> Military Thread V23

SUSKLboy92
post Nov 30 2016, 01:19 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Nov 30 2016, 10:52 AM)
just a quick question:

why assault rifles typically have 30 rounds max? why not 40? why not 50?
Then some got 20 rounds? i mean is that enough for heated battles??

i admire the germans last time in WW2. Their MP40 got 32 rounds, extra 2 round.
Balance between weight, encumbrance and utility really.

20 round are you thinking of the SLR? It fires 7.62mm NATO which is bigger and significantly heavier. 1 of the few downsides to the AK47 (which fires a shorter 7.62mm round) is the weight and length of the magazine, which makes it harder to fire prone.

You must love the Soviet Ppsh41 then. 71 round drum bruce.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Nov 30 2016, 02:18 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Nov 30 2016, 01:26 PM)
No need SLR

Quite some time back. Military use now prefer 30 round though apparently some SWAT police still use the old 20 round mags since they don't need as much firepower
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 1 2016, 07:09 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Dec 1 2016, 12:29 PM)
All NATO is going to have their budget increase as per NATO agreement on spending 2% of their gdp on defense budget.
Because trump unhappy with nato allies not following the agreement.
QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Dec 1 2016, 12:40 PM)
Rumor has it that the Polish and Czech militaries are pursuing an integration agreement with Germany, one like the Bundeswehr has with the Dutch military.

Anschluss time again? laugh.gif
I think more related to Brexit, though I agree the Stump has basically rendered US assistance unreliable in its allies' eyes rolleyes.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 2 2016, 02:17 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 2 2016, 12:26 AM)
more like our country development budget is low。
means budget for ATM development also low.
almost like standard budget,not much change from pass。
We are outright in the midst of a financial crisis, but the govt media doesn't dare say it out

Not this close to election
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 2 2016, 01:35 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 2 2016, 12:08 PM)
even we no economic issue time, development budget still low.
i think more like policy issue. how much willing invest in defense, also mainly no politician will.
also our pass gov financial policy/structure make as hard to get more budget for defense.
% wise our defence budget is similar to the smaller EU countries right, around 1.7% IINM

IMHO neither side has the real political will, PH don't really have a separate defence strategy and BN is just there for the money rolleyes.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 5 2016, 06:28 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(BorneoAlliance @ Dec 4 2016, 07:01 PM)
Congress authorizes Trump to arm Syrian rebels with anti-aircraft missiles

AlMonitor
"Vote Trump for peace" they said
"Clinton is the warmonger" they said

This is exactly the kind of escalation that Obama and Clinton was hoping to avoid. Well done, Trumpers bangwall.gif

QUOTE(malberi8 @ Dec 5 2016, 04:09 PM)
i thought Ukraine shot down MH17 and then US and its allies blamed it on Russia...
more like the other way round. The investigation board has concluded its Russia already, but the Kremlin has been pushing alternative explanations since the very start: almost every single MH17 conspiracy theory can be traced back to initial broadcasts on various Russian media.

A critic of Putin who published a report covering MH17 in detail has even been assassinated: Boris Nemtsov.
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 5 2016, 08:52 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(mcnoodle @ Dec 5 2016, 06:33 PM)
I have the impression that the Republicans are more militant than the Democrats.
pretty much yeah. remember Bush anybody? the tea party? rolleyes.gif

but everyone's rushing to suck Trump dick because hurr durr Russia says Clinton fund ISIS emails doh.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 6 2016, 12:56 AM

189 posts

Two sailors dead as Indian warship tips over during undockingTwo sailors were confirmed dead while a number of others are being treated for injuries after the Indian Navy frigate INS Betwa tipped over on Monday as it was being undocked at the Naval Dockyard in Mumbai.

"The incident occurred in the Cruiser Graving Dock during undocking evolution wherein it is suspected that the dock blocks mechanism has failed," Indian Navy spokesperson, Captain (IN) D K Sharma, was quoted as saying by the Indian media.

Pictures on social media show the frigate on its port side in the dock. Betwa has likely sustained damage to her mast and side, and it remains to be seen whether the ship can be saved.

INS Betwa lying on side after she collapsed down due to a mishap while leaving the port after a refit. #INSBetwa @indiannavy #navalcraft pic.twitter.com/piVGbUwlv4
— IADnews (@newsiadn) December 5, 2016

INS Betwa is an indigenously designed and built guided missile frigate of the Brahmaputra-class. The ship is 125 meters long and displaces 3,600 tonnes. It was commissioned into the Indian Navy in 2004.
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 6 2016, 05:52 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Dec 6 2016, 05:43 PM)
MalDef

SHAH ALAM: RMAF has qualified American made Paveway series laser guided bombs on its Sukhoi Su-30MKM multi-role combat aircraft. The LGBs qualified were the Paveway II GBU-16/B and GBU-12/B. The GBU-16s carries 1000lb class warhead while GBU-12Bs are those with warheads in the 500 lb class

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
good I guess, but what happened? can't rely on our stocks of KAB-500 any more?
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 7 2016, 01:42 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Dreadstar @ Dec 7 2016, 01:31 AM)
article on paveway lgb gone  hmm.gif
something  whistling.gif
Still there
your browser lah something brows.gif

I didn't know we put Damocles pod on our Su30
Seems all the more reason to go Rafale for commonality now
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 7 2016, 01:13 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 7 2016, 09:48 AM)
if we get Rafale can use Damocles pod also.
anyway Damocles pod many military analysis said it is not very good pod due to scan area are only 320x320, other figther jet manufacture reconn pod may may have 640 or 800 scan area.  also Damocles NG (new Generation) pod currently in develop & testing by Thales and estimated ready in 2018, Damocles NG will have 1024 scan area.
Yes thats why I'm not terribly thrilled
The Typhoon pod is said to be better (I think its RAPTOR?)

