6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Ever wonder the sudden drop in Memory price?, Here is one of the reason

the_registered
post Feb 22 2007, 03:35 AM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

I think DDR3 is coming out soon. Then, DDR2's price will drop tremendously rclxm9.gif
MeowzNation
post Feb 22 2007, 03:40 AM

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 21 2007, 05:14 PM)
i disagree.

i would say low demand of Vista is due to many factors
1. it's more than just RAM, it's entire system altogether
2. people are using Windows XP fine, why should they incur additional cost to upgrade in the first place?
3. and upgrading to something that's new (usually buggy, you know Microsoft) with possible compatibility issues and also runs much slower than the previous Windows.
hmm...how to say...usually i already using vista home premium edi.....i found that:
1. interface eat alot resource....we DON NEED them
2. 1 gig RAM still can't run smooth
3. New feature of vista can't drag the money from ur pocket
4 shutdown & start up take alot of time...sighz.... doh.gif
cloudstrife07
post Feb 22 2007, 03:54 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

last month i quoted a price for my fren's PC. 1GB was around RM380, and its a Kingston DDR667.

last week i quoted a price for myself at lowyat.1GB was around RM220 and its a Kingston DDR667.

lol.
Kataro
post Feb 22 2007, 08:46 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

Yalor...512MB DDr667 only RM115, 1GB around RM220...I wonder will it drop somemore... drool.gif
dinozilla
post Feb 22 2007, 10:13 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Feb 22 2007, 08:46 AM)
Yalor...512MB DDr667 only RM115, 1GB around RM220...I wonder will it drop somemore... drool.gif
don think so la...

that's the bottom line for this moment....

until the next big tech coming in....it should hovers around there..
ruffstuff
post Feb 22 2007, 11:02 AM

3,345 posts

I think they're fixing price for good, in order to get rid the RAMBUS out of market in 2001.
lohwenli
post Feb 22 2007, 11:51 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(the_registered @ Feb 22 2007, 03:35 AM)
I think DDR3 is coming out soon. Then, DDR2's price will drop tremendously  rclxm9.gif
DDR3 production samples are out, but I think it will be a even longer time for it to catch on compared with DDR2 from DDR. Even the best of current DDR2 cannot be used up to its fullest potential, especially with intel systems. Problem-limited by FSB; even C2D which using 1066FSB only translates to dual channel DDR533, more and the FSB will not allow it to be any faster. Even if overclock super gila kau kau to 2000FSB (board want to mati liau by then-must voltmod even to be stable cry.gif ) its only dual channel DDR1000 (easily obtainable even with affordable OCing ram-below RM400-450/pair of 512=1GB). AMD systems can fully utilise memory at any speed thanks to integrated memory controller but have issues with overclocking beyond DDR800, have to drop to 2T (akibatnya kena OC lagi banyak cos performance loss mad.gif )

And yet people wonder why so little performance increase when upgrade to faster ram..haii... rclxub.gif

Correction : 1066FSB is only DDR533, DDR667 is for 1333FSB

QUOTE(Kataro @ Feb 22 2007, 08:46 AM)
Its gone up already in fact. 1GB now closer to RM250 than RM220. Not sure about 512MB, but I doubt it has gone down .

Hint: Don't come to Penang to buy ram. As of this week, still at old prices 512MB-RM150-180, 1GB-RM300++ for 667, DDR800 use your imagination. If in penang, want 512mb can get from me..hehe..if KL go lowyat..

Added on February 22, 2007, 11:57 pm
QUOTE(MeowzNation @ Feb 22 2007, 03:40 AM)
hmm...how to say...usually i already using vista home premium edi.....i found that:
Think its mostly software. Need lotsa tweaking. Heard there's a lot of problems with drivers for vista, especially for 64-bit edition (http://www.dansdata.com/askdan00001.htm).

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Feb 23 2007, 01:17 AM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 23 2007, 12:15 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

OMG, I bought Patriot RAM for rm330 per 1 GB. I lose almost rm100 per stick. losing rm200 per 2 gb... I want my money back!!!!!!!!
yehlai
post Feb 23 2007, 12:42 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Feb 22 2007, 11:51 PM)
DDR3 production samples are out, but I think it will be a even longer time for it to catch on compared with DDR2 from DDR. Even the best of current DDR2 cannot be used up to its fullest potential, especially with intel systems. Problem-limited by FSB; even C2D which using 1066FSB only translates to dual channel DDR667, more and the FSB will not allow it to be any faster. Even if overclock super gila kau kau to 2000FSB (board want to mati liau by then-must voltmod even to be stable  cry.gif ) its only dual channel DDR1000 (easily obtainable even with affordable OCing ram-below RM400-450/pair of 512=1GB). AMD systems can fully utilise memory at any speed thanks to integrated memory controller but have issues with overclocking beyond DDR800, have to drop to 2T (akibatnya kena OC lagi banyak cos performance loss mad.gif )

Yes. For current mobo, maximum RAM multiplier is 3x only.
So for normal overclockers, 1.1k MHz is the highest they able to achieve laugh.gif
For DDR3 mobo, i think the RAM multiplier will increase to 4-5x maybe. nod.gif

lohwenli
post Feb 23 2007, 01:11 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 23 2007, 12:42 AM)
Yes. For current mobo, maximum RAM multiplier is 3x only.
So for normal overclockers, 1.1k MHz is the highest they able to achieve laugh.gif
For DDR3 mobo, i think the RAM multiplier will increase to 4-5x maybe. nod.gif
Multiplier? I presume you're refering to intel systems, I haven't messed around much with 775 based systems. From my previous experience on 478 systems, running the ram any faster than 1:1 with the FSB actually results in a performance DROP in a fair number of cases (assuming running dual channel), because the memory controller has to switch to a async bus (which adds latency).

