[V30] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

4lt4ir
post Feb 2 2017, 06:23 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 2 2017, 05:08 PM)
Goodingly, Minila Air got many replacement keyset in TaoBao.
reason y i like Filco. got many aftermarket items selling/easy to find. provided got money to burn. mehh
i just type in "IKBC review" most of it in english. moreover the guy asking just want to know IKBC brand quality. not certain model.

Filco MJ2 S got mxpink. nyum nyum. i like the 'dampener'. i dislike typing on red, but pink is diff. nyum nyum.
Ah, yes...Taobao. Forgot about that.

I guess if you searched for IKBC review then there'd be many more hits. In my case, I google IKBC G87 & C87 review. Most of them were not in English.

P.S: Typing this on a Poker II with browns. Ayam happy. smile.gif
4lt4ir
post Feb 2 2017, 08:01 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(PhoLyfe @ Feb 2 2017, 06:57 PM)
Ok thanks . I guess I need hands on for both ikbc and filco to justify the price.
Good luck with your search. Don't go too far down the rabbit hole biggrin.gif
4lt4ir
post Feb 2 2017, 10:38 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(PhoLyfe @ Feb 2 2017, 08:59 PM)
Yea.  I have been looking at mkb for a few yrs now. Didn't prioritise keyboard until 1yr ago when typing became a daily routine. Was planning to settle with a china board but would rather settle for a better mkb since it would (might) be my only keyboard investment.
Buy cheap, buy twice smile.gif YMMV, of course.

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 2 2017, 09:26 PM)
we need to encourage ppl to go down the rabbit hole  whistling.gif
Lel...betul jugak. The rabbit hole goes down deep...

QUOTE(Stormflyer @ Feb 2 2017, 09:32 PM)
after a long time of thinking and deciding, finally got a filco mj2 TKL brown switch today at ultimate zone...
damn those feels  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
really poison..

anyway regarding the leopold model.. i asked the staff today and they said probably end of february baru masuk stock.

thanks everyone for much help and patience while answering my question back then.
Grats on your purchase. Why didn't you go for the Ninja? Regardless, I'm sure you'll enjoy your Filco. Can't say I'm not jealous. Nowadays, mention Filco and I just salivate drool.gif
4lt4ir
post Feb 3 2017, 01:42 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Stormflyer @ Feb 2 2017, 10:59 PM)
I did consider getting the ninja one but I prefer the print to be on top
looks simple yet slick  cool2.gif
To me the side printed Ninja keys looks much slicker. Well, to each his own I guess.
4lt4ir
post Feb 3 2017, 04:01 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Heeezy @ Feb 3 2017, 02:55 AM)
typing on abs? filco stock keycaps are the worst
Really? Damn, gotta get me some PBT caps for my Filco...

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Feb 3 2017, 12:20 PM)
Kalau tak nak masuk rabbit hole, angkat endgame terus der. Hahahaha.
Manyak jahat!

P.S: U mean HHKB or Topre? Ke Korean custom tongue.gif

QUOTE(nothintodo @ Feb 3 2017, 01:42 PM)
There is no endgame
The endgame is yet another rabbit hole... wink.gif
4lt4ir
post Feb 3 2017, 05:01 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(potatobanana @ Feb 3 2017, 04:17 PM)
Newbie here,

Where can I test different keyboard switches?

RM150 budget, just want to be practical, nice to type, ergonomic
Try going to either Ultimate Zone in PJ or Viewnet Lowyat. Although I doubt you can find anything there for RM150, but at least you can get an idea of how different switches feel like.
4lt4ir
post Feb 3 2017, 11:18 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Feb 3 2017, 10:50 PM)
Bahan bacaan wajib.
4lt4ir
post Feb 6 2017, 11:19 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Anyone here knows where to buy or who's selling the flip feet with rubber grip for Filco? These ones: http://andreaazzola.com/images/posts/filco...stouch_foot.jpg

Found them on overseas retail sites but would prefer to buy locally if possible. Thanks!
4lt4ir
post Feb 6 2017, 12:02 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 6 2017, 11:39 AM)
interested to know the price. link?
Here ya go: http://www.keyboardco.com/product/filco-legs-one-pair.asp

If I decide to buy from there, would you like a pair as well? At least then we can split the shipping cost.
4lt4ir
post Feb 7 2017, 06:11 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 2 2017, 10:46 AM)
mxpink is nyum nyum.
Had a self-poisoning session just now. Can confirm...MX Pink sedap der.... nod.gif
4lt4ir
post Feb 7 2017, 06:30 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 7 2017, 06:16 PM)
kannn.
i like Pink more than Red
I'm beginning to feel the same. Only downside is that there's no click/clack/thonk at all even when bottoming out, just like any other membrane keyboard. But the feeling...fuhhh! bangwall.gif

Also, I think MX Pinks are ever so slightly heavier than reds, which is a plus in my book. If reds are 45g, then perhaps pinks are closer to 50g or so. Definitely lesser than blacks.

P.S: But according to this, the specs are similar to reds.

