*would have wanted to make a move for a 120mm or 17 degree reversible stem, but didn't have the guts as it was a different frame size and could not find one in time during the build of the current bike.. would be looking for one later in the year to see how it feels on the bike..

Others i have enquired before but did not own them. Generally stems like FSA OS-150 falls under the RM200 category, OS-115 and OS-99 would be a whole lot pricier. FSA non-carbon are generally quite well priced for their products from what i saw at GH.

Ritchey 4-axis will hit RM200 upwards on the cheapest ones. Deda Zero100 titanium hardware is in the RM400 range. Syntace don't see much for road in KL.

Easton EA90s non-carbon is in the RM300 to RM350 bracket (asked before at orbea)...EA70s around RM200 or less i think (from other shops not selling easton stuff, just had one lying there)

Specialized is not cheap from the price tags in GH (think i saw RM4xx), unsure of the model but could be the higher end models still labeled specialized and they normally are quite steep in angles. There are even more expensive S-works range but didn't notice they mention 1.25" compatible.

http://www.specialized.com/zz/en/bc/SBCEqP...=1009&scid=1142

Think they might be referring to the adjustable angle multi stems. Not worth trying as you don't want a stem that could possibly move if you hit something hard on the road. That piece you see isn't a shim but rather an adapter to adjust angles.

http://www.specialized.com/zz/en/bc/SBCEqP....jsp?spid=64479

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 21 2012, 07:52 PM
butthead
post Jan 21 2012, 08:22 PM

593 posts

Deda too has a nice carbon stem Zero Nero.

The only thing i don't get nowadays are the integrated one piece handlebar stems.. they look damn awkward to me... very very almost tempted into buying one sometime ago.. but lucky never go ahead with it or i get into shit loads of trouble when i find the size not suitable anymore...

20 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0572sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:29 AM