Simple mathematics to show why running ram faster than 1:1
FSB transfers per second = base clock x 4 (due to quad pumping)
Ram transfers per second = base clock (if 1:1) x 2 (DDR factor) x 2 (dual channel)

Both transfer 64 bits per transfer, so in the end if you run the ram faster than 1:1 data will be stuck as it can't be relayed. Also, HDD and PCI data has also got to be relayed through the FSB, so actually its impossible for ram to fully utilise the FSB for itself. Unless you're overclocking, you won't need really fast ram.

So I'm guessing DDR3 is going to take quite a while to kick off. Probably only when socket AM3 is out, which is in a few years time. Even intel is considering delaying the launch of DDR3 chipsets. Need to come up with another data bus to properly utilise DDR3's capability, which means even the processor architecture must be revamped; even C2D's Core micro-architecture might not be adequate.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Feb 23 2007, 01:16 AM
goldfries
post Feb 23 2007, 03:15 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(MeowzNation @ Feb 22 2007, 03:40 AM)
ehh you quoted my post, but perhaps you quoted for the wrong reasons - i donno.

my point was that uptake of Vista being slow was not based on RAM pricing alone. smile.gif

it's about the entire system together. (Vista Experience Points or something)
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Feb 23 2007, 09:23 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

2day i just check the czone pricelist...oh lawd 260 for 1GB ddr ram drool.gif i definitely gonna get 2 sticks next week s long s the price remains the same rclxm9.gif
billytong
post Feb 23 2007, 09:39 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 21 2007, 05:14 PM)
i disagree.

i would say low demand of Vista is due to many factors
1. it's more than just RAM, it's entire system altogether
2. people are using Windows XP fine, why should they incur additional cost to upgrade in the first place?
3. and upgrading to something that's new (usually buggy, you know Microsoft) with possible compatibility issues and also runs much slower than the previous Windows.
In my opinion the RAM and the bugs is keeping me away from the system. I usually upgrade Microsoft OS 2 yrs after its launch. After all Surfing net,listening Mp3 watching anime using Pentium D is a bit "overpowered" why not getting a better OS?

I'm thinking to try out on my notebook which got 1GB RAM with only 32bit Centrino and see how slow is it b4 I deploy the system on my slow 512MB Pentium D. Win Server 2003 is giving me a lot of unsupported driver issue. My scanner is not working on this OS. You will be surprise that even Intel gfx GMA950 graphics driver do not support win 2003. mad.gif

This post has been edited by billytong: Feb 23 2007, 09:40 AM
jy14
post Feb 23 2007, 10:24 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Feb 23 2007, 09:23 AM)
2day i just check the czone pricelist...oh lawd 260 for 1GB ddr ram drool.gif i definitely gonna get 2 sticks next week s long s the price remains the same rclxm9.gif
Get it b4 tuesday or wednesdays, those r the days the price will change, either up or down.
goldfries
post Feb 23 2007, 10:35 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Feb 23 2007, 09:39 AM)
In my opinion the RAM and the bugs is keeping me away from the system. I usually upgrade Microsoft OS 2 yrs after its launch. After all Surfing net,listening Mp3 watching anime using Pentium D is a bit "overpowered" why not getting a better OS?

same here. to me, it's not just RAM but other parts as well. smile.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Feb 23 2007, 10:57 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Feb 23 2007, 10:24 AM)
Get it b4 tuesday or wednesdays, those r the days the price will change, either up or down.
thks 4 the heads up...i will definitely get it on the 1st day of the week cool.gif
sir_impesto
post Feb 23 2007, 11:02 AM

729 posts

The RAM price is like 'barang kawalan' nowdays....

GuyzNexDoor
post Feb 24 2007, 11:46 PM

486 posts

I went to LY this morning, wanted to upgrade my RAM. Most of 'famous' shop already out of stock (including Czone) sweat.gif sweat.gif Xtually, yesterday i checked CZone pricelist and they sell 1GB DDR2 KVR 667mhz PC5300 for RM220. So really xcited to get it today. But today the price oledi increased, become RM230 and out of stock furthermore. And their shop so crowded.

Then, i went straight to Viewnet, so relieved not so many people there. And U know what, they have the RAM at the cheapest price among other shops today (after checked other shops leaflet).

So, i grabbed 2 X 1GB kingston DDR2 667Mhz RAM at RM438 (RM219/piece). Just installed it, now operate with 3GB RAM (plus the old 2 X 512MB DDR2 667Mhz RAM) rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

And the salesperson said, the price will go up again in the next few days.

This post has been edited by GuyzNexDoor: Feb 24 2007, 11:50 PM
Notoriez
post Feb 25 2007, 12:09 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

When is the DDR1 price gonna drop blush.gif
TSs[H]sIkuA
post Feb 25 2007, 12:28 AM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Feb 25 2007, 12:09 AM)
When is the DDR1 price gonna drop blush.gif
I think the price dropped last few weeks, to around 240 (the lowest I've seen in awhile now) and now price go up again. I bought 1GB stick for my friend for 285 at All IT (Digital mall) before CNY sweat.gif kinda rush and no time to go Lowyat to get better offer

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0198sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:57 AM