Subaru WRX STI V10 or Mercedes A250, maintenance & durability

TSmentekedarah
post Nov 23 2016, 12:58 PM, updated 10y ago

18 posts

Guys,

Im looking at this both cars. I know they're in different league but both are eye catching. In terms of maintenance & durability, how would it sum up over the years? Spare parts easy?
afoka
post Nov 23 2016, 01:04 PM

315 posts

dun talk bout buying... if ask bout spare part.

r u buying new or recond?
TSmentekedarah
post Nov 23 2016, 01:08 PM

18 posts

recond la bro...V10 where got new.... a250 looking 2nd also..
6UE5T
post Nov 23 2016, 01:18 PM

1,704 posts

I'd think the WRX STI is easier and cheaper to maintain coz it's Japanese, the engine is more or less still the same for many years already so got many parts available, more workshops who understand the car, and many more mod options. More importantly it's much faster, it's AWD, and available in manual which is the version you should go for! Then you'd have a fun car to drive.

A250 is just like a Golf GTI actually.
Jasonshah
post Nov 23 2016, 01:20 PM

26 posts

of coz la have to ask maintenance and such. what you buy car just pay and drive ah? aiyo
chinteck79
post Nov 23 2016, 02:17 PM

59 posts

STi if auto then no, if manual then yes. Manual is quite rare in recond market as most stock is auto
TSmentekedarah
post Nov 23 2016, 02:45 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 23 2016, 01:18 AM)
I'd think the WRX STI is easier and cheaper to maintain coz it's Japanese, the engine is more or less still the same for many years already so got many parts available, more workshops who understand the car, and many more mod options. More importantly it's much faster, it's AWD, and available in manual which is the version you should go for! Then you'd have a fun car to drive.

A250 is just like a Golf GTI actually.
what about the maintenance bro?you know?
TSmentekedarah
post Nov 23 2016, 02:46 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(chinteck79 @ Nov 23 2016, 02:17 AM)
STi if auto then no, if manual then yes. Manual is quite rare in recond market as most stock is auto
yeah most of it out there are auto 2.5L
the manual is 2.0L only
not sure about the power output. having tough time seeking information rclxub.gif
annas473
post Nov 23 2016, 02:52 PM

813 posts

For service interval and cost, try ask sc. Hope they can help.

From there you can have the range of price.

I like both cars wub.gif
TSmentekedarah
post Nov 23 2016, 02:55 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Nov 23 2016, 02:52 AM)
For service interval and cost, try ask sc. Hope they can help.

From there you can have the range of price.

I like both cars  wub.gif
yeah bro..me too..having hard time choosing..
springfall
post Nov 23 2016, 02:57 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(mentekedarah @ Nov 23 2016, 04:45 PM)
the question we will ask is how trashy will you drive or what mods.
if everyday hantam at every red lights, and drive crazy, either sure will be costly.

but in terms of parts, my vote for sti
if u can cari jalan buy aftermarket, and or don't do crazy mod's,
sti will tolorate much trashing, but if drive sanely then it will last no problems. (plz use proper ron97)
subbies boxers are known to run no oil change, but just top up's in the outback's.

a250 anytime many workshop will walap price cuz 3 cross.
but it will win in terms of DDrive comfort, not the best but still better.
oh did i even mention electronics in merc's whistling.gif

This post has been edited by springfall: Nov 23 2016, 02:58 PM
6UE5T
post Nov 23 2016, 03:02 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mentekedarah @ Nov 23 2016, 02:45 PM)
QUOTE(mentekedarah @ Nov 23 2016, 02:46 PM)
yeah most of it out there are auto 2.5L
the manual is 2.0L only
not sure about the power output. having tough time seeking information  rclxub.gif
Mercedes maintenance is surely more expensive than Subaru. Like I said above, the Subaru engine is more or less still the same for decades already so maintenance should not be much issue, while the A250 is still relatively much newer car. If I were you, it's a no brainer really, just get the WRX STI manual. The only Mercs worth considering now in this type of segment IMHO is the mighty AMG A45, others are just for show off that will blow a big hole in the pocket.

