Maybank eGIA-i 3.45% p.a., Rojak of SA + FD + MMF

TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 02:01 PM, updated 9y ago

1,166 posts

Maybank General Investment Account-i (GIA-i)

A Shariah-compliant investment account based on the contract of Mudarabah (profit sharing)
Minimum investment:
RM5,000 (1 month)
RM1,000 (2 months and above)

* Not covered by PIDM. Principal is not guaranteed

More info : Maybank eGIA-i

Layman explanation : This is an islamic investment instrument that practically function in between of SA and FD.

Eligibility:
i) Malaysian (irrespective of race/religion/gender) drool.gif ***(for those who don't belong to this, refer to the website link above to find out your eligibility)
ii) Maybank2u online account biggrin.gif
iii) At least RM 1,000.00 laugh.gif

Steps to open new/place subsequent:
i) Log in to Maybank2u -> Accounts & Banking -> Fixed Deposits & Mudarabah IA

ii) Make a placement -> Product type select General Investment Account (GIA-i)

(Only for frist placement, fill in the questionaire, and proceed)

iii) Select your preferred tenure (practically doesn't matter except 1 month vs other months, explain later)

iv) Enter your principal amount and other options, then click Continue

v) Verify information and click Confirm

Step to uplift eGIA-i:
similar to how you uplift eFD.

Historical Profit Rate:
1st July 2015 - 15th April 2016 : 4.00% p.a.
16th April 2016 - 15th May 2016 : 4.00% p.a.
16th May 2016 - 15th June 2016 : 4.00% p.a.
16th June 2016 - 15th July 2016 : 4.00% p.a.
16th July 2016 - 15th August 2016 : 3.75% p.a.
16th August 2016 - 15th September 2016 : 3.58% p.a.
16th September 2016 - 15th October 2016 : 3.60% p.a.
16th October 2016 - 15th November 2016 : 3.60% p.a.
16th November 2016 - 15th December 2016 : 3.55% p.a.
16th December 2016 - 15th January 2017 : 3.55% p.a.
16th January 2017 - 15th February 2017 : 3.50% p.a.
16th February 2017 - 15th March 2017 : 3.50% p.a.
16th March 2017 - 15th April 2017 : 3.45% p.a.
16th April 2017 - 15th May 2017 :

Note : Profit Sharing Ratio (PSR) in the page is just FYI on how the profit was shared between the bank and you as part of the islamic Mudarabah concept.
Note 2 : Layman wise, you are entitled to the profit rate quoted without any extra calculation

Pros:
i) Profit calculated daily, flat profit rate for the whole balance, no tiered and hidden condition biggrin.gif

ii) Irregardless of placed tenure, you will get back principal + profit for the amount days placed even if you uplift prematurely, provides high flexibility and liquidity. rclxms.gif

iii) Higher profit rate compared to saving accounts and board FD. rclxms.gif

iv) Similar to eFD, you can place multiple certificates, each with different amount and tenure to suit your purposes smile.gif

Cons:
i) Once you placed, you cannot uplift on the day itself, can only uplift the next day onwards bruce.gif

ii) Similar to eFD, you can only place and uplift from 6am to 10pm, daily including weekends and public holiday

iii) No PIDM protection. blush.gif

iv) Influenced by OPR, in the event of profit rate changes, you will entitled the profit rate according to the duration of your placement (refer to historical profit rate) blush.gif

eGIA-i Review by others:
i) GenX GenY GenZ - Earn More FREE Money with Maybank Mudarabah Islamic Accounts versus Savings Accounts
ii) Stretch Your Ringgit - Maybank General Investment Account-i (GIA-i)
iii) Personal Loan Malaysia - Maybank GIA (General Investment Account) review
iv) Dividend Magic - Where to park your money? Maybank GIA-i

This post has been edited by AIYH: Apr 20 2017, 10:52 PM
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 02:03 PM

