Ever wonder the sudden drop in Memory price?, Here is one of the reason

Kataro
post Feb 13 2007, 05:47 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(ariesto @ Feb 13 2007, 03:09 PM)
Guys, please enlighten me please, really noob in this. Whoever can't understand what i'm saying please don't flame me.

1. The high-performance 1Gb DDR2 677 ram is selling at RM390,
  written ram come in pairs, pairs means 2 sticks of 1Gb ram or 2 sticks of 512Mb Ram?

3. 1 stick of 1Gb DDR2 Ram on mobo = 1Gb
    2 sticks of 1Gb DDR2 Ram are actually 1Gb or 2GB on board?
1. 1GB pair mean have 2 512MB...

2. 1 stick on mobo = 1GB, so, 2 stick 1GB = 2GB lor...

icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
abubin
post Feb 13 2007, 05:55 PM

10,429 posts

hey!! Thanks for that article!! I see ram prices always go up years after years everytime when christmas and CNY approach. But was wondering why it didn't happen this 2006/2007. Lo and behold!!! Somebody is doing something about this at last!!!
TSs[H]sIkuA
post Feb 13 2007, 06:33 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

But the sad thing is even thought they are fined 90mil but where is the money goes to sad.gif

lohwenli
post Feb 14 2007, 07:52 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

I'm surprsied though, if they're getting fined so hard, they can't be dropping price that bad. But its true, OEMs have been stocking up on ram in anticipation of Vista, but now turns out not many people interested in Vista. WinXP doesn't need that much ram-I can run C&C generals, do video editing in sony vegas & Adobe Encore, use Photoshop, surf firefox with 20+tabs ALL AT THE SAME TIME and STILL have 100+mb available with less than 100mb page file usage. Wonder how can I possibly use up 2GB?
linkinstreet
post Feb 14 2007, 10:07 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Feb 14 2007, 07:52 AM)
I'm surprsied though, if they're getting fined so hard, they can't be dropping price that bad. But its true, OEMs have been stocking up on ram in anticipation of Vista, but now turns out not many people interested in Vista. WinXP doesn't need that much ram-I can run C&C generals, do video editing in sony vegas & Adobe Encore, use Photoshop, surf firefox with 20+tabs ALL AT THE SAME TIME and STILL have 100+mb available with less than 100mb page file usage. Wonder how can I possibly use up 2GB?
You can't run all of those at the same time without bottlenecking your processor, unless you're using a kickass superproc. and have you REALLY used Vista. It uses less ram than touted really.
SUSMatrix
post Feb 14 2007, 10:45 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 14 2007, 10:07 AM)
You can't run all of those at the same time without bottlenecking your processor, unless you're using a kickass superproc. and have you REALLY used Vista. It uses less ram than touted really.
Yes. Agreed absolutely. So many people has pre-assumption that VISTA sucks ur RAM and is slow yadda yadda...they're so very WRONG.

ariesto
post Feb 14 2007, 10:57 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(s[H]sIkuA @ Feb 13 2007, 07:33 PM)
But the sad thing is even thought they are fined 90mil but where is the money goes to sad.gif
The money will go back to CONSUMERS.
lohwenli
post Feb 14 2007, 11:07 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Feb 14 2007, 07:52 AM)
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 14 2007, 10:07 AM)
Well, to quote myself, I'm only talking about winxp. I have not used Vista. So no comment on that from me. And I was talking about how much ram is needed, not that all of the programs are using the proc at the same time. However, the programs MUST be in memory/pagefile to be open at all, so what I'm saying is that for winXP you don't really need that much ram.

About OEMs, they have been shipping systems with typically 512mb of ram, occationally less blink.gif (which may be a little low for vista, I don't really know). About time they started building systems with more ram (especially considering vista needs a bit more), hence their sudden massive purchase a while back.