This post has been edited by 4lt4ir: Feb 7 2017, 06:37 PM
4lt4ir
post Feb 8 2017, 04:55 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

I have a set of Ducky floating keycaps for sale. Great for those with RGB or backlit keyboards. These caps are ABS double shot backlit keycaps, similar to the one found here on Massdrop

Condition is brand new & 100% unused. Selling for RM125 only.

PM me if you're interested & if you want to see photos.

This post has been edited by 4lt4ir: Feb 8 2017, 05:17 PM
4lt4ir
post Feb 9 2017, 11:53 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(nothintodo @ Feb 9 2017, 10:26 AM)
for 60% rgb lighting Anne Pro (gateron) is quite solid with bluetooth wireless feature. China board tho so if you have problems with chinese qc then dont go for it.

KBParadise v60 is available around 300 too.. cherry mx switches iirc.

for TKL you can get a proper cherry mx board under 300... check out CM Storm QFR-i and QFR TK on storeuni
KBP v60 can get locally for around rm300? Where?
4lt4ir
post Feb 9 2017, 11:57 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Feb 9 2017, 10:06 PM)
No dedicated arrow keys? No dedicated numpad keys? No dedicated navigation keys?

Hahaha learn to use that Fn key nao kawan.
Fn is love, Fn is life rclxm9.gif
4lt4ir
post Feb 10 2017, 07:46 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 10 2017, 11:52 AM)
coz i got both TKL n fullsize. i prefer TKL. fullsize is hard to fit in a bag unless a bag designed for it size.
My fullsized boards stay on their respective desks at home & work, they don't get to travel smile.gif I'll only ever consider at most a TKL for travelling in a case/bag. Better yet, 60% or 40% tongue.gif

4lt4ir
post Feb 10 2017, 08:51 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Anyone tried MX Blacks on their keyboards? How do you like them vs reds? Thinking of getting a board with blacks, will mainly be used for typing & not gaming. Reds feel too light for me but kinda scared blacks will be too fatiguing pulak. Also, I've heard that reds on certain keyboards can be different (stiffer and more controllable)...not sure if this is true?
4lt4ir
post Feb 11 2017, 08:07 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Feb 10 2017, 10:37 PM)
stock black from oem tend to feel heavy for first timers. but its easy to get used to it within a few hours of use
QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 11 2017, 12:19 AM)
half day of using it, i dont like it.
but its an old board(3-4 yrs), lubing might change my view. no fund doing it.
Thanks for the feedbacks, sifus.

QUOTE(richard912 @ Feb 10 2017, 10:58 PM)
Typing on blacks will definitely be tiring if you are not used to them but you'll get used to them after a while. I love my MX clears and went through a "learning curve" with them too.
Thanks for this too, hope that I CAN adapt to it..only fear that I won't be able to...

QUOTE(quadcube @ Feb 11 2017, 06:19 PM)
Using gat black,modified some of them with slightly heavier spring,best thing ever.
Heard that Gat blacks are smoother & hence better than current MX blacks? Also read that vintage MX Blacks are something else entirely.
4lt4ir
post Feb 12 2017, 12:39 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Heeezy @ Feb 11 2017, 08:14 PM)
try to modify them if you have the knowledge, modified mx blacks is amazing. could also go for mx pink, they are somewhere in between red and black, not as soft as reds because theres force when you press down, but not as hard as blacks
Haha, I don't think I'm up to modifying switches yet...I mean I just started modding my boards but only their color tongue.gif

I tried MX Pink at Ultimate Zone last week. They are indeed very smooth, I kinda like how they feel but only downside is the lack of click/clack/thonk...almost similar to typing on a regular membrane board.

QUOTE(quadcube @ Feb 11 2017, 10:29 PM)
I got a tuned vintage black switch laugh.gif Haven't tried actual MX black yet because all my boards are Gateron. They are smooth
It's kinda hard to get off-the-shelf boards with Gaterons, right? At least 'name brand' ones, I think. Kalau ada pun Chinese made ones. What Gat boards do you have?
4lt4ir
post Feb 12 2017, 07:51 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Feb 12 2017, 05:30 AM)
2 custom (TGR Jane, 910),1 stock Filco. Jane is Gat brown, gonna switch it to black and 910 is Gat black, also have to desolder to lube the switches
Wow..your Filco came with Gats?

BTW, I've just finished spray painting my Filco. Took a week to dry & fully cure, just reassembled it yesterday. I call it "Malaysian Red" smile.gif

P.S: Filco has a stock color called the "Italian Red". Mine appears darker in real life, digital cameras don't play nicely with reds.

Next would be PBT keycaps (light colored) & mod the cable.

This post has been edited by 4lt4ir: Feb 12 2017, 07:52 PM
4lt4ir
post Feb 13 2017, 12:25 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 12 2017, 08:36 PM)
How do you take out the 'filco' logo?
There are 2 holes on the back of the top case behind the logo. You'll see them once you take the top case off. Then you can just use a sharp thin object to push the Filco logo out, alternatively can pry it off using craft knife.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0939sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:03 PM