1,166 posts

cybpsych Ramjade

Rather than having everyone asking this across different threads, might as well open a thread for it sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Nov 8 2016, 02:11 PM
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 02:10 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Nov 8 2016, 01:46 PM)
holy shyt...was just curious about this gia account only to come here and find got so pages about it d ==

can someone enlighten me
QUOTE(vincabby @ Nov 8 2016, 01:50 PM)
summary:

min 1k for two months, do it via maybank2u, 3.75% ish interest per annum. can take out anytime without any penalty.
u want to put in for a month then min 5k.

great for liquidity and higher than even maybank2u savers interest.

ramjade mari check summary saya. later left out anymore juicy stuff
QUOTE(christ14 @ Nov 8 2016, 01:54 PM)
fresh fund? or can i just open online and transfer from SA into this acc? and then treat this like SA lo hmm.gif besides i park my funds in maybank just cuz sometime bill and what not online shopping easier use maybank
QUOTE(vincabby @ Nov 8 2016, 01:55 PM)
fresh or 'expired' funds also can. pardon my pun. just open online, transfer from ur SA and turn it into your new SA. easy peasy.
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 02:30 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Nov 8 2016, 02:26 PM)
thanks boss, you have to jaga two active threads some more. this and FSM. very busy!
FSM that one previous people jaga, i take over nia tongue.gif

This one see too many people ask around, but it doesn't quite qualify to discuss as FD (no PIDM) or SA (same no PIDM sweat.gif) or as investment since almost no risk to discuss about.

Seen many people ask in so many threads, and keep repeating the explanation, so open one to direct all eGIA-i inquiries to here better, save the hassle and more effective biggrin.gif
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 03:24 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 8 2016, 03:18 PM)
woo hoo. time to park 5k into this
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 8 2016, 03:22 PM)
oops. wrong account. sorry!
??? sweat.gif
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 05:24 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(bm_kia @ Nov 8 2016, 05:02 PM)
Thanks. Another noob question: Do you get the interest immediately upon upliftment or do you need to wait till end of a month?
(Since it says on the website that Payment of profit is on monthly basis)
If you decide to opt for tenure longer than a month (say 6 months) and let it stay idle for more than a month, then the profit is paid monthly to either casa or add into principal (whichever you choose) smile.gif

However, if you decide to uplift prematurely (which is how most of us do anyway laugh.gif), then you will get the profit upon upliftment smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 08:58 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Nov 8 2016, 08:52 PM)
I illustrate a scenario in hope that you can understand it.

Say you place the following.

Principal 3k
Tenure 6 months
Placed on 11/11/2016

Profit instruction scenario 1: credit to casa
If you choose this, you will receive monthly profit into your casa
Your principal still remain in GIA

Profit instruction scenario 2: add to principal
If you choose this, you will receive monthly profit that add into the principal itself
Nothing will be credited to your casa
Your principal plus profit will remain in the same GIA cert

This post has been edited by AIYH: Nov 8 2016, 09:19 PM
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 09:01 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 8 2016, 08:31 PM)
question what's the chances of you losing your principle.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 8 2016, 08:35 PM)
Maybank bankrupt. Or don't want to honor the principal = cause backlash among consumers (how many customer will not trust maybank anymore?) = cause trouble for them now and in the future  thumbup.gif

Track recoed: 6 months+ no problem.

Even some guy put 6 figure inside while waiting to TT to for his kid's tuition in US. whistling.gif
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 8 2016, 08:38 PM)
Very minimal chance..
If u worry, don't join devil.gif
If you read the review made by stretch your ringgit, you will see this extract:

History

Before the coming into force of Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 (IFSA), there is no clear distinction between Islamic deposit and Islamic investment. General Investment Account-i (GIA-i) was considered as Islamic deposit by most banks in the past. In fact, most of Islamic FDs introduced in the early days were GIA-i. Subsequently, all deposit-based GIA-i had been converted to Term Deposit-i (TD-i) or their equivalent.

Current situation

With the coming into force of the IFSA, General Investment Account-i (GIA-i) is classified as Islamic investments. It is separate from Islamic deposits including Islamic FD and TD-i. As a result, it would no longer be eligible for protection by PIDM as they are no longer Islamic deposit accounts.