QUOTE(azriel @ Dec 7 2016, 12:27 PM)
Marhalim deleted his post article. No longer there.
http://www.malaysiandefence.com/gempita-on-the-roll/
I think he edited it and put it back up by the time I rechecked

The part about using Damocles to drop Paveway is gone

Either
1) we really did and its top secret or
2) we dropped a Russian LGB not Paveway or
3) we dropped Paveway but didn't use Damocles

Hmmmmmm
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 7 2016, 03:22 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 7 2016, 03:16 PM)
if not wrong Typhoon use LITENING pod,new one LITENING pod have 640x480 resolution. but it make by Rafael Corporation/Northrop Grumman (we can use?)
seems Malaysia defense already delete artical on Mkm Paveway ?
Yeah that's the one
Impossible to use lar then rolleyes.gif
sigh.... Damocles NG it is.

In the comments MA insists he heard Paveway not LGB brows.gif and he deleted it because he was warned of "operational concerns" brows.gif

Someone also pointed out we have KAB-500L already though.
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 11 2016, 09:51 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Dec 9 2016, 04:36 PM)
Have you seen how massive these things are?

Also in the heat of battle where quick reloading is very important to your health I'm pretty sure the safe keeping of expended mags are not that of a great priority.

Shoot, drop empty mag, pull out new mag insert into weapon, repeat. Trying to keep an already empty mag seems to just add another unnecessary step to the process.
Quick reloading is not as important when your 1 mag has 3 times the capacity of normal mag brows.gif

The coffin mag is at least slightly more ergonomic than drum or box which is the only other option for 100 rounds, you still got chance to stuff that big banana in a strap somewhere relatively quickly

If you're firing drum or box also you will still be told to bring the mag back. That makes the process even slower (seen a SAW gunner reload right?)

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Dec 11 2016, 09:52 AM
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 15 2016, 03:05 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 14 2016, 07:28 PM)
It's a dud dude
How can you tell?
Looks like white shots from here. Aren't practice rounds usually blue?

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 13 2016, 09:42 AM)
Other US show is coming after Air Force 1, now F-35 cost overun for years.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
LM stock drop 3% already, equal value about 4 billion. 

Big mouth only (I hope)
The other partners won't let him get away with it
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 15 2016, 04:11 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 15 2016, 04:02 PM)
just re-negotiation price only, but every one also know new US weapon program cost over runs for decade, DDG1000, F-35, Ford Aircraft Carriar, LCS, AF1, etc .. make weapon industry company collect huge profit.
he just send signal to weapon industry company don't make too much money.
he bodoh or more likely, manipulating the story

every single major US project there are people painting negative picture for their own agenda

right now when F-35 is starting to be successful and partner nations are happy, right now is when he decide to cut?!?! it really IS F-22 all over again!

see also: Spruance, Ticonderoga, Aegis, F/A-18, F-15
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 18 2016, 04:27 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Dec 16 2016, 11:58 PM)
well, they decided to use their existing factory there... heard its even better than even the x95...
Ozzies operating on a shoestring too

Almost exactly like us, all money sucked into their land vehicle project, new destroyers as well as 10 (!) new submarines

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Dec 17 2016, 07:51 PM)
China holds first live-fire drills with aircraft carrier, warships

BEIJING (REUTERS) - China's military has carried out its first ever live-fire drills using an aircraft carrier and fighters in the northeastern Bohai Sea close to Korea
I didn't know their carrier wing was that inoperational
Now only do live fire exercise
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 19 2016, 03:47 PM

189 posts

How legit is this? sos forum paki: http://defence.pk/threads/denel-inks-r3-5-...alaysia.424277/

SUSKLboy92
post Dec 19 2016, 05:15 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 19 2016, 05:07 PM)
tahun bila punya cerita ni?
sos 2016
Well I have not seen the command and mortar variant turrets yet, so its new to me
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 19 2016, 05:37 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Dec 19 2016, 05:20 PM)
Its from july 2012 and the news isnt available anymore
But the googlel cache still got it so its just another recycled news
Denel inks R3.5 billion deal with Malaysia | defenceWeb

Written by defenceWeb, Tuesday, 10 July 2012
Mm I see.
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 20 2016, 03:59 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(DDG_Ross @ Dec 20 2016, 03:35 PM)
dat recoil impact shocking.gif
though most likely due to the soft ground