Sorry if there was a misunderstanding on what I posted earlier.
yehlai
post Feb 15 2007, 09:33 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

RAM price will go up a bit after cny. So grab ur new stick now b4 holiday. nod.gif
ariesto
post Feb 15 2007, 10:59 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 15 2007, 10:33 AM)
RAM price will go up a bit after cny. So grab ur new stick now b4 holiday. nod.gif
Are you sure? If yes i have to buy 2 sticks b4 CNY
sniper on the roof
post Feb 15 2007, 11:29 AM

23,414 posts

Yup... the word is that those sneaky dram fella's will increase again during Cebit when people are not watching.
lohwenli
post Feb 15 2007, 11:46 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(ariesto @ Feb 15 2007, 10:59 AM)
Are you sure? If yes i have to buy 2 sticks b4 CNY
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 15 2007, 11:29 AM)
Yup... the word is that those sneaky dram fella's will increase again during Cebit when people are not watching.
Hehe..then all of you can come and get from the bulk sections here..looks like all the sub-RM200 ram sellers are posting in this forum..
yehlai
post Feb 15 2007, 12:13 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Feb 13 2007, 03:35 AM)
Too bad micron doesn't give a damn and would still fix their chip prices damned high
QUOTE(almostthere @ Feb 13 2007, 12:28 PM)
I don't know about that but for now over here, the prices for 1Gb DDR2 533Mhz sticks are about RM320/= which in my opinion is back to old prices. Too bad there ain't any valurams yet using Micron D9's
haha u alrdy missed my sales on Micron D9s laugh.gif

QUOTE(etsuko @ Feb 13 2007, 05:29 PM)
from what da computer dealer nearby told me.. some of the suppliers aren't going to release some stocks of RAM and have given the excuse that there's no stock because the price might be shooting up again. huh.gif

anyway, i just looked inside the Memory, Drives, Media bulk and it seems that the price recently dropped 1-2 days ago. so I think better buy now then later. tongue.gif
Yea, i heard exactly the same thing too. Now RAMs price is low becoz supplier have eccessive stock which left over from Dec 06 (becoz xmas and new year sales demad is lower than they expected) So for now supply>demand = price drop.

Aft CNY RAM price will increase. Becoz during CNY, China chipset factories will close for 3 weeks. Not producing any chips so no more RAMs production and causing shortage of supply. So RAMs price will increase aft CNY (and it happen almost every year).

Thts wht i heard. Dont flame me if RAMs price still dropping after CNY. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yehlai: Feb 15 2007, 12:53 PM
froz3nnoob
post Feb 15 2007, 12:19 PM

Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the tr
837 posts

vmad.gif wahhhh the price before this inccident was so cheap ARGHHHHH doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif i bought my ram ddr2 667 one 1gb 380 / piece
stone13
post Feb 15 2007, 03:50 PM

272 posts

hope will drop the price soon want to upgrade it
Darkmage12
post Feb 15 2007, 03:56 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(froz3nnoob @ Feb 15 2007, 12:19 PM)
vmad.gif wahhhh the price before this inccident was so cheap ARGHHHHH doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  i bought my ram ddr2 667 one 1gb 380 / piece
that time when you bought the price was like 40% more expensive than 2 months ago doh.gif
Kataro
post Feb 15 2007, 04:17 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 15 2007, 12:13 PM)
haha u alrdy missed my sales on Micron D9s  laugh.gif
Yea, i heard exactly the same thing too. Now RAMs price is low becoz supplier have eccessive stock which left over from Dec 06 (becoz xmas and new year sales demad is lower than they expected) So for now supply>demand = price drop.

Aft CNY RAM price will increase. Becoz during CNY, China chipset factories will close for 3 weeks. Not producing any chips so no more RAMs production and causing shortage of supply. So RAMs price will increase aft CNY (and it happen almost every year).

Thts wht i heard. Dont flame me if RAMs price still dropping after CNY.  biggrin.gif
Nobody will frame you...maybe they will buy from you somemore...hahaha... icon_rolleyes.gif
sniper on the roof
post Feb 15 2007, 04:27 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(stone13 @ Feb 15 2007, 03:50 PM)
hope will drop the price soon want to upgrade it
Wat kok you tok? Ram price already bottomed up di.

by the way.... the article mentioned in this thread is totally historical and has nothing to do with the recent fluctuations.
epul
post Feb 15 2007, 04:35 PM

397 posts

Electronic stuff especially computer component will increase da price after CNY
due to China market
thats what i heard from computer shop
if he lie than consider me lie
TSs[H]sIkuA
post Feb 15 2007, 05:09 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(ariesto @ Feb 14 2007, 10:57 AM)
The money will go back to CONSUMERS.
Oh yea, how? All i see is the money going to the government and in this case, US gov =.=

About the price dropping, i think is one of the reason, not the main reason IMHO cause as someone already mention, supply-demand wink.gif and another reason partly because of Vista

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:26 AM