General Investment Account-i (GIA-i) is based on the contract of Mudarabah (profit sharing) where the customer act as the provider of fund and the Bank acts as the entrepreneur. The Bank will invest the funds in carefully selected Shariah's high yielding, compliant investment avenues. The profit from the investement will be shared between the Bank and customers based on the pre-agreed profit sharing ratio (PSR).

GIA-i is NOT islamic fixed deposit (FD) or term deposit-i (TD-i). It is usually grouped together with FD by the banks because of the historic ties between them and FDs and some similarities with FD. The profit rate for GIA-i is NOT fixed but based on profit sharing, so the rate quoted is only indicative.
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 09:25 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(DarXnight @ Nov 8 2016, 09:04 PM)
Will have higher returns since profit is added to principal?
In theory it should be smile.gif

But i have yet to try since I uplift most of my cert weekly laugh.gif

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 8 2016, 09:09 PM)
looks interesting. who's with me to put in 5k into this?
Used to be, but ever since I get to know ASx and FSM, i put some into ASx FP while the rest dump into Asnita liao laugh.gif

Still, given eGIA-i special nature, I treat it as my quasi saving account dy tongue.gif other SA and FD all not practical to compete liao (to me at least) laugh.gif
TSAIYH
post Nov 8 2016, 11:22 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Nov 8 2016, 11:13 PM)
If more hardcore can do it daily then.😁
Just wanna ask about the interest declaration, its is monthly based right?
As example, this month interest will be declare early dec?
So if uplift before that, are they using the indicative rate or what?
Technically you can, and if they will round your profit to the nearest cent if you care about it brows.gif

But time is gold also, when you uplift, you need TAC also, takkan everyday TAC? laugh.gif

The profit rate is declared every mid of the month and from that day to the next mid of the month, profit will be calculated based on that period's profit rate

Give you a hypothetical case:

Say the historical profit rate is like this:

16/6 - 15/7 : 5% p.a.
16/7 - 15/8 : 3% p.a.
16/8 - 15/9 : 4% p.a.

Say you placed 3k on 27/6 for tenure 2 months

If you decide to uplift it on 19/8, then your profit entitlement will be calculated as below:

[(4 + 15) * 5% / 366 + 31 * 3% / 366 + 3 * 4% / 366] * 3k = RM 16.39

Of course this calculation havent consider the fact that profit will be paid monthly depending on your profit instruction, so real life case my be slightly different, but this is the basic idea of the profit calculation smile.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Nov 8 2016, 11:25 PM
TSAIYH
post Nov 9 2016, 08:12 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Nov 9 2016, 08:10 AM)
anyone going for the gia-i step up campaign? 10k minimum, effective rate 4.10% per annum
first, not sure still have quota or not laugh.gif

second, need 10k and 12 months, no money plus too long :lol

FD forum a lot of people discussing that smile.gif

EDIT: Come to think about it, should the eGIA-i promo rate be discuss on FD forum or here? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Nov 9 2016, 08:13 AM
TSAIYH
post Nov 9 2016, 08:18 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Nov 9 2016, 08:14 AM)
gia-i should discuss here! not at FD threads! dont they know the difference?? mad.gif  bangwall.gif  #rantover.

yea, i satisfy both of your problems too. no money and too long and no insured. kinda risky for my liking.
risk is not a problem, but given it is not protected, fixed income do provide better returns then GIA for now (unless they raise OPR until fixed income return dont look attractive, then thats another story innocent.gif)
TSAIYH
post Nov 9 2016, 08:21 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Nov 9 2016, 08:18 AM)
this is good if u have money sit in ur bank account for a short term and wanna gain interest
very useful for me because i have fund available for 1 or 2 weeks in a month
Do you think is worth to forgo the PIDM protection for SA and board FD in favor for GIA profit? smile.gif

Not sure what will others think about this, may be can use this point to spread this product to your peers smile.gif

