Subaru WRX STI V10 or Mercedes A250, maintenance & durability

6UE5T
post Nov 23 2016, 01:18 PM

1,704 posts

I'd think the WRX STI is easier and cheaper to maintain coz it's Japanese, the engine is more or less still the same for many years already so got many parts available, more workshops who understand the car, and many more mod options. More importantly it's much faster, it's AWD, and available in manual which is the version you should go for! Then you'd have a fun car to drive.

A250 is just like a Golf GTI actually.
6UE5T
post Nov 23 2016, 03:02 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mentekedarah @ Nov 23 2016, 02:45 PM)
what about the maintenance bro?you know?
QUOTE(mentekedarah @ Nov 23 2016, 02:46 PM)
yeah most of it out there are auto 2.5L
the manual is 2.0L only
not sure about the power output. having tough time seeking information  rclxub.gif
Mercedes maintenance is surely more expensive than Subaru. Like I said above, the Subaru engine is more or less still the same for decades already so maintenance should not be much issue, while the A250 is still relatively much newer car. If I were you, it's a no brainer really, just get the WRX STI manual. The only Mercs worth considering now in this type of segment IMHO is the mighty AMG A45, others are just for show off that will blow a big hole in the pocket.

As for the 2.0 power compared to 2.5, the 2.5 should have more power & torque in stock form but after mod I think the 2.0 is plenty powerful then coupled with the 6 speed manual then you might feel it's faster and actually would have more fun, plus you should have a bit more options to mod too. Road tax of the 2.5 also more than double (rm390 vs rm880) if that's a consideration point for you. Automatic for this kind of car IMHO is a big no as it totally misses the point!
6UE5T
post Nov 23 2016, 06:14 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Nov 23 2016, 05:44 PM)
get the 2.0 manual. higher rev limit iirc for 2.0, and manual can tahan more torque if u decide to mod.

oil change + filter around 500.
rotors + pads around 6k.
front o2 sensor 1k.
225/17 ad08r around 2.5k for a set of 4.

these are from the top of my head.

have the gdb for around 3 years, awesome fun! best parts are like during road block after passing the police ask u tekan mau dengar bunyi lol touge sessions too !
Oil change + filter rm500, using Motul 300V or similar is it?
What rotors and pads are those costing 6k?
6UE5T
post Nov 23 2016, 08:02 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Nov 23 2016, 07:00 PM)
using Torco SR1.

Project MU B-spec pads and SCR rotors (cheapest jor, couldnt afford the 2-piece ones), Brembo quoted similar price too.
Huh Project Mu stuff so expensive meh? I also use Project Mu's B Spec pads and slotted rotors, only rm525-550 for the pads and around rm1.1-1.3k for the rotors, so total still around 1.8k for the front. If top up for the rear brakes also maybe double to around 4k max but still nowhere near 6k. Or you use floating rotors?

QUOTE(quicksilver9832 @ Nov 23 2016, 07:26 PM)
2 litre is anytime more drivable than 2.5...higher revs..stronger block ...and only Japan domestic model
2.5 ltr should have more torque in low-mid rpm but 2.0 may rev higher and yeah probably more well proven for high HP mods.
6UE5T
post Nov 23 2016, 11:10 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Nov 23 2016, 09:42 PM)
nah not the floating ones just normal slotted. iirc i paid 2k+- for each pair of rotors and 1k+ for the pads. where you get 1.3k? i'll get from your source next time.
Wah you surely got taken to the cleaners leh. I bought mine at Kakimotor and N1 Sunway actually but most other places sell similar prices like I said too, at max just rm100-200 more expensive, not double like yours! I was shocked when I read your prices. sweat.gif

Your oil change price also very expensive leh.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Nov 23 2016, 11:11 PM
6UE5T
post Nov 23 2016, 11:14 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(quicksilver9832 @ Nov 23 2016, 11:09 PM)
Better go for 6 pot configuration smile.gif
Naah not really needed actually coz already Brembo 4 pot fr and 2 pot rear for the WRX STI. Just upgrade pads and brake hose should be enough.
6UE5T
post Nov 24 2016, 10:21 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(quicksilver9832 @ Nov 24 2016, 12:07 AM)
Not enough for me  rclxms.gif
If you go beyond 500HP then yeah but if not then not really necessary. The car is not that heavy anyway.

0.0171sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:54 PM