17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Gerbils Hut V4, I wont bite you, I wont stink either !

crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 28 2007, 05:15 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Hahah... play thumping with Roger LOL.... yesterday had a sawi feast for all my gerbils.... heheh... so cute to see the pups eating vegie.

For me, I have switched to Delikate too.... somehow Chipsi made my gerbils have slight bloody noses... not Chokee lah... Chokee allergic to all beddings LOL.... but my other gerbils got slight bloody nose from Chipsi now.... hmmm.... I'm guessing could be the new stock problem coz last time I use Chipsi, everything was fine.

Would prefer Chipsi Super but its hard to get hold of lah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 28 2007, 06:28 PM

12,047 posts

Actually.... Delikate and Chipsi also soft woods... but if you put your face into the wood shaving bags.... You can tell the difference. Delikate has little smell while Chipsi is stronger... but if you were to put Hagen pine as comparison, Hagen Pine smells really really strong... so you can tell the difference by smell and dust content.

Added on March 28, 2007, 6:28 pmIt is up to the individual, to use either Chipsi or Delikate lah... only these 2 brands can be safely used for now.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 28 2007, 06:28 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 28 2007, 09:53 PM

12,047 posts

I tried Aspen once... when Pets Wonderland used to carry Aspen.... nice to use and I think gerbils would like it better since it has less dust and also it is heavier, means digging and making burrows is easier. Last time I use for my tortoise only LOL.... didn't have gerbils last time.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 29 2007, 09:10 AM

12,047 posts

Last time I bought it was Sluis.... cheap also... but now no more....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 29 2007, 09:33 AM

12,047 posts

I have never seen Aspen in Pet Family too... if got ah, we will become loyal buyers hahahah....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 30 2007, 12:35 PM

12,047 posts

Ahhh... those 3 pups.... I know their colour... roughly lah. 1 is a pied Argente cream I think but very light and golden.... 1 is lilac and 1 nutmeg.... mama rat loves them like her own... ai, I think it's good to have a rat at stand by to foster... the way the rat fosters is better than any rodents.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 30 2007, 01:01 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 30 2007, 12:41 PM)
lol good news to know hun!
Foo ah

I can't remember but normally argente and argente cream you can see got some grey undercoat when pup rite?
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 30 2007, 02:30 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 30 2007, 02:26 PM)
when baby abit difficult cos the grey shade is light... but grow up abit then u can see like 1mth old.. n also their belly line not as high as yellow fox.
Hmmm... well, should be pied argente cream lah.... but very happy coz the white on the neck is quite big.. tongue.gif

Then it is a male heheheh....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 30 2007, 02:52 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Mar 30 2007, 02:46 PM)
I wonder if they will know how to thump..since they have no gerbil parents to teach, haha
Yah.... I also wonder.... but this is an interesting experiement heheheh....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 04:53 PM

12,047 posts

Wah.. new owners. Hao also take another gerbil? Hahaha...

Good lah, gerbil family all growing.

Anyway, updates on the 3 pups... looks like baby nutmeg has very low immune system, fell sick and is very weak.... chances of survival is very slim. He also stopped nursing and won't suckle even if I place him at the female's tit. Sad lah, he will go soon.

The lilac and pied argente cream is doing very well, fur is coming out and more vocal also. Quite a nice pied this one is....

Added on March 31, 2007, 4:55 pmWah.... Hao's gerbil family growing hahahah.... Is that a DTW?

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 31 2007, 04:55 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 05:09 PM

12,047 posts

Yah... I pity Foo, got ppl book so many then later last minute FFK.... ai, I also kena before many times LOL.... especially hamsters but luckily managed to keep them.

Today I spent 4 hours cleaning.... wuuu.... feel like wanna pengsan hahaha... but everything is now clean and smell fresh so its worth it.

I also kena poisoned by Foo... but must resist hahaha.... now no new tanks coming in yet and got so many cute babies waiting to be weaned and rehome.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 05:15 PM

12,047 posts

All gerbils love to dig lah BlueHeng.... it is natural for them to wanna dig.

Anyway, I just came back from PetsWonderland at GEM.... they still selling the "Buy 1, get 1 for Free" gerbil... only got 2 agoutis and adults... kept in a cage with a plastic hide house that is badly chewed.... also 2 very stressed up Jerboas..... today got some Easter thing going on so got loud PA system and the poor animals are there on display.... pity pity...

Yah loh Hao, sometimes these natural causes cannot prevent from happening. It's always sad to see one being weak.... At least it's still a pup... sometimes when they are bigger, the suffering and the pain of losing them is worst....

Added on March 31, 2007, 5:18 pm
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 31 2007, 05:14 PM)
lol sp deh is a really nice color smile.gif
nice pic hao! hehehe
oh dear... i hv one died also sad.gif sad.. not eating.. we canot do anything though.. i force feed also canot.. ai..
Yah loh... when force feed and don't want to eat.... is no choice, we must let them go.... sob sob....

Later I will take some pics of the pups that are fostered by my rat. I also very proud of my rats since they give me so many colours.... it will be kinda funny to see 2 gerbils acting like rats later hahahah... but at least its giving them a 2nd chance in life lah.

Foo, heard you bought mice hahahah....

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 31 2007, 05:18 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 05:27 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 31 2007, 05:24 PM)
mom haven't pass yet.. i tell you.. when i brought it back my mom was on FIRE.. mad.gif
lol.. took me 20mins to calm her down and explain.. then in the end nego with her.. (tell her will keep house clean..do housework.. bla bla.. and in the end she said 'i'll see how first. no promises. If i find that it stinks i'll kick them out'.. -.-"
so.. hopefully what u all say about gerbils is right.. no smell. because if got smell... i dielor..
Aiyah.... moms will always be like that hahahah... sometimes you can blame the smell on things.... like I blame it on the hay heheheh...

Really, the smell is not as bad as hamsters. Even if got smell also, won't make you faint lah. Everyday you poke your head into the tank to check lah. If smells, quickly change the bedding loh....

Don't worry. I think your mom will cool down later and let you keep them if they are clean. This is how I got my way with my parents lah hehehehe.... this only applies to gerbils... my parents find hamsters damn stinky.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 11:01 PM

12,047 posts

Hehehe... finally.... Hao burnt his tank hehehee... am I rite?
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 11:08 PM

12,047 posts

That should be a pied agouti. Nice white collar.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 11:14 PM

12,047 posts

Hahaha... but it saves the bottle. I'm gonna get new stock of bottles soon... then I will happily be burning holes hahahah....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 11:28 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 31 2007, 11:14 PM)
Then wud's da difference btwn spotted agouti and pied agouti?? I saw in Nezu's thread - looks similar to me sweat.gif
A spotted would mean either the head only got 1 white spot or the head and neck got white spots...

Pied means the face got a small white blaze either from the nose onwards of from the eye level... then it stretches towards the neck. The white on the neck is in a collar pattern. No spot on the neck but a white collar. That is called pied.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 31 2007, 11:46 PM

12,047 posts

Our gerbils will naturally like to dig coz we keep them in 1 or 2 inch wood shavings..... if the gerbils born in 12 inch wood shavings and live in the 12 inch wood shavings till bigger, they won't dig at the corner wan.... but then 12 inch, sure cannot see gerbil hahahaha...
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 1 2007, 12:23 AM

12,047 posts

Har? Where got aspen? How much?
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 1 2007, 12:35 AM

12,047 posts

Wahhh... last one.... how come I didn't see when I went last week? LOL... maybe coz I busily whack up the last 3 Harry Hamster hahahah.... Foo sure get all the Prestige liao.

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

1.4159sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:44 PM