Unless there is another party who can offer similar feature and better rates (besides ASx FP) laugh.gif
TSAIYH
post Nov 9 2016, 08:44 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Nov 9 2016, 08:28 AM)
what is ur opinion about the risk involve?
i am confident with maybank and i think the risk is really small to none
QUOTE(vincabby @ Nov 9 2016, 08:34 AM)
everyone has a diff risk profile. low, medium, high. if you are ok with it then go for it.

some of us just feel it's too much risk for that extra few bucks compared to FD. compromise some of us come up with is put in two months, let it run. then next round reconsider our options.

as ramjade sifu said, short term, not long term. benefits are the same whether you put in long or short term. except for that step up campaign of theirs.
QUOTE(epie @ Nov 9 2016, 08:37 AM)
i see...so the situation is different
i dun have any other choice...cannot put in fd

my fund only available for 1 or 2 weeks in a month
and i wanna make some money out of it

i never compare gia with fd
If promo FD have better rates than GIA and you have the money, by all means go for it tongue.gif

However, just wondering, from my POV, GIA is definitely better than normal SA given they have similar function with multiple fold higher rate.

Although GIA and board FD don't differ by much, GIA still better in slightly higher rates and penalty-less uplift, provide much better flexibility?

My concern is that what is the bottom line for people to prefer SA (PIDM but very low interest) over GIA (no PIDM but higher rate, although risk very very very low)? smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Nov 9 2016, 09:02 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 9 2016, 08:59 AM)
You are using ASX fp to park short term fund? shocking.gif
Same here. If maybank kaput. Malaysia economy also kaput.
Keep in mind that below RM2k you won't get anything from M2savers. Interest for >=RM2k is only 2.15%
Want to, but ASx FP at its current form is still like traditional banking, so I normally top up like 100 to all funds every month (unless their online platform is convincing and convenient enough then will consider to play around my money strategy brows.gif )
TSAIYH
post Nov 9 2016, 09:19 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Nov 9 2016, 09:17 AM)
im not sure about this if i have not read it or not found.. but can we open like 2-3 gia acc? for example. first one 3k. not gona do anything. 2nd one open put in 1k. 2 weeks later take out pay cc. 3rd one more or less same as 2nd ?
Is just like efd, you place them as multiple certificates and uplift them individually as you like smile.gif

The major difference is the upliftment penalty:

eFD will penalize you for early upliftment (no interest or half interest)

GIA will give you profit according to the number of days you placed in the event you uplift less than a month smile.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Nov 9 2016, 09:20 AM
TSAIYH
post Nov 16 2016, 04:36 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ashx @ Nov 16 2016, 04:33 PM)
When is the new rate out usually?
Usually 2-3 working days after 15th for them to release the new rate sweat.gif

Or if you put 6-7 figures, you can calculate your 1 day interest by trying to uplift and calculate from there to see whether there is any change in rate or not biggrin.gif
TSAIYH
post Nov 23 2016, 01:49 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ninjawin @ Nov 23 2016, 12:17 PM)
Ic..not really in rush for $$
If you don't need the money urgently or not in need for the liquidity, there are plenty other options for higher return such as promo fd, asnb fp, fixed income fund, bond etc...

Egia is practically a kind of replacement for saving account and board rate fd due to is liquidity and profit compared to SA and board FD smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Nov 23 2016, 02:05 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Nov 23 2016, 02:03 PM)
that is good!

at board rate  or at promotional rate if withdraw early?
Do you place your eGIA under board or promo?

If promo kindly refer to the promo rate

If board, kindly refer to the product website or refer 1st post smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Dec 4 2016, 10:37 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Jyseow91 @ Dec 4 2016, 09:27 PM)
Hi guys. I put in 10k for two months tenure on 24 October. But now when I tried to uplift. The total amount after one month plus is only 10009.xx. Which means the interest rate is not 3.55%pa?
When you placed this cert, the profit payment by default will be to credit the profit to your casa monthly (unless you change the setting later).

Your first month profit from 24/10 to 23/11 were probably in your casa account dy, so now what is accumulating is the 2nd month profit from 24/11 to 3/12, around 10 days profit which actually match the amount u post smile.gif

0.0480sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:29 PM