17 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Gerbils Hut V4, I wont bite you, I wont stink either !

crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 24 2007, 12:10 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Mar 23 2007, 09:40 PM)
yup..so far i'm fine with them with  the wheels...

gerbils are highly intellect creatures whom do not amuse themselves by running in wheels... however they explore and "play" with it the other way. furthermore i don't see them running but hopping around on their hind legs.  wink.gif
Hahah... mine would chew on the wheel....

But then not all will run on wheels. They still prefer each other. Wrestling! Kissing! Cuddling! Sleeping hahahah....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 24 2007, 12:51 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Mar 24 2007, 12:36 AM)
that's why i buy besi wan  brows.gif  brows.gif 

Yeah, they prefer wrestling also and if u see the Coke glass...the DEH likes to dig dig dig inside..the endless digging..The agouti pulak..super naughty..can jump up the aquarium and escape. rclxub.gif  This is the number 7 time he escaped.  shakehead.gif
At least yours dig in the glass cup... mine ah.... somehow they toilet trained themselves to pee in their glass jars... the jars looked so disgusting that I couldn't bring myself to wash it with my bare hands.... threw away and gave them new ones hahahh...
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 24 2007, 01:08 AM

12,047 posts

Hahah... flower pot easier to clean lah... but coffee jar... so deep... geli to put my hand inside to dig out the soiled shavings LOL...

I may wanna remodel my tanks.... gonna use maybe some metal fencing, acrylic plastic sheets and some wood.... gonna use hot glue gun heheheh.... Boring liao see my tank and also maybe boring for my gerbils to have nothing much.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 24 2007, 01:29 AM

12,047 posts

Yah... sounds big... but I wonder how good is my handy work only. I was thinking why not try and make a mess since my tank looks very old and scratchy hahah... so not so sakit hati if something goes wrong heheheh....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 24 2007, 10:52 AM

12,047 posts

Living World wood shavings not good... is Pine hahahaah....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 12:59 PM

12,047 posts

Hahaha... Hao, your gerbil boys so funny.... anyway, your Spottie should be ok coz the DEH is just humping only LOL.... Normally I see my male gerbils hump males, they don't lick themselves... means never ejaculate lah hahaahah but yours.... LOL....

prophet007
How they escape lah? Chew their way out? Hahahah... One thing good about gerbils is they will never hide for long. You are sure to find them later heheheh...
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 01:38 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... I guess you must put a heavy book on top. Gerbils are smart.... they know where is the opening and they know what to do to make it open hahahah...
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 09:08 PM

12,047 posts

Heheh... some gerbil pictures

crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 26 2007, 06:03 PM

12,047 posts

Wah... so cute.... hahaha... need more pics... My pups are still small and funny looking now.... growing growing hahahah... once mature will all be fat fat.

Added on March 26, 2007, 6:24 pmJust to update.... I got 3 gerbil pups borned.... but from 2 different moms and it seems they do not have any interest in nursing the pups....

So.... they now got a foster mom... my huge female rat is now being a big mama to them. And she got better milk production. I just checked them, their tummies are so so full of milk. So proud of my mama rat heheheh.... But I wonder, will the gerbil pups grow up thinking they are rats? They share the tank with 8 rat pups.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 26 2007, 06:24 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 26 2007, 06:37 PM

12,047 posts

Yah... big rat.... double or say triple the size of a gerbil.... LOL.... the gerbil pups are half the size of the rat pups....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 26 2007, 08:24 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 26 2007, 08:07 PM)
blink.gif  blink.gif how come gerbil can have rat mother? You transfer them over? Wow.. didn't know it's possible to do such things..  shocking.gif
haahah... possible if got emergency cases lah.

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Mar 26 2007, 08:16 PM)
i juz noticed my lilac and dove nose got a bit blood. dried one though. clean them with cotton swab. sad.gif 

Do i need to change the bedding?
Bloody nose... could be your bedding.... Did you change it recently or you have not change your bedding for the week?

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Mar 26 2007, 08:20 PM)
Wah, gerbils nursed by rats! this is rather interesting, do keep us updated... all the best for the pups
Yah... very interesting.... the 2 female gerbils not producing enough milk so the pups were dehydrated and I had no extra pet milk for them... so thought giving my rats a try.... mana tahu it works. I was so worried last night coz I kept checking but they did not nurse... finally today I see the pups healthy.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 26 2007, 08:44 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 26 2007, 08:39 PM)
Hoho.. can take pics let us see? So cool leh..
Ok... when the pups a bit older or if got time, see tomorrow lah.... now night so can't take a clear pic.

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Mar 26 2007, 08:40 PM)
mayb its my bedding. Going to observe for the next few days.
Ahhh... change the bedding and put some fresh ones in and see how it goes. These days Chipsi and Delikate... I think something additional is in it now since I notice some of my gerbils also develpo bloody nose but only a bit. Only Chokee gets terrible allergies from Chipsi but he is ok with Delikate. My rat pulak gets bloody nose from Delikate.... aiyah... so susah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 27 2007, 09:01 PM

12,047 posts

Hahaha.... suddenly all "brokeback" LOL damn funny lah your gerbils heheheh...

Today just checked, the 3 gerbils fostered by mama rat is doing very very well. Happy lah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 27 2007, 09:06 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... then if that happens, will have gerats LOL... or Ratbils... my goodness... sounds insane LOL.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 27 2007, 10:19 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Mar 27 2007, 10:16 PM)
want to ask one question here..
(but i dont either the question was asked before or not.. seems that i had read about that before.. but not sure where..)

can we use sand as our gerbil bedding??
it looks like return to nature actually..
Not really advisable. The sand available sold for reptiles is not that good. Sand from construction has parasites and bacteria. Soil has humus and fertilizers as well as parasites if not properly cleaned.

Yah, it may look nice, back to nature and all but the cleaning is gonna be a headache. Moist sand and soil also will grow mold and fungus that can harm the animals.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 27 2007, 10:29 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Mar 27 2007, 10:25 PM)
Got some other ways la, such as playsand and there is also a new bedding called Katy that's basically grinded fine hardwood.
Playsand cannot burrow lah... same as that Katy loh.... Gerbils like to dig and burrow...

I saw one before, whole tank was some sort of soil... wah, can see the burrows and tunnels... so nice but expensive to upkeep I guess.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 27 2007, 10:42 PM

12,047 posts

Is not play sand loh.... is really some kind of clay soil. Not available here. Saw it in some foreign website.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 27 2007, 11:03 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Mar 27 2007, 10:50 PM)
Hun, got the pic? I want to see  drool.gif
Hahah... I go cari, once I found it then i post here lah tongue.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 28 2007, 11:13 AM

12,047 posts

Foo
Your sp lilac so light? My sp lilac looks like a dove with spot.... my sp dove is like your sp lilac loh....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 28 2007, 03:57 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 28 2007, 11:56 AM)
yes he is light cos pied n Gg it lighten him, but he is lilac hahha.. the 1st lilac which is lighter than dove....
Ohhh.... so it can be lighten by Gg? Ah.... something interesting. I thought Ch will lighten hahahah....

17 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0301sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:36 AM