As for the 2.0 power compared to 2.5, the 2.5 should have more power & torque in stock form but after mod I think the 2.0 is plenty powerful then coupled with the 6 speed manual then you might feel it's faster and actually would have more fun, plus you should have a bit more options to mod too. Road tax of the 2.5 also more than double (rm390 vs rm880) if that's a consideration point for you. Automatic for this kind of car IMHO is a big no as it totally misses the point!
TSmentekedarah
post Nov 23 2016, 03:04 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Nov 23 2016, 02:57 AM)
the question we will ask is how trashy will you drive or what mods.
if everyday hantam at every red lights, and drive crazy, either sure will be costly.

but in terms of parts, my vote for sti
if u can cari jalan buy aftermarket, and or don't do crazy mod's,
sti will tolorate much trashing, but if drive sanely then it will last no problems. (plz use proper ron97)
subbies boxers are known to run no oil change, but just top up's in the outback's.

a250 anytime many workshop will walap price cuz 3 cross.
but it will win in terms of DDrive comfort, not the best but still better.
oh did i even mention electronics in merc's whistling.gif
thanks for the info! now im more towards sti icon_idea.gif but really need to test first
TSmentekedarah
post Nov 23 2016, 03:13 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 23 2016, 03:02 AM)
Mercedes maintenance is surely more expensive than Subaru. Like I said above, the Subaru engine is more or less still the same for decades already so maintenance should not be much issue, while the A250 is still relatively much newer car. If I were you, it's a no brainer really, just get the WRX STI manual. The only Mercs worth considering now in this type of segment IMHO is the mighty AMG A45, others are just for show off that will blow a big hole in the pocket.

As for the 2.0 power compared to 2.5, the 2.5 should have more power & torque in stock form but after mod I think the 2.0 is plenty powerful then coupled with the 6 speed manual then you might feel it's faster and actually would have more fun, plus you should have a bit more options to mod too. Road tax of the 2.5 also more than double (rm390 vs rm880) if that's a consideration point for you. Automatic for this kind of car IMHO is a big no as it totally misses the point!
thanks for the info!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
it is quite rare to find the 2.0L version.. & there's the A-Line version also..anyways i will look up the 2.0L also.thanks again!
annas473
post Nov 23 2016, 03:13 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(mentekedarah @ Nov 23 2016, 02:55 PM)
yeah bro..me too..having hard time choosing..
how much the price and % loan you get for each?

A200 250 gaining number on the road but subaru is still quite rare.

If I were given to pick 1 to serve me for long duration, I would go for Subaru over A250.

1. Service - I think (not really sure) Subaru much cheaper. Try Aiman Motor glenmarie, ask them to email etc.

2. Spare part and Modification - a lot of aftermarket part can be swap. Kakimotor etc.

For inspiration, the concept car

TSmentekedarah
post Nov 23 2016, 03:18 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Nov 23 2016, 03:13 AM)
how much the price and % loan you get for each?

A200 250 gaining number on the road but subaru is still quite rare.

If I were given to pick 1 to serve me for long duration, I would go for Subaru over A250.

1. Service - I think (not really sure) Subaru much cheaper. Try Aiman Motor glenmarie, ask them to email etc.

2. Spare part and Modification - a lot of aftermarket part can be swap. Kakimotor etc.

For inspiration, the concept car

walaweyh monstahhh concept!
im looking around 150k-170k for now.interest im not sure.haven't ask banks yet.
my instinct says the Sti, just need a few dosage of awareness about the car before proceeding.
Jasonshah
post Nov 23 2016, 03:21 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(mentekedarah @ Nov 23 2016, 03:13 PM)
thanks for the info!! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
it is quite rare to find the 2.0L version.. & there's the A-Line version also..anyways i will look up the 2.0L also.thanks again!
i wonder if there's much differences in terms of power output between mt and auto for sti? hmm.gif
annas473
post Nov 23 2016, 03:24 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(mentekedarah @ Nov 23 2016, 03:18 PM)
walaweyh monstahhh concept!
im looking around 150k-170k for now.interest im not sure.haven't ask banks yet.
my instinct says the Sti, just need a few dosage of awareness about the car before proceeding.
Good luck biggrin.gif share here the footage of the car if you hunting them.

I have never saw one at Sri Petaling and Bukit Jalil. Tomorrow if possible I go to Sg besi.
samartaryarmy
post Nov 23 2016, 04:12 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Nov 23 2016, 03:24 PM)
Good luck  biggrin.gif share here the footage of the car if you hunting them.

I have never saw one at Sri Petaling and Bukit Jalil. Tomorrow if possible I go to Sg besi.
will find em when i got time..if u find some post it here bro!
annas473
post Nov 23 2016, 04:17 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(samartaryarmy @ Nov 23 2016, 04:12 PM)
will find em when i got time..if u find some post it here bro!
biggrin.gif okay

0.0204sